Quarterly Financial Report for the quarter ended December 31, 2018

2018-19

Table of Contents

Statement outlining results, risks and significant changes in
operations, personnel and program

1. Introduction

This quarterly financial report (QFR) has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board. This QFR should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates. It has not been subject to an external audit or review.

A summary description of the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC) Raison d’être and core responsibilities can be found in Part II of the Main Estimates

2. Basis of Presentation

This QFR has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the CRTC’s spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the department consistent with the Main Estimates for both the 2017-18 and the 2018-19 fiscal years. This QFR has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

When Parliament is dissolved for the purposes of a general election, section 30 of the Financial Administration Act authorizes the Governor General, under certain conditions, to issue a special warrant authorizing the Government to withdraw funds from the Consolidated Revenue Fund. A special warrant is deemed to be an appropriation for the fiscal year in which it is issued.

The CRTC uses the modified accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual departmental financial statements that are part of the departmental performance reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

In this QFR, only those revenues netted against expenditures (i.e. respendable revenue) are being reported. All other revenue that is designated as non-respendable revenue is not reported in the quarterly financial reports, but will be reported annually in the Public Accounts of Canada and in the CRTC’s Departmental Results Report (DRR).

3. Highlights of fiscal quarter and fiscal year to date results

The CRTC is financed in part by the Government of Canada through Parliamentary authorities (e.g. Statutory Vote for Employee Benefit Plans (EBP), Budgetary Vote for the Anti-spam Legislation activities and for the Voter Contact Registry). The balance is financed by vote-netted fees it collects from the broadcasting, telecommunications and telemarketing industries.

Vote-netting is a means of funding selected programs or activities wherein Parliament authorizes a department to apply revenues collected from fee payers towards costs directly incurred for specific activities. The CRTC has the authority to use a portion of: a) the Part I licence fees collected from broadcasters; b) the annual telecommunications fees collected from telecommunications carriers; and c) the unsolicited telecommunications fees collected from telemarketers to finance the costs it incurs in discharging its statutory responsibilities under the Broadcasting Act and Telecommunications Act (i.e. respendable revenue). The balance of these three fees recovers the costs for items funded through budgetary authorities (e.g. EBP) and costs incurred by other government departments on the CRTC's behalf and are classified as non-respendable revenue.

The majority of the CRTC’s vote-netted revenue for the year is collected within the first two quarters of each fiscal year. As a result, it is expected that the CRTC quarterly financial reports will always show the net operating expenditures in a credit position. Further details on CRTC fees and revenues can be found in the 2018-19 Departmental Plan in the supplementary information section entitled “Future-Oriented Statement of Operations”.

Authorities

To date in 2018-19, there is a net increase in budgetary authorities of $0.2 million compared to the authorities granted in the 2017-18 Main Estimates. Factors contributing to the net increase include:

Increase

Expenditures

The CRTC’s spending for the third quarter ended December 31, 2018 is lower compared to the previous fiscal year. Year-to-date total gross budgetary expenditures for 2018-19 are down ($2.8 million) over the previous fiscal year. The main reason for this difference in spending is a decrease in expenditures attributable to salary related items.

4. Risks and Uncertainties

The estimated telemarketing and regulatory costs and revenue target for unsolicited telecommunications fees, the CRTC’s National Do Not Call List (DNCL), total $3.3 million per year.  A public notice of these amounts was issued in CRTC Compliance and Enforcement Orders 2017-307 for 2017-18 and 2018-164 for 2018-19.

Of note, 100% of the required $3.3 million budgetary authority was collected to support the CRTC’s National DNCL investigation and enforcement activities for 2018-19. Fees collected for 2018-19 exceeding the regulatory costs noted in Compliance and Enforcement Order 2018-164 will be refunded to telemarketers accordingly.

5. Significant changes in relation to operations, personnel and programs

There have been no significant changes in relation to operations, personnel and programs over the past year.

6. Approval by Senior Officials


Ian Scott
Chairperson and Chief Executive Officer
Gatineau, Canada
Date: February 19, 2019


Claude Doucet, CPA, CGA
Chief Financial Officer
Gatineau, Canada
Date: February 19, 2019

Statement of Authorities (unaudited)

Fiscal year 2018-19 (in thousands of dollars)
Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2019* Used during the quarter ended
December 31, 2018
Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 1 – Program expenditures 59,541 13,434 38,846
Less: Revenues netted against expenditures (51,728) (445) (48,728)
Net Vote 1 – Program expenditures 7,813 12,989 (9,882)
Statutory authorities – EBP 6,505 1,626 4,879
Total Budgetary Authorities 14,318 14,615 (5,003)

* Only includes Authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end.

Fiscal year 2017-18 (in thousands of dollars)
Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2018* Used during the quarter ended
December 31, 2017
Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 1 – Program expenditures 59,122 13,126 41,674
Less: Revenues netted against expenditures (51,463) (794) (47,745)
Net Vote 1 – Program expenditures 7,659 12,332 (6,071)
Statutory authorities – EBP 6,446 1,612 4,834
Total Budgetary Authorities 14,105 13,944 (1,237)

* Only includes Authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end.

Departmental budgetary expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)

Fiscal year 2018-19 (in thousands of dollars)
Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2019 Used during the quarter ended December 31, 2018 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures:
Personnel (including EBP) 51,445 12,960 38,372
Transportation and communications 2,217 389 980
Information 1,719 370 777
Professional and special services 5,892 939 2,224
Rentals 1,460 148 586
Repair and maintenance 605 97 176
Utilities, materials and supplies 455 54 123
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 2,250 103 486
Other subsidies and payments 3 0 1
Total gross budgetary expenditures 66,046 15,060 43,725
Less: revenues netted against expenditures
Revenues (Part I Broadcasting licence fees, Telecommunications fees and Unsolicited telecommunications fees) (51,728) (445) (48,728)
Total revenues netted against expenditures (51,728) (445) (48,728)
TOTAL NET BUDGETARY EXPENDITURES 14,318 14,615 (5,003)
Fiscal year 2017-18 (in thousands of dollars)
Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2018 Used during the quarter ended December 31, 2017 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures:
Personnel (including EBP) 51,218 13,007 41,058
Transportation and communications 1,882 315 896
Information 1,287 (9) 729
Professional and special services 7,587 905 2,364
Rentals 911 267 665
Repair and maintenance 414 44 143
Utilities, materials and supplies 389 63 140
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 1,880 146 511
Other subsidies and payments 0 0 2
Total gross budgetary expenditures 65,568 14,738 46,508
Less: revenues netted against expenditures
Revenues (Part I Broadcasting licence fees, Telecommunications fees, and Unsolicited telecommunications fees) (51,463) (794) (47,745)
Total revenues netted against expenditures (51,463) (794) (47,745)
TOTAL NET BUDGETARY EXPENDITURES 14,105 13,944 (1,237)
Date modified:

Rapport financier trimestriel pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2018

2018-2019

Table des matières

Compte rendu soulignant les résultats, les risques et les principaux changements quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

1. Introduction

Ce rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé par la direction, comme l’exige l’article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, et conformément à la norme du Conseil du Trésor. Il doit être lu en corrélation avec le Budget principal des dépenses. Ce rapport n’a pas fait l’objet d’une vérification externe ou d’un examen.

Un sommaire décrivant le Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (CRTC), sa raison d’être et ses responsabilités essentielles peuvent être retrouvés dans la partie II du Budget principale des dépenses.

2. Méthode de présentation du rapport

Ce rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé par la direction en utilisant une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L’État des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenses du CRTC accordées par le Parlement et celles utilisées par l’organisme, en conformité avec le Budget principal des dépenses pour les exercices 2017-2018 et 2018-2019. Ce rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d’information financière à l’égard de l’utilisation du pouvoir de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut dépenser sans l’autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées par des lois de crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, ou par des dispositions législatives sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins précises.

Lorsque le Parlement est dissous pour la tenue d’une élection générale, l’article 30 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques autorise le gouverneur général, sous certaines conditions, à ordonner l’établissement d’un mandat spécial autorisant le gouvernement à retirer des fonds du Trésor. Un mandat spécial est considéré comme un crédit relatif à l’exercice au cours duquel il a été établi.

Le CRTC utilise une méthode de comptabilité d’exercice modifiée pour la préparation et la présentation de ses états financiers annuels qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement de l’organisme. Toutefois, les pouvoirs de dépenser votés par le Parlement demeurent en fonction d’une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

Seules les recettes moins les dépenses (c.-à-d. les recettes disponibles) font l’objet de ce rapport financier trimestriel. Tous les revenus désignés comme revenus non disponibles ne sont pas déclarés dans les rapports financiers trimestriels, mais ils sont déclarés annuellement dans les Comptes publics du Canada et le Rapport sur les résultats ministériels (RRM).

3. Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

Le CRTC est financé en partie par le gouvernement du Canada, au moyen d'autorisations parlementaires (p. ex. autorisation législative pour les régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés [RASE], crédits budgétaires pour les activités relatives à la Loi anti-pourriel et pour le Registre de communication avec les électeurs), et, pour le reste, par un crédit net provenant des droits qu'il perçoit auprès des industries de la radiodiffusion, des télécommunications et du télémarketing.

Les crédits nets servent à financer certains programmes ou certaines activités. Selon cette méthode, le Parlement autorise un ministère à utiliser les droits perçus auprès des entités qui les paient pour couvrir des dépenses directement engagées pour des activités déterminées. Le CRTC peut donc utiliser une partie : a) des droits de licence de la partie I qu'il perçoit auprès des radiodiffuseurs; b) des droits annuels de télécommunication que lui versent les entreprises de télécommunication; et c) des droits relatifs aux télécommunications non sollicitées qu'il perçoit auprès des télévendeurs pour financer les dépenses qu'il engage afin de s'acquitter de ses responsabilités législatives en vertu de la Loi sur la radiodiffusion et de la Loi sur les télécommunications (c.-à.-d. recettes disponibles). Le reste des droits perçus permet de recouvrer les coûts des éléments financés par les autorisations parlementaires (p. ex. régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés) et les coûts engagés par d'autres ministères au nom du CRTC et qui sont classés comme recettes non disponibles.

La majorité des recettes nettes en vertu d’un crédit pour l’année entière est perçue au cours des deux premiers trimestres de l’exercice financier. Par conséquent, on peut s’attendre à ce que les rapports financiers trimestriels du CRTC indiquent toujours les dépenses nettes de fonctionnement comme solde créditeur. Le Plan ministériel de 2018-2019 contient d’autres précisions sur les revenus du CRTC et les droits qu’il perçoit notamment dans la section renseignements supplémentaires - “État des résultats prospectif”.

Autorisations

Pour 2018-2019 à ce jour, il y a une augmentation nette des crédits budgétaires de 0,2 million de dollars par rapport à ceux accordés dans le Budget principal des dépenses pour 2017-2018. Les facteurs contribuant à l’augmentation nette incluent :

Hausses

Dépenses

Les dépenses du CRTC pour le troisième trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2018 sont moins élevées que l’exercice précédent. Comparativement à l’année précédente, le total des dépenses budgétaires de 2018-2019 à ce jour est inférieur (2,8 million de dollars). La raison principale pour cette variation est une diminution des dépenses attribuables à des éléments liés aux salaires.

4. Risques et incertitudes

Les coûts estimatifs de télémarketing et réglementaires et les revenus ciblés pour les droits de télécommunications non sollicitées, la Liste nationale de numéros de télécommunication exclus (LNNTE) du CRTC, totalisent 3,3 millions de dollars par année. Un avis public pour ces montants a été publié dans les ordonnances de Conformité et Enquêtes 2017-307 pour 2017-2018 et 2018-164 pour 2018-2019.

Les activités d’enquête et d’application de la LNNTE du CRTC pour 2018-2019 ont été financées à 100 % de l’autorisation budgétaire de 3,3 millions de dollars. Les droits perçus pour 2018-2019 qui ont dépassés les coûts réglementaires mentionnés dans l’ordonnance de Conformité et Enquêtes 2018-164 seront remboursés aux télévendeurs en conséquence.

5. Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Il n’y a eu aucun changement important lié au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes au cours de la dernière année.

6. Approbation par les cadres supérieurs


Ian Scott
Président et premier dirigeant
Gatineau, Canada
Date : Le 19 février 2019


Claude Doucet, CPA, CGA
Dirigeant principal des finances
Gatineau, Canada
Date : Le 19 février 2019

État des autorisations (non vérifié)

Exercice 2018-2019 (en milliers de dollars)
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2019* Crédits utilisés au cours du trimestre ayant pris fin le 31 décembre 2018 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 1 – Dépenses de programme 59 541 13 434 38 846
Moins : Revenus affectés aux dépenses (51 728) (445) (48 728)
Crédit 1 net – Dépenses de programme 7 813 12 989 (9 882)
Autorisations législatives – RASE 6 505 1 626 4 879
Autorisations budgétaires totales 14 318 14 615 (5 003)

*N’inclut que les autorisations disponibles pour l’exercice et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.

Exercice 2017-2018 (en milliers de dollars)
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2018* Crédits utilisés au cours du trimestre ayant pris fin le 31 décembre 2017 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 1 – Dépenses de programme 59 122 13 126 41 674
Moins : Revenus affectés aux dépenses (51 463) (794) (47 745)
Crédit 1 net – Dépenses de programme 7 659 12 332 (6 071)
Autorisations législatives – RASE 6 446 1 612 4 834
Autorisations budgétaires totales 14 105 13 944 (1 237)

* N’inclut que les autorisations disponibles pour l’exercice et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.

Dépenses budgétaires ministérielles par article courant (non vérifiées)

Exercice 2018-2019 (en milliers de dollars)
Dépenses prévues pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2019 Dépenses au cours du trimestre ayant pris fin le 31 décembre 2018 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses :   
Personnel (y compris les contributions aux RASE) 51 445 12 960 38 372
Transport et communications 2 217 389 980
Information 1 719 370 777
Services professionnels et spéciaux 5 892 939 2 224
Location 1 460 148 586
Services de réparation et d’entretien 605 97 176
Services publics, fournitures et
approvisionnements
455 54 123
Acquisition de matériel et d’équipement 2 250 103 486
Autres subventions et paiements 3 0 1
Total des dépenses budgétaires brutes 66 046 15 060 43 725
Moins : revenus affectés aux dépenses
Revenus (droits de licence de radiodiffusion au titre de la partie I, droits de télécommunications et droits relatifs aux télécommunications non sollicitées) (51 728) (445) (48 728)
Total des revenus affectés aux dépenses (51 728) (445) (48 728)
Total des dépenses budgétaires nettes 14 318 14 615 (5 003)
Exercice 2017-2018 (en milliers de dollars)
Dépenses prévues pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2018 Dépenses au cours du trimestre ayant pris fin le 31 décembre 2017 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses :  
Personnel (y compris les contributions aux RASE) 51 218 13 007 41 058
Transport et communications 1 882 315 896
Information 1 287 (9) 729
Services professionnels et spéciaux 7 587 905 2 364
Location 911 267 665
Services de réparation et d’entretien 414 44 143
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 389 63 140
Acquisition de matériel et d’équipement 1 880 146 511
Autres subventions et paiements 0 0 2
Total des dépenses budgétaires brutes 65 568 14 738 46 508
Moins : revenus affectés aux dépenses
Revenus (droits de licence de radiodiffusion au titre de la partie I, droits de télécommunications et droits relatifs aux télécommunications non sollicitées) (51 463) (794) (47 745)
Total des revenus affectés aux dépenses (51 463) (794) (47 745)
Total des dépenses budgétaires nettes 14 105 13 944 (1 237)
Date de modification :