Broadcasting Procedural Letter addressed to Dan Wylie (Blackburn Radio Inc.)

BY EMAIL: dan_wylie10@yahoo.ca

Ottawa, 27 January 2017

Dan Wylie
Director of Programming
Blackburn Radio Inc.
700 Richmond Street
London, Ontario
N6A 5C7

Re: Application 2016-1224-2 – Licence amendment – CKLO-FM London, Ontario

Dear Mr. Wylie,

This letter is in reference to the Part 1 application submitted by Blackburn Radio Inc. (Blackburn) for the deletion of a condition of licence for CKLO-FM London, Ontario.

In order to pursue the analysis of the above-mentioned application, please answer the following questions: 

Ineligibility of an initiative (missing justification)

Pursuant to subsection 15(2) of the Radio Regulations, 1986, (the Regulations), commercial licensees with total revenues of more than $1,250,000 are required to make annual contributions to eligible Canadian content development (CCD) initiatives based on the station’s total revenues for the previous broadcast year (known as the basic annual CCD contribution) as defined at subsection 15(1) of the Regulations).

In addition to its basic CCD contributions, CKLO-FM is required, by condition of licence, to make an annual CCD contribution of $214,285.71 ($1,500,000 over seven consecutive broadcast years beginning upon commencement of operations) to the promotion and development of Canadian content, as set out in Broadcasting Decision CRTC 2009-39.

We note that in the 2015-2016 broadcast year, over and above CCD contributions were made to the following initiatives:

Acceptable proofs of payment were provided for the initiatives set out above. However, until such time that additional documents on how the CCD funds were used and how the initiatives qualify as eligibleFootnote 1 are provided, these initiatives are deemed as ineligible by Commission staff. It is unclear how the funds were used and whether the initiatives are eligible based on the Commission’s eligibility criteria.

Therefore, please provide the Commission with proof of eligibility for the above-noted initiatives and a breakdown of how the CCD funds were expended. More specifically, please provide additional documentation, such as a letter from the third party that received the funds or a printout or brochure of the event that explicitly links the claimed expenses to the initiative in question.  Please also explain how these initiatives comply with the eligibility criteria noted in subsection 15(1) of the Regulations and the Commercial Radio Policy 2006 (PN CRTC 2006-158 ).

Please note that if you are unable to provide proofs of eligibility for the initiatives in question, CKLO-FM may be found in apparent non-compliance with subsection 15(1) of the Regulations for the 2015-2016 broadcast year.  Additionally, if you are unable to provide proofs of eligibility, please answer the following questions:

The information requested herein should be received by the Commission no later than 3 February 2017.

We also ask that you repeat each question in your response.

Timeline change

To ensure a fair and a transparent process, it is important that all comments filed in this proceeding be taken into consideration. In light of this, the timetable for the proceeding is changed as follows:

Notice Number / Part 1 Subject Posted Date Deadlines Related Documents
Part 1 Blackburn Radio Inc.

Delete Condition of licence – Special Interest Music
London, Ontario
CKLO-FM
2016-1224-2
1 December 2016 18 January 2017
23 February 2017 (New Deadline)

A copy of this letter and all related correspondence will be added to the public record of the proceeding. Please note that additional clarifications may be requested at a later date.

The Commission requires that your application or other documents be submitted electronically by using the secured service “My CRTC Account” (Partner Log In or GCKey) and filling the “Broadcasting and Telecom Cover page” or the “Broadcasting Online Form and Cover Page” located on this web page.   Also on this web page you will find information on the submission of applications to the Commission “Submitting applications and other documents to the CRTC using My CRTC Account”.).

Should you need further information concerning this application, please do not hesitate to contact me by telephone at 819-997-9350, by fax at 819-994-0218 or by E-mail at valentina.bourgeois@crtc.gc.ca .

Yours sincerely,

Valentina Bourgeois
Senior Radio analyst
CRTC - Radio Policy & Applications

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre procédurale adressée à Dan Wylie (Blackburn Radio Inc.)

PAR COURRIEL : dan_wylie10@yahoo.ca

Ottawa, le 27 janvier 2017

Dan Wylie
Directeur de la programmation
Blackburn Radio Inc.
700, rue Richmond
London (Ontario)  N6A 5C7

Objet : Demande 2016-1224-2 – Modification de licence – CKLO-FM London (Ontario)

Monsieur,

La présente lettre fait suite à la demande en vertu de la partie 1 présentée par Blackburn Radio Inc. (Blackburn) en vue de la suppression d’une condition de licence pour CKLO-FM London, en Ontario.

Pour nous permettre de poursuivre l’analyse de la demande susmentionnée, veuillez répondre aux questions suivantes.

Projet non admissible (justification manquante)

Conformément au paragraphe 15(2) du Règlement de 1986 sur la radio (le Règlement), un titulaire de licence commerciale dont les revenus totaux dépassent 1 250 000 $ doit verser des contributions annuelles à des projets admissibles au titre du développement du contenu canadien (DCC), selon les revenus totaux de la station au cours l’année de radiodiffusion précédente (la contribution annuelle de base au titre du DCC), en fonction du paragraphe 15(1) du Règlement.

En plus de la contribution de base au titre du DCC, CKLO-FM est tenue, par condition de licence, de verser une contribution annuelle au titre du DCC de 214 285,71 $ (1,5 million de dollars sur sept années consécutives de radiodiffusion à compter du début de l’exploitation) pour la promotion et le développement de contenu canadien, en vertu de la Décision de radiodiffusion CRTC 2009-39.

Nous faisons remarquer des contributions excédentaires au DCC ont été versées pour l’année de radiodiffusion 2015-2016 aux projets suivants :

Des preuves de paiement acceptables ont été déposées pour les projets susmentionnés. Par contre, tant que le Conseil n’aura pas reçu des documents indiquant comment les fonds au titre du DCC ont été utilisés et démontrant comment ces projets sont admissiblesNote de bas de page 1, le personnel du Conseil estime que ces projets ne sont pas admissibles. Il n’est pas clair comment les fonds ont été utilisés et si les projets sont admissibles selon les critères d’admissibilité du Conseil.

Veuillez donc fournir au Conseil la preuve de l’admissibilité des projets susmentionnés et une ventilation des frais engagés au titre du DCC. En particulier, veuillez fournir d’autres documents, par exemple une lettre du tiers qui a reçu les fonds ou un imprimé ou une brochure de l’événement qui indique clairement le lien entre les dépenses réclamées et le projet. Veuillez aussi expliquer comment ces projets respectent les critères d’admissibilité énoncés au paragraphe 15(1) du Règlement et dans la Politique de 2006 sur la radio commerciale (avis public de radiodiffusion 2006-158).

Nous signalons que si vous ne démontrez pas l’admissibilité des projets en question, CKLO-FM peut se trouver en situation de non-conformité apparente au paragraphe 15(1) du Règlement pour l’année de radiodiffusion 2015-2016. De plus, s’il vous est impossible de fournir des preuves d’admissibilité, veuillez répondre aux questions suivantes :

Le Conseil doit recevoir les renseignements demandés au plus tard le 3 février 2017.

Nous vous demandons également de répéter chaque question dans votre réponse.

Modification du calendrier

Afin de s’assurer que le processus est juste et transparent, il est important que toutes les observations déposées dans le cadre de cette instance soient prises en compte. Par conséquent, le calendrier de l’instance est modifié comme suit :

Numéro d’avis ou Partie 1 Objet Date de publication Délais Documents connexes
Partie 1 Blackburn Radio Inc.

Supprimer une condition de licence – Musique pour auditoire spécialisé
London (Ontario)
CKLO-FM
2016-1224-2

1er décembre 2016 18 janvier 2017
23 février 2017
(nouveau délai)

Une copie de la présente lettre et de toute correspondance connexe sera versée au dossier public de l’instance. Remarque : D’autres éclaircissements pourraient être demandés ultérieurement.

Vous devez soumettre votre demande ou les autres documents en ligne au moyen du système sécurisé Mon compte CRTC (Clé GC ou partenaires de connexion) et remplir la « Page couverture de radiodiffusion » ou la « Page couverture et formulaire en ligne de radiodiffusion » dont vous trouverez le lien sur la page Web. Vous trouverez également des renseignements sur la façon de soumettre des demandes au Conseil à la page Web intitulée « Soumettre des demandes et autres documents auprès du CRTC en utilisant Mon compte CRTC ».

Si vous désirez obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires sur votre demande, veuillez communiquer avec moi par téléphone au 819-997-9350, par télécopieur au 819-994-0218, ou par courriel à valentina.bourgeois@crtc.gc.ca.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, mes salutations distinguées.

Valentina Bourgeois
Analyste principale de la radio
CRTC – Politiques et demandes relatives à la radio

Date de modification :