Telecom Procedural Letter addressed to Dennis Béland (Québecor Média) and Philippe Gauvin (Bell Canada)

Ottawa, 29 August 2019

Our reference: 8660-V3-201904516

BY EMAIL

Mr. Dennis Béland
Vice-president, Regulatory Affairs
Telecommunications
Québecor Média
612, rue Saint-Jacques, 15e étage
Montréal, Quebec H3C 4M8
regaffairs@quebecor.com

Mr. Philippe Gauvin
Assistant General Counsel
Bell Canada
160, Elgin Street, 19th Floor
Ottawa, Ontario K2P 2C4
bell.regulatory@bell.ca

Re :  Part 1 application filed by Québecor Média inc. on behalf of its subsidiary, Vidéotron Ltd. (collectively, Vidéotron), against Bell Canada on behalf of its subsidiary Bell Mobility Inc. (collectively, Bell), requesting that the Commission order Bell to abstain from suspending wholesale roaming service offered to Vidéotron – Procedural Letter (revised dates)

Dear Sirs:

On 26 August 2019, Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC) staff sent a procedural letter to Vidéotron and Bell, the parties to the above-mentioned application. In its letter, staff requires that Videotron disclose to Bell certain confidential information contained in its reply to the interventions on the application for final relief dated 15 July 2019, as well as in its letter of response to requests for information dated 12 August 2019. Commission staff required Videotron to disclose the requested information to Bell by 3 September 2019.

Staff also established that Bell could submit a new answer by 9 September 2019, and that Videotron could file a final reply by 16 September 2019.

In a letter dated 27 August 2019, Bell indicated that the subject matter expert responsible for the file at Bell will be on vacation during the period identified by Commission staff. Bell is requesting an extension of the deadline for filing an answer to 26 September 2019.

In a letter dated 28 August 2019, Videotron indicated that if Commission staff accepted Bell's request for a postponement, a key member of Videotron's staff would be on vacation at the time of filing its final reply. Videotron is therefore requesting an extension of the deadline for filing a reply to 7 October 2019.

As a result, staff establishes the following procedures:

This letter will be added to the public file of the above-mentioned process.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution and Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.: Guillaume Castonguay, CRTC,  guillaume.castonguay@crtc.gc.ca

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre procédurale adressée à Dennis Béland (Québecor Média) et Philippe Gauvin (Bell Canada)

Ottawa, le 29 août 2019

Notre référence : 8660-V3-201904516

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Dennis Béland
Vice-président, Affaires réglementaires
Télécommunications
Québecor Média
612, rue St-Jacques, 15e étage
Montréal (Québec)  H3C 4M8
regaffairs@quebecor.com

Monsieur Philippe Gauvin
Chef adjoint du service juridique
Bell Canada
160, rue Elgin, 19e étage
Ottawa (Ontario)  K2P 2C4
bell.regulatory@bell.ca

Objet :  Demande en vertu de la partie 1 déposée par Québecor Média inc. au nom de sa filiale Vidéotron ltée (collectivement, Vidéotron), à l’endroit de Bell Canada au nom de sa filiale Bell Mobilité Inc. (collectivement, Bell), demandant au Conseil d'ordonner à Bell de s'abstenir de suspendre les services d'itinérance de gros fournis à Vidéotron – Lettre procédurale

Messieurs,

Le 26 août 2019, le personnel du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (CRTC) a fait parvenir une lettre procédurale aux parties de la demande susmentionnée, Vidéotron et Bell. Dans sa lettre, le personnel exige que Vidéotron communique à Bell certains renseignements désignés confidentiels contenus dans sa réplique datée du 15  juillet 2019 aux interventions portant sur la demande de redressement définitif, ainsi que dans sa lettre de réponse à une demande de renseignement supplémentaire datée du 12 août 2019. Le personnel du Conseil a exigé que Vidéotron communique les renseignements demandés à Bell au plus tard le 3 septembre 2019.

Le personnel avait également établi que Bell pourrait soumettre une nouvelle réponse au plus tard le 9 septembre 2019, et que Vidéotron pourrait déposer une réplique finale au plus tard le 16 septembre 2019.

Dans une lettre datée du 27 août 2019, Bell a mentionné que l’expert responsable du dossier chez Bell sera en vacances durant la période identifiée par le personnel du Conseil. Bell demande un report de la date limite pour déposer une réponse au 26 septembre 2019.

Dans une lettre datée du 28 août 2019, Vidéotron a mentionné que si le personnel du Conseil acceptait la demande de report de Bell, un membre clé du personnel de Vidéotron serait en vacances au moment de devoir déposer sa réplique finale. Vidéotron demande par conséquent un report de la date limite pour déposer une réplique au 7 octobre 2019.

En conséquence, le personnel établit les procédures suivantes :

La présente lettre sera ajoutée au dossier public du processus mentionné à l’objet.

Veuillez agréer, Messieurs, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Le directeur,

L’original signé par

Michel Murray
Règlement des différends et mise en œuvre de la réglementation
Secteur des télécommunications

c. c. : Guillaume Castonguay, CRTC,  guillaume.castonguay@crtc.gc.ca

Date de modification :