Telecom procedural Letter adressed to Philippe Gauvin (Bell Canada) and Howard Slawner (Rogers Communications Canada Inc.)

Ottawa, 26 July 2019

Our reference: 8622-R28-201902940

BY EMAIL

Mr. Philippe Gauvin
Assistant General Counsel
Bell Canada
160 Elgin Street, Floor 19
Ottawa, ON  K2P 2C4
bell.regulatory@bell.ca

Mr. Howard Slawner
VP – Regulatory, Telecom
Rogers Communications Canada Inc.
350 Bloor Street East
Toronto, ON  M4W 0A1
rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com

RE: Rogers Communications Canada Inc. Part 1 Application against Bell Canada concerning the Routing of Rogers-originated Toll Free Traffic destined to Bell’s Toll Free Telephone Numbers

Dear Sirs:

On 29 April 2019, the Commission received an Application from Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (Rogers), requesting that the Commission grant the following relief:

  1. That the Commission confirm that Rogers is not mandated to route one-way Toll Free (TF) traffic destined to Bell Canada’s TF telephone numbers (TNs) over Rogers’ two-way Bill and Keep (B & K) trunks;
  2. That the Commission confirm that Bell Canada is mandated to deploy Toll trunks to Rogers’ switches in order to receive its TF traffic;
  3. That the Commission confirm that Rogers may invoice Bell Canada for its TF minutes as of 1 April 2019;
  4. That the Commission confirm that Rogers can bill Bell Canada as of 1 April 2019 for all TF-related charges, per Rogers’ competitive local exchange carrier (CLEC) access services tariff (AST).

In a letter dated 17 July 2019, Commission staff requested Bell Canada and Rogers to submit additional information to the Commission by 29 July 2019.

In a letter dated 24 July 2019, Bell Canada requested that the deadline for filing its response to the staff letter be extended from 29 July 2019 to 29 August 2019. Bell Canada cited the following reasons for its request:

  1. The information requested in question #2 is not readily available and will require a manual pull of the data, as well as an assessment of the reliability of the data gathered.
  2. Regarding the Rogers-originating TF traffic volume data requested in sub-questions #2.a and #2.b, Bell Canada submitted that while it has direct visibility into the traffic terminating to third-party IXC toll trunks, it does not have an established process to readily identify the origin of this traffic. Bell Canada submitted that it is therefore attempting to gather the information manually, a process which the company anticipates will require a few weeks.
  3. The answering process for question #2 is sequential; therefore, Bell Canada cannot address the financial data requested in sub-question #2.c of the staff letter until the company has derived totals for sub-questions #2.a and #2.b.
  4. The same subject matter experts are involved in gathering the information relevant to questions #1 and #2, and thus it is not practical to respond to question #1 in isolation before Bell Canada’s proposed deadline for all responses.

On 25 July 2019, Rogers responded to Bell Canada’s extension request. Rogers submitted that while it did not oppose Bell Canada’s request, it urged the Commission to collect the information requested as soon as reasonably possible and rule expeditiously on the matter raised in Rogers’ application.

Commission staff is of the view that granting Bell Canada’s request would benefit the proceeding by enabling the Commission to gain a more fulsome record. As well, given the challenges described by Bell Canada in assembling the information requested, Commission staff is of the view that Bell Canada’s requested extension is therefore reasonable under the circumstances. Having regard to all the above, Commission staff is of the view that granting the requested extension would be in the public interest.

However, staff is also of the view that in the interest of fairness, the deadline extension proposed by Bell Canada should also be provided to Rogers. Therefore, the deadline for both Bell Canada and Rogers to file their respective responses to the above-mentioned Commission staff letter is extended to 29 August 2019.

Sincerely,

Original Signed by

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution and Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications sector

cc.:  Rudy Rab, CRTC, rudy.rab@crtc.gc.ca
Jeff Brownlee, Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc., regulatory@cnoc.ca
Christopher Hickey, Distributel Communications Ltd., christopher.hickey@distributel.ca
Jean-François Dumoulin, Iristel Inc., regulatory@iristel.com
Dennis Béland, Québecor Média inc., dennis.beland@quebecor.com
John MacKenzie, TELUS Communications Inc., john.mackenzie@telus.com

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre Procédurale adressée à Philippe Gauvin (Bell Canada) et Howard Slawner (Rogers Communications Canada Inc.)

Ottawa, le 26 juillet 2019

Notre référence : 8622-R28-201902940

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Philippe Gauvin
Chef adjoint du service juridique
Bell Canada
160, rue Elgin, 19e étage
Ottawa (Ontario)  K2P 2C4
bell.regulatory@bell.ca

M. Howard Slawner
Vice-président, Affaires réglementaires – Télécommunications
Rogers Communications Canada Inc.
350, rue Bloor Est
Toronto (Ontario)  M4W 0A1
rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com

OBJET :  Demande présentée en vertu de la partie 1 de Rogers Communications Canada Inc. contre Bell Canada concernant le routage du trafic sans frais en provenance de Rogers et destiné aux numéros de téléphone sans frais de Bell

Messieurs,

Le 29 avril 2019, le Conseil a reçu une demande de Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (Rogers), demandant que le Conseil accorde le redressement suivant :

  1. Une confirmation du Conseil selon laquelle il n’est pas obligatoire que Rogers achemine le trafic unidirectionnel sans frais destiné aux numéros de téléphone sans frais de Bell Canada sur les circuits bidirectionnels de facturation conservation de Rogers;
  2. Une confirmation du Conseil selon laquelle il est obligatoire que Bell Canada déploie des circuits interurbains aux commutateurs de Rogers afin d’obtenir son trafic sans frais;
  3. Une confirmation du Conseil selon laquelle Rogers peut facturer à Bell Canada ses minutes sans frais à compter du 1er avril 2019;
  4. Une confirmation du Conseil selon laquelle Rogers peut facturer à Bell Canada tous les coûts liés aux services sans frais à compter du 1er avril 2019, selon le tarif pour les services d’accès destinés aux entreprises de services locaux concurrentes (ESLC).

Dans une lettre datée du 17 juillet 2019, le personnel du Conseil a demandé à Bell Canada et à Rogers de déposer des renseignements supplémentaires devant le Conseil au plus tard le 29 juillet 2019.

Dans une lettre datée du 24 juillet 2019, Bell Canada a demandé que la date limite pour le dépôt de sa réponse à la lettre du personnel soit reportée du 29 juillet 2019 au 29 août 2019. Bell Canada a avancé les raisons suivantes à l’appui de sa demande :

  1. Les renseignements demandés à la question 2 ne sont pas facilement accessibles et les données devront être récupérées manuellement. Une évaluation de la fiabilité des données recueillies devra aussi être effectuée.
  2. Concernant les données sur le volume de trafic sans frais en provenance de Rogers demandées aux sous-questions 2.a et 2.b, Bell Canada a précisé que bien qu’il y ait une visibilité directe dans le trafic ayant transité vers les circuits interurbains de l’entreprise de services intercirconscriptions tierce, elle n’a pas établi un processus pour déterminer facilement l’origine de ce trafic. Bell Canada a fait valoir qu’elle s’efforce donc de recueillir les renseignements manuellement, ce qui pourrait prendre, à son avis, quelques semaines.
  3. Le processus de réponse à la question 2 est séquentiel; par conséquent, Bell Canada ne peut pas fournir les données financières demandées à la sous-question 2.c dans la lettre du personnel avant qu’elle n’ait extrait les totaux concernant les sous-questions 2.a et 2.b.
  4. Les mêmes experts en la matière recueillent les renseignements liés aux questions 1 et 2, et c’est pourquoi il n’est guère pratique de répondre à la question 1 de manière isolée avant la date limite proposée par Bell Canada pour déposer l’ensemble des réponses.

Le 25 juillet 2019, Rogers a répondu à la demande de prorogation de Bell Canada. Rogers a signalé que bien qu’elle ne s’oppose pas à la demande de Bell Canada, elle exhorte le Conseil à recueillir les renseignements demandés dès que raisonnablement possible et à se prononcer promptement sur la question soulevée dans sa demande.

Le personnel du Conseil estime que l’acceptation de la demande de Bell Canada serait utile à l’instance, car le Conseil disposerait ainsi d’un dossier plus complet. En outre, compte tenu des défis décrits par Bell Canada pour recueillir les renseignements demandés, le personnel du Conseil est d’avis que la demande de prorogation de Bell Canada est donc raisonnable dans les circonstances. Compte tenu de ce qui précède, le personnel du Conseil conclut que la prorogation demandée servirait l’intérêt public.

Toutefois, le personnel est aussi d’avis que par souci d’équité, la prorogation proposée par Bell Canada doit aussi être accordée à Rogers. Par conséquent, la date limite tant pour Bell Canada que pour Rogers afin de déposer leurs réponses respectives à la lettre du personnel du Conseil susmentionnée est prolongée jusqu’au 29 août 2019.

Veuillez agréer, Messieurs, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Le directeur,

Original signé par

Michel Murray
Règlement des différends et mise en œuvre de la réglementation
Secteur des télécommunications

c. c.   Rudy Rab, CRTC, rudy.rab@crtc.gc.ca
Jeff Brownlee, Consortium des opérateurs de réseaux canadiens inc., regulatory@cnoc.ca
Christopher Hickey, Distributel Communications Ltd., christopher.hickey@distributel.ca
Jean-François Dumoulin, Iristel Inc., regulatory@iristel.com
Dennis Béland, Québecor Média inc., dennis.beland@quebecor.com
John MacKenzie, TELUS Communications Inc., john.mackenzie@telus.com

Date de modification :