Telecom Commission Letter addressed to the Distribution list

Ottawa, 27 November 2019

Our reference: 1011-NOC2019-0057

BY EMAIL

Distribution

RE:  Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2019-57, Review of mobile wireless services – process letter for requests for public disclosure of information designated as confidential in parties’ 22 November 2019 further comments     

Dear Madams, Sirs:

Pursuant to the process set out in Telecom Notice of Consultation 2019-57, Review of mobile wireless services,Footnote1parties were able to file further comments by 22 November 2019.

The purpose of this letter is to set out the process and associated dates for parties to make requests for public disclosure, under section 39(4)(a) of the Telecommunications Act (the Act), of information that has been designated as confidential in parties’ further comments.

Requests for public disclosure of information that has been designated as confidential must be filed with the Commission and served on the relevant party or parties by 6 December 2019.

Responses to these requests must be filed with the Commission and served on the party or parties making the request by 16 December 2019.

Requests for disclosure of information designated as confidential are addressed in light of sections 38 and 39 of the Act as well as sections 30 – 34 of the CRTC Rules of Practice and Procedure.

In evaluating a request, an assessment is first made as to whether the information falls into a category of information that can be designated as confidential pursuant to section 39 of the Act. An assessment is then made as to whether disclosure of particular information is in the public interest; regard is generally had to whether the disclosure would result in specific direct harm and whether that harm outweighs the public interest in disclosure. Harm may be more likely to outweigh the public interest where the information is more disaggregated or where the degree of competition is greater. Conversely, the public interest may be more likely to outweigh any harm where the information is more important to the ability of the Commission to obtain a full and complete record on which to make its decision.

Further information regarding the general procedures and the factors considered may be found in Procedures for filing confidential information and requesting its disclosure in Commission proceedings, Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-961, 23 December 2010, as amended by Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-961-1, 26 October 2012.

Determinations will be issued at a later date.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Philippe Kent
Director, Policy
Telecommunications Sector

Distribution List: All parties to 2019-57

Footnotes

Footnote 1

As amended by Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2019-57-1, Review of mobile wireless services - Changes to procedure, 28 October 2019.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à la liste de Distribution

 

Ottawa, le 27 novembre 2019

Notre référence : 1011-NOC2019-0057

PAR COURRIEL

Distribution

Objet : Avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2019-57, Examen des services sans fil mobiles – Lettre sur le processus de demandes de divulgation publique des renseignements désignés comme confidentiels dans les observations supplémentaires du 22 novembre 2019 des parties         

Mesdames, Messieurs,

Conformément au processus établi dans l’avis de consultation de télécom 2019-57, Examen des services sans fil mobilesNote de bas de page1, les parties ont été en mesure de déposer des observations supplémentaires au plus tard le 22 novembre 2019.

Cette lettre avait pour objectif d’établir le processus et de fixer les dates connexes pour les parties pour demander la divulgation publique, conformément à l’alinéa 39(4)a) de la Loi sur les télécommunications (la Loi), des renseignements qui ont été désignés comme confidentiels dans les observations supplémentaires des parties.

Les demandes de divulgation publique des renseignements désignés comme confidentiels doivent être déposées auprès du Conseil et signifiées à la partie ou aux parties pertinentes au plus tard le 6 décembre 2019.

Les réponses à ces demandes doivent être déposées auprès du Conseil et signifiées à la partie ou aux parties à l’origine des demandes au plus tard le 16 décembre 2019.

On répond aux demandes de divulgation de renseignements désignés comme confidentiels compte tenu des articles 38 et 39 de la Loi ainsi que des articles 30 à 34 des Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes.

Lorsque le Conseil évalue une demande, il vérifie si les renseignements s’inscrivent dans une catégorie de renseignements considérés comme confidentiels aux termes de l’article 39 de la Loi. Une évaluation est ensuite faite pour savoir si la divulgation de renseignements particuliers est dans l’intérêt du public; la question générale est de savoir si la divulgation entraînerait un préjudice direct précis et si ce préjudice l’emporterait sur l’intérêt public. Le préjudice est plus susceptible de l’emporter sur l’intérêt public dans les cas où les renseignements sont plus détaillés ou le niveau de concurrence est plus élevé. À l’opposé, l’intérêt du public est plus susceptible de l’emporter sur le préjudice dans les cas où l’obtention des renseignements est plus importante pour permettre au Conseil d’établir un dossier complet sur lequel il s’appuiera pour prendre sa décision.

De plus amples renseignements sur les procédures générales et les facteurs à considérer se trouvent dans le bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961, du 23 décembre 2010, Procédure à suivre pour le dépôt et la demande de communication de renseignements confidentiels dans le cadre d’une instance du Conseil, modifié par le bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961-1, 26 octobre 2012.

Les décisions seront rendues à une date ultérieure.

Veuillez agréer, Mesdames, Messieurs, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Original signé par

Philippe Kent
Directeur, Politique
Secteur des télécommunications

Liste de distribution : Toutes les parties à l’avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2019-57