Telecom Procedural Letter Addressed to Various Parties

Ottawa, 2 August 2019

Our reference: 8622-N68-201904649

BY EMAIL

Mr. Bud Eaton
Vice-President Development
Marcon Developments Ltd.
5645 – 199th Street
Langley, BC  V3A 1H9
beaton@marcon.ca

Ms. Donna Robertson
Co-President, Chief Legal Officer
Novus Entertainment Inc.
#300 – 112 East 3rd Avenue
Vancouver, BC  V5T 1C8
donna.robertson@novusnow.ca

RE: Application filed by Novus Entertainment Inc. (Novus) for non-discriminatory and timely access on reasonable terms and conditions to the multi-dwelling unit (MDU) 567 Clarke + Como Development and future MDU developments of Marcon Developments Ltd. and its related companies (Marcon)

Dear Mr. Eaton and Ms. Robertson:

In response to a Commission staff letter dated 24 July 2019 and addressed to Marcon, the Commission received on 25 July 2019 an e-mail from Marcon’s legal counsel, requesting a 90 day extension to the 29 July 2019 deadline set by staff for receipt from Marcon of either:

  1. A confirmation that Marcon has no response to submit to the Commission regarding the above-referenced application; or
  2. A response to the Commission in answer to Novus’ application which otherwise conforms to the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure (the Rules of Practice and Procedure).

In a staff letter dated 26 July 2019, staff informed Marcon and Novus that, in light of Marcon’s request for an extension, staff had rescinded the 29 July 2019 deadline for Marcon to file with the Commission an answer to Novus’ application. Staff also expressed its preliminary view that an extension of the deadline for receipt of Marcon’s answer to 29 August 2019 would be appropriate. Staff also invited written comments, including detailed rationale, from the parties by no later than 31 July 2019 on whether:

  1. An extension was appropriate;
  2. Staff’s preliminary date was appropriate; or,
  3. Some other date was appropriate.

On 29 July 2019 the Commission received a letter from Novus, submitting that it agreed that an extension was appropriate and that, as such, it agreed with staff’s suggested new deadline date of 29 August 2019 for Marcon to respond to Novus’ application.

On 31 July 2019, the Commission received a letter from Marcon’s legal counsel (Lawson Lundell, LLP), informing that Marcon seeks a 60-day extension to the 29 July 2019 deadline specified in the 24 July 2019 Commission staff letter to provide its answer to Novus’ application, for the following reasons:

Commission staff is of the view that granting Marcon’s request for a 60-day extension to the 29 July 2019 deadline would benefit the proceeding by enabling the Commission to gain a more fulsome record. As well, Commission staff is of the view that the length of Marcon’s requested extension will not impair Novus’ ability to access the MDU in a timely manner to install its facilities, should the Commission approve the relief requested by Novus. Having regard to all the above, Commission staff is of the view that granting Marcon’s deadline extension request is reasonable, and would be in the public interest.

Therefore, the deadlines associated with Novus’ application are modified as follows:

Staff also advises the parties that, as detailed in Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2019-184 (the Bulletin), various processes are available to them by the Commission (as an alternative to a Part 1 proceeding) for resolving bilateral broadcasting and telecom-related disputes. However, parties may always resolve their differences through third-party mediation or arbitration, bilateral negotiations, or other means that do not involve Commission participation. Commission staff expects parties to continue negotiating in order to achieve a mutually-beneficial result.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution and Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.: Peter Roberts, Lawson Lundell LLP, proberts@lawsonlundell.com
Chad Travis, Lawson Lundell LLP, ctravis@lawsonlundell.com
Rudy Rab, CRTC, rudy.rab@crtc.gc.ca
Marcon Developments Ltd. info@marcon.ca

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre procédurale adressée à diverses parties

Ottawa, le 2 août 2019

Notre référence: 8622-N68-201904649

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Bud Eaton
Vice-président – Development
Marcon Developments Ltd.
5645 – 199th Street
Langley (Colombie-Britannique) V3A 1H9
beaton@marcon.ca

Madame Donna Robertson
Coprésidente et directrice des Services juridiques
Novus Entertainment Inc.
300 – 112 East 3rd Avenue
Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique) V5T 1C8
donna.robertson@novusnow.ca

Objet : Demande déposée par Novus Entertainment Inc. (Novus) visant un accès non discriminatoire et en temps opportun, selon des modalités raisonnables, au développement d’immeubles à logements multiples (ILM) 567 Clarke + Como et aux futurs développements d’ILM de Marcon Developments Ltd. et ses sociétés affiliées (Marcon)

Madame, Monsieur,

En réponse à une lettre du personnel du Conseil datée du 24 juillet 2019 adressée à Marcon, le Conseil a reçu, le 25 juillet 2019, un courriel du cabinet d’avocats de Marcon sollicitant une prolongation de 90 jours du délai fixé au 29 juillet 2019 par le personnel pour le dépôt de l’un des éléments suivants par Marcon :

  1. Une confirmation indiquant que Marcon n’a aucune réponse à déposer auprès du Conseil pour ce qui est de la demande susmentionnée
  2. Une réponse au Conseil en réponse à la demande de Novus qui est conforme aux Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (les Règles de pratique et de procédure)

Dans une lettre datée du 26 juillet 2019, le personnel a informé Marcon et Novus que compte tenu de la demande de prolongation de Marcon, le personnel a annulé l’échéance du 29 juillet 2019 imposée à Marcon pour le dépôt d’une réponse à la demande de Novus auprès du Conseil. Le personnel a également exprimé son avis préliminaire selon lequel il serait approprié de prolonger jusqu’au 29 août 2019 le délai accordé pour le dépôt de la réponse de Marcon. Le personnel du Conseil a également invité les parties à soumettre des commentaires par écrit, y compris une justification détaillée, au plus tard le 31 juillet 2019, en vue de déterminer :

  1. s’il convient d’accorder une prolongation du délai;
  2. si la date préliminaire proposée par le personnel du Conseil est appropriée; ou
  3. si une autre date conviendrait davantage.

Le 29 juillet 2019, le Conseil a reçu de Novus une lettre indiquant qu’elle convenait qu’une prolongation était appropriée et que, par conséquent, elle était d’accord avec la nouvelle date limite proposée par le personnel, le 29 août 2019, pour la réponse de Marcon à la demande de Novus.

Le 31 juillet 2019, le Conseil a reçu une lettre du cabinet d’avocats de Marcon (Lawson Lundell s.r.l.) l’informant que Marcon désire une prolongation de 60 jours de l’échéance du 29 juillet 2019 précisée dans la lettre du personnel du Conseil du 24 juillet 2019 pour sa réponse à la demande de Novus, pour les raisons suivantes :

Le personnel du Conseil est d’avis que d’accéder à la demande de Marcon de reporter de 60 jours l’échéance du 29 juillet 2019 serait avantageux pour l’instance, car cela permettrait au Conseil d’obtenir un dossier plus complet. De plus, le personnel du Conseil est d’avis que la durée de la prolongation demandée par Marcon ne nuira pas à la capacité de Novus d’accéder à l’ILM en temps opportun pour mettre en place ses installations si le Conseil approuve le redressement demandé par Novus.

Compte tenu de ce qui précède, le personnel du Conseil conclut qu’il est raisonnable d’accéder à la demande de prolongation de Marcon et que cela servirait l’intérêt public.

Par conséquent, les échéances liées à la demande de Novus sont ainsi modifiées :

Le personnel informe également les parties que, comme il est indiqué dans le bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécommunication CRTC 2019-184 (le bulletin), différents processus leur sont offerts par le Conseil (comme solution de rechange à une instance en vertu de la partie 1) pour régler les différends bilatéraux en matière de radiodiffusion et de télécommunication. Cependant, les parties peuvent toujours régler leurs différends grâce à une médiation ou un arbitrage par un tiers, des négociations bilatérales ou d’autres moyens qui ne nécessitent pas la participation du Conseil. Le personnel du Conseil s’attend à ce que les parties continuent de négocier en vue de parvenir à un résultat avantageux pour les deux parties.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Le directeur,

Original signé par

Michel Murray
Règlement des différends et mise en œuvre de la réglementation
Secteur des télécommunications

c. c. Peter Roberts, Lawson Lundell s.r.l., proberts@lawsonlundell.com
Chad Travis, Lawson Lundell s.r.l., ctravis@lawsonlundell.com
Rudy Rab, CRTC, rudy.rab@crtc.gc.ca
Marcon Developments Ltd. info@marcon.ca

Date de modification :