Telecom Procedural Letter addressed to Dennis Béland (Québecor Média) and Philippe Gauvin (Bell Canada)

Ottawa, 26 August 2019

Our reference: 8660-V3-201904516

BY EMAIL

Mr. Dennis Béland
Vice-president, Regulatory Affairs
Telecommunications
Québecor Média
612, rue Saint-Jacques, 15e étage
Montréal, Quebec H3C 4M8
regaffairs@quebecor.com

Mr. Philippe Gauvin
Assistant General Counsel
Bell Canada
160, Elgin Street, 19th Floor
Ottawa, Ontario K2P 2C4
bell.regulatory@bell.ca

Re :  Part 1 application filed by Québecor Média inc. on behalf of its subsidiary, Vidéotron Ltd. (collectively, Vidéotron), against Bell Canada on behalf of its subsidiary Bell Mobility Inc. (collectively, Bell), requesting that the Commission order Bell to abstain from suspending wholesale roaming service offered to Vidéotron – Procedural Letter (revised dates)

Dear Sirs:

On 1 August 2019, Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC) staff sent a letter requesting additional information to Vidéotron and Bell, the parties to the above-mentioned application.

In its letter of response to these RFIs dated 12 August 2019, Vidéotron designated certain information as confidential pursuant to section 39 of the CRTC's Rules of Practice and Procedure (the Rules). Vidéotron had also designated certain information as confidential in its reply to the interventions on the application for final relief dated 15 July 2019.

In its letter of response to the RFIs dated 19 August 2019, Bell included a request for disclosure, pursuant to subsection 33(1) of the Rules, of some of the information designated as confidential by Vidéotron. Bell requests that Vidéotron disclose:

  1. The confidential numbers set out in paragraph 26 of Vidéotron's 15 July 2019 reply; and
  2. The confidential numbers of subscribers (rather than the International Mobile Subscriber Identities (IMSIs)) set out in Vidéotron's 12 August 2019 responses to the Commission's 1 August 2019 requests for information.

In support of its request, Bell argues that the confidentiality provisions set out in Item 100.13 of its CRTC 15011 Tariff  allow it to hold confidential information from a customer on its wholesale roaming service, and that the definitions associated with that item include end-user information. Bell further argues that the public interest militates strongly in favour of Vidéotron disclosing the requested information because, among other things, of the importance of the data to allow Bell to provide informed comments on Vidéotron's compliance with the permanent roaming prohibition clause in its tariff.

In a letter dated 20 August 2019, Vidéotron replied to Bell's disclosure request. Vidéotron indicates that it has no objection to providing Bell with the confidential information in question.

However, Vidéotron also states that it would only disclose the information on the condition that Bell in turn provide certain confidential information.  Vidéotron requests, pursuant to subsection 33(1) of the Rules, the disclosure of the information contained in paragraphs 35, 40, 41 and 42, as well as that contained in footnotes 15, 16 and 18 of Bell's answer to the application for final relief dated July 8, 2019. Staff notes that the information requested relates to the usage thresholds used by Bell to measure roaming by Vidéotron end-users, and the number of IMSIs identified by these measures.

In support of its request, Vidéotron states that access to this information is necessary in order to properly understand and comment on the methodology Bell used to produce the four IMSI lists that were sent to Vidéotron on 8 July 2019.

In a letter dated 22 August 2019, Bell replied to Vidéotron's request. According to Bell, Vidéotron has no need for the information it requests. According to Bell, Vidéotron is not auditing Bell's processes, and does not need the requested information since Vidéotron has already tacitly admitted the validity of Bell's approach by confirming that 6 IMSIs from the first sample of 10 provided by Bell were either at high risk or were actually engaged in permanent roaming.

Subparagraph 39(4)(a) of the Telecommunications Act states that the Commission may require the disclosure of information designated as confidential submitted in the course of proceedings before the Commission if it determines, after considering any representations from interested persons, that the disclosure is in the public interest. Commission staff analyzed the applications using this criterion.

Regarding Bell’s request for Vidéotron to disclose the confidential numbers set out in paragraph 26 of Vidéotron's 15 July 2019 reply and the confidential numbers of subscribers set out in Vidéotron's 12 August 2019 responses to the Commission's 1 August 2019 RFI, staff is of the view that the disclosure of this information to Bell would serve the public interest. Indeed, as the main actor responsible for the application of its tariff, Bell must be able to verify if its wholesale roaming clients, such as Vidéotron, take commercially reasonable steps to limit roaming on the incumbent’s network by their end-users to incidental levels that are within the scope of the service. The information which Bell requests disclosure will enable it to determine the reasonableness of the measures put in place by Vidéotron. The comments that Bell will make in response to this information will assist the Commission in making an informed decision with respect to the final relief requested by Vidéotron. For this reason, Commission staff requires that Vidéotron disclose the requested information to Bell no later than 3 September 2019. The information will remain confidential for other parties as well as the general public.

Regarding Vidéotron’s request for Bell to disclose the confidential information contained in paragraphs 35, 40, 41 and 42, as well as that contained in footnotes 15, 16 and 18 of Bell's answer dated 8 July 2019, staff is of the view that Vidéotron has already addressed the issues potentially raised by the requested information in paragraphs 25 to 29 of its reply dated 15 July 2019. Commission staff is of the view that disclosure of the requested information would serve no useful purpose to allow Vidéotron to provide input that will help the Commission to make an informed decision on the final relief requested by Vidéotron. For this reason, Commission staff dismisses Vidéotron’s request.

In its letter dated 19 August 2019, Bell requested the right to file an additional answer once it obtained disclosure of the requested confidential information. In its letter dated 20 August 2019, Vidéotron requested that it be granted a final right of reply within 5 business days of Bell filing its additional answer or confirmation that it will not file an additional answer.

As a result, staff establishes the following procedures:

This letter will be added to the public file of the above-mentioned process.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution and Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.: Guillaume Castonguay, CRTC,  guillaume.castonguay@crtc.gc.ca

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre procédurale adressée à Dennis Béland (Québecor Média) et Philippe Gauvin (Bell Canada)

Ottawa, le 26 août 2019

Notre référence : 8660-V3-201904516

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Dennis Béland
Vice-président, Affaires réglementaires
Télécommunications
Québecor Média
612, rue St-Jacques, 15e étage
Montréal (Québec)  H3C 4M8
regaffairs@quebecor.com

Monsieur Philippe Gauvin
Chef adjoint du service juridique
Bell Canada
160, rue Elgin, 19e étage
Ottawa (Ontario)  K2P 2C4
bell.regulatory@bell.ca

Objet :  Demande en vertu de la partie 1 déposée par Québecor Média inc. au nom de sa filiale Vidéotron ltée (collectivement, Vidéotron), à l’endroit de Bell Canada au nom de sa filiale Bell Mobilité Inc. (collectivement, Bell), demandant au Conseil d'ordonner à Bell de s'abstenir de suspendre les services d'itinérance de gros fournis à Vidéotron – Lettre procédurale (dates modifiées)

Messieurs,

Le 1er août 2019, le personnel du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (CRTC) avait fait parvenir aux parties de la demande susmentionnée, Vidéotron et Bell, une lettre de demande de renseignements supplémentaires.

Dans sa lettre de réponse à ces questions datée du 12 août 2019, Vidéotron a désigné certaines informations comme confidentielles en vertu de l’article 39 des Règles de pratique et procédures du CRTC (les Règles). Vidéotron avait également désigné certaines informations comme confidentielles dans sa réplique datée du 15 juillet 2019 aux interventions portant sur la demande de redressement définitif.

Dans sa lettre de réponse aux questions du personnel datée du 19 août 2019, Bell a inclus une demande de communication, en vertu du paragraphe 33(1) des Règles, d’une partie des informations désignées comme confidentielles par Vidéotron. Bell demande que Vidéotron lui communique :

  1. les nombres confidentiels indiqués au paragraphe 26 de la réplique de Vidéotron du 15 juillet 2019; et
  2. le nombre confidentiel d'abonnés (et non pas leurs numéros d’identité d’abonné mobile international (IMSI)) indiqué dans la lettre de réponse de Vidéotron datée du 12 août 2019.

À l’appui de sa demande, Bell avance que les dispositions relativement à la confidentialité énoncées à l’article 100.13 de son Tarif CRTC 15011 lui permettent de détenir de l’information confidentielle provenant d’un client à son service d’itinérance de gros, et que les définitions associées à cet article incluent les informations reliées aux utilisateurs finals. Bell avance de plus que l’intérêt public penche fortement en faveur de la communication de l’information demandée en raison, notamment, de l’importance de ces données afin que Bell puisse offrir un commentaire informé sur le respect de Vidéotron de la clause interdisant l’itinérance permanente qui fait partie de son tarif.

Dans une lettre datée du 20 août 2019, Vidéotron a offert sa réplique à la demande de communication de Bell. Vidéotron indique ne pas avoir d’objection à fournir à Bell les informations confidentielles en question.

Or, Vidéotron indique aussi qu’il ne communiquerait les informations qu’à la condition que Bell fournisse à son tour certaines informations confidentielles.  Vidéotron demande, en vertu du paragraphe 33(1) des Règles, la communication des informations contenues aux paragraphes 35, 40, 41 et 42, ainsi que celles contenues aux notes de bas de page nos. 15, 16 et 18 contenues dans la réponse de Bell à la demande de redressement définitif datée du 8 juillet 2019. Le personnel note que les informations demandées portent sur les seuils de consommation utilisés par Bell pour mesurer l’itinérance par les utilisateurs finals de Vidéotron, et le nombre d’IMSI identifiés par ces mesures.

À l’appui de sa demande, Vidéotron indique que l’accès à ces informations est nécessaire afin de comprendre et commenter adéquatement la méthodologie que Bell a employée pour produire les quatre listes d’IMSI qui furent envoyées à Vidéotron le 8 juillet 2019.

Dans une lettre datée du 22 août 2019, Bell réplique à la demande de Vidéotron. Selon Bell, Vidéotron n’a aucune raison d’obtenir les informations dont il fait la demande. En effet, selon Bell, Vidéotron n’est pas en train de contrôler les processus de Bell, et n’a pas besoin des informations demandées puisque Vidéotron a déjà tacitement admis la validité de l’approche de Bell en démontrant que 6 IMSI issus du premier échantillon de 10 fournis par Bell étaient soit engagés dans de l’itinérance permanente ou à haut risque de l’être.

L’alinéa 39(4)a) de la Loi sur les télécommunications précise que le Conseil peut exiger la communication de renseignements désignés comme confidentiels fournis dans le cadre d’une affaire dont il est saisi s’il est d’avis, après avoir pris connaissance des observations des intéressés, qu’elle est dans l’intérêt public. Le personnel du Conseil a procédé à l’analyse des demandes en utilisant ce critère.

Concernant la demande de Bell à l’effet que Vidéotron lui communique les nombres confidentiels indiqués au paragraphe 26 de la réplique de Vidéotron du 15 juillet 2019 et le nombre confidentiel d'abonnés (et non pas leurs numéros d’identité d’abonné mobile international (IMSI)) indiqué dans la lettre de réponse de Vidéotron datée du 12 août 2019, le personnel est d’avis que la communication de ces renseignements à Bell servirait l’intérêt public. En effet, en tant que responsable principal de l’application de son tarif, Bell doit être en mesure de vérifier si ses clients d’itinérance de gros, dont Vidéotron, prennent des mesures raisonnables sur le plan commercial pour limiter le volume d’itinérance de ses utilisateurs finals sur le réseau de la titulaire à des niveaux d’utilisation temporaire qui respectent la portée du service. Les renseignements dont Bell demande la communication lui permettront de juger du caractère raisonnable des mesures mises en place par Vidéotron. Les commentaires que Bell fera en réponse à ces informations aideront le Conseil à prendre une décision éclairée quant au redressement final demandé par Vidéotron. Pour cette raison, le personnel du Conseil exige que  Vidéotron communique les renseignements demandés à Bell au plus tard le 3 septembre 2019. Les renseignements demeureront confidentiels pour les autres parties ainsi que le public en général.

Concernant la demande de Vidéotron à l’effet que Bell lui communique les renseignements confidentiels contenus aux paragraphes 35, 40, 41 et 42, ainsi que ceux contenus aux notes de bas de page nos. 15, 16 et 18 de la réponse de Bell datée du 8 juillet 2019, le personnel est d’avis que Vidéotron a déjà abordé, aux paragraphes 25 à 29 de sa réplique datée du 15 juillet 2019, les enjeux potentiellement soulevés par les renseignements demandés. Le personnel du Conseil est d’avis que la communication des renseignements demandés ne serait d’aucune utilité pour permettre à Vidéotron de fournir des commentaires qui aideront le Conseil à prendre une décision éclairée quant au redressement final demandé par Vidéotron. Pour cette raison, le personnel du Conseil rejette la demande de Vidéotron.

Dans sa lettre du 19 août 2019, Bell a demandé le droit de déposer une réponse additionnelle une fois qu’elle obtiendrait la communication des renseignements confidentiels demandés. Dans sa lettre du 20 août 2019, Vidéotron a demandé que lui soit octroyé un droit de réplique final dans les 5 jours ouvrables suivant le dépôt par Bell de sa réponse additionnelle ou sa confirmation qu’elle ne déposera pas une réponse additionnelle.

En conséquence, le personnel établit les procédures suivantes :

La présente lettre sera ajoutée au dossier public du processus mentionné à l’objet.

Veuillez agréer, Messieurs, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Le directeur,

L’original signé par

Michel Murray
Règlement des différends et mise en œuvre de la réglementation
Secteur des télécommunications

c. c. : Guillaume Castonguay, CRTC,  guillaume.castonguay@crtc.gc.ca

Date de modification :