Telecom Commission Letter

Ottawa, 15 August 2019

ABRIDGED

Our references: 8663-J64-201806019 and 8663-T66-201805722

BY EMAIL

# #
# #
# #
# #

RE:  Iris Technologies Inc. and TELUS Communications Inc. – Applications for relief regarding the termination of traffic to certain 867 numbering plan area telephone numbers – Request for disclosure

Dear Sir,

The Commission received from Iris Technologies Inc. (Iristel) responses to requests for information that had been submitted by Rogers Communications Canada Inc., TELUS Communications Inc. (TCI) and Commission staff as part of the above proceedings. Iristel’s submission included responses to requests for information posed to # # which were all filed in confidence.

On 26 July 2019, the Commission received a letter from TCI in which the company requested that the Commission direct Iristel to place the responses to the requests for information filed on behalf of its unnamed clients, including # #, on the public record. TCI’s request is attached for reference.

Commission staff notes that in order to ensure a fair and transparent process, only information that is truly confidential should be designated as such. Persons that wish to designate information contained in their submissions as confidential must do so in accordance with the Telecommunications ActFootnote1 and with the CRTC Rules of Practice and Procedure.Footnote2 This requires that:

Accordingly, you are required to file your response to TCI’s request by 26 August 2019 regarding the disclosure of your responses to the requests for information which were filed in confidence by Iristel. Your submission shall include an abridged version of your response which will not disclose your company name and contact information, and where your company name is replaced by the corresponding customer number identified by Iristel in its 18 April 2019 letter to the Commission.

Any document filed with the Commission must be served on all parties. Where a document is to be filed or served by a specific date, the document must be received, not merely sent, by that date.

A copy of this letter and all related correspondence will be publicly accessible through the Commission’s website.

Sincerely,

Original signed by Guillaume Castonguay for

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution and Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications Sector


c.c.: Jill Schatz, Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc., regulatory@cnoc.ca
Iris Technologies Inc., Jean-Francois Dumoulin, regulatory@iristel.com
John Lawford, Public Interest Advocacy Centre, jlawford@piac.ca
Rogers Communications Canada Inc., Howard Slawner, rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com
TELUS Communications Inc., Stephen Schmidt, regulatory.affairs@telus.com
ZenoRadio, Baruch Herzfeld, bh@zenoradio.com
Marc Lange, marc8lange@gmail.com
Martin Brazeau, CRTC, martin.brazeau@crtc.gc.ca

Attach. (1)

 

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil

Ottawa, le 15 août 2019

VERSION ABRÉGÉE

Nos références : 8663-J64-201806019 et 8663-T66-201805722

PAR COURRIEL

# #
Free Conference Call Global
# #
# #
# #

Objet : Iris Technologies Inc. et TELUS Communications Inc. – Demandes de redressement concernant le raccordement du trafic vers l’indicatif régional 867 – demande de divulgation

Monsieur,

Le Conseil a reçu d’Iris Technologies Inc. (Iristel) ses réponses aux demandes de renseignements soumises par Rogers Communications Canada Inc., TELUS Communications Inc. et le personnel du Conseil dans le cadre des instances susmentionnées. Le mémoire d’Iristel comprend les réponses aux demandes de renseignements adressées à # #, lesquelles ont été déposées sous pli confidentiel.

Le 26 juillet 2019, le Conseil a reçu une lettre de TELUS dans laquelle la compagnie lui demande d’ordonner à Iristel d’ajouter au dossier public les réponses aux demandes de renseignements déposées au nom de ses clients anonymes, dont # #. La demande de TELUS est jointe à titre de référence.

Le personnel fait remarquer qu’afin de garantir l’équité et la transparence du processus, seuls les renseignements réellement confidentiels doivent être signalés comme tels. Les personnes qui souhaitent désigner des renseignements contenus dans leurs mémoires comme confidentiels doivent le faire conformément à la Loi sur les télécommunicationsNote de bas de page1 et aux Règles de pratique et de procédure du CRTCNote de bas de page2. Pour ce faire :

Par conséquent, vous devez soumettre votre réponse à la demande de TELUS au plus tard le 26 août 2019 en ce qui concerne la divulgation de vos réponses aux demandes de renseignements déposées sous pli confidentiel par Iristel. Votre mémoire doit comprendre une version abrégée de votre réponse, laquelle version ne divulgue pas vos coordonnées ni le nom de votre compagnie, ce dernier étant remplacé par le numéro de client correspondant déterminé par Iristel dans sa lettre du 18 avril 2019 au Conseil.

Les documents déposés devant le Conseil doivent être signifiés à toutes les parties. Lorsqu’une date limite précise est indiquée pour le dépôt ou la signification d’un document, ce dernier doit avoir été reçu à la date indiquée, et non simplement avoir été envoyé à cette date.

Des copies de la présente lettre et de toute la correspondance connexe seront accessibles au public sur le site Web du Conseil.

Veuillez agréer, Messieurs, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.
Le directeur,

Original signé par Guillaume Castonguay au nom de :

Michel Murray
Règlement des différends et mise en œuvre de la réglementation
Secteur des télécommunications


c. c. Jill Schatz, Consortium des opérateurs de réseaux canadiens inc., regulatory@cnoc.ca
Jean-François Dumoulin, Iris Technologies Inc., regulatory@iristel.com
John Lawford, Centre pour la défense de l’intérêt public, jlawford@piac.ca
Howard Slawner, Rogers Communications Canada Inc., rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com
Stephen Schmidt, TELUS Communications Inc., regulatory.affairs@telus.com
Baruch Herzfeld, ZenoRadio, bh@zenoradio.com
Marc Lange, marc8lange@gmail.com
Martin Brazeau, CRTC, martin.brazeau@crtc.gc.ca

p. j. (1)

Date de modification :