Telecom Procedural Letter addressed to Dennis Béland (Quebecor Media), Philippe Gauvin (Bell Canada) and Dean Proctor ( SSI Micro Ltd.)

Ottawa, 16 August 2019

Our file: 8622-V3-201905465 and 8662-V3-201905499

BY EMAIL

Mr. Dennis Béland
Vice-President, Regulatory Affairs
Telecommunications
Quebecor Media
612 St-Jacques Street, 15th floor
Montréal, Quebec  H3C 4M6
regaffairs@quebecor.com

Mr. Philippe Gauvin
Deputy Chief, Legal Services
Bell Canada
160 Elgin Street, 19th floor
Ottawa, Ontario  K2P 2C4
bell.regulatory@bell.ca

Mr. Dean Proctor
Chief Development Officer
SSI Micro Ltd.
356B Old Airport Rd.
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories  X1A 3T4
regulatory@ssimicro.com

Re: Part 1 applications filed by Videotron Ltd. against Cablevision du Nord de Québec Inc. regarding a third-party Internet access (TPIA) service agreement – Procedural letter

Dear Sirs:

The Commission received a Part 1 application filed by Quebecor Media Inc. on 10 June 2019, on behalf of its subsidiary Videotron Ltd. (Videotron), against Cablevision du Nord de Québec Inc. (Cablevision) for refusing to sign a third-party Internet access (TPIA) service agreement with Videotron.

Videotron has requested that the Commission process its application expeditiously. On 18 July 2019, Commission staff sent a procedural letter to the applicant and respondent stating that Cablevision and any interested parties would have until 30 July 2019 to file their answer or interventions and that Videotron would have until 6 August 2019 to file replies.

However, the procedural letter of 18 July 2019 was inadvertently never placed in the electronic file of the application. As a result, the deadline for filing interventions has not been changed on the Commission's website. Parties other than Videotron and Cablevision therefore had no indication that these dates had been changed. The Commission's website indicated that the parties had until 12 August 2019 to submit their interventions.

On 30 July 2019, Cablevision filed its answer to the application. On 6 August 2019, Videotron filed its reply to the answer. The documents were placed online the day after they were received.

On 12 August 2019, the Commission received an intervention from SSI Micro Ltd. (SSI). This intervention was placed online the day after it was received.

On 14 August 2019, the Commission received a procedural request from Bell Canada (Bell). In its procedural request, Bell requests that the Commission reject SSI's intervention on three grounds. First, the intervention was received after the deadline specified in the Commission staff letter dated July 18, 2019. Second, the intervention breaches the principles of procedural fairness by raising elements from Cablevision's answer and Videotron's reply. Finally, the intervention proposes regulatory measures that are outside the scope of the proceeding.

Commission staff is of the view that the reasons raised by Bell are correct and therefore rejects SSI’s intervention.

However, since SSI had no indication that it had until 30 July 2019 to submit an intervention due to an administrative error made by Commission staff, Commission staff establishes the following process:

All documents must be received, not merely sent, by the above dates.

Although the identical intervention filed by SSI in the procedure regarding Part 1 application 8622-V3-201905499 was received within the established deadlines, Commission staff also rejects this intervention, for the reasons set out above, and allows SSI to submit a revised intervention as part of this process as well.

Sincerely,

Original signed by Guillaume Castonguay, for

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution and Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications

c.c.:  Marc-André Sévigny, Cablevision masevigny@telebec.com 
Pierre-Luc Hébert, Bell Canada p.l.hebert@bell.ca

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre procédurale adressée à Dennis Béland (Quebecor Media), Philippe Gauvin (Bell Canada) et Dean Proctor ( SSI Micro Ltd.)

Ottawa, le 16 août 2019

Nos références : 8622-V3-201905465 et 8662-V3-201905499

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Dennis Béland
Vice-président, Affaires réglementaires
Télécommunications
Québécor Média
612, rue St-Jacques, 15e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3C 4M6
regaffairs@quebecor.com

Monsieur Philippe Gauvin
Chef adjoint du service juridique
Bell Canada
160, rue Elgin, 19e étage
Ottawa (Ontario)  K2P 2C4
bell.regulatory@bell.ca

Monsieur Dean Proctor
Dirigeant principal du développement
SSI Micro Ltd.
356B Old Airport Rd.
Yellowknife (Territoires du Nord-Ouest)  X1A 3T4
regulatory@ssimicro.com

Objet:  Demandes de la partie 1 de Vidéotron ltée à l’endroit de Cablevision du Nord de Québec inc. concernant une entente de service d’accès Internet aux tierces parties (AITP) – Lettre procédurale

Messieurs,

Le Conseil a reçu une demande en vertu de la partie 1 déposée parQuébecor Média inc., au nom de sa filiale Vidéotron ltée (Vidéotron), le 10 juin 2019 à l’endroit de Cablevision du Nord de Québec inc. (Cablevision) concernant le refus de Cablevision de signer une entente de service d’accès Internet aux tierces parties (AITP) avec Vidéotron.

Vidéotron a demandé que le Conseil traite sa demande de manière expéditive. Le 18 juillet 2019, le personnel du Conseil a fait parvenir au demandeur et à l’intimé une lettre procédurale précisant que Cablevision et toute partie intéressée auraient jusqu’au 30 juillet 2019 pour déposer leur réponse ou interventions et que Vidéotron aurait jusqu’au 6 août 2019 pour déposer des répliques.

Or, la lettre procédurale du 18 juillet 2019 n’a, par inadvertance, jamais été versée au dossier électronique de la demande. En conséquence, la date limite pour déposer les interventions n’a pas été modifiée sur le site Internet du Conseil. Les parties, autres que Vidéotron et Cablevision, n’avaient donc aucune indication que ces dates avaient été modifiées. Le site internet du Conseil indiquait que les parties avaient jusqu’au 12 août 2019 pour soumettre leurs interventions.

Le 30 juillet 2019. Cablevision a déposé sa réponse à la demande. Le 6 août 2019, Vidéotron a déposé sa réplique à la réponse. Les documents ont été mis en ligne le jour suivant leur réception.

Le 12 août 2019, le Conseil a reçu une intervention de la part de SSI Micro Ltd. (SSI). Cette intervention a été mise en ligne le jour suivant sa réception.

Le 14 août 2019, le Conseil a reçu une requête procédurale de la part de Bell Canada (Bell). Dans sa requête procédurale, Bell demande au Conseil de rejeter l’intervention de SSI pour trois motifs. Premièrement, l’intervention a été reçue après le délai spécifié dans la lettre du personnel du Conseil datée du 18 juillet 2019. Deuxièmement, l’intervention contrevient aux principes d’équité procédurale en soulevant des éléments issus de la réponse de Cablevision et de la réplique de Vidéotron. Enfin, l’intervention propose des mesures règlementaires qui sont à l’extérieur de la portée de l’instance.

Le personnel du Conseil est d’avis que les motifs soulevés par Bell sont exacts et, par conséquent, rejette l’intervention de SSI.

Or, puisque que, en raison de l’erreur administrative du personnel du Conseil, SSI n’avait pas d’indication qu’elle devait déposer son intervention au plus tard le 30 juillet 2019, le personnel établit les procédures suivantes :

Les documents doivent être reçus, et non seulement envoyés, aux dates indiquées.

Bien que l’intervention identique déposée par SSI dans le processus concernant la demande en vertu de la partie 1 8622-V3-201905499 ait été reçue dans les délais prescrits, le personnel du Conseil rejette cette intervention également, pour les motifs soulevés plus haut, et permet à SSI de soumettre une intervention révisée dans le cadre de ce processus également.

Veuillez agréer, Messieurs, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Original signé par Guillaume Castonguay, pour

Michel Murray
Directeur, Règlement des différends et mise en oeuvre de la réglementation
Télécommunications

c.c.  Marc-André Sévigny, Cablevision masevigny@telebec.com
Pierre-Luc Hébert, Bell Canada p.l.hebert@bell.ca

Date de modification :