Telecom Commission Letter addressed to the Distribution List

Ottawa, 16 August 2019

Our reference: 1011-NOC2019-0057

BY EMAIL

Distribution

RE:  Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2019-57, Review of mobile wireless services – Requests for disclosure of information designated as confidential and for further responses to requests for information

This letter addresses requests for further responses to requests for information (RFIs) issues by the Commission on 24 May 2019 as part of the proceeding initiated by Telecom Notice of Consultation 2019-57. Footnote1 This letter also addresses requests for disclosure of certain information designated as confidential in responses to the above-referenced RFIs and sets forth additional requests for disclosure.

On 10 July 2019, Bell Mobility Inc. (Bell Mobility), the Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc., Cogeco Communications Inc, on behalf of its subsidiary Cogeco Connexion Inc., and EMF-OFF! filed submissions requesting disclosure of certain information filed in response to Commission issued RFIs and for which confidentiality had been claimed and further responses with respect to the responses of certain parties to these RFIs

On July 22 2019, the following parties responded to the above requests for disclosure and further responses: Bell Mobility, Bragg Communications Inc., carrying on business as Eastlink (Eastlink), Québecor Média inc. on behalf of Vidéotron Ltd. (Vidéotron), Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (Rogers), Saskatchewan Telecommunications (SaskTel), Shaw Communications Inc. (Shaw), TbayTel, and TELUS Communications Inc. (TELUS).

Further responses to requests for information

Commission staff has reviewed the RFI responses and is of the view that some of the responses are deficient. There were instances where parties provided incomplete or partial responses, including instances where the party simply stated that the requested information was “not available”, while providing little or no justification or explanation as to why. 

As such, parties are to file with the Commission all information set out in Attachment 1 by 30 August 2019. If a party is unable to provide the required information for any questions identified in the attachment, the company is to provide a detailed justification as to why it is not possible for it to comply with the Commission’s directives.

Requests for disclosure of information designated as confidential

Requests for disclosure of information designated as confidential are addressed in light of sections 38 and 39 of the Telecommunications Act (the Act) as well as sections 30 – 34 of the CRTC Rules of Practice and Procedure (The Rules of Procedure).

In evaluating a request, an assessment is first made as to whether the information falls into a category of information that can be designated as confidential pursuant to section 39 of the Act. An assessment is then made as to whether disclosure of particular information is in the public interest. In conducting this assessment, regard is had to whether the disclosure would likely result in specific direct harm and whether that harm outweighs the public interest in disclosure. Harm may be more likely to outweigh the public interest where the information is more disaggregated or where the degree of competition is greater. Conversely, the public interest may be more likely to outweigh any harm where disclosure of the information is more important to the ability of the Commission to obtain a full and complete record on which to make its decision. Further information regarding the general procedures and the factors considered may be found in Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-961. Footnote2

Having regard to the above, parties are to file with the Commission all pertinent information as set out in Attachment 2 by 30 August 2019.

With respect to requests for disclosure submitted by EMF-OFF!, the organization did not explicitly identify which parties were subject to its requests and it appears that EMF-OFF! did not serve its requests to the parties requested to disclose this information, contrary to section 33(2) of the Rules of Procedures.

The submissions made by EMF-OFF! in support of its requests for public disclosure were grounded in the concept of privilege. This is a substantive rule of the law of evidence and, in particular, “an exception to the general principle that all relevant evidence is admissible.” Footnote3 Privilege recognizes that, in certain instances, public policy reasons can justify the exclusion of what would otherwise be probative evidence from the trial setting. 

These arguments are misplaced as the doctrine of privilege finds no application in the present circumstances. The Commission is undertaking a broad review of its policy framework for wireless services and is not bound by the formal rules of evidence applicable in the trial setting. Further, in designating information as confidential pursuant to section 39 of the Act, the relevant parties have not sought to shield the information from admissibility. To the contrary, the evidence in question has already been admitted to the record of the proceeding for consideration by the Commission.  

The matter under consideration at this stage of the proceeding is whether this information ought to be publicly disclosed. Section 39 of the Act sets out the regime governing this process and provides the Commission with the discretion to disclose or require the disclosure, publicly, of information that has been designated as confidential if it would be in the “public interest” to do so. As indicated above, in Broadcasting and Telecom Information BulletinCRTC 2010-961, the Commission has articulated its general approach to exercising this discretion. EMF-OFF has not directly addressed the Commission’s disclosure framework.

Commission staff is, however, of the preliminary view that it would be in the public interest to disclose certain information identified by EMF-OFF! as well as certain information that has not been the subject of a disclosure request. This information is set out in Attachment 3 to the present letter.

Commission staff considers that some of this information is publically available and should therefore not be treated as confidential. Footnote4 Furthermore, and in any event, the information under consideration is historical and aggregated at the company-wide level. Commission staff considers that disclosure of this information would assist parties in gaining a better understanding of the competitive landscape and the economic dynamics that shape retail mobile wireless offers.

While Commission staff recognizes that information relating to capital expenditures, data overage and data usage is not information that would generally be publically disclosed, it considers that public disclosure of certain data relating to these matters would be in the public interest.

With respect to capital expenditures attributed to mobile wireless networks, the information requested is at the company-wide level and would therefore not provide competitors with information about specific network deployment projects. Commission staff considers that this information has direct bearing on a number of matters at issue in this proceeding. In this regard, a number of parties have raised concerns with respect to the impact of potential regulatory measures on continued network investments. Commission staff considers that access to this information would assist parties in ascertaining the impact of past regulatory measures on investment and allow for a better assessment of any potential regulatory measure on future network investments.

With respect to data overage information, Commission staff notes that the information under consideration is aggregated at the provincial/territorial level and considers that access to this information would allow parties to gain a better appreciation of the impact that overage charges can have on consumers and assist them in evaluating the pertinence and advisability of adopting potential regulatory measures.

Finally, with regards to the data usage information reflected in Attachment 3, Commission staff considers that its public disclosure would provide parties with a better ability to gain an understanding of consumers’ data consumption behaviour. Access to this information would assist parties in assessing whether there are differences in consumption behaviour across provinces/territories and to make submissions as to what would explain any such differences.

In order to provide parties with an opportunity to appropriately address these additional requests for disclosure, parties are to either file the requested information as set out in Attachment 3 on the public record of this proceeding, or provide a response as to why this information should not be filed on the public record, by 30 August 2019. Determinations regarding these disclosure requests will be issued at a later date.

Parties are reminded that, if a document is to be filed or served by a specific date, the document must be actually received, not merely sent, by that date. Parties are also reminded that, pursuant to Telecom Decision 2019-277, Footnote5 they are also to disclose to the Commissioner of Competition all responses filed in confidence in relation to the Commission’s 24 May 2019 RFIs.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Philippe Kent
Director, Policy
Telecommunications Sector

Distribution List: All parties to 2019-57

Attach. (3)

Attachment 1

FURTHER RESPONSES TO INTERROGATORIES

Parties identified below are to provide the information requested, or to provide a detailed justification as to why it is not possible for the company to provide the requested information.

(CRTC)5April2019-102

(CRTC)5April2019-103

(CRTC)5April2019-104

(CRTC)5April2019-105

(CRTC)5April2019-202

(CRTC)5April2019-203

(CRTC)5April2019-205

(CRTC)5April2019-206

(CRTC)5April2019-208

(CRTC)5April2019-209

(CRTC)5April2019-210

(CRTC)5April2019-211

(CRTC)5April2019-212

(CRTC)5April2019-213

Attachment 2

DISCLOSURE OF INFORMATION DESIGNATED AS CONFIDENTIAL

Parties identified below are to provide on the public record the requested information.

(CRTC)5April2019-101

(CRTC)5April2019-102

(CRTC)5April2019-104

(CRTC)5April2019-105

(CRTC)5Apr2019-202

(CRTC)5April2019-204

Attachment 3

REQUEST FOR DISCLOSURE OF ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

Parties identified below are to provide the requested information on the public record, or to provide detailed rationale as to why the requested information should not be provided on the public record.

(CRTC)5April2019-103

(CRTC)5April2019-205

(CRTC)5April2019-208

(CRTC) 5April2019-209

(CRTC)5April2019-211

(CRTC)5April2019-212

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à la Liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 6 septembre 2019

Notre référence : 1011-NOC2019-0057

PAR COURRIEL

Distribution

Objet : Avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2019-57, Examen des services sans fil mobiles – Demandes de divulgation de renseignements désignés comme confidentiels et de réponses complémentaires à des demandes de renseignements

La présente lettre fait suite aux demandes de réponses complémentaires aux demandes de renseignements publiées par le Conseil le 24 mai 2019 dans le cadre de l’instance amorcée par l’avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2019-57 Note de bas de page1 . Elle fait également suite aux demandes de divulgation de certains renseignements désignés comme confidentiels dans les réponses aux demandes de renseignements susmentionnées et énonce d’autres demandes de divulgation.

Le 10 juillet 2019, Bell Mobilité inc. (Bell Mobilité), le Consortium des opérateurs de réseaux canadiens inc., Cogeco Communications Inc., au nom de sa filiale Cogeco Connexion Inc. et EMF-OFF! ont formulé des demandes de divulgation de certains renseignements qui ont été désignés comme confidentiels déposés en réponse aux demandes de renseignements publiées par le Conseil ainsi que des demandes de réponses complémentaires portant sur les réponses de certaines parties à ces demandes de renseignements.

Le 22 juillet 2019, les parties suivantes ont répondu aux demandes de divulgations et de réponses complémentaires susmentionnées : Bell Mobilité, Bragg Communications Inc., exerçant ses activités sous le nom d’Eastlink (Eastlink), Québecor Média inc., au nom de Vidéotron ltée (Vidéotron), Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (Rogers), Saskatchewan Telecommunication (SaskTel), Shaw Communications Inc. (Shaw), TBaytel et TELUS Communications Inc. (TELUS).

Réponses complémentaires aux demandes de renseignements

Le personnel du Conseil a examiné les réponses aux demandes de renseignements et il est d’avis que certaines d’entre elles sont insuffisantes. Dans certains cas, les parties ont fourni des réponses incomplètes ou partielles, ou simplement indiqué que les renseignements demandés « n’étaient pas disponibles » sans trop fournir de justifications ou d’explications.  

Par conséquent, les parties doivent déposer tous les renseignements indiqués dans la pièce jointe 1 auprès du Conseil au plus tard le 30 août 2019. Si une partie n’est pas en mesure de fournir les renseignements requis pour toute question identifiée dans la pièce jointe, elle doit expliquer de façon détaillée pourquoi il lui est impossible de se conformer aux directives du Conseil.

Demandes de divulgation de renseignements désignés comme confidentiels

Les demandes de divulgation de renseignements désignés comme confidentiels sont évaluées aux termes des articles 38 et 39 de la Loi sur les télécommunications (la Loi) et des articles 30 à 34 des Règles de pratique et de procédure du CRTC (les Règles de procédure).

À l’examen de chaque demande, une évaluation est d’abord faite pour savoir si les renseignements s’inscrivent dans une catégorie de renseignements pouvant être considérés comme confidentiels en vertu de l’article 39 de la Loi. Une évaluation est ensuite faite pour savoir si la divulgation des renseignements en question est dans l’intérêt du public. Dans le cadre de cette évaluation, la question générale est de savoir si la divulgation risquerait de causer un préjudice précis et si ce préjudice l’emporterait sur l’intérêt public de la divulgation. Le préjudice est plus susceptible de l’emporter sur l’intérêt public dans les cas où les renseignements sont plus détaillés ou le niveau de concurrence plus élevé. À l’opposé, l’intérêt du public est plus susceptible de l’emporter sur le préjudice lorsque le renseignement est essentiel à la constitution d’un dossier complet pour habiliter le Conseil à prendre une décision. Plus d’information sur les procédures générales et les facteurs évalués se retrouvent dans le bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961. Note de bas de page2

Compte tenu de ce qui précède, les parties doivent déposer tous les renseignements pertinents indiqués dans la pièce jointe 2 auprès du Conseil au plus tard le 30 août 2019.

En ce qui a trait aux demandes de divulgation déposées par EMF-OFF!, l’organisation n’a pas mentionné explicitement quelles parties étaient visées par ses demandes et il semble qu’elle n’a pas signifié ses demandes aux parties qui en faisaient l’objet, contrairement à l’article 33(2) des Règles de procédure.

Les observations faites par EMF-OFF! à l’appui de ses demandes de divulgation publique étaient fondées sur la notion de privilège. Il s’agit d’une règle de fond du droit de la preuve et, plus précisément, d’« une exception au principe général selon lequel tous les éléments de preuve pertinents sont admissibles » Note de bas de page3 . Le privilège reconnaît que dans certains cas, des raisons de politique publique peuvent justifier l’exclusion de ce qui serait autrement une preuve probante dans le cadre d’un procès.

Ces arguments sont malvenus, car la doctrine du privilège ne s’applique pas dans les circonstances actuelles. Le Conseil conduit un vaste examen de son cadre réglementaire pour les services sans fil et il n’est pas tenu de respecter les règles de preuve formelles qui s’appliquent dans le cadre de procès. De plus, en désignant les renseignements comme confidentiels en vertu de l’article 39 de la Loi, les parties concernées n’ont pas cherché à empêcher l’admissibilité des renseignements. Au contraire, les éléments de preuve en question ont déjà été versés au dossier de l’instance aux fins d’examen par le Conseil.

La question à l’étude à ce stade de l’instance est de savoir si ces renseignements devraient être divulgués publiquement. L’article 39 de la Loi décrit le régime qui dirige ce processus et confère au Conseil le pouvoir discrétionnaire de divulguer ou d’exiger la divulgation publique de renseignements désignés comme confidentiels si la divulgation est dans l’« intérêt public ». Comme il est indiqué ci-dessus, le Conseil a formulé son approche générale pour exercer ce pouvoir discrétionnaire dans le bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961. EMF-OFF! n’a pas directement abordé le cadre de divulgation du Conseil.

Toutefois, le personnel du Conseil est de l’opinion préliminaire qu’il serait dans l’intérêt public de divulguer certains renseignements identifiés par EMF-OFF! ainsi que certains renseignements qui ne sont pas visés par une demande de divulgation. Ces renseignements sont indiqués dans la pièce jointe 3 de cette lettre.

Le personnel du Conseil estime que certains de ces renseignements sont accessibles au public et ne devraient donc pas être traités comme confidentiels Note de bas de page4 . En outre, et quoi qu’il en soit, les renseignements pris en considération sont des renseignements historiques et regroupés à l’échelle de l’entreprise. Le personnel du Conseil est d’avis que la divulgation de ces renseignements permettrait aux parties de mieux comprendre le paysage concurrentiel et la dynamique économique qui façonnent les offres de services sans fil mobiles de détail.

Bien que le personnel du Conseil reconnaisse que les renseignements relatifs aux dépenses en capital, à l’utilisation excédentaire de données et à l’utilisation des données ne sont pas des renseignements qui seraient divulgués publiquement, il estime que la divulgation publique de certaines données liées à ces questions serait dans l’intérêt public.

En ce qui concerne les dépenses en capital attribuées aux réseaux sans fil mobiles, les renseignements demandés sont à l’échelle de l’entreprise et ne permettrait donc pas aux concurrents d’avoir accès à des renseignements sur des projets de déploiement de réseau particuliers. Le personnel du Conseil considère que ces renseignements ont une incidence directe sur bon nombre de questions en cause dans cette instance. À cet égard, un certain nombre de parties ont soulevé des préoccupations au sujet de l’incidence de mesures réglementaires potentielles sur les investissements continus dans les réseaux. Le personnel du Conseil estime que l’accès à ces renseignements permettrait aux parties d’évaluer les répercussions des anciennes mesures réglementaires sur les investissements et de mieux évaluer les mesures réglementaires potentielles sur les futurs investissements dans les réseaux.

En ce qui concerne les renseignements sur l’utilisation excédentaire de données, le personnel du Conseil fait remarquer que les renseignements pris en considération sont regroupés à l’échelle provinciale ou territoriale, et considère que l’accès à ces renseignements permettrait aux parties de mieux comprendre l’incidence que les frais d’utilisation excédentaire peuvent avoir sur les consommateurs, ce qui les aiderait à évaluer la pertinence et le bien-fondé d’adopter des mesures réglementaires potentielles.

Enfin, en ce qui a trait aux renseignements sur l’utilisation des données figurant dans la pièce jointe 3, le personnel du Conseil estime que la divulgation publique permettrait aux parties de mieux comprendre les habitudes de consommation des données des consommateurs. L’accès à ces renseignements aiderait les parties à déterminer s’il existe des différences en ce qui concerne les habitudes de consommation à l’échelle des provinces et des territoires, et à présenter des observations sur ce qui pourrait expliquer ces différences.

Pour donner aux parties l’occasion de répondre à ces demandes de divulgation de façon appropriée, les parties doivent verser les renseignements demandés au dossier public de la présente instance, comme il est établi à l’annexe 3, ou expliquer pourquoi ces renseignements ne devraient pas être versés au dossier public au plus tard le 30 août 2019. Les conclusions à l’égard de ces demandes de divulgation seront rendues à une date ultérieure.

On rappelle aux parties que lorsqu’une date limite précise est indiquée pour le dépôt ou la signification d’un document, ce dernier doit avoir été effectivement reçu à la date indiquée, et non simplement avoir été envoyé à cette date. On rappelle également aux parties qu’elles doivent aussi divulguer toutes les réponses déposées à titre confidentiel relativement aux demandes de renseignements du Conseil datées du 24 mai 2019 auprès du commissaire de la concurrence, conformément à la décision de télécom CRTC 2019-277 Note de bas de page5 .

Veuillez agréer l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Original signé par

Philippe Kent
Directeur, Politique
Secteur des télécommunications

Liste de distribution : Toutes les parties à l’avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2019-57

P.J. (3)

Pièce jointe 1

RÉPONSES COMPLÉMENTAIRES AUX DEMANDES DE RENSEIGNEMENTS

Les parties désignées ci-dessous doivent fournir les renseignements demandés ou une explication détaillée de la raison pour laquelle elles ne peuvent pas les fournir.

(CRTC)5avril2019-102

(CRTC)5avril2019-103

(CRTC)5avril2019-104

(CRTC)5avril2019-105

(CRTC)5avril2019-202

(CRTC)5avril2019-203

(CRTC)5avril2019-205

(CRTC)5avril2019-206

(CRTC)5avril2019-208

(CRTC)5avril2019-209

(CRTC)5avril2019-210

(CRTC)5avril2019-211

(CRTC)5avril2019-212

(CRTC)5avril2019-213

Pièce jointe 2

DIVULGATION DE RENSEIGNEMENTS DÉSIGNÉS COMME CONFIDENTIELS

Les parties désignées ci-dessous doivent verser les renseignements demandés au dossier public.

(CRTC)5avril2019-101

(CRTC)5avril2019-102

(CRTC)5avril2019-104

(CRTC)5avril2019-105

(CRTC)5avril2019-202

(CRTC)5avril2019-204

Pièce jointe 3

DEMANDE DE DIVULGATION DE RENSEIGNEMENTS SUPPLÉMENTAIRES

Les parties désignées ci-dessous doivent verser les renseignements demandés au dossier public, ou expliquer de façon détaillée pourquoi ces renseignements ne devraient pas être versés audit dossier.

(CRTC)5avril2019-103

(CRTC)5avril2019-205

(CRTC)5avril2019-208

(CRTC)5avril2019-209

(CRTC)5avril2019-211

(CRTC)5avril2019-212

Date de modification :