Broadband Internet Service Coverage in Canada in 2014

The map depicts broadband Internet services that were available across Canada and the technologies used to provide those services as of the end of 2014. It forms part of the record of the proceeding initiated by Telecom Notice of Consultation 2015-134.

Download:  MapInfo Download:  KML

View the map in full screen

Download:  MapInfo Download:  KML

*Internet speeds at or above the CRTC’s targets may not be achievable throughout the entire LTE coverage area.

Speeds

This map depicts the availability of broadband Internet access service at or above the CRTC’s target speeds of 5 megabits per second download and 1 megabits per second upload within hexagon areas of 25 square kilometres.

Served/Underserved

For the purpose of these maps, the entire hexagon is classified as “served” by the given technology if at least one household has access to these target speeds in that hexagon. The actual speeds and coverage may vary depending on the technology. For example, wireless signals may be affected by distance from the tower, terrain and weather; similarly cable and digital subscriber line (DSL) technologies may be affected by distance and other factors. Actual availability may therefore vary within a specific hexagon. “Unserved” and “underserved” areas simply display the population.

Technology

Data Sources

The CRTC gathered information from:

Date modified:

Couverture des services Internet à large bande au Canada en 2014

La carte illustre les services Internet à large bande qui étaient offerts au Canada et les technologies utilisées pour offrir ces services à la fin de 2014. Elle fait partie du dossier de l’instance amorcée par l’avis de consultation de télécom 2015-134.

Télécharger :  MapInfo Télécharger :  KML

Voir la carte en plein écran

Télécharger :  MapInfo Télécharger :  KML

* Des vitesses Internet égales ou supérieures aux cibles du CRTC peuvent ne pas être réalisables dans l’ensemble de la zone de couverture LTE.

Vitesses

Cette carte illustre la disponibilité dans le pays des services d’accès Internet à large bande qui atteignent ou dépassent les vitesses cibles du CRTC de 5 mégabits par seconde en téléchargement et de 1 mégabits par seconde en téléversement dans des cellules hexagonales de 25 kilomètres carrés.

Desservies/mal desservies

Pour les besoins de la cartographie, l’ensemble de la cellule hexagonale est classée « desservie » par une technologie donnée si au moins un foyer a accès à ces vitesses cibles dans l’hexagone considéré. Les vitesses et la couverture peuvent varier selon la technologie utilisée. Par exemple, la distance jusqu’à la tour, le terrain et la météo peuvent avoir un effet sur les signaux sans fils. De même, la distance et d’autres facteurs peuvent avoir un effet sur les transmissions par câble et par ligne d’abonné numérique (DSL). La disponibilité réelle peut donc varier à l’intérieur de l’hexagone. Les secteurs « non desservis » ou « mal desservis » ne reflètent que leur population.

Technologies

Sources de données

Le CRTC a recueilli de l’information de sources, telles que 

Date de modification :