Broadcasting Notice of Consultation CRTC 2022-267-1

PDF version

Reference: 2022-267 and 2022-267-2

Ottawa, 27 October 2022

Public record: 1011-NOC2022-0267

Call for comments on an application by Bell Canada, Cogeco Communications Inc., Bragg Communications Incorporated, carrying on business as Eastlink, and Saskatchewan Telecommunications regarding the increase of the maximum retail price of the basic service – Extension to the deadlines for the receipt of interventions and the filing of replies

New deadline for the receipt of interventions: 28 November 2022

New deadline for the filing of replies: 12 December 2022

[Submit an intervention/comment/answer or view related documents]

  1. Further to Call for comments on an application by Bell Canada, Cogeco Communications Inc., Bragg Communications Incorporated, carrying on business as Eastlink, and Saskatchewan Telecommunications regarding the increase of the maximum retail price of the basic service, Broadcasting Notice of Consultation CRTC 2022-267, 28 September 2022, the Commission received a procedural request from the Public Interest Advocacy Centre (PIAC) in regard to that application (2022-0019-5).
  2. PIAC requested that the deadline to submit interventions be extended from 28 October 2022 to 31 January 2023 and that the deadline to submit replies be extended from 14 November 2022 to 21 February 2023. PIAC expressed concerns that the current timeframes are unfair to the public and other parties since those timeframes do not provide sufficient time to perform a comprehensive study of the documents.
  3. After examining the request, the Commission finds that PIAC did not provide sufficient justification. In particular, PIAC did not provide any timelines or details as to the work it wishes to complete (e.g., the type of additional research, analysis or outreach required to perform a comprehensive study of documents) that would justify a three-month extension for the submission of interventions.
  4. The Commission is of the view that extending the intervention period by three months as requested by PIAC would introduce an unjustified delay to this proceeding. However, the Commission recognizes the importance of the consumer’s perspective in this particular matter. Therefore, the Commission considers that extending the deadlines for the receipt of interventions and the filing of replies by one month in this proceeding would be in the public interest.
  5. In light of the above, the Commission extends the deadline for the receipt of interventions to 28 November 2022 and the deadline to file replies to 12 December 2022.

Secretary General

Date modified:

Avis de consultation de radiodiffusion CRTC 2022-267-1

Version PDF

Référence : 2022-267 et 2022-267-2

Ottawa, le 27 octobre 2022

Dossier public : 1011-NOC-2022-0267

Appel aux observations à propos d’une demande de Bell Canada, Cogeco Communications inc., Bragg Communications Incorporated, faisant affaire sous le nom d’Eastlink et Saskatchewan Telecommunications concernant l’augmentation du prix de détail maximal du service de base – Report des dates limites pour la réception des interventions et le dépôt des répliques

Nouvelle date limite pour la réception des interventions : 28 novembre 2022

Nouvelle date limite pour le dépôt des répliques : 12 décembre 2022

[Soumettre une intervention/observation/réponse ou consulter les documents connexes]

  1. À la suite de l’Appel aux observations à propos d’une demande de Bell Canada, Cogeco Communications inc., Bragg Communications Incorporated, faisant affaire sous le nom d’Eastlink et Saskatchewan Telecommunications concernant l’augmentation du prix de détail maximal du service de base, Avis de consultation de radiodiffusion CRTC 2022-267, 28 septembre 2022, le Conseil a reçu une requête procédurale du Centre pour la défense de l’intérêt public (CDIP) concernant cette demande (2022-0019-5).
  2. Le CDIP demande que la date butoir pour le dépôt des interventions soit reportée du 28 octobre 2022 au 31 janvier 2023 et que la date butoir pour le dépôt des répliques soit reportée du 14 novembre 2022 au 21 février 2023. Le CDIP est préoccupé par le fait que les délais actuels sont injustes pour le public et les autres parties, car ces délais ne laissent pas suffisamment de temps pour effectuer une étude complète des documents.
  3. Après avoir examiné la demande, le Conseil conclut que le CDIP n’a pas fourni une justification suffisante pour sa demande. Plus précisément, le CDIP n’a pas fourni d’échéancier ni de détails quant au travail qu’il souhaite accomplir (p. ex. le type de recherche, d’analyse ou de consultation supplémentaire nécessaire pour effectuer une étude approfondie des documents) qui justifierait une prolongation de trois mois pour la réception des interventions.
  4. Le Conseil est d’avis qu’une prolongation de trois mois de la période d’intervention, comme le demande le CDIP, entraînerait un retard injustifié dans la présente instance. Toutefois, le Conseil reconnaît l’importance du point de vue du consommateur sur cette question précise. Par conséquent, le Conseil estime qu’il serait dans l’intérêt public de reporter d’un mois les dates limites pour la réception des interventions et le dépôt des répliques dans le cadre de la présente instance.
  5. Compte tenu de ce qui précède, le Conseil reporte la date limite pour la réception des interventions au 28 novembre 2022 et la date limite pour le dépôt des répliques au 12 décembre 2022.

Secrétaire général

Date de modification :