Telecom - Commission letter addressed to the Distribution List

Ottawa, 12 December 2019

Our reference: 1011-NOC2019-0057


BY EMAIL


Distribution List


RE: Review of mobile wireless services, Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2019-57 – Disclosure of information designated as confidential to the Commissioner of Competition

Dear Madams, Sirs:

On 5 July 2019, the Commission issued a number of requests for information to parties covering a wide range of issues in the wireless review proceeding. These responses were filed with the Commission on 12 September 2019, and some of the information was filed in confidence.

In a letter dated 20 September 2019, the Commissioner of Competition (the Commissioner), among other things, identified a number of request for information (RFI) responsesFootnote1 for which he requested disclosure of information designated as confidential pursuant to section 39(4)(b) of the Telecommunications Act (the Act).Footnote2This is the second disclosure request the Commissioner has made in this proceeding – the first one was largely disposed of in Mobile wireless review – Disclosure of information designated as confidential to the Commissioner of Competition, Telecom Decision 2019-277.

With respect to this current request, the Commissioner provided justification for why each of the RFI responses was relevant to competition issues and how he could potentially use the confidential information in the context of the current proceeding. Parties provided initial justifications for their confidentiality claims, as required by the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure. However, aside from these initial claims, no party filed specific objections in response to the Commissioner’s disclosure request. 

Under section 39(4)(b) of the Act, the Commission may exercise its discretion and require disclosure of confidential information to the Commissioner if, in its view, the information is relevant to competition issues. In conducting this assessment, the Commission must first determine whether the information sought is relevant to competition issues being considered in the proceeding. If it is determined that the requested information satisfies this requirement, the Commission then weighs the potential benefits resulting from disclosure against any associated risks.

In this case, the information being sought is wide ranging and generally pertains to the following: potential Mobile Virtual Network Operator (MVNO) models, the competitive impacts of network sharing agreements, market definition, pricing practices, customer retention tactics, network capacity, roaming and other wholesale services, and support structures. In the Commission’s view, these matters are highly relevant to the competition issues being considered in this proceeding as they relate to key issues of competition policy, including retail and wholesale activities and barriers to entry. This information is important to understanding and defining relevant markets, assessing the presence of market power, and ultimately determining whether regulatory measures would improve competition.

The Commission is of the view that disclosure of the confidential information to the Commissioner could ultimately be of benefit to the record. While the Commissioner has already filed his further comments and economic analysis, the information could still assist the Commissioner in preparing his evidence for the remainder of the proceeding, including his appearance before the hearing panel and his final reply, leading to a more fulsome record upon which the Commission can make its determinations.

The Commission notes that some of the information subject to the Commissioner’s disclosure request touches on the terms and conditions set out in network sharing agreements. In particular, certain RFIs sought information relating to whether network sharing agreements contain any provisions that would restrict MVNO access. Certain carriers included specific provisions of their network sharing agreements in their responses, which were filed in confidence.

While no party filed comments specifically objecting to this disclosure request, the Commission is mindful that, in disposing of the Commissioner’s first disclosure request, it had not required disclosure of network sharing agreements. That determination resulted from an appreciation that these agreements contained highly sensitive commercial and network information and an assessment that, given their highly technical nature, disclosure of these agreements would not likely contribute to a better understanding of the competitiveness of the mobile wireless marketplace. 

However, in this case, there would be benefit to requiring disclosure of specific information relating to whether the agreements contain terms or conditions that restrict MVNO access and thus limit or prevent competition. The Commission considers that disclosing this information to the Commissioner would assist him in better assessing competitive issues central to this proceeding and produce more informed submissions for the Commission to consider.

The Commission sees little risk of potential harm in ordering the contemplated disclosure, given the Commissioner’s position as a federally appointed expert, supported by a specialized agency, without a financial stake in the outcome of the proceeding and with extensive experience in handling sensitive information.

In light of the above, the Commission grants the Commissioner’s disclosure request. Therefore, impacted parties (as set out in Appendix 1) are to file the information in question to the Commissioner by 20 January 2019.

Yours sincerely,


Original signed by


Claude Doucet
Secretary General

Distribution list: parties to Telecom proceeding 2019-57

Attachment (1)

DISCLOSURE OF INFORMATION DESIGNATED AS CONFIDENTIAL

The following responses contained information that was filed in confidence and are to be disclosed to the Commissioner:

Bell Mobility

(CRTC)5July2019-111
(CRTC)5July2019-116
(CRTC)5July2019-117
(CRTC)5July2019-204
(CRTC)5July2019-210
(CRTC)5July2019-215
(CRTC)5July2019-216
(CRTC)5July2019-217
(CRTC)5July2019-218
(CRTC)5July2019-220
(CRTC)5July2019-231
(CRTC)5July2019-301
(CRTC)5July2019-304
(CRTC)5July2019-402
(CRTC)5July2019-403

Rogers

(CRTC)5July2019-204
(CRTC)5July2019-210
(CRTC)5July2019-214
(CRTC)5July2019-215
(CRTC)5July2019-216
(CRTC)5July2019-217
(CRTC)5July2019-218
(CRTC)5July2019-219
(CRTC)5July2019-301
(CRTC)5July2019-304
(CRTC)5July2019-401

SaskTel

(CRTC)5July2019-204
(CRTC)5July2019-218
(CRTC)5July2019-219
(CRTC)5July2019-301
(CRTC)5July2019-401
(CRTC)5July2019-404

Shaw

(CRTC)5July2019-206
(CRTC)5July2019-214
(CRTC)5July2019-215
(CRTC)5July2019-216
(CRTC)5July2019-220

TBayTel

(CRTC)5July2019-210
(CRTC)5July2019-301

TELUS

(CRTC)5July2019-204
(CRTC)5July2019-206
(CRTC)5July2019-210
(CRTC)5July2019-215
(CRTC)5July2019-231

Videotron

(CRTC)5July2019-206
(CRTC)5July2019-210
(CRTC)5July2019-218
(CRTC)5July2019-219
(CRTC)5July2019-220
(CRTC)5July2019-231
(CRTC)5July2019-401
(CRTC)5July2019-404

Date modified:

Télécom - Lettre du Conseil adressée à la Liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 12 décembre 2019

Nos références : 1011-NOC2019-0057


PAR COURRIEL


Liste de distribution


Objet : Avis de consultation de télécom 2019-57, Examen des services sans fil mobiles – Divulgation de renseignements désignés comme confidentiels au commissaire de la concurrence


Mesdames, Messieurs,

Le 5 juillet 2019, le Conseil a envoyé plusieurs demandes de renseignements aux parties portant sur un large éventail de questions dans le cadre de l’instance d’examen des services sans fil. Les réponses ont été déposées auprès du Conseil le 12 septembre 2019 et certains des renseignements ont été déposés de façon confidentielle.

Dans une lettre datée du 20 septembre 2019, le commissaire de la concurrence (le commissaire) a notamment cerné plusieurs réponses aux demandes de renseignementsNote de bas de page1 pour lesquelles il a demandé la divulgation de renseignements désignés comme confidentiels aux termes de l’alinéa 39(4)b) de la Loi sur les télédivulgations (la Loi)Note de bas de page2. Il s’agit de la deuxième demande de divulgation faite par le commissaire dans le cadre de la présente instance – la première a largement été réglée dans la décision de télécom 2019-277, Examen des services sans fil mobiles – Divulgation de renseignements désignés comme confidentiels au commissaire de la concurrence.

Concernant la présente demande, le commissaire a expliqué pourquoi les réponses aux demandes de renseignements étaient pertinentes relativement aux questions de concurrence et de quelle manière il pourrait potentiellement utiliser les renseignements confidentiels dans le contexte de l’instance en cours. Les parties ont fourni une première justification relativement à leurs demandes de traitement confidentiel, tel qu’exigé dans les Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télédivulgations canadiennes. Toutefois, mises à part ces demandes de traitement confidentiel, aucune partie n’a déposé d’objection particulière en réponse à la demande de divulgation du commissaire.

Aux termes de l’alinéa 39(4)b) de la Loi, le Conseil peut exercer son pouvoir de discrétion et exiger la divulgation de renseignements confidentiels au commissaire si, selon lui, les renseignements sont pertinents relativement aux questions de concurrence. En effectuant cette évaluation, le Conseil doit d’abord déterminer si les renseignements demandés sont pertinents en ce qui concerne les questions de concurrence examinées dans le cadre de l’instance. S’il est déterminé que les renseignements demandés sont conformes à cette exigence, le Conseil peut ensuite évaluer les potentiels avantages découlant d’une divulgation par rapport à tout risque connexe.

Dans ce cas, les renseignements demandés sont vastes et portent généralement sur les potentiels modèles d’exploitant de réseau mobile virtuel (ERMV), les incidences des ententes de partage de réseau sur la concurrence, la définition du marché, les pratiques tarifaires, les tactiques de fidélisation des clients, la capacité du réseau, les services d’itinérance et autres services de gros, et les structures de soutien. D’après le Conseil, ces questions sont très pertinentes relativement aux questions de concurrence examinées dans la présente instance, car elles touchent des questions clés de politique en matière de concurrence, y compris les activités de vente en détail et en gros, ainsi que les obstacles à l’entrée. Ces renseignements sont importants pour comprendre et définir les marchés pertinents, évaluer l’existence d’un pouvoir de marché et enfin, pour déterminer si des mesures réglementaires amélioreraient la concurrence.

Le Conseil est d’avis que la divulgation de renseignements confidentiels au commissaire pourrait finalement être utile. Bien que le commissaire ait déjà déposé ses commentaires et son analyse économique, les renseignements pourraient toujours être utiles au commissaire dans la préparation de ses éléments de preuve pour le reste de l’instance, y compris sa comparution devant le comité d’audition et sa réponse finale, donnant lieu à un dossier plus complet sur lequel le Conseil pourra s’appuyer pour tirer ses conclusions.

Le Conseil souligne que plusieurs des renseignements assujettis à la demande de divulgation sont liés aux modalités énoncées dans les ententes de partage de réseau. Plus précisément, certaines demandes de renseignements visaient des renseignements concernant la question de savoir si des ententes de partage de réseau comprennent des dispositions qui limiterait l’accès des ERMV. Certaines entreprises ont inclus des dispositions précises de leurs ententes de partage de réseau dans leurs réponses déposées de façon confidentielle.

Bien qu’aucune partie n’ait déposé d’objection particulière à cette demande de divulgation, le Conseil est conscient du fait que lorsqu’il s’est prononcé sur la première demande de divulgation du commissaire, il n’avait pas exigé la divulgation des ententes de partage de réseau. Cette décision a découlé du fait que ces ententes contenaient des renseignements commerciaux et sur le réseau de nature très délicate, et d’une évaluation selon laquelle, compte tenu de leur nature très technique, la divulgation de ces ententes ne permettrait probablement pas de mieux comprendre la compétitivité du marché des services mobiles.

Toutefois, en l’espèce, il serait utile d’exiger la divulgation de renseignements portant sur la question de savoir si les ententes contiennent des modalités qui limitent l’accès des ERMV et, par conséquent, limitent ou empêchent la concurrence. Le Conseil estime que divulguer ces renseignements au commissaire l’aiderait à mieux évaluer les questions de concurrence centrales relatives à la présente instance et à produire des mémoires plus éclairés aux fins d’examen par le Conseil.

Le Conseil estime qu’ordonner la divulgation envisagée présente un risque de préjudice potentiel faible, compte tenu de la position du commissaire en tant qu’expert nommé par le gouvernement fédéral, appuyé par une agence spécialisée, pour qui le dénouement de l’instance ne revêt aucun intérêt financier et vu sa vaste expérience du traitement de renseignements de nature délicate.

Compte tenu de ce qui précède, le Conseil approuve la demande de divulgation du commissaire. Par conséquent les parties concernées (énumérées à l’annexe 1) doivent déposer les renseignements en question auprès du commissaire avant le 20 janvier 2019.

Veuillez agréer, Mesdames, Messieurs mes salutations distinguées.

Original signé par


Claude Doucet
Secrétaire général


Liste de distribution : parties à l’instance de télécom 2019-57

Pièce jointe (1)

DIVULGATION DE RENSEIGNEMENTS DÉSIGNÉS COMME CONFIDENTIELS

Les réponses suivantes contenaient des renseignements qui ont été déposés à titre confidentiel et doivent être divulgués au commissaire :

Bell Mobility
(CRTC)5July2019-111
(CRTC)5July2019-116
(CRTC)5July2019-117
(CRTC)5July2019-204
(CRTC)5July2019-210
(CRTC)5July2019-215
(CRTC)5July2019-216
(CRTC)5July2019-217
(CRTC)5July2019-218
(CRTC)5July2019-220
(CRTC)5July2019-231
(CRTC)5July2019-301
(CRTC)5July2019-304
(CRTC)5July2019-402
(CRTC)5July2019-403

Rogers

(CRTC)5July2019-204
(CRTC)5July2019-210
(CRTC)5July2019-214
(CRTC)5July2019-215
(CRTC)5July2019-216
(CRTC)5July2019-217
(CRTC)5July2019-218
(CRTC)5July2019-219
(CRTC)5July2019-301
(CRTC)5July2019-304
(CRTC)5July2019-401

SaskTel

(CRTC)5July2019-204
(CRTC)5July2019-218
(CRTC)5July2019-219
(CRTC)5July2019-301
(CRTC)5July2019-401
(CRTC)5July2019-404

Shaw

(CRTC)5July2019-206
(CRTC)5July2019-214
(CRTC)5July2019-215
(CRTC)5July2019-216
(CRTC)5July2019-220

TBayTel

(CRTC)5July2019-210
(CRTC)5July2019-301

TELUS

(CRTC)5July2019-204
(CRTC)5July2019-206
(CRTC)5July2019-210
(CRTC)5July2019-215
(CRTC)5July2019-231

Videotron

(CRTC)5July2019-206
(CRTC)5July2019-210
(CRTC)5July2019-218
(CRTC)5July2019-219
(CRTC)5July2019-220
(CRTC)5July2019-231
(CRTC)5July2019-401
(CRTC)5July2019-404

Date de modification :