Broadcasting Procedural Letter Addressed to Neeti P.Ray (9427899 Canada Inc.)

Ottawa, 17 January 2017

BY EMAIL: neetiray@gmail.com

Mr. Neeti P.Ray
President
9427899 Canada Inc.
2000 Islington Avenue, Apt. 1612
Toronto, ON
M9P 3S7

Re: Broadcasting Application 2016-0492-6 (CKIN-FM Montreal)

Dear Mr. Ray,

This letter is in reference to the above noted application made by 9427899 Canada Inc. (the applicant) in the context of its application to amend the distribution of tangible benefits as set out in Broadcasting Decision CRTC 2015-397, CKIN-FM Montréal – Acquisition of assets.

In the application, the applicant requests an amendment to the application of Broadcasting Regulatory Policy 2014-459 which requires the licensee to allocate 6% of the value of the transaction to Radio Starmaker Fund or Fonds Radiostar, FACTOR or Musicaction, the Community Radio Fund of Canada and any eligible Canadian Content Development Fund of Canada.  In lieu of the aforementioned contributions, the licensee proposes to allocate the entirety of its annual contribution to support a student enrolled in the journalism program at Concordia University. 

Section 28(1)(a) of the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure provides that the Commission may request parties to file information, particulars or documents where needed. In order to proceed with the application, please address the following:

Confirmation of Information Provided in the Application Form

Commission staff notes that the application states that the revised contribution would be a greater benefit to the system. However, the application does not specify how the amendment would be a greater benefit to the system than the current contribution requirements.

  1. Please explain how the proposed amendment would be in the interest of the public.
  2. How would the amendment benefit the broadcasting system as whole?
  3. How would the amendment benefit the community being served by CKIN-FM?

Timeline Change (Intervention / Comments Deadline)

Considering the new information to be added to the public record, Commission staff will re-open the intervention period for this proceeding for additional comments from all parties with respect to the new information only.

As such, the timetable for the proceeding is changed as follows:

Notice Number/Part 1 Subject Posted Date Deadlines  (Interventions/ Comments/ Answers) Related Documents
Part 1 9427899 Canada Inc. 

Reallocation of Tangible Benefits

Montréal, Quebec

CKIN-FM

2016-0492-6

Open application for applicant contact information.
16 May 2016

New Posted Date
17 January 2017

24 January 2017

New Intervention Deadline
30 January 2017

New Deadline
6 February 2017
Answers

Interventions

Procedural requests

Replies

Deadline for Response

The information requested herein should be received at the Commission no later than 24 January 2017, the date by which service of the procedural request must also be effected, failing which, your application may be returned to be completed and resubmitted with the Commission should you wish to pursue this proposal.

A copy of this letter and all related correspondence will be added to the public record of the proceeding for this application.

The Commission requires that your response and/or other documents be submitted electronically by using the secured service “My CRTC Account” (Partner Log In or GCKey) and filling the “Broadcasting and Telecom Cover page” or the “Broadcasting Online Form and Cover Page” located on this web page. Also on this web page you will find information on the submission of applications to the Commission “Submitting applications and other documents to the CRTC using My CRTC Account.”

Sincerely,

Lynn Asselin
Senior Analyst,
Radio Policy & Applications

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre procédurale adressée à Neeti P.Ray (9427899 Canada Inc.)

PAR COURRIEL : neetiray@gmail.com

Ottawa, le 17 janvier 2017

Monsieur Neeti P. Ray
Président
9427899 Canada Inc.
2000, avenue Islington, app. 1612
Toronto (Ontario) M9P 3S7

Objet : Demande no 2016-0492-6 (CKIN-FM Montréal)

Monsieur,

La présente fait suite à la demande en vertu de la partie 1 présentée par 9427899 Canada Inc. (le demandeur) en vue de modifier la distribution des contributions d’avantages tangibles tels qu’énoncé dans la Décision de radiodiffusion CRTC 2015-397, CKIN-FM Montréal – Acquisition d’actif.

Dans la demande, le requérant demande une modification à l’application de la politique réglementaire de radiodiffusion 2014-459 qui exige que la titulaire attribue 6% de la valeur de la transaction à Radio Starmaker Fund ou Fonds Radiostar, FACTOR ou Musicaction, le Fonds de la radio communautaire du Canada ainsi que des initiatives discrétionnaires admissibles au titre du Développement du contenu canadien (DCC) tel que décrit dans l’Avis public de radiodiffusion, CRTC 2006-158, Politique sur la radio commerciale (la politique). Au lieu de ces cotisations, le titulaire propose de contribuer la totalité de sa contribution annuelle à une bourse afin d’appuyer un étudiant inscrit au programme de journalisme à l’université Concordia.

Conformément à l’alinéa 28(1)a) des Règles de pratique et de procédure du CRTC(les Règles) stipule que le Conseil peut exiger que les parties lui fournissent des renseignements, précisions ou documents qu’il estime nécessaires. Pour nous permettre de poursuivre l’analyse de la demande susmentionnée, veuillez fournir les renseignements suivants.

Confirmation des renseignements fournis dans la demande

Le personnel du conseil remarque que la demande indique que la contribution révisée favorisera le système de radiodiffusion. Cependant, la demande ne précise pas comment la modification aura un meilleur effet sur le système que les contributions exigées actuelles.

  1. Veuillez expliquer comment la modification proposée serait dans l’intérêt du public.
  2. Quel sera l’avantage au système de radiodiffusion dans son ensemble si la modification est approuvée?
  3. Quel sera l’avantage à la communauté desservie par CKIN-FM si la modification est approuvée?

Modification des délais (interventions/observations)

Comme de nouveaux renseignements auront été versés au dossier public, le personnel du Conseil rouvrira la période de dépôt des interventions dans le cas de cette instance pour permettre à l’ensemble des parties de formuler des observations supplémentaires, mais uniquement à l’égard des nouveaux renseignements.

Le calendrier procédural de l’instance est donc modifié comme suit.

Numéro d’avis/Partie 1 Sujet Date d’affichage Dates limites (interventions/ observations/ réponses) Documents connexes
Partie 1 9427899 Canada inc. 

Modification de la distribution des avantages tangibles

Montréal (Québec)

CKIN-FM

2016-0492-6

Ouvrir la demande pour information reliée au contact de la demande.
16 May 2016

Novelle date d’affichage

17 Janvier 2017
24 Janvier 2017

Nouvelle échéance
 30 janvier 2017

Nouvelle échéance - répliques
6 février 2017
Réponses

Interventions

Requêtes procédurales

Répliques

Délai de réponse

Le Conseil doit recevoir les renseignements demandés dans la présente au plus tard le 24 janvier 2017, date à laquelle vous devez également avoir signifié la requête procédurale, sans quoi votre demande pourrait vous être retournée afin que vous la complétiez et la soumettiez de nouveau si vous voulez donner suite à la proposition.

Une copie de la présente et de la correspondance connexe sera versée au dossier public de l’instance portant sur cette demande.

Vous devez soumettre votre réponse et les documents connexes, s’il y a lieu, en ligne au moyen du système sécurisé « Mon compte CRTC (Clé GC ou partenaires de connexion) » et remplir la Page couverture de radiodiffusion et de télécom ou la Page couverture et formulaire en ligne en radiodiffusion dont vous trouverez le lien sur la page Web. Vous trouverez également des renseignements sur la façon de soumettre des demandes au Conseil à la page Web intitulée « Soumettre des demandes et autres documents auprès du CRTC en utilisant Mon compte CRTC ».

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Lynn Asselin
Analyste principale
Radiodiffusion – Politiques et demandes en matière de radio

Date de modification :