Telecom Commission Letter addressed to the Distribution List

Ottawa, 6 September 2019

Our reference: 1011-NOC2019-0057

BY EMAIL

Distribution list

RE:  Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2019-57, Review of mobile wireless services – disclosure of aggregated information regarding wholesale mobile wireless services revenues

Dear Madam, Sir:
In a letter dated 16 August 2019, Commission staff indicated that it planned to provide, for the public record, aggregated wholesale mobile wireless revenuesFootnote1 on a national basis for each of the years 2014-2018. The wholesale services categories reported by parties included revenues related to roaming services, tower and site sharing, MVNOs, and “other” wholesale services.
Parties did not object to the disclosure of aggregated revenues related to roaming services, tower and site sharing, and MVNOs. 

However, Bell Mobility, SaskTel and TELUS, in separate letters dated 30 August 2019, raised concerns over the disclosure of “other wholesale revenues”, even on an aggregated national basis. They indicated that the information they reported for this category consists almost entirely of revenues associated with their mutual network reciprocity arrangements and argued that, given the limited number of other such arrangements in existence, a competitor could easily deduce the magnitude of these arrangements by backing out its own amount. They argued that this information is highly sensitive and that its disclosure would cause significant competitive harm that outweighs any public benefits.

In this specific case, staff agrees that the potential harm from disclosure outweighs any potential benefits. As such, staff will limit the disclosure of aggregated wholesale revenues to roaming services, tower and site sharing, and MVNOs. In staff’s view, this information, in conjunction with other information disclosed on the public record, is sufficient to provide parties with meaningful insight into wholesale activities and trends with a view to preparing subsequent submissions that will better serve to inform the Commission’s deliberations on issues addressed in this proceeding.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Philippe Kent
Director, Policy
Telecommunications Sector

Distribution List: All parties to 2019-57

Appendix 1

Total wholesale mobile wireless services revenues ($M)

- 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018
Roaming services $29.3 $58.8 $87.4 $91.0 $81.4
Tower and site sharing $60.6 $64.0 $66.3 $69.5 $71.4
MVNOs $31.8 $34.2 $36.7 $37.8 $37.3
Total $121.6 $157.0 $190.4 $198.3 $190.1
Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à la Liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 6 septembre 2019

Notre référence : 1011-NOC2019-0057

PAR COURRIEL

Distribution

Objet : Avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2019-57, Examen des services sans fil mobiles – divulgation des revenus agrégés liés aux services sans fil mobiles de gros

Madame, Monsieur,

Dans une lettre datée du 16 août 2019, le personnel du Conseil a indiqué son intention de diffuser au grand public les revenus agrégés liés aux services sans fil mobiles de gros Note de bas de page1 pour l’ensemble du pays et chacune des années comprises dans la période de 2014 à 2018. Les catégories de services de gros déclarées par les parties comprenaient les revenus liés aux services d’itinérance, au partage des tours et des sites, aux exploitants de réseaux mobiles virtuels (ERMV) et aux « autres » services de gros.
Les parties ne se sont pas opposées à la divulgation des revenus agrégés liés aux services d’itinérance, au partage des tours et des sites et aux ERMV.

Cependant, dans une lettre datée du 30 août 2019, Bell Mobilité, SaskTel et TELUS ont toutes fait part de leurs préoccupations à l’égard des revenus liés aux autres services de gros, même sous forme agrégée pour l’ensemble du pays. Elles ont indiqué que l’information qu’elles avaient transmise pour cette catégorie se composait presque exclusivement de revenus associés à leur entente mutuelle relative à la réciprocité des réseaux, et ont fait valoir que, étant donné le nombre limité d’ententes de ce genre actuellement en vigueur, un concurrent pourrait aisément réduire l’ampleur de cette entente en retirant son propre montant. Elles ont soutenu que cette information est de nature très délicate et que sa divulgation causerait un préjudice concurrentiel important qui l’importerait sur l’avantage de la divulgation publique.

Dans le cas présent, le personnel convient que le préjudice pouvant découler de la divulgation l’emporte sur tous les avantages potentiels. Par conséquent, le personnel limitera la divulgation des revenus agrégés liés aux services de gros aux services d’itinérance, au partage des tours et des sites et aux ERMV. Le personnel estime que cette information, combinée aux autres renseignements du domaine public, sera suffisante pour fournir aux parties un aperçu concret des activités et des tendances relatives aux services de gros dans l’optique de préparer des mémoires subséquents qui permettront de mieux éclairer les délibérations du Conseil quant aux questions abordées dans la présente instance.
Je vous prie d’agréer, Madame, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments distingués.

Original signé par

Philippe Kent
Directeur, Politique
Secteur des télécommunications

Liste de distribution : Toutes les parties à l’avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2019-57

Annexe 1

Total des revenus liés aux services sans fil mobiles de gros ($M)

- 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018
Services d’itinérance $29.3 $58.8 $87.4 $91.0 $81.4
Partage des tours et des sites $60.6 $64.0 $66.3 $69.5 $71.4
ERMV $31.8 $34.2 $36.7 $37.8 $37.3
Total $121.6 $157.0 $190.4 $198.3 $190.1
Date de modification :