Telecom - Commission letter addressed to Distribution List

Ottawa, 23 December 2019

Our reference: 1011-NOC2019-0057

BY EMAIL

Distribution

RE: Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2019-57, Review of mobile wireless services – disclosure of statistical information filed by the Commissioner of Competition in his report

Dear Madams, Sirs:

On 22 November 2019, the Commissioner of Competition filed his further comments, as well as an accompanying economic report, prepared by Dr. Tasneem Chipty of Matrix Economics (The Report). These documents were both filed with abridged versions for the public record (containing redacted information) and confidential versions for the Commission only.

Four parties have made requests to have certain elements of this redacted information disclosed: Bell Mobility, CNOC, Rogers and Telus.

The various requests made by CNOC and Telus are being evaluated by the Commission, including requests related to whether additional procedure is appropriate.

However, by way of this staff letter, parties are hereby notified that the Commission has made determinations regarding the requests made by Bell Canada and Rogers related to the disclosure of statistical diagnostic information. The Commission has also affirmed that parties are to proceed with their reply comments to the Report according to the timelines established in Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2019-57-1.

Commission staff is communicating the Commission’s determinations in advance of a Secretary General letter, in which additional reasons for the decision will be provided, in order to provide parties more time to effectively incorporate the information to be disclosed into their 13 January 2020 reply comments.

The Commission has decided that:

1.The Commissioner is to publicly disclose the following:

2. The Commissioner is to disclose to Bell Mobility only:

3. The Commissioner is to, upon written request, disclose to any other carrier whose confidential information was used in the Report:

The Commission considered that public disclosure of the outcomes of statistical models poses minimal risk of harm to parties who disclosed their confidential information to the Commissioner. It also considered that disclosure of the statistical information would better allow parties to respond to and test the Commissioner’s evidence, and lead to a more fulsome record.

As noted above, a letter from the Secretary General will follow. In the meantime, the Commissioner is to disclose the information noted above by no later than 30 December 2019.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Philippe Kent
Director, Policy
Telecommunications Sector

Distribution List: All parties to 2019-57

Date modified:

Télécom - Lettre du Conseil adressée à la Liste de Distribution

Ottawa, le 23 décembre 2019

Nos références : 1011-NOC2019-0057


PAR COURRIEL

Distribution

Objet : Avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2019-57, Examen des services sans fil mobiles – Divulgation des renseignements statistiques déposés par le commissaire de la concurrence dans son rapport

Mesdames, Messieurs,

Le 22 novembre 2019, le commissaire de la concurrence a déposé ses observations supplémentaires, ainsi qu’un rapport économique connexe, préparé par le Dr Tasneem Chipty de Matrix Economics (le rapport). Ces documents ont été déposés avec des versions abrégées aux fins du dossier public (contenant des informations caviardées) et des versions confidentielles à l’intention du Conseil uniquement.

Quatre parties ont demandé la divulgation de certains éléments de ces renseignements caviardés : Bell Mobilité, le Consortium des opérateurs de réseaux canadiens inc. (CORC), Rogers et TELUS.

Le Conseil examine actuellement les différentes demandes présentées par le CORC et TELUS, y compris les demandes pour savoir si une procédure supplémentaire est appropriée.

Toutefois, le personnel a informé les parties par voie de lettre que le Conseil a rendu des décisions au sujet des demandes présentées par Bell Canada et Rogers concernant la divulgation de renseignements statistiques diagnostiques. Le Conseil a également affirmé que les parties doivent présenter leurs observations en réplique au rapport selon les délais établis dans l’avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2019-57-1.

Le personnel du Conseil communique les décisions du Conseil avant une lettre du Secrétaire général, dans laquelle ce dernier fournit d’autres motifs de la décision, afin de donner aux parties plus de temps pour tenir véritablement compte des renseignements à divulguer dans leurs observations en réplique du 13 janvier 2020.
Le Conseil a décidé que :

1. Le commissaire divulgue au public les éléments suivants :

2. Le commissaire divulgue à Bell Mobilité uniquement :

 

3. Le commissaire, sur demande écrite, divulgue à toute autre entreprise dont les renseignements confidentiels ont été utilisés dans le rapport :

Le Conseil a estimé que la divulgation au public des résultats des modèles statistiques présente un risque minime de préjudice pour les parties qui ont divulgué leurs renseignements confidentiels au commissaire. Il a aussi estimé que la divulgation des renseignements statistiques permettrait aux parties de mieux répondre aux éléments de preuve du commissaire et de les tester, et contribuerait à obtenir un dossier plus complet.

Tel qu’il est indiqué plus haut, une lettre du Secrétaire général suivra. Entre-temps, le commissaire doit divulguer les renseignements susmentionnés au plus tard le 30 décembre 2019.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Le directeur,

Philippe Kent
Politique
Secteur des télécommunications
Liste de distribution : Toutes les parties à l’avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2019-57