Broadcasting Commission Letter addressed to Peter Kovacs (Rogers Communications Canada Inc.)

PLEASE ACKNOWLEDGE RECEIPT OF THIS LETTER BY RETURN E-MAIL

The applications must be submitted through GCKey
(Instructions are included in this letter)

Ottawa, 8 February 2016

By e-mail: peter.kovacs@rci.rogers.com

Mr. Peter Kovacs
Director, Content distribution and broadband policy
Rogers Communications Canada Inc.

Dear Mr. Kovacs:

This is in reference to a letter sent by the Commission on 12 January 2016 requesting that Rogers Media Inc. (Rogers Media) file an application to renew the licences of its various services set to expire on 31 August 2017, including the video-on-demand (VOD) service. In a subsequent letter filed by Ms. Susan Wheeler of Rogers Media on 18 January 2016, Ms. Wheeler informed the Commission that the licensee for the VOD service was in fact Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (Rogers Communications), and that all questions pertaining to this service should be forwarded to you.

Accordingly, the Commission requests that Rogers Communications file an application to renew the licence for its video-on-demand service.

If it is Rogers Communications’ intention to continue the operation of this undertaking past the above-noted expiry date, it will be necessary for Rogers Communications to apply to the Commission to renew this licence by submitting a renewal application to the Commission by no later than 1 April  2016.

Rogers Communications’ must file its renewal application form electronically by completing the “Broadcasting Online Form and Cover Page” using the secured service “My CRTC Account (Partner Log In or GCKey Log In).” Also on this web page you will find information on the submission of applications to the Commission “Submitting applications and other documents to the CRTC using My CRTC Account”.  A sample of the application form can be viewed on the web page “Application to renew a broadcasting licence for a video-on-demand (VOD) programming undertaking – Form 145.” 

Moreover, please respond to the following questions by using the format set out in the Appendices to this letter.  These documents are to be submitted electronically using the secured service “My CRTC Account” (Partner Log In or GCKey) and accompanied by the completed “Broadcasting Cover page” or the “Broadcasting Online Form and Cover Page” located on this web page. Please ensure to repeat each question, including relevant tables, in your response.  

If it is not Rogers Communication’s intention to continue the operation of this undertaking after the expiry of the current license, please advise the Commission accordingly by using “My CRTC Account” in writing by no later than 1 April 2016.

Please note that the procedural directions in this letter are in addition to the rules set out in the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure, which establish the procedure with respect to proceedings before the Commission. In addition to the Rules of practice and procedure, you may find useful to consult the guidelines on the CRTC Rules of Practice and Procedure in Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-959.

Please be advised that this letter and all related correspondence will be placed on the public file for Rogers Communications’ renewal application. Should Rogers Communications wish to designate any information provided as part of its applications as confidential, it must do so in full compliance with the Rules of Procedure and Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin 2010-961, as amended from time to time. The documents submitted should use the following naming convention to facilitate the processing and analysis of the applications:

If you encounter any difficulties submitting Rogers Communications’ application electronically, please contact the CRTC Helpline at 1-866-893-0932.

Should you require information regarding the renewal process and deadlines, do not hesitate to contact the undersigned at 819-997-9392 or at tina-louise.latourelle@crtc.gc.ca.

Yours sincerely,

Original signed by

Tina Louise Latourelle
Senior Policy Analyst
TV Policy and Applications

C.C.: Susan Wheeler, Vice President, Regulatory, Media, susan.wheeler@rci.rogers.com


Additional questions to address in the renewal application

Promoting Canadian programming

  1. In the Create policy, the Commission stated that over the next several years, Canadians will continue to migrate from scheduled and packaged programming services to on-demand and tailored programs. The Commission also expects that audiences to on-demand services will continue to grow as Canadians exercise more control over their viewing experience. As Canadians continue to seek out programs on an on-demand basis, VOD service, and online video services in particular, are likely to become increasingly important sources of Canadian and other video content. Recognizing this, the Commission considers it important to ensure that Canadians throughout the country have access to programming, including original Canadian programming, on an on-demand basis, whether through traditional BDUs or online.

    As the licensee of a VOD service and partner involved in the operation of an HVOD service, please describe your efforts to ensure the availability of Canadian programming on multiple platforms and to foster the discoverability of Canadian programs on those platforms.

Programming

  1. In regards to the programming offered by the service, please respond to the following:
    1. Please provide a program list for Rogers Communications’ VOD service. The list should identify each program by programming category and by country of origin and indicate the period of time that each program was on the server and available to subscribers.
    2. Please provide Rogers Communications’ programming strategy for this service, specifically as it relates to the promotion of original Canadian programs, as well as an overview of its most successful programs and the characteristics of their success.
  1. As set out in Broadcasting Regulatory Policy 2011-59-1, the Commission expects licensees to make their program offering available to the maximum extent possible in both official languages. Please describe how the licensee has fulfilled this expectation.

Amendments to requirements other than standard requirements

Please note that the following questions are to be completed in lieu of question 3.2 of “Application to renew a broadcasting licence for a video-on-demand (VOD) programming undertaking – Form 145.

  1. Please note that, as announced in the Create Policy, the Commission will undertake a proceeding to establish standard requirements for on-demand services, which would replace those set out in Revised exemption order for certain classes of video-on-demand (VOD) undertakings and updated standard conditions of licence for licensed VOD undertakings, Broadcasting Regulatory Policy CRTC 2015-355, 6 August 2015, as of 1 September 2017. Accordingly, further correspondence will follow to confirm whether Rogers Communications will adhere to the new standard requirements for its on-demand service. If Rogers Communications has concerns with any of the requirements, it will be given the opportunity to provide amendments with a detailed rationale as to why it believes that its service should not be subject to these requirements.
    1. Provide a list of all conditions of licence, expectations, encouragements and definitions set out in the most recent decision other than standard requirements. Confirm that the Rogers Communications’ on-demand service will continue to operate in compliance with these requirements.
    2. If Rogers Media is proposing any amendments to existing conditions of licence, expectations, encouragements or definitions, complete the table below providing a detailed rationale for any proposed changes, including, where appropriate, financial evidence to support any changes.

      Please submit this information in the format provided in the table below:

Current non-standard requirement Requirement to remain the same (Yes/No) Proposed requirement (if a change is proposed) Rationale
       
       

Note: for the purposes of this table, ‘requirement’ includes any condition of licence, expectation, encouragement and definition.

Licence term

  1. Please comment on the appropriateness of granting a 5 year licence term as opposed to a 7 year licence term.

Submit your response to questions 1 to 5 above as part of the document entitled “Rogers-On-demand-Supplementary Brief”.

Projected Financial Data

  1. For Rogers’ on-demand service, please provide summary financial projections for the next six broadcast years, starting with the complete 2015-2016 broadcast year.

    Please provide this information in Excel format, using the designated template Excel workbook attached to this letter. Please ensure that your document is entitled as follows: “Rogers-On-demand projections”. Please be reminded that, as set out in the Commission’s guidelines on confidentiality (Information Bulletin 2010-961, as amended), financial projections data is generally treated as public.

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre du Conseil adressée à Peter Kovacs (Rogers Communications Canada Inc.)

VEUILLEZ ACCUSER RÉCEPTION DE CETTE LETTRE PAR RETOUR DE COURRIEL.

La demande doit être déposée au moyen de cléGC.
(Voir les instructions dans la présente)

Ottawa, le 8 février 2016

Par courriel : peter.kovacs@rci.rogers.com

Monsieur Peter Kovacs
Directeur, Distribution de contenu et Politique sur les services à large bande
Rogers Communications Canada Inc.

Monsieur,

La présente fait suite à une lettre envoyée le 12 janvier 2016 pour demander à Rogers Media Inc. (Rogers Media) de déposer une demande de renouvellement des licences de ses divers services qui expireront le 31 août 2017, y compris le service de vidéo sur demande (VSD). Dans une lettre subséquente déposée le 18 janvier 2016 par Madame Susan Wheeler de Rogers Media, Madame Wheeler a informé le Conseil que le titulaire du service de VSD est en fait Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (Rogers Communications) et que toute question relative à ce service devrait vous être transmise.

Par conséquent, le Conseil demande que Rogers Communications dépose une demande pour renouveler la licence de son service de VSD.

Si Rogers Communications a l’intention de continuer d’exploiter cette entreprise après la date d’expiration susmentionnée, il devra demander au Conseil de renouveler sa licence en déposant auprès du Conseil une demande de renouvellement au plus tard le 1er avril 2016.

Rogers Communications doit déposer sa demande de renouvellement par voie électronique en remplissant le document Page couverture et formulaire en ligne en radiodiffusion au moyen du service sécurisé Mon compte CRTC (Ouvrir une session avec un partenaire de connexion ou à l’aide d’une cléGC). Vous trouverez sur la même page Web des renseignements sur le dépôt de demandes auprès du Conseil : Soumettre des demandes et autres documents auprès du CRTC en utilisant Mon compte CRTC. Vous pouvez voir un exemple du formulaire de demande sur la page Web Demande de renouvellement d’une licence de radiodiffusion pour une entreprise de programmation de vidéo sur demande (VSD) – Formulaire 145.

Veuillez aussi répondre aux questions suivantes en utilisant le format indiqué dans les annexes de la présente. Vous devez déposer ces documents par voie électronique au moyen du service sécurisé Mon compte CRTC (Ouvrir une session avec un partenaire de connexion ou à l’aide d’une cléGC), accompagnés du document rempli Page couverture de radiodiffusion ou Page couverture et formulaire en ligne en radiodiffusion qui se trouve dans la même page Web. Assurez-vous de répéter chaque question, y compris les tableaux pertinents, dans votre réponse.

Si Rogers Communications n’a pas l’intention de continuer d’exploiter cette entreprise après l’expiration de la licence actuelle, veuillez en informer le Conseil au moyen de Mon compte CRTC par écrit d’ici le 1er avril 2016.

Veuillez prendre note que les instructions sur la procédure énoncées dans la présente s’ajoutent aux règles énoncées dans les Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes, qui établissent la procédure à suivre dans le cadre d’instances devant le conseil. De plus, il peut être utile de consulter les Règles de pratique et de procédure du CRTC dans le Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-959.

Veuillez également prendre note que la présente et les lettres connexes seront versées au dossier public de la demande de renouvellement de Rogers Communications. Si Rogers Communications veut désigner comme confidentiels certains renseignements dans le cadre de sa demande, il doit se conformer aux Règles de procédure et au Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom 2010-961, compte tenu des modifications successives. Les documents déposés doivent respecter la convention d’appellation normalisée suivante afin de faciliter le traitement et l’analyse de la demande :

Si vous avez des difficultés à déposer la demande de Rogers Communications par voie électronique, veuillez communiquer avec la ligne d’aide du CRTC au 1-866-893-0932.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le processus de renouvellement et les échéances, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec moi au 819-997-9392, ou, par courriel, à tina-louise.latourelle@crtc.gc.ca.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

L’original signé par

Tina Louise Latourelle
Analyste principale de politiques
Politiques et demandes relatives à la télévision

c. c. .: Susan Wheeler, Vice-présidente, Affaires réglementaires, Média, susan.wheeler@rci.rogers.com


Autres questions à traiter dans la demande de renouvellement

Promotion de la programmation canadienne

  1. Dans la politique Créer, le Conseil a indiqué qu’au cours des prochaines années, les Canadiens poursuivront la transition d’une télévision programmée et de services de programmation en forfait vers une télévision de plus en plus sur demande et plus personnalisée. Le Conseil s’attend aussi à ce que les auditoires des services sur demande continuent d’augmenter, alors que les Canadiens exercent davantage de contrôle sur leur expérience télévisuelle. Alors que les Canadiens continuent à rechercher des émissions sur demande, les services de VSD, et surtout les services vidéo en ligne, sont appelés à devenir d’importantes sources de contenu de vidéo canadien et autres. Par conséquent, le Conseil estime qu’il est important de s’assurer que les Canadiens de toutes les régions du pays aient accès à la programmation sur demande, y compris à la programmation canadienne originale, que ce soit par l’intermédiaire des EDR traditionnelles ou en ligne.

    À titre de titulaire d’un service de VSD et de partenaire dans l’exploitation d’un service de vidéo sur demande hybride (VSDH), veuillez décrire vos efforts pour assurer la disponibilité de programmation canadienne sur de multiples plateformes et pour favoriser la découvrabilité d’émissions canadiennes sur ces plateformes.

Programmation

  1. En ce qui concerne la programmation offerte par le service, veuillez fournir les renseignements suivants :
    1. Une liste des émissions pour le service de VSD de Rogers Communications. Sur cette liste doivent figurer toutes les émissions, classées par catégorie et par pays d’origine, ainsi que la période de temps pendant laquelle chaque émission a été conservée sur le serveur et accessible aux abonnés.
    2. la stratégie de programmation de Rogers Communications pour ce service, particulièrement en ce qui concerne la production, la programmation et la promotion d’émissions originales canadiennes, ainsi qu’un aperçu des émissions qui connaissent le plus de succès et les caractéristiques de ces succès.
  2. Comme il est énoncé dans la politique réglementaire de radiodiffusion 2011-59-1, le Conseil s’attend à ce que le titulaire offre, dans toute la mesure du possible, la programmation de son service dans les deux langues officielles. Veuillez décrire comment vous avez l’intention de répondre à cette attente.

Modifications aux exigences autres que les exigences normalisées

Nota : La question suivante remplace la question 3.2 du formulaire Demande de renouvellement d’une licence de radiodiffusion pour une entreprise de programmation de vidéo sur demande (VSD) – Formulaire 145.

  1. Veuillez prendre note que, comme annoncé dans la politique Créer, le Conseil procédera à une instance visant à établir des exigences normalisées pour les services sur demande, qui remplaceront celles figurant dans la Révision de l’ordonnance d’exemption visant certaines classes d’entreprises de vidéo sur demande (VSD) et mise à jour des conditions de licence normalisées des entreprises de VSD autorisées, Politique réglementaire de radiodiffusion CRTC 2015-355, datée du 6 août 2015, à compter du 1er septembre 2017. Par conséquent, une lettre suivra pour confirmer si Rogers Communications se conformera ou non aux nouvelles exigences normalisées pour son service sur demande. Si Rogers Communications a des préoccupations au sujet de certaines exigences, il aura la possibilité de proposer des modifications, avec justification à l’appui, afin d’expliquer pour quelles raisons il ne croit pas que son service devrait être assujetti à ces exigences.
    1. Veuillez fournir une liste des conditions de licence, des attentes, des encouragements et des définitions énoncées dans la décision la plus récente autre que les exigences normalisées. Confirmer que Rogers Communications continuera d’exploiter son service sur demande conformément à ces exigences.
    2. Si Rogers Communications propose de modifications aux conditions de licence, attentes, encouragements ou définitions existantes autres que les exigences normalisées, veuillez fournir dans le tableau ci-dessous une justification détaillée de ces modifications, y compris, le cas échéant, une preuve financière à l’appui de telles modifications.

    Fournir ces renseignements dans le format indiqué dans le tableau suivant :

Exigence individuelle actuelle Conserver l’exigence (oui/non)? Exigence proposée (le cas échéant) Justification
       
       

Nota : Dans ce tableau, le terme « exigence » comprend les conditions de licence, les attentes, les encouragements et les définitions.

Période de licence

  1. Commenter la pertinence d’attribuer une période de licence de cinq ans, par opposition à une période de licence de sept ans.

Déposer vos réponses aux questions 1 à 5 ci-dessous dans le document nommé Rogers sur demande – Mémoire complémentaire.

Prévisions financières

  1. Pour le service sur demande de Rogers, fournir des prévisions financières pour les six prochaines années de radiodiffusion, à compter de l’année de radiodiffusion complète 2015-2016.

    Fournir ces renseignements en format Excel, en utilisant le modèle Excel ci-joint. Nommer le document Rogers sur demande – Prévisions. Ne pas oublier que, conformément aux lignes directrices du Conseil sur la confidentialité (Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom 2010-961, compte tenu des modifications successives), les prévisions financières sont généralement considérées comme publiques.

Date de modification :