Telecom Commission Letter addressed to Distribution List

Ottawa, 28 September 2020

Our reference: 1011-NOC2020-0187

BY EMAIL

Distribution List

Re:  Responses to Commission requests for information in Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2020-187 (“NoC 2020-187”) - Call for comments – Appropriate network configuration for disaggregated wholesale high-speed access services – ruling on requests for disclosure of information filed in confidence and  information to be placed on the public record

Dear Madams, Sirs:

This letter addresses requests for disclosure of information that were submitted as part of the above noted proceeding and designated as confidential. In the Appendix to NoC 2020-187, information was requested from Bell Aliant, a division of Bell Canada (Bell Aliant); Bell Canada; Bell MTS Inc. (Bell MTS); Bragg Communications Incorporated, carrying on business as Eastlink; Cogeco Communications Inc.; Quebecor Media Inc.; on behalf of Videotron Ltd.; Rogers Communications Canada Inc.; Saskatchewan Telecommunications; Shaw Cablesystems G.P.; and TELUS Communications Inc. (TCI) (collectively, the wholesale service providers). All the wholesale service providers filed the requested information with the Commission.

On 14 August 2020, the Competitive Network Operators of Canada (CNOC) filed requests for disclosure of information designated as confidential. On 24 August 2020, TekSavvy Solutions Inc. (TekSavvy) filed a letter with the Commission supporting CNOC’s request and further requested that the Commission grant TekSavvy the same access to the filed confidential information, under the same terms as requested by CNOC.

On 24 and 26 August 2020, the wholesale service providers responded to these requests for disclosure.

Disclosure

Requests for disclosure of information designated as confidential are addressed in light of sections 38 and 39 of the Telecommunications Act (the Act) and sections 30 and following of the CRTC Rules of Practice and Procedure (the Rules). In evaluating a request, an assessment is made as to whether the information falls into a category of information that can be designated confidential pursuant to section 39 of the Act. The next step in the assessment is to determine whether there is any specific direct harm likely to result from the disclosure of the information in question and whether any such harm outweighs the public interest in disclosure. In making this evaluation, a number of factors are taken into consideration, including the degree of competition and the importance of the information to the ability of the Commission to obtain a full and complete record. The factors considered are discussed in more detail in Procedures for filing confidential information and requesting its disclosure in Commission proceedings, Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-961, 23 December 2010, as amended by Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-961-1, 26 October 2012.

Commission staff has reviewed the requests for disclosure filed by CNOC and TekSavvy, along with the responses submitted by the wholesale service providers, and considers that additional disclosure is necessary in order for parties to be able to participate meaningfully in the proceeding and for the Commission to obtain a fulsome record. In instances where disclosure is required, Commission staff is of the view that the public interest weighed in favour of disclosure.

Based on its review of the requests and responses, as well as through assessing the specific direct harm likely to result from the disclosure of the information and whether such harm outweighs the public interest in disclosure, Commission staff considers that the parties listed in Attachment 2 are to disclose and file the specified information on the public record by 2 October 2020.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Chris Noonan
Director, Competitive Services & Costing Implementation
Telecommunications sector
c. c.: Tom Vilmansen, CRTC 819-997-9253 Tom.Vilmansen@crtc.gc.ca

Attach. (2): Distribution List (1)
Disclosure of information (2)


Distribution List
nels2510@telus.net; robin.winsor@cybera.ca; reza.rajabiun@ryerson.ca; darrellkrahn@shaw.ca; chall2k5@gmail.com; lyoungers@fiberbroadband.org; ron.murch@haskayne.ucalgary.ca; regulatory@fibernetics.ca; jeff_mcnamee@sympatico.ca; cedwards@ccsa.cable.ca; regulatory@ssimicro.com; regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca; regulatory@mts.ca; regulatory@zayo.com; rs@summer.com; corinne.pohlmann@cfib.ca; ; jpanter@auroracollege.nt.ca; slambert-racine@uniondesconsommateurs.ca; george.burger@vmedia.ca; rob.olenick@tbaytel.com; jlawford@piac.ca; jonathan.holmes@itpa.ca; MaryAnne.Bendfeld@calgary.ca; blackwell@giganomics.ca; jfmezei@vaxination.ca; Derek.Leschinsky@bc-cb.gc.ca; Monique.Moreau@cfib.ca; document.control@sasktel.com; regulatory.affairs@telus.com; dennis.beland@quebecor.com; regulatory@sjrb.ca; ctacit@tacitlaw.com; regulatory@distributel.ca; regulatory@primustel.ca; regulatory@bcba.ca; telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com; bell.regulatory@bell.ca; regulatory@teksavvy.com; regaffairs@quebecor.com; steve.sorochan@gov.yk.ca; dmckeown@viewcom.ca; Nathan.jarrett@rci.rogers.com; regulatorynotice@allstream.com; abderrahman.elfatihi@crtc.gc.ca


Disclosure of information

  1. TELUS(CRTC)11Jun20-2 Attachment 1

Disclose the following:

  1. Rogers(CRTC)11Jun20-2

Disclose the following:           

  1. Shaw - Attachment 5

Disclose the following:           

  1. Québecor Média(CRTC)11juin2020-2 ACT 2020-187 Annexe

Divulguer ce qui suit:

  1. 11 June 2020 - Bragg - Attachment 2 - Question 2

Disclose the following: 

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Christian Lebel (Agence du revenu du Canada)

Ottawa, le 28 septembre 2020

Notre référence : 1011-NOC2020-0187

PAR COURRIEL

Liste de distribution

Objet :  Répliques aux demandes de renseignements du Conseil dans l’avis de consultation de télécom 2020-187 – Appel aux observations – Configuration de réseau appropriée concernant les services d’accès haute vitesse de gros dégroupés – décision du personnel sur les demandes de divulgation de renseignements déposés à titre confidentiel et devant être versés au dossier public

Mesdames, Messieurs,

Cette lettre concerne les demandes de divulgation de renseignements soumis dans le cadre de l’instance susmentionnée et désignés comme confidentiels. Dans l’annexe de l’avis de consultation 2020-187, des renseignements ont été demandés à Bell Aliant, une division de Bell Canada (Bell Aliant); à Bell Canada; à Bell MTS Inc. (Bell MTS); à Bragg Communications Incorporated, faisant affaire sous le nom d’Eastlink; à Cogeco Communications inc.; à Québecor Media Inc.; au nom de Vidéotron ltée; à Rogers Communications Canada Inc.; à Saskatchewan Telecommunications; à Shaw Cablesystems G.P.; et à TELUS Communications Inc. (TCI) [collectivement, les fournisseurs de services de gros]. Tous les fournisseurs de services de gros ont déposé les renseignements demandés auprès du Conseil.

Le 14 août 2020, le Consortium des opérateurs de réseaux canadiens inc. (CORC) a déposé des demandes de divulgation de renseignements désignés comme confidentiels. Le 24 août 2020, TekSavvy Solutions Inc. (TekSavvy) a déposé une lettre auprès du Conseil appuyant la demande du CORC et a en outre demandé que le Conseil accorde à TekSavvy le même accès aux renseignements confidentiels déposés, selon les mêmes conditions que celles demandées par le CORC.

Les 24 et 26 août 2020, les fournisseurs de services de gros ont répondu à ces demandes de divulgation.

Divulgation

Les demandes de divulgation de renseignements désignés comme confidentiels sont traitées en vertu des articles 38 et 39 de la Loi sur les télécommunications (la Loi) et des articles 30 et suivants des Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (les Règles). Lors de l’évaluation d’une demande, on vérifie si les renseignements appartiennent à une catégorie de renseignements qui peuvent être désignés comme confidentiels en vertu de l’article 39 de la Loi. L’étape suivante de l’évaluation est de déterminer si la divulgation des renseignements en question est susceptible d’entraîner un préjudice direct précis, et si un tel préjudice l’emporte sur l’intérêt public. Lors de cette évaluation, un certain nombre de facteurs sont pris en considération, y compris le degré de concurrence et l’importance de l’information pour permettre au Conseil d’établir un dossier complet. Les facteurs à évaluer sont expliqués en détail dans la Procédure à suivre pour le dépôt et la demande de communication de renseignements confidentiels dans le cadre d’une instance du Conseil, Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961, 23 décembre 2010, modifié par le Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961-1, qui est daté du 26 octobre 2012.

Le personnel du Conseil a examiné les demandes de divulgation déposées par le CORC et TekSavvy, ainsi que les répliques soumises par les fournisseurs de services de gros, et estime qu’une divulgation supplémentaire est nécessaire pour permettre aux parties de participer de manière concrète à l’instance et au Conseil d’établir un dossier complet. Dans les cas où la divulgation est requise, le personnel du Conseil est d’avis que l’intérêt public favorise la divulgation.

D’après son examen des demandes et des répliques, ainsi que de l’évaluation du préjudice direct précis susceptible de découler de la divulgation de renseignements et si ce préjudice l’emporte sur l’intérêt public de la divulgation, le personnel du Conseil estime que les parties énumérées dans l’annexe 2 doivent divulguer et déposer les renseignements demandés dans le dossier public au plus tard le 2 octobre 2020.

Veuillez agréer, Mesdames, Messieurs, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.
Le directeur,

Original signé par

Chris Noonan
Mise en œuvre des services aux concurrents et établissement des coûts
Secteur des télécommunications
c. c. Tom Vilmansen, CRTC, 819-997-9253, Tom.Vilmansen@crtc.gc.caca.

p. j. (2) : Liste de distribution (1)
Demandes de divulgation de renseignements (2)

Liste de distribution

nels2510@telus.net; robin.winsor@cybera.ca; reza.rajabiun@ryerson.ca; darrellkrahn@shaw.ca; chall2k5@gmail.com; lyoungers@fiberbroadband.org; ron.murch@haskayne.ucalgary.ca; regulatory@fibernetics.ca; jeff_mcnamee@sympatico.ca; cedwards@ccsa.cable.ca; regulatory@ssimicro.com; regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca; regulatory@mts.ca; regulatory@zayo.com; rs@summer.com; corinne.pohlmann@cfib.ca;; jpanter@auroracollege.nt.ca; slambert-racine@uniondesconsommateurs.ca; george.burger@vmedia.ca; rob.olenick@tbaytel.com; jlawford@piac.ca; jonathan.holmes@itpa.ca; MaryAnne.Bendfeld@calgary.ca; blackwell@giganomics.ca; jfmezei@vaxination.ca; Derek.Leschinsky@bc-cb.gc.ca; Monique.Moreau@cfib.ca; document.control@sasktel.com; regulatory.affairs@telus.com; dennis.beland@quebecor.com; regulatory@sjrb.ca; ctacit@tacitlaw.com; regulatory@distributel.ca; regulatory@primustel.ca; regulatory@bcba.ca; telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com; bell.regulatory@bell.ca; regulatory@teksavvy.com; regaffairs@quebecor.com; steve.sorochan@gov.yk.ca; dmckeown@viewcom.ca; Nathan.jarrett@rci.rogers.com; regulatorynotice@allstream.com; abderrahman.elfatihi@crtc.gc.ca


Demandes de divulgation de renseignements

  1. TELUS(CRTC)11Juin20-2 Pièce jointe 1

Divulguer ce qui suit :

  1. Rogers(CRTC)11Juin20-2

Divulguer ce qui suit :

  1. Shaw – Pièce jointe 5

Divulguer ce qui suit :

  1. Québecor Média(CRTC)11juin2020-2 ACT 2020-187 Annexe

Divulguer ce qui suit :

  1. 11 June 2020 – Bragg – Pièce jointe 2 – Question 2

Divulguer ce qui suit :

Date de modification :