Telecom Procedural Letter Addressed to Distribution List

Ottawa, 24 July 2019

Our references:  8740-E17-201900134 (TN 40), 1011-NOC2018-0459 (NOC)

BY EMAIL

Distribution

RE: Eastlink Tariff Notice (TN) 40 and Telecom Notice of Consultation (NOC) 2018-459

Dear Madam, Sir:

Background

In Telecom Decision 2018-458Footnote1 , the Commission directed Bragg Communications Incorporated, carrying on business as Eastlink (Eastlink) to file for approval revised Tariff pages that include a specific term permitting customers to resell High Speed Access (HSA) service on a wholesale basis and remove any terms that limit the services an HSA customer can offer to retail Internet and voice over Internet Protocol (VoIP) services.

Subsequently, in Telecom Notice of Consultation 2018-459Footnote2 , the Commission also initiated a proceeding in which Cogeco Communications Inc. (Cogeco), Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (Rogers), Shaw Cablesystems G.P (Shaw), and Videotron Ltd. (Videotron) were directed to show cause why the determinations made in paragraph 47 of Telecom Decision 2018-458 should not apply to them, since they also have similar terms relating to resale and the restriction on service offerings in their respective HSA tariffs.

Eastlink’s TN 40 Application (TN 40)

In response to Decision 2018-458, Eastlink filed with the Commission TN 40 on 10 January 2019. On 7 February 2019, Public Interest Advocacy Centre (PIAC), and on 11 February 2019, City Wide Communications Inc. (Citywide), Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc. (CNOC), Frontier Networks Inc. (Frontier), collectively the ‘intervenors’ in the TN 40 proceeding, filed interventions to Eastlink’s TN 40 application. Eastlink filed its reply to the interveners’ comments on 21 February 2019.

On 27 February 2019, Frontier filed a procedural request with the Commission requesting that certain new evidence filed by Eastlink, in its reply comments, be expunged from the record of TN 40 proceeding or, in the alternative, that Eastlink be required to disclose to the public record certain portions of this new evidence that was filed in confidence and that interveners be granted ten days to comment on Eastlink’s new evidence.

On 28 February 2019, Eastlink filed its response to Frontier’s procedural request.

NOC 2018-459 (NOC)

On 28 January 2019, Cogeco, Rogers, Shaw and Videotron filed their respective comments on the issues raised by the Commission in NOC 2018-459. On 12 February, CNOC, Distributel Communications Limited (Distributel) and Rothschild & Co. (Rothschild), collectively the ‘intervenors’ in the NOC proceeding, submitted interventions to the above cable companies’ submissions. On 22 February, Rogers, Shaw and Videotron submitted reply comments to the interveners’ submissions.

Regulatory Process

Commission staff notes that parties to the NOC have made references to comments filed in TN 40 and that both proceedings deal with similar issues. Commission staff considers that it would be more efficient for parties to both the TN 40 and the NOC if the proceedings were examined together. Further, merging and processing these two proceedings together would allow the Commission to determine the terms and conditions for the HSA services in a consistent manner across the incumbent cable carriers.

Based on the above, the Commission staff sets out the following further process with regard to the TN 40 and NOC proceedings:

In regards to Frontier’s request for disclosure of confidential information filed by Eastlink in TN 40, Commission staff notes that requests for disclosure of information designated as confidential are addressed in light of sections 38 and 39 of the Telecommunications Act (the Act) and sections 30 and following of the CRTC Rules of Practice and Procedure (the Rules of Procedure). In evaluating a request, an assessment is made as to whether the information falls into a category of information that can be designated confidential pursuant to section 39 of the Act. An assessment is then made as to whether there is any specific direct harm likely to result from the disclosure of the information in question and whether any such harm outweighs the public interest in disclosure. In making this evaluation, a number of factors are taken into consideration, including whether information could be reasonably aggregated and the competitive sensitivity of the information itself. The factors considered are discussed in more detail in Procedures for filing confidential information and requesting its disclosure in Commission proceedings, Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-961, 23 December 2010, as amended by Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-961-1, 26 October 2012.

Eastlink is required to refile the company’s reply to the interveners’ comments, originally filed on 21 February 2019, as given in the attachment, by 31 July 2019.

Staff also notes that where a document is to be filed or served by a specific date with the Commission, the document must be actually received, not merely sent, by that date.  Copies of the documents should also be sent to William.Lloyd@crtc.gc.ca

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Lyne Renaud
Director, Competitor Services & Costing Implementation
Telecommunication sector

c.c.: Bill Lloyd, William.Lloyd@crtc.gc.ca
Trichur Krishnan, Trichur.Krishnan@crtc.gc.ca

Attach. (1)

Distribution list:
Regulatory Affairs, Cogeco Communications, telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com
Regulatory, Eastlink, regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca
Regulatory Telecom, Rogers Communications Canada Inc., rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com
Regulatory Affairs, Shaw Cablesystems G.P., Regulatory@sjrb.ca
Regulatory Affairs, Quebecor Media Inc. (Videotron), regaffairs@quebecor.com
CNOC Regulatory, Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc., regulatory@cnoc.ca
Public Interest Advocacy Centre, piac@piac.ca
City Wide Communications, david@liberated.ca
Frontier Networks Inc., lcalabrese@frontiernetworks.ca
Regulatory Affairs, Distributel Communications Limited, regulatory@distributel.ca
Rothschild & Co. Limited, eric@rothschildco.com
Christopher Copeland, regulatory@tacitlaw.com


ATTACHMENT

Information to be disclosed and to be kept confidential by Eastlink

Eastlink is required to release the following confidential information, contained in the company’s ‘Eastlink TN 40 – Reply to Interventions’ document (the document), filed with the Commission on 21 February 2019, on the public record.

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre procédurale adressée à la Liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 24 juillet 2019

Nos références : 8740-E17-201900134 (avis de modification tarifaire 40), 1011-NOC2018-0459 (avis de consultation)

PAR COURRIEL

Distribution

Objet : Eastlink – avis de modification tarifaire 40 et avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2018-459

Madame, Monsieur,

Contexte

Dans la décision de télécom CRTC 2018-458Note de bas de page1, le Conseil a ordonné à Bragg Communications Incorporated, exerçant ses activités sous le nom d’Eastlink (Eastlink), de déposer aux fins d’approbation des pages de tarif révisées contenant une modalité précise qui autorise les clients à revendre le service d’accès haute vitesse (AHV) comme un service de gros et de supprimer toute modalité qui limite les services qu’un client du service AHV peut offrir aux services Internet et aux services de voix sur protocole Internet (VoIP) de détail.
Ensuite, dans l’avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2018-459Note de bas de page2, le Conseil a amorcé une instance dans laquelle Cogeco Communications Inc. (Cogeco), Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (Rogers), Shaw Cablesystems G.P (Shaw) et Vidéotron ltée (Vidéotron) doivent justifier pourquoi les conclusions énoncées au paragraphe 47 de la décision de télécom CRTC 2018-458 ne s’appliquent pas à elles, comme elles emploient des modalités semblables dans leurs tarifs AHV respectifs en ce qui concerne la revente et la restriction des offres de services.

Avis de modification tarifaire 40 (AMT 40) d’Eastlink

Le 10 janvier 2019, en réplique à la décision 2018-458, Eastlink a déposé auprès du Conseil l’AMT 40. Le 7 février 2019, le Centre pour la défense de l’intérêt public (CDIP), et le 11 février 2019, City Wide Communications Inc. (Citywide), le Consortium des opérateurs de réseaux canadiens inc. (CORC) et Frontier Networks Inc. (Frontier), collectivement les « intervenants » à l’instance de l’AMT 40, ont déposé des interventions pour se prononcer sur l’AMT 40 d’Eastlink. Le 21 février 2019, Eastlink a déposé ses répliques aux observations des intervenants.

Le 27 février 2019, Frontier a soumis une requête procédurale au Conseil lui demandant de supprimer du dossier de l’instance de l’AMT 40 certains des nouveaux éléments de preuve fournis par Eastlink dans ses observations en réplique ou, autrement, d’obliger Eastlink à divulguer au public certaines parties de ces nouveaux éléments de preuve qui ont été déposés sous pli confidentiel et d’accorder aux intervenants dix jours pour présenter leurs observations sur ces éléments.

Le 28 février 2019, Eastlink a déposé sa réplique à la requête procédurale de Frontier.

Avis de consultation (ADC) 2018-459

Le 28 janvier 2019, Cogeco, Rogers, Shaw, Vidéotron ont déposé leurs observations respectives sur les questions soulevées par le Conseil dans l’ADC 2018-459. Le 12 février, le CORC, Communications Distributel Limitée (Distributel) et Rothschild & Co (Rothschild), collectivement les « intervenants » à l’instance de l’ADC, ont déposé leurs interventions pour se prononcer sur les mémoires des entreprises de câblodistribution ci-dessus. Le 22 février, Rogers, Shaw et Vidéotron ont soumis des observations en réplique aux mémoires de ces intervenants.

Processus réglementaire

Le personnel du Conseil note que les parties à l’ADC ont fait référence à des observations déposées dans le cadre de l’AMT 40 et que les deux instances traitent de questions semblables. Le personnel estime qu’il serait plus approprié pour les parties aux instances de l’AMT 40 et de l’ADC de les examiner conjointement. De plus, fusionner ces deux instances permettrait au Conseil de déterminer les modalités des services AHV de manière uniforme pour toutes les entreprises de câblodistribution titulaires.

Compte tenu de ce qui précède, le personnel du Conseil établit les nouveaux processus suivants à l’égard des instances de l’AMT 40 et de l’ADC :

En ce qui a trait à la demande de Frontier pour la divulgation des renseignements confidentiels soumis par Eastlink à l’instance de l’AMT 40, le personnel du Conseil souligne que les demandes de divulgation de renseignements désignés comme confidentiels sont évaluées en fonction des articles 38 et 39 de la Loi sur les télécommunications (la Loi) et des articles 30 et suivants des Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (les Règles de procédure). Lorsque le Conseil évalue une demande, il vérifie si les renseignements s’inscrivent dans une catégorie de renseignements considérés comme confidentiels aux termes de l’article 39 de la Loi. Il tente ensuite de déterminer si la divulgation des renseignements en question risque d’entraîner un préjudice direct particulier et si ce préjudice l’emporte sur l’intérêt public de la divulgation de ces renseignements. Dans le cadre de l’évaluation, le Conseil tient compte d’un certain nombre de facteurs, notamment de la possibilité de regrouper les renseignements de manière raisonnable et du caractère délicat du renseignement lui-même sur le plan de la concurrence. Les facteurs à évaluer sont expliqués en détail dans la Procédure à suivre pour le dépôt et la demande de communication de renseignements confidentiels dans le cadre d’une instance du Conseil, Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961, 23 décembre 2010, modifié par le Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961-1, qui est daté du 26 octobre 2012.

Eastlink est tenue de déposer de nouveau sa réplique aux observations des intervenants, déposée pour la première fois le 21 février 2019, de la manière définie en pièce jointe, au plus tard le 31 juillet 2019.

Le personnel note également que lorsqu’une date limite est indiquée pour le dépôt ou la signification d’un document auprès du Conseil, ce document doit avoir été reçu à la date indiquée, et non simplement avoir été envoyé à cette date. Les copies des documents devraient également être envoyées à l’adresse William.Lloyd@crtc.gc.ca.

Veuillez agréer l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

La directrice,

Original signé par

Lyne Renaud
Mise en œuvre des services aux concurrents et établissement des coûts
Secteur des télécommunications

c. c. Bill Lloyd, William.Lloyd@crtc.gc.ca
Trichur Krishnan, Trichur.Krishnan@crtc.gc.ca

P.j. (1)

Liste de distribution :
Affaires réglementaires, Cogeco Communications, telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com
Affaires réglementaires, Eastlink, regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca
Affaires réglementaires, Télécommunications, Rogers Communications Canada Inc., rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com
Affaires juridiques et réglementaires, Shaw Cablesystems G.P., Regulatory@sjrb.ca
Affaires réglementaires, Québecor Média Inc. (Vidéotron), regaffairs@quebecor.com
CNOC Regulatory, Consortium des Opérateurs de Réseaux Canadiens Inc., regulatory@cnoc.ca
Centre pour la défense de l’intérêt public, piac@piac.ca
City Wide Communications, david@liberated.ca
Frontier Networks Inc., lcalabrese@frontiernetworks.ca
Affaires réglementaires, Distributel Communications Limited, regulatory@distributel.ca
Rothschild Co. Limited, eric@rothschildco.com
Christopher Copeland, regulatory@tacitlaw.com


PIÈCE JOINTE

Divulgation et protection des renseignements par Eastlink
Eastlink est tenue de divulguer au public les renseignements confidentiels suivants, figurant dans le document de la société, « Eastlink – avis de modification tarifaire 40 – Réplique aux interventions » (le document), déposé auprès du Conseil le 21 février 2019.

Date de modification :