Telecom Procedural Letter adressed to Bud Eaton (Marcon Developments Ltd.)

Ottawa, 24 July 2019

Our reference: 8622-N68-201904649

BY EMAIL

Mr. Bud Eaton
Vice-President Development
Marcon Developments Ltd.
5645 – 199th Street
Langley, BC  V3A 1H9
beaton@marcon.ca

RE: Application filed by Novus Entertainment Inc. (Novus) for non-discriminatory and timely access on reasonable terms and conditions to the multi-dwelling unit (MDU) 567 Clarke + Como Development and future MDU developments of Marcon Developments Ltd. and its related companies (Marcon)

Dear Sir,

On 18 June 2019, the Commission received an application from Novus filed under Part 1 of the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure (the Rules of Practice and Procedure). In its application, the company sought relief from what it submitted is its ongoing inability to obtain timely access to the MDU developments of Marcon on reasonable terms and conditions, specifically, the development known as 567 Clarke + Como, located in Coquitlam, British Columbia. Novus indicated that it served this application on Marcon.

As set out in subsection 25(1) of the Rules of Practice and Procedure, a respondent to an application may file an answer with the Commission within 30 days after the day on which the Commission posts the application on its website.  The above-referenced application was posted on the Commission’s website on 21 June 2019; hence, the respondent (Marcon) was entitled to file an answer with the Commission by 22 July 2019. However, Commission staff notes that Marcon did not file an answer with the Commission.

Marcon is therefore requested to submit to the Commission, by no later than 29 July 2019, either:

  1. A confirmation that it has no response to submit to the Commission regarding the above-referenced application; or
  2. A response to the Commission in answer to Novus’ application which otherwise conforms to the Rules of Practice and Procedure (including per subsection 13(1) and subsection 25(2)).

Commission staff advises that, as set out in paragraph 26(2)(k) of the Rules of Practice and Procedure, Marcon’s response must be served on the applicant (i.e., Novus). Commission staff also advises that Novus may file with the Commission a reply to Marcon’s answer by no later than 8 August 2019.

Documents filed with the Commission electronically must be submitted via My CRTC Account. If you have not yet obtained a My CRTC Account, call 1-866-393-0932 between the hours of 10 AM and 3 PM (Pacific Time) to obtain an activation code and a GC Key; the above-referenced telephone number is also the number to call to obtain any required support when filing documents with the CRTC. Submitting applications and other documents to the CRTC using My CRTC Account | CRTC contains instructions on how to obtain a My CRTC Account. Once you have established your My CRTC Account, click the Telecom Cover Page link on the webpage, which will redirect you to the CRTC’s Privacy and Security Statement; clicking on the “Proceed to Telecom Cover Page” button at the bottom of this page will bring you to a screen that will enable you to log in via your GC Key. Once you have logged in, you may continue through the steps that are required to be followed when filing your submission.

Commission staff reminds Marcon that, as set out in Telecom Decision 2003-45Footnote1 , the Commission established principles for the provision of telecommunications services by local exchange carriers (LECs), such as Novus, to end-users in MDUs. These principles stipulate, among other things, that LECs must have access to MDUs during the construction phase. This was set to enable LECs to have service available upon occupancy, to minimize disruption, and to avoid the additional costs associated with the installation of facilities after completion of the MDU. Further, the Commission established that the provision of telecommunications service by a LEC in an MDU is subject to the condition that all LECs wishing to serve end-users in that MDU are able to access end-users in that MDU on a timely basis, by means of resale, leased facilities, or their own facilities, at their choice, under reasonable terms and conditions.

Sincerely,

Original signed by Guillaume Castonguay on behalf of

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution and Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.: Donna Robertson, Novus Entertainment Inc., donna.robertson@novusnow.ca
Rudy Rab, CRTC, rudy.rab@crtc.gc.ca
Marcon Developments Ltd. info@marcon.ca

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Bud Eaton (Marcon Developments Ltd.)

Ottawa, le 24 juillet 2019

Notre référence : 8622-N68-201904649

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Bud Eaton
Vice-président - Development
Marcon Developments Ltd.
5645 – 199 Street
Langley, (Colombie-Britannique)  V3A 1H9
beaton@marcon.ca

Objet : Demande déposée par Novus Entertainment Inc. (Novus) visant un accès non discriminatoire et en temps opportun, selon des modalités raisonnables, au développement d’immeubles à logements multiples (ILM) 567 Clarke + Como et aux futurs développements d’ILM de Marcon Developments Ltd. et ses sociétés affiliées (Marcon)

Monsieur,

Le 18 juin 2019, le Conseil a reçu une demande présentée par Novus en application de la partie 1 des Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (les Règles de pratique et de procédure). Dans sa demande, la société a demandé à être dispensée de ce qu’elle a fait valoir comme étant son incapacité actuelle d’obtenir l’accès opportun aux développements d’ILM de Marcon, selon des conditions raisonnables, particulièrement en ce qui a trait au développement appelé 567 Clarke + Como, situé à Coquitlam, en Colombie-Britannique. Novus a indiqué qu’elle avait signifié cette demande à Marcon.

Comme il est prévu à l’article 25(1) des Règles de pratique et de procédure, un intimé à une demande peut déposer une réponse auprès du Conseil dans les trente jours suivant le jour où celui-ci affiche la demande sur son site Web. La demande susmentionnée a été affichée sur le site Web du Conseil le 21 juin 2019, par conséquent, l’intimé (Marcon) avait le droit de déposer une réponse auprès du Conseil au plus tard le 22 juillet 2019. Toutefois, le personnel du Conseil fait remarquer que Marcon n’a pas déposé de réponse auprès du Conseil.

Marcon est donc tenue de déposer une réponse auprès du Conseil, au plus tard le 29 juillet 2019, soit :

  1. Une confirmation indiquant qu’elle n’a aucune réponse à déposer auprès du Conseil pour ce qui est de la demande susmentionnée;
  2. Une réponse à la demande de Novus auprès du Conseil qui est conforme aux Règles de pratique et de procédure, y compris, en vertu des articles 13(1) et 25(2).

Le personnel du Conseil précise que, comme il est établi à l’article 26(2)k) des Règles de pratique et de procédure, la réponse de Marcon doit être signifiée au demandeur (c.-à-d. Novus). Le personnel du Conseil a également précisé que Novus peut déposer auprès du Conseil une réponse à la demande de Marcon au plus tard le 8 août 2019.

Les documents déposés électroniquement auprès du Conseil doivent être soumis par Mon compte CRTC. Si vous n’avez pas encore obtenu un Mon compte CRTC, veuillez communiquer au 1-866-393-0932 entre 10 h et 15 h (heure du Pacifique) afin d’obtenir un code d’activation et une CléGC. Le numéro de téléphone susmentionné est aussi le numéro à composer pour obtenir tout soutien nécessaire lors du dépôt de documents auprès du CRTC. Soumettre des demandes et autres documents auprès du CRTC à l’aide de Mon Compte CRTC | Le CRTC compte des directives sur la façon d’obtenir un Mon compte CRTC. Une fois que vous avez votre Mon compte CRTC, veuillez cliquer sur le lien Page couverture de télécom sur la page Web, qui vous dirigera vers CRTC : Protection des renseignements personnels et sécurité. En cliquant sur le bouton « Veuillez remplir la page couverture de télécom » au bas de cette page, vous accédez à l’écran qui vous permet d’ouvrir une session avec votre CléGC. Une fois que vous avez ouvert une session, vous pouvez suivre les étapes requises pour déposer votre soumission.

Le personnel du Conseil rappelle à Marcon que, comme il est énoncé dans la Décision de télécom CRTC 2003-45Note de bas de page1, le Conseil a établi les principes de la fourniture de services de télécommunication par des entreprises de services locaux (ESL), comme Novus, aux utilisateurs finals dans les immeubles à logements multiples (ILM). Ces principes stipulent, entre autres, que les ESL doivent avoir accès aux ILM pendant leur construction. Ce principe existe pour que les ESL puissent rendre disponible le service au moment de l’occupation, de façon à réduire au minimum les dérangements et à éviter les coûts supplémentaires associés à l’installation d’équipement une fois que la construction de l’ILM est terminée. En outre, le Conseil a établi que la fourniture d’un service de télécommunication par une ESL dans un ILM est assujettie à la condition voulant que les ESL qui souhaitent desservir des utilisateurs finals dans cet ILM puissent y avoir accès rapidement au moyen d’une revente, d’installations louées ou de leurs propres installations, selon leur choix, et selon des modalités raisonnables.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Le directeur,

Original signé par Guillaume Castonguay au nom de

Michel Murray
Règlement des différends et mise en œuvre de la réglementation
Secteur des télécommunications

c. c. Donna Robertson, Novus Entertainment Inc., donna.robertson@novusnow.ca
Rudy Rab, CRTC, rudy.rab@crtc.gc.ca
Marcon Developments Ltd. info@marcon.ca

Date de modification :