Broadcasting Notice of Consultation CRTC 2022-267-2

PDF version

Reference: 2022-267 and 2022-267-1

Ottawa, 17 November 2022

Call for comments on an application by Bell Canada, Cogeco Communications Inc., Bragg Communications Incorporated, carrying on business as Eastlink, and Saskatchewan Telecommunications regarding the increase of the maximum retail price of the basic service – Disclosure of aggregated information previously filed in confidence

Background

  1. On 5 January 2022, Bell Canada, Cogeco Communications Inc., Bragg Communications Incorporated, carrying on business as Eastlink, and Saskatchewan Telecommunications (hereafter the applicants) filed a joint application to increase the current $25 price cap for small basic service to $28, and that it be adjusted on a yearly basis starting on 1 April 2023, based on the annual Consumer Price Index for the period ending 31 December of the preceding calendar year.
  2. Following the application, the Commission sent three different requests for information to each applicant to obtain subscribership numbers relating to their small basic service. This information was largely filed in confidence.
  3. On 28 September 2022, the Commission published Broadcasting Notice of Consultation 2022-267 seeking comments on the application. The Commission made other broadcasting distribution undertakings (BDUs) currently required to submit annual aggregate returnsFootnote 1 parties to the proceeding and required them to file the same information it obtained from the applicants through the above-noted third request for information.
  4. On 27 October 2022, the Commission published Broadcasting Notice of Consultation 2022-267-1 to extend the deadline for the receipt of interventions to 28 November 2022 and the deadline to file replies to 12 December 2022 in response to a procedural request filed by the Public Interest Advocacy Centre.

Request of disclosure

  1. On 24 October 2022, the Forum for Research and Policy in Communications (FRPC) requested that the Commission aggregate the applicants’ individual answers to the first two requests for information and place the information on the public record; and aggregate the applicants’ individual answers to the third request for information and the equivalent information filed by Québecor Media Inc., Rogers Communications Inc., Shaw Communications Inc., and TELUS Communications Inc., and place that information on the public record. Additionally, the FRPC requested an extension of the intervention period by one week when the new information is published.
  2. The FRPC submitted that the aggregated numbers would provide evidentiary context needed to evaluate the applicant’s arguments and evidence in support of their application, as well as the impact of the application whether it be granted, denied or granted with amendments.
  3. The applicants and other BDUs made parties to the present proceeding did not oppose the FRPC’s request for aggregation and disclosure.

Commission’s analysis

  1. As this matter raises important public interest and affordability issues, the Commission recognizes the importance of releasing meaningful information to assist in the preparation of interventions and thus ensuring a more robust public record.
  2. In regard to the FRPC’s request to extend the deadline by an additional week, the Commission notes that in Broadcasting Notice of Consultation 2022-267-1, the Commission established new filing dates for interventions and replies of 28 November 2022 and 12 December 2022, respectively. As such, the Commission considers that this request has effectively been addressed.
  3. In light of the above, as requested by the FRPC and agreed upon by the applicants and other BDUs made parties to the proceeding, the Commission places the aggregated information provided by the applicants in response to the first and second requests for information and the aggregated number provided by the applicants in response to the third request for information, and by the other BDUs made parties to the present proceeding on the public record. The aggregated information is set out in the appendix to this notice.

Secretary General

Related documents

Appendix to Broadcasting Notice of Consultation CRTC 2022-267-2

Aggregated data submitted by Bell Canada, Cogeco Communications Inc., Bragg Communications Incorporated, carrying on business as Eastlink, Saskatchewan Telecommunications, Québecor Media Inc., Rogers Communication Inc., Shaw Communications Inc., and TELUS Communications Inc.

Important note: a high degree of variability between the parties’ responses was observed and may suggest differing interpretations of the requested information amongst the parties in addition to reflecting differently structured market offerings. The percentage of total subscribers listed as “basic package subscribers” varied by respondent from less than 1% to 100%.

Aggregated data submitted by Bell Canada, Cogeco Communications Inc., Bragg Communications Incorporated, carrying on business as Eastlink, and Saskatchewan Telecommunications (hereafter the applicants) based on the request for information dated 25 February 2022

Aggregated data submitted by the applicants based on the request for information dated 21 March 2022

Aggregated data submitted by the applicants based on the request for information dated 13 April 2022 and equivalent information filed by Québecor Media Inc., Rogers Communications Inc., Shaw Communications Inc., and TELUS Communications Inc.

Date modified:

Avis de consultation de radiodiffusion CRTC 2022-267-2

Version PDF

Référence : 2022-267 et 2022-267-1

Ottawa, le 17 novembre 2022

Appel aux observations à propos d’une demande de Bell Canada, Cogeco Communications inc., Bragg Communications Incorporated, faisant affaire sous le nom d’Eastlink et Saskatchewan Telecommunications concernant l’augmentation du prix de détail maximal du service de base – Divulgation de données compilées précédemment déposées à titre confidentiel

Contexte

  1. Le 5 janvier 2022, Bell Canada, Cogeco Communications inc., Bragg Communications Incorporated, faisant affaire sous le nom d’Eastlink, et Saskatchewan Telecommunications (ci-après les demandeurs) ont déposé une demande conjointe en vue d’augmenter le prix maximal actuel autorisé pour le petit service de base de 25 $ à 28 $ et à ajuster sur un base annuelle à compter du 1er avril 2023, en fonction de l’indice annuel des prix à la consommation pour la période se terminant le 31 décembre de l’année civile précédente.
  2. À la suite du dépôt de la demande, le Conseil a envoyé trois différentes demandes de renseignements à chaque demandeur afin d’obtenir le nombre d’abonnements relatifs au petit service de base. Ces informations ont été en grande partie déposées à titre confidentiel.
  3. Le 28 septembre 2022, le Conseil a publié l’avis de consultation de radiodiffusion 2022-267, sollicitant des observations sur la demande. Le Conseil a désigné comme parties à l’instance les autres entreprises de distribution de radiodiffusion (EDR) actuellement tenues de soumettre des rapports annuels cumulésNote de bas de page 1 et leur a demandé de déposer les mêmes renseignements que ceux qui ont été recueillis auprès des demandeurs par le biais de la troisième demande de renseignements susmentionnée.
  4. Le 27 octobre 2022, the Conseil a publié l’avis de consultation de radiodiffusion 2022-267-1 afin de reporter la date limite pour la réception des interventions au 28 novembre 2022 et la date limite pour le dépôt des répliques au 12 décembre 2022 à la suite d’une requête procédurale déposée par le Centre pour la défense de l’intérêt public.

Demande de divulgation

  1. Le 24 octobre 2022, le Forum for Research and Policy in Communications (FRPC) demande au Conseil de compiler les réponses individuelles des demandeurs aux deux premières demandes de renseignements et de verser ces renseignements au dossier public; de compiler les réponses individuelles des demandeurs à la troisième demande de renseignements et les renseignements équivalents déposés par Québecor Média inc., Rogers Communications inc., Shaw Communications inc. et TELUS Communications inc. et de verser ces renseignements au dossier public. De plus, le FRPC demande une prolongation d’une semaine supplémentaire de la période d’interventions lorsque les nouveaux renseignements auront été publiés.
  2. Le FRPC indique que les données compilées fourniraient le contexte probatoire nécessaire pour évaluer les arguments et les preuves des demandeurs à l’appui de leur demande, ainsi que l’incidence de la demande, qu’elle soit accordée, refusée ou accordée avec des modifications.
  3. Les demandeurs et les autres EDR désignées comme parties à la présente instance ne se sont pas opposés à la demande de compilation et de divulgation du FRPC.

Analyse du Conseil

  1. Étant donné que cette instance soulève d’importants enjeux d’intérêt public et d’abordabilité, le Conseil reconnaît l’importance de divulguer des renseignements pertinents pouvant contribuer à la préparation d’interventions et, ainsi, assurer de constituer un dossier public solide.
  2. En ce qui concerne la demande de FRPC de proroger les délais d’une semaine supplémentaire, le Conseil note que l’avis de consultation de radiodiffusion 2022-267-1 établit de nouvelles dates de butoir pour le dépôt des interventions et des répliques, soit le 28 novembre 2022 et le 12 décembre 2022, respectivement. Ainsi, le Conseil estime que cette demande a déjà été traitée.
  3. Compte tenu de ce qui précède, tel que demandé par le FRPC et accepté par les demandeurs et les autres EDR désignées comme parties à l’instance, le Conseil verse les renseignements compilés fournis par les demandeurs en réponse aux première et deuxième demandes d’information et les renseignements compilés fournis par les demandeurs en réponse à la troisième demande d’information, ainsi que par les EDR désignées parties à la présente instance au dossier public. Les renseignements compilés sont énoncés à l’annexe du présent avis.

Secrétaire général

Documents connexes

Annexe à l’Avis de consultation de radiodiffusion CRTC 2022-267-2

Données compilées soumises par Bell Canada, Cogeco Communications inc., Bragg Communications Incorporated, faisant affaire sous le nom d’Eastlink, Saskatchewan Telecommunications, Québecor Média inc., Rogers Communications inc., Shaw Communications inc. et TELUS Communications inc.

Remarque importante : un degré élevé de variabilité entre les réponses des parties a été observé et peut suggérer des interprétations différentes des informations demandées par les parties, en plus de refléter des offres de marché structurées différemment. Le pourcentage du total des abonnés répertoriés comme « abonnés au forfait de base » varie selon les répondants de moins de 1 % à 100 %.

Données compilées soumises par Bell Canada, Cogeco Communications inc., Bragg Communications Incorporated, faisant affaire sous le nom d’Eastlink, et Saskatchewan Telecommunications (demandeurs) fondées sur la demande de renseignements datée du 25 février 2022

Données compilées soumises par les demandeurs fondées sur la demande de renseignements datée du 21 mars 2022

Données compilées soumises par les demandeurs fondées sur la demande de renseignements datée du 13 avril 2022 et les renseignements équivalents déposés par Québecor Média inc., Rogers Communications inc., Shaw Communications inc. et TELUS Communications inc.

Date de modification :