Telecom Commission Letter addressed to Philippe Gauvin (Bell Canada)

Ottawa, 24 September 2019

Our reference: 8650-A121-201904301

BY EMAIL

Philippe Gauvin
Deputy Chief, Legal Services
Bell Canada
160 Elgin Street
19th Floor
Ottawa, Ontario  K2P 2C4
bell.regulatory@bell.ca

Re: Request, Part 1 – Request for expedited relief by AFX Communications against Bell Canada

Dear Mr. Gauvin:

On May 30, 2019, AFX Communications filed the above request with the Commission. In the request, AFX Communications claims payment of the $0.80 compensation and the provision of reports enabling them to obtain this compensation for toll-free long-distance calls made from AFX payphones connected to Bell Canada’s regular business lines.

To complete its analysis, Commission staff is asking Bell Canada to answer the questions submitted in Index 1 by 4 October 2019. Please provide complete answers, including a rationale and any supporting documentation.

Interested parties will be able to provide comments by 9 October 2019. Bell Canada will have until 11 October 2019 to respond to any comments from interested parties.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Philippe Kent
Director, Policy
Telecommunications Sector

c.c. Suzanne Lamarre, Therrien Couture L.L.P. Suzanne.lamarre@therriencouture.com

Index 1

Question 1

In its response, Bell Canada indicates that its position on reporting and the right of a CPTSP to receive the $0.80 compensation provided for in Decision 2013-299 for regular business lines is [translation] “fully aligned with its previous tariff and its representations on the subject.” Commission staff note that none of the items in Bell Canada’s tariff specifically mention the right to compensation.

Explain how Bell Canada’s general tariff and representations indicate that a CPTSP subscriber to a regular business line is not entitled to compensation and reporting, as provided in paragraph 17 of Decision 2013-299.

Question 2

In its reply, AFX Communications claims that Bell Canada uses its regular business lines for the use of its own payphones. Bell Canada reportedly receives a report and compensation for toll-free long distance calls made on these phones.

Please indicate whether Bell Canada uses payphones on its regular business lines and whether Bell Canada then receives compensation for toll-free long distance calls made from its payphones.

If so, explain how this does not constitute an undue or unreasonable preference, having regard to subsection 27(2) of the Telecommunications Act.

Question 3

In its response, Bell Canada states that [translation] “the addition, for regular business lines, of the toll‑free options intrinsic to PALs would require product development efforts and a commercial agreement with a CPTSP interested in these options.” However, it appears that these options were mistakenly offered to CPTSPs on regular business lines until March 2019, at least since the date of Decision 2018-133, that is, April 20, 2018.

Explain why development efforts would now be required to include PAL-specific options on regular business lines when these options were available until March 2019. In addition, indicate the extent of these efforts.

Questions 4

In its response, Bell Canada states that it cannot verify whether regular business lines connect a payphone or the premises of a regular business customer when a competing service provider subscribes to regular business lines. However, Bell Canada seemed to be able to provide the reports and compensation, at least since the date of Decision 2018-133.

Explain why it was previously possible for Bell Canada to verify whether regular business lines had been connecting a CPTSP payphone since at least April 20, 2018. Explain why Bell Canada indicates that it can no longer perform this verification.

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Philippe Gauvin (Bell Canada)

Ottawa, le 24 septembre 2019

Notre référence : 8650-A121-201904301

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Philippe Gauvin
Chef adjoint du service juridique
Bell Canada
160, rue Elgin
19e étage
Ottawa (Ontario) K2P 2C4
bell.regulatory@bell.ca

Objet :   Demande Partie 1 - Demande accélérée de redressement par AFX Communications contre Bell Canada

Monsieur Gauvin,

Le 30 mai 2019, AFX Communications a déposé auprès du Conseil la demande en rubrique. Dans ladite demande, AFX Communications réclame le paiement de la compensation de 0,80$ ainsi que la fourniture des rapports leur permettant d’obtenir cette compensation pour les appels interurbains sans frais effectués à partir des téléphones payants AFX connectés aux lignes d’affaires régulières de Bell Canada.

Afin de compléter son analyse, le personnel du Conseil demande à Bell Canada de répondre aux questions soumises en index 1 d’ici le 4 octobre 2019. Veuillez fournir des réponses complètes, y compris une justification et tout document à l’appui.

Les parties intéressées pourront fournir des commentaires d’ici le 9 octobre 2019. Bell Canada aura jusqu’au 11 octobre 2019 pour répondre aux commentaires des parties intéressées, le cas échéant.

Veuillez agréer l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Le directeur,

Original signé par

Philippe Kent
Politiques
Secteur des télécommunications

c. c. Suzanne Lamarre, Therrien Couture avocats s.e.n.c.r.l. Suzanne.lamarre@therriencouture.com

Index 1

Question 1

Dans sa réponse, Bell Canada indique que sa position quant à la production de rapport et le droit d’un FSTPC de recevoir la compensation de 0,80$ prévue par la Décision 2013-299 pour les lignes d’affaires régulières est « complètement aligné avec [son] tarif et [ses] représentations précédentes sur le sujet ». Le personnel du Conseil remarque qu’aucun des items du tarif de Bell Canada ne mentionne spécifiquement le droit à la compensation.

Expliquez en quoi le tarif général et les représentations de Bell Canada indiquent que l’abonné FSTPC à une ligne d’affaire régulière n’a pas droit à la compensation et au rapport, tel que le prévoit le paragraphe 17 de la Décision 2013-299.

Question 2

Dans sa réplique, AFX communications prétend que Bell Canada utilise ses lignes d’affaires régulières pour l’utilisation de ses propres téléphones payants. Bell Canada recevrait un rapport et une compensation pour les appels interurbains sans frais faits sur ces téléphones.

Veuillez indiquer si Bell Canada utilise des téléphones payants sur ses lignes d’affaires régulières et si Bell Canada perçoit alors la compensation pour les appels interurbains sans frais faits à partir de ses téléphones payants.

Le cas échéant, expliquez en quoi cela ne constitue pas une préférence indue ou déraisonnable, eu égard au paragraphe 27(2) de la Loi sur les télécommunications.

Question 3

Dans sa réponse, Bell Canada indique que « l’ajout, quant aux lignes d’affaires régulières, des options sans frais intrinsèques aux LASTP requerrait des efforts de développement de produit et une entente commerciale avec un FSTPC intéressé à ces options ».  Or, il semble que ces options étaient offertes par erreur aux FSTPC sur les lignes d’affaires régulières jusqu’au mois de mars 2019, et ce au moins depuis la date de la Décision 2018-133, soit le 20 avril 2018.

Expliquez pourquoi des efforts de développement seraient maintenant nécessaires pour inclure les options spécifiques aux LASTP sur les lignes d’affaires régulières alors de ces options étaient offertes jusqu’au mois de mars 2019.  De plus, indiquez l’étendu desdits efforts.

Questions 4

Dans sa réponse, Bell Canada indique ne pas pouvoir vérifier si les lignes d’affaires régulières connectent un téléphone payant ou les locaux d’un abonné d’affaires régulier lorsqu’un fournisseur de service concurrent s’abonne aux lignes d’affaires régulières. Bell Canada semblait pourtant être en mesure de fournir les rapports et la compensation, et ce depuis au moins la date de la Décision 2018-133.

Expliquez pourquoi il était précédemment possible pour Bell Canada de vérifier si les lignes d’affaires régulières connectaient un téléphone payant d’un FSTPC depuis au moins le 20 avril 2018. Expliquez pourquoi Bell Canada indique ne plus pouvoir effectuer cette vérification.

Date de modification :