Telecom Procedural Letter adressed to the Distribution List

Ottawa, 6 August 2019

Our references: 8740-E17-201900134 (TN 40), 1011-NOC2018-0459 (NOC)

BY EMAIL

Distribution

RE: Eastlink Tariff Notice (TN) 40 and Telecom Notice of Consultation (NOC) 2018-459

Dear Madam, Sir:

On 24 July 2019, Commission staff issued a letter merging the proceedings of Eastlink’s Tariff Notice 40 (TN 40) and Telecom Notice of Consultation 2018-459Footnote1 (the NOC) setting out a schedule for parties to provide additional comments.  In this same letter, Commission staff directed Eastlink to provide on the public record portions of its reply comments of 21 February 2019 previously filed in confidence.
On 5 August 2019, a letter was received from Frontier Networks Inc. (Frontier) requesting a procedural change on the basis that the process, as set out by Commission staff, will create a situation of procedural unfairness for Frontier and potentially other interested parties in the merged proceeding. Further, certain interested parties, like Frontier, are deprived of an opportunity to submit comments with respect to replies that were filed in the original proceeding in which they participated.

To remedy this situation, Frontier requests that the Commission issue a new procedural letter that sets out a streamlined process for the merged proceeding.

Commission staff has considered the request and agrees that the process should be adjusted. Commission Staff has determined that the revised process set out below will provide reasonable amount of time to interested parties to prepare their submissions with regard to the TN 40 and NOC proceedings:

Commission Staff also notes that where a document is to be filed or served by a specific date with the Commission, the document must be actually received, not merely sent, by that date.  Copies of the documents should also be sent to William.Lloyd@crtc.gc.ca
Sincerely,

Original signed by

Lyne Renaud
Director, Competitor Services & Costing Implementation
Telecommunication sector
c.c.: Bill Lloyd, William.Lloyd@crtc.gc.ca
Trichur Krishnan, Trichur.Krishnan@crtc.gc.ca

Distribution list:

Regulatory Affairs, Cogeco Communications, telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com
Regulatory, Eastlink, regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca
Regulatory Telecom, Rogers Communications Canada Inc., rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com
Regulatory Affairs, Shaw Cablesystems G.P., Regulatory@sjrb.ca
Regulatory Affairs, Quebecor Media Inc. (Videotron), regaffairs@quebecor.com
CNOC Regulatory, Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc., regulatory@cnoc.ca
Public Interest Advocacy Centre, piac@piac.ca
City Wide Communications, david@liberated.ca
Frontier Networks Inc., lcalabrese@frontiernetworks.ca
Regulatory Affairs, Distributel Communications Limited, regulatory@distributel.ca
Rothschild & Co. Limited, eric@rothschildco.com
Christopher Copeland, regulatory@tacitlaw.com

Information to be disclosed and to be kept confidential by Eastlink

Eastlink is required to release the following confidential information, contained in the company’s ‘Eastlink TN 40 – Reply to Interventions’ document (the document), filed with the Commission on 21 February 2019, on the public record.

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre procédurale adressée à la Liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 6 août 2019

Nos références : 8740-E17-201900134 (avis de modification tarifaire 40), 1011-NOC2018-0459 (avis de consultation)

PAR COURRIEL

Distribution

Objet : Eastlink – avis de modification tarifaire 40 et avis de consultation de télécom  CRTC 2018-459

Madame, Monsieur,

Le 24 juillet 2019, le personnel du Conseil a envoyé une lettre fusionnant les instances de l’avis de modification tarifaire 40 (AMT 40) et de l’avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2018-459Note de bas de page1 (ADC 2018-459) d’Eastlink, et établissant l’échéancier de dépôt d’observations supplémentaires par les parties. Dans la même lettre, le personnel du Conseil a ordonné à Eastlink d’ajouter au dossier public des parties de ses observations en réplique datées du 21 février 2019 qu’elle avait déjà soumises sous pli confidentiel.

Le 5 août 2019, le Conseil a reçu une lettre de Frontier Networks Inc. (Frontier) demandant une modification de procédure, citant que le processus, tel que défini par le personnel du Conseil, créera une situation d’inégalité procédurale à l’endroit de Frontier et d’autres parties intéressées éventuelles de l’instance fusionnée. De plus, certaines parties intéressées, comme Frontier, sont privées de l’occasion de soumettre des observations quant aux répliques déposées à l’instance originale à laquelle elles ont participé.

Pour corriger cette situation, Frontier demande que le Conseil publie une nouvelle lettre procédurale qui établit un processus simplifié pour l’instance fusionnée.

Le personnel du Conseil a étudié la demande et convient que le processus devrait être modifié. Il a déterminé que le processus révisé ci-dessous offre un délai raisonnable aux parties intéressées pour préparer leurs mémoires aux instances de l’AMT 40 et de l’ADC 2018-459 :

Le personnel du Conseil rappelle que la date limite indiquée pour le dépôt ou la signification d’un document auprès du Conseil signifie que le document doit avoir été reçu à cette date, et non simplement avoir été envoyé à cette date. Les copies des documents devraient également être envoyées à l’adresse William.Lloyd@crtc.gc.ca.
Veuillez agréer l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

La directrice,

Original signé par

Lyne Renaud
Mise en œuvre des services aux concurrents et établissement des coûts
Secteur des télécommunications
c. c. Bill Lloyd, William.Lloyd@crtc.gc.ca
Trichur Krishnan, Trichur.Krishnan@crtc.gc.ca

Liste de distribution :

Affaires réglementaires, Cogeco Communications, telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com
Affaires réglementaires, Eastlink, regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca
Affaires réglementaires, Télécommunications, Rogers Communications Canada Inc., rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com
Affaires juridiques et réglementaires, Shaw Cablesystems G.P., Regulatory@sjrb.ca
Affaires réglementaires, Québecor Média Inc. (Vidéotron), regaffairs@quebecor.com
CNOC Regulatory, Consortium des Opérateurs de Réseaux Canadiens Inc., regulatory@cnoc.ca
Centre pour la défense de l’intérêt public, piac@piac.ca
City Wide Communications, david@liberated.ca
Frontier Networks Inc., lcalabrese@frontiernetworks.ca
Affaires réglementaires, Distributel Communications Limited, regulatory@distributel.ca
Rothschild & Co Limited, eric@rothschildco.com
Christopher Copeland, regulatory@tacitlaw.com

Divulgation et protection des renseignements par Eastlink

Eastlink est tenue de divulguer au public les renseignements confidentiels suivants, figurant dans le document de la société, « Eastlink – avis de modification tarifaire 40 – Réplique aux interventions » (le document), déposé auprès du Conseil le 21 février 2019.

   
Date de modification :