Telecom Procedural Letter Addressed to Marcom Development Ltd. et Novus Entertainment Inc.

Ottawa, 3 October 2019

Our reference: 8622-N68-201904649

BY EMAIL

Mr. Bud Eaton
Vice-President Development
Marcon Developments Ltd.
5645 – 199th Street
Langley, BC  V3A 1H9
beaton@marcon.ca

Ms. Donna Robertson
Co-President, Chief Legal Officer
Novus Entertainment Inc.
#300 – 112 East 3rd Avenue
Vancouver, BC  V5T 1C8
donna.robertson@novusnow.ca

RE: Application filed by Novus Entertainment Inc. (Novus) for non-discriminatory and timely access on reasonable terms and conditions to the multi-dwelling unit (MDU) 567 Clarke + Como Development and future MDU developments of Marcon Developments Ltd. and its related companies (Marcon)

Dear Mr. Eaton and Ms. Robertson:

In a staff letter dated 2 August 2019, Commission staff notified Marcon and Novus that the deadlines associated with Novus’ application were as follows:

On 30 September 2019, the Commission received a letter from Marcon’s counsel (Lawson Lundell LLP), requesting a one-month extension to the 1 October 2019 deadline for Marcon to file its answer to Novus’ application. Marcon’s counsel submitted that Marcon and Novus are currently negotiating the terms and conditions of a network installation agreement, under which Novus will be granted access to the 567 Clarke + Como Development (the MDU) for the purpose of installing cables, wires, and communications facilities, so that Novus may provide cable television, Internet, digital phone, and other end-user communications services to residents of the MDU. Marcon’s legal counsel submitted that a one-month extension to the 1 October 2019 deadline will allow Marcon to continue to focus on and prioritize negotiating a network installation agreement that is acceptable to both Novus and Marcon.

On 1 October 2019 the Commission received a letter from Novus, confirming that Novus had received the letter dated 30 September 2019 from Marcon’s counsel. Novus submitted that the parties are in negotiation, and that Novus agrees that a one-month extension of the deadline to 1 November 2019 may provide the time necessary to conclude an agreement.

In light of the above, the deadlines associated with Novus’ application are modified as follows:

Commission staff expects that the parties will continue negotiating in order to achieve a mutually-beneficial result.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution and Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications Sector

 

c.c.: Michelle Casey, Lawson Lundell LLP, mcasey@lawsonlundell.com
Rudy Rab, CRTC, rudy.rab@crtc.gc.ca
Marcon Developments Ltd. info@marcon.ca

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre procédurale adressée à Marcom Development Ltd. et Novus Entertainment Inc.

Ottawa, le 3 octobre 2019

Notre référence: 8622-N68-201904649

Monsieur Bud Eaton
Vice-président – Development
Marcon Developments Ltd.
5645 – 199th Street
Langley (Colombie-Britannique)  V3A 1H9
beaton@marcon.ca

Madame Donna Robertson
Coprésidente et directrice des Services juridiques
Novus Entertainment Inc.
300 – 112 East 3rd Avenue
Vancouver (C.-B.)  V5T 1C8
donna.robertson@novusnow.ca

Objet : Demande déposée par Novus Entertainment Inc. (Novus) visant un accès non discriminatoire et en temps opportun, selon des modalités raisonnables, au développement d’immeubles à logements multiples (ILM) 567 Clarke + Como et aux futurs développements d’ILM de Marcon Developments Ltd. et ses sociétés affiliées (Marcon)

Madame, Monsieur,

Dans une lettre du personnel datée du 2 août 2019, le personnel a informé Marcon et Novus que les échéances liées à la demande de Novus se déclinent comme suit :

Le 30 septembre 2019, le Conseil a reçu une lettre du service juridique de Marcon (Lawson Lundell s.r.l.) demandant le report d’un mois de l’échéance du 1er octobre 2019 pour que Marcon puisse déposer sa réplique à la demande de Novus. Le service juridique de Marcon a indiqué que Marcon et Novus négocient à l’heure actuelle les modalités d’une entente sur l’installation du réseau, en vertu de laquelle Novus aura accès au développement 567 Clarke + Como (l’ILM) afin d’installer les câbles, les fils et les équipements de communication, pour que Novus puisse fournir les services de télévision par câble, d’Internet, de téléphonie numérique et d’autres services de communications à l’intention des utilisateurs finaux aux résidents de l’ILM. Le service juridique de Marcon a indiqué que le report d’un mois de l’échéance du 1er octobre 2019 permettra à Marcon de continuer de se concentrer sur la priorité qu’est la négociation d’une entente sur l’installation du réseau qui soit acceptable à la fois pour Novus et pour Marcon.

Le 1er octobre 2019, le Conseil a reçu une lettre de Novus confirmant que Novus avait reçu la lettre datée du 30 septembre 2019 du service juridique de Marcon. Novus a indiqué que les parties sont en négociation et qu’elle convient qu’un report d’un mois de l’échéance, soit jusqu’au 1er novembre 2019, pourrait donner assez de temps pour conclure une entente.

Compte tenu de ce qui précède, les échéances liées à la demande de Novus sont ainsi modifiées :

Le personnel du Conseil s’attend à ce que les parties continuent de négocier en vue de parvenir à un résultat avantageux pour les deux parties.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Le directeur,

Original signé par

Michel Murray
Règlement des différends et mise en œuvre de la réglementation
Secteur des télécommunications

c. c. : Michelle Casey, Lawson Lundell s.r.l., mcasey@lawsonlundell.com
Rudy Rab, CRTC, rudy.rab@crtc.gc.ca
Marcon Developments Ltd. info@marcon.ca

Date de modification :