Telecom Commission Letter addressed to Philippe Gauvin (Bell Canada) and Howard Slawner (Rogers Communications Canada Inc.)

Ottawa, 24 September 2019

Our reference: 8650-S191-201904483

BY EMAIL

Mr. Philippe Gauvin
Assistant General Counsel
Bell Canada
Floor 19
160 Elgin St.
Ottawa, Ontario K2P 2C4
bell.regulatory@bell.ca

Mr. Howard Slawner
Vice President - Regulatory Telecom
Rogers Communications Canada Inc.
350 Bloor Street East
Toronto Ontario M4W 0A1
rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com

Re:    SDI Telecom – Part 1 Application to allow competitive payphone service providers to use business lines from any competitive local exchange carrier, and to receive reports and compensation for toll-free calls

Dear Sirs,

On 5 June 2019, SDI Telecom (SDI) filed with the Commission the above referenced Part 1 Application, raising issues related to compensation for toll-free calling.

To assist staff in its analysis of the application, Bell Canada and Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (RCCI) are to provide responses to the attached requests for information (RFIs) by 4 October 2019.

Interested parties may file comments in response to the RFIs by 9 October 2019. Bell Canada and RCCI may file reply comments by 11 October 2019.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Philippe Kent
Director, Policy
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.:  Curtis Eagan, CRTC, 819-953-4947, curtis.eagan@crtc.gc.ca
Allstream Inc., iworkstation@mtsallstream.com
Primus Telecommunications Canada Inc., regulatory@primustel.ca
CGI Inc., b.dube@cgi.com

Attach (1)

Requests for Information

Questions for Bell Canada

Question 1

In Telecom Decision 2013-299, the Commission set a default compensation rate for toll-free calls of $0.80 per call and that the rate would “be payable to the competitive payphone service providers by the long distance carriers and will apply in cases where the parties involved have not agreed on the charging of another rate.”

Based on the record of this application, SDI did not agree to the charging of another rate for toll-free calls made from its pay phones using Bell Canada’s regular business line service, and Bell Canada is refusing to compensate SDI the above-mentioned $0.80 rate for toll-free calls.

Explain why the Commission’s determinations in Telecom Decision 2013-299 should not apply to Bell Canada in SDI’s case.

Question 2

In Order 2000-538, the Commission directed all interexchange carriers (IXCs) to compensate competitive pay telephone service providers who provide access to the IXC's toll-free services and to provide sufficient billing information to a payphone service provider so that it can bill the IXCs.

If the Commission were to determine that SDI should be compensated for providing access to an IXC’s toll-free services using regular business lines, will Bell Canada produce a toll-free report with sufficient billing information to SDI so that it can bill the IXCs, as per Order 2000-538? If not, explain why not.

Question for RCCI

In Telecom Decision 97-8, the Commission considered that Competitive Local Exchange Carriers (CLECs) are not simply customers of Incumbent Local Exchange Carriers (ILECs) but are carriers equal in stature to the ILECs in the local exchange market.

In Order 2000-538, the Commission directed all IXCs, including ILECs and CLECs, to compensate competitive pay telephone service providers who provide access to the IXC's toll-free services and to provide sufficient billing information to a payphone service provider so that it can bill the IXCs.

Explain why RCCI believes it should not have to produce a toll-free report with sufficient billing information to SDI so that it can bill IXCs, as per Order 2000-538.

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Philippe Gauvin (Bell Canada) et Howard Slawner (Rogers Communications Canada Inc.)

Ottawa, le 24 septembre 2019

Notre référence : 8650-S191-201904483

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Philippe Gauvin                                                                                                    
Chef adjoint du service juridique
Bell Canada
160, rue Elgin
19e étage
Ottawa (Ontario)  K2P 2C4
bell.regulatory@bell.ca

Monsieur Howard Slawner
Vice-président, Affaires réglementaires – Télécommunications
Rogers Communications Canada Inc.
350, rue Bloor Est
Toronto (Ontario)  M4W 0A1
rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com

Objet : SDI Telecom – Demande en vertu de la Partie 1 pour permettre aux fournisseurs de services téléphoniques payants concurrents d’utiliser des lignes d’affaires de toutes entreprises de services locaux concurrentiels (ESLC), et de recevoir des rapports et une compensation pour les appels sans frais

Messieurs,

Le 5 juin 2019, SDI Telecom (SDI) a déposé auprès du Conseil la demande en vertu de la partie 1 susmentionnée, soulevant des questions liées aux appels sans frais.

Dans le but d’aider le personnel dans son analyse de la demande, Bell Canada et Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (RCCI) sont tenues de répondre aux demandes de renseignements ci-jointes au plus tard le 4 octobre 2019.

Les parties intéressées peuvent déposer des observations dans leurs répliques aux demandes de renseignements au plus tard le 9 octobre 2019. Bell Canada et RCCI peuvent déposer des répliques aux observations au plus tard le 11 octobre 2019.

Je vous prie d’agréer, Messieurs, l’expression de mes sentiments distingués.

Original signé par

Philippe Kent
Directeur, Politique
Secteur des télécommunications

c. c.   Curtis Eagan, CRTC, 819-953-4947, curtis.eagan@crtc.gc.ca
Allstream Inc., iworkstation@mtsallstream.com
Primus Telecommunications Canada Inc., regulatory@primustel.ca
CGI Inc., b.dube@cgi.com

Pièce jointe (1)

Demandes de renseignements

Questions adressées à Bell Canada

Question 1

Dans la décision de télécom 2013-299, le Conseil fixe un tarif de compensation implicite de 0,80 $ par appel pour les appels sans frais d’interurbain et ce tarif serait « payable aux fournisseurs de services téléphoniques payants concurrents par les entreprises de services interurbains et s’appliquera dans les cas où les parties concernées n’ont pas convenu de la perception d’un autre tarif ».

Selon le dossier de cette demande, SDI n’a pas convenu de la perception d’un autre tarif pour les appels sans frais à partir de ses téléphones payants utilisant une ligne d’affaires normale de Bell Canada et Bell Canada refuse de compenser SDI au tarif de 0,80 $ susmentionné pour les appels sans frais d’interurbain.

Expliquez pourquoi les conclusions du Conseil dans la décision de télécom 2013-299 ne devraient pas s’appliquer à Bell Canada dans le cas de SDI.

Question 2

Dans l’ordonnance 2000-538, le Conseil enjoint aux entreprises de services intercirconscriptions (ESI) de compenser les fournisseurs de téléphones payants concurrents qui fournissent l’accès aux services sans frais d’interurbain des ESI et de soumettre aux fournisseurs de service de téléphones payants suffisamment de données de facturation pour qu’ils facturent les ESI.

Si le Conseil décidait que SDI devrait être compensée pour fournir l’accès aux services sans frais d’interurbain des ESI utilisant des lignes d’affaires normales, Bell Canada produira-t-elle un rapport sur les appels sans frais d’interurbain avec suffisamment de données de facturation à SDI pour qu’elle facture les ESI, conformément à l’ordonnance 2000-538? Si ce n’est pas le cas, indiquez pourquoi.

Question adressée à RCCI

Dans la décision de télécom 97-8, le Conseil estime que les entreprises de services locaux concurrentes (ESLC) ne sont pas simplement des clients des ESLT, mais ont la même importance que celles-ci dans le marché local.

Dans l’ordonnance 2000-538, le Conseil enjoint aux ESI, notamment les ESLT et les ESLC, de compenser les fournisseurs de téléphones payants concurrents qui fournissent l’accès aux services sans frais d’interurbain des ESI et de soumettre aux fournisseurs de service de téléphones payants suffisamment de données de facturation pour qu’ils facturent les ESI.

Expliquez pourquoi RCCI estime qu’elle ne devrait pas être tenue de produire un rapport sur les appels sans frais d’interurbain avec suffisamment de données de facturation à SDI pour qu’elle facture les ESI, conformément à l’ordonnance 2000-538.

Date de modification :