Telecom Commission Letter addressed to the Distribution list

ABRIDGED

Ottawa, 11 June 2019

Our references: 8663-J64-201806019, 8663-T66-201805722

BY EMAIL

Distribution list

RE: Iris Technologies Inc. and TELUS Communications Inc. – Applications for relief regarding the termination of traffic to certain 867 numbering plan area telephone numbers

Dear Sirs,

Commission staff acknowledges receipt of requests for information filed on 4 June 2019 by Iris Technologies Inc. (Iristel), on behalf of itself and its affiliate Ice Wireless Inc., Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (Rogers) and TELUS Communications Inc. (TCI), pursuant to the process established by Commission staff in its 12 April 2019 letter.

Commission staff has reviewed the questions filed on 4 June 2019. Iristel, Rogers and TCI are required to respond to each questions directed to them by 26 June 2019.

In light of the submissions received to date and the questions filed on 4 June 2019 by Iristel, Rogers and TCI, Commission staff is issuing a further request for information.

Responses to the attached request for information are to be filed by 26 June 2019.

Any document filed with the Commission must be served on all parties. Where a document is to be filed or served by a specific date, the document must be received, not merely sent, by that date.

A copy of this letter and all related correspondence will be publicly accessible through the Commission’s website. Persons that wish to designate information contained in their submissions as confidential must do so in accordance with the Telecommunications Act Footnote1 and with the CRTC Rules of Practice and Procedure. Footnote2 This requires that:

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution and Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.: Jill Schatz, Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc., regulatory@cnoc.ca
John Lawford, Public Interest Advocacy Centre, jlawford@piac.ca
Marc Lange, marc8lange@gmail.com
Martin Brazeau, CRTC, martin.brazeau@crtc.gc.ca

Attach. (2)

Distribution list

Free Conference Call Global, ##
Iris Technologies Inc., Jean-Francois Dumoulin, regulatory@iristel.com
Rogers Communications Canada Inc., Howard Slawner, rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com
TELUS Communications Inc., Stephen Schmidt, regulatory.affairs@telus.com
ZenoRadio, Baruch Herzfeld, bh@zenoradio.com
Iristel costumer #1,##
Iristel costumer #2,##
Iristel costumer #3,##
Iristel costumer #4,##
Iristel costumer #5,##

Request for information

A. Questions to Iristel costumer #1, #2, #3, #4, and #5

  1. Provide a description of the services that are being provided to the end users involving DID 867 NPA numbers you use from Iristel (for example: transmission of radio programming, conference call bridge, etc.)
  2. Explain what is your motivation to order and use direct inward dialing (DID) numbers located in the 867 NPA.
  3. Explain why 867 NPA is being used as opposed to any other DID numbers available in Canada or the United States.
  4. Provide a network diagram showing network components and parties involved in the provisioning of the services that are being offered to end users involving the use of Iristel’s DID 867 NPA numbers you order. The diagram should demonstrate the flow of traffic from its origination to its delivery to end users and include the location of each network elements and any parties involved and for which functions.
  5. Indicate whether you share or benefit from the sharing of any revenues generated from the routing of communications involving the use of 867 NPA numbers, or are compensated or paid in any way based on the number or volume of calls or minutes of use involving 867 NPA numbers. If yes, provide details along with the name of the parties involved and a copy of the associated agreement.
  6. In paragraph 37 of Telecom Decision 2017-11, the Commission determined that all non-carriers with existing service contracts or other arrangements with Canadian carriers or other non-carriers have to register with the Commission prior to receiving telecommunications services for resale.
    Indicate whether you are registered with the CRTC. If not, explain why not.

B. Questions to Free Conference Call Global

  1. Confirm that none of the 867 NPA numbers you or any of your affiliates may be assigned as a result of any agreement or arrangement with Iristel are being used in any manner by AudioNow or ZenoRadio.
  2. Indicate whether you or any of your affiliates order 867 NPA DID numbers from carriers other than Iristel. If yes, indicate whether any of those numbers are being used in any manner by AudioNow or ZenoRadio.

C. Questions to Iristel

  1. In Telecom Decision 2017-456, the Commission imposed a condition under section 24 of the Telecommunications Act and directed Iristel and any of its affiliates to terminate any agreement that assigns FCCG any 867 NPA numbers that are ultimately used by AudioNow, and not re-enter into provisions of such an agreement with FCCG or any of its affiliates.
    1. Indicate whether Iristel has any agreement or arrangement, written or otherwise, which assigns FCCG or any of its affiliates 867 NPA numbers;
    2. If yes, explain what measures Iristel employs to make sure that none of the numbers in question are being used in any manner by AudioNow or ZenoRadio.
  2. On 10 September 2018, Rogers filed comments in which it indicated that, following Iristel’s implementation of Telecom Decision 2017-456, it experienced a drop in its traffic destined to Iristel’s 867 NPA numbers down to 5% of the level reached just prior to that decision taking effect on 20 January 2018.
    Explain to what extent this drop in traffic was due to the termination of any agreement that assigns FCCG or any of its affiliates any 867 NPA numbers that were being used by AudioNow. Explain in details how the termination of such agreement(s) has resulted in reduced traffic.
  3. Attachment 1 of Iristel’s response to Iristel(CRTC)29Jan19-1c indicates that The Schedule is subject to the parties Master Service Agreement (“MSA”) dated April 4th 2014]. Provide a copy of the Master Service Agreement in question.

D. Question to TELUS

  1. Confirm whether the traffic from the bilateral agreement with Iristel has been moved to a Feature Group D trunk arrangement. If yes, explain what is the resulting impact on call termination volumes.

E. Questions to ZenoRadio

  1. On its Zeno Media website, ZenoRadio provides the following information to explain how its call-to-listen service works:
    “Each broadcaster we partner with has a dedicated access number, and listeners calling in connect immediately to the broadcaster’s live or on-demand programming. Call-to-listen use mobile minutes with no additional charges, so the service does not require a smartphone, data plan or even an internet connection which benefits geographically diverse audiences.
    With Call-to-listen, our broadcasters increase their footprint worldwide and enjoy an incremental and highly effective monetization platform through our global carrier deals.”
    1. Provide a network diagram showing network components and parties involved in the provisioning and use of your call-to-listen service to an end-user listening to a broadcaster’s programming that is accessed through an 867 NPA number. The diagram should demonstrate the flow of traffic from its origination to its delivery to end users and include the location of each network elements and any parties involved and for which functions;
    2. On its Zeno Media website, ZenoRadio indicates that it offers the use of custom mobile apps which serve features such as Call-to-listen integration. Explain how the Call-to-listen integration feature connects end users to radio station programming and indicate whether it is using mobile minutes or internet data, or both;
    3. Indicate whether broadcasters generate revenue for the time people spend listening to their radio station via your call-to-listen service. If yes, explain that process. Your explanation should include, among other things, the source and nature of those revenues.
  2. Confirm whether AudioNow or ZenoRadio currently use 867 NPA numbers. If yes, provide the following information:
    • for which purposes you use the numbers;
    • the number of 867 NPA numbers that are in use;
    • from whom the company obtains such numbers; and
    • a copy of any associated agreement.
Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à la Liste de distribution

VERSION ABRÉGÉE

Ottawa, le 11 juin 2019

Nos références : 8663-J64-201806019, 8663-T66-201805722

PAR COURRIEL

Liste de distribution

Objet :  Iris Technologies Inc. et TELUS Communications Inc. – Demandes de redressement concernant le raccordement du trafic vers l’indicatif régional 867

Messieurs,

Le personnel du Conseil accuse réception des demandes de renseignements déposées le 4 juin 2019 par Iris Technologies Inc. (Iristel), en son nom et au nom de sa filiale Ice Wireless Inc., par Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (Rogers) et par TELUS Communications Inc. (TCI), conformément au processus établi par le personnel du Conseil dans sa lettre du 12 avril 2019.

Le personnel du Conseil a examiné les questions déposées le 4 juin 2019. Iristel, Rogers et TCI sont tenues de répondre à chaque question qui s’adresse à elles d’ici le 26 juin 2019.

À la lumière des soumissions reçues à ce jour et des questions déposées le 4 juin 2019 par Iristel, par Rogers et par TCI, le personnel du Conseil publie une autre demande de renseignements.

Les réponses à la demande de renseignements ci-jointe doivent être déposées d’ici le 26 juin 2019.

Les documents déposés devant le Conseil doivent être signifiés à toutes les parties. Lorsqu’une date limite précise est indiquée pour le dépôt ou la signification d’un document, ce dernier doit avoir été reçu à la date indiquée, et non simplement avoir été envoyé à cette date.

Des copies de la présente lettre et de toute la correspondance connexe seront accessibles au public sur le site Web du Conseil. Les personnes qui souhaitent désigner des renseignements contenus dans leurs soumissions comme confidentiels doivent le faire conformément à la Loi sur les télécommunications Note de bas de page1 et aux Règles de pratique et de procédure du CRTC Note de bas de page2 . Pour faire cela :

Veuillez agréer, Messieurs, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Le directeur,

Original signé par

Michel Murray
Règlement des différends et mise en œuvre de la réglementation
Secteur des télécommunications

c. c. Jill Schatz, Consortium des Opérateurs de Réseaux Canadiens inc., regulatory@cnoc.ca
John Lawford, Centre pour la défense de l’intérêt public, jlawford@piac.ca
Marc Lange, marc8lange@gmail.com
Martin Brazeau, CRTC, martin.brazeau@crtc.gc.ca

p. j. (2)

Liste de distribution

Free Conference Call Global (FCCG), ##
Iris Technologies Inc., Jean-Francois Dumoulin, regulatory@iristel.com
Rogers Communications Canada Inc., Howard Slawner, rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com
TELUS Communications Inc., Stephen Schmidt, regulatory.affairs@telus.com
ZenoRadio, Baruch Herzfeld, bh@zenoradio.com
Client no 1 d’Iristel,##
Client no2 d’Iristel,##
Client no3 d’Iristel,##
Client no4 d’Iristel,##
Client no5 d’Iristel,##

Demande de renseignements

A. Questions à l’intention des clients no 1, no 2, no 3, no 4 et no 5

  1. Veuillez fournir une description des services offerts aux utilisateurs finals qui impliquent les numéros de sélection directe à l’arrivée dans l’IR 867 d’Iristel que vous utilisez (transmission des émissions de radio, pont de téléconférence, etc.).
  2. Expliquez ce qui vous motive à commander et à utiliser des numéros de sélection directe à l’arrivée qui se trouvent dans l’IR 867.
  3. Expliquez pourquoi l’IR 867 est utilisé plutôt que les autres numéros de sélection directe à l’arrivée accessibles au Canada ou aux États-Unis.
  4. Veuillez fournir un diagramme du réseau qui montre les composantes de réseau et les parties contribuant à la fourniture des services offerts aux utilisateurs finals comportant l’utilisation des numéros de sélection directe à l’arrivée dans l’IR 867 d’Iristel que vous commandez. Le diagramme devrait illustrer le volume de trafic de son origine à sa livraison aux utilisateurs finals et comprendre l’emplacement de chacun des éléments de réseau et des parties touchées, ainsi que les fonctions.
  5. Indiquez si vous partagez ou tirez profit du partage des revenus générés par la répartition des communications impliquant l’utilisation des numéros dans l’IR 867 ou si vous êtes rémunéré ou payé en fonction du nombre ou du volume d’appels ou des minutes d’utilisation liées aux numéros dans l’IR 867 de quelque façon que ce soit. Dans l’affirmative, veuillez fournir les détails ainsi que le nom des parties touchées et une copie de l’entente connexe.
  6. Au paragraphe 37 de la politique réglementaire de télécom 2017-11, le Conseil a déterminé que toutes les entreprises autres que les entreprises de télécommunication ayant des contrats de service ou d’autres arrangements avec des entreprises canadiennes ou d’autres entreprises qui ne sont pas entreprises canadiennes doivent s’inscrire auprès du Conseil avant de recevoir des services de télécommunication aux fins de revente.
    Indiquez si vous êtes inscrits auprès du Conseil. Si ce n’est pas le cas, indiquez pourquoi.

B. Questions à l’intention de Free Conference Call Global

  1. Confirmez qu’AudioNow ou ZenoRadio n’utilise aucun des numéros dans l’IR 867 qu’on aurait pu vous attribuer (vous ou vos sociétés affiliées) à la suite d’une entente ou d’un arrangement avec Iristel de quelque manière que ce soit.
  2. Indiquez si vous ou vos sociétés affiliées commandez des numéros de sélection directe à l’arrivée dans l’IR 867 auprès d’entreprises autres qu’Iristel. Dans l’affirmative, indiquez si AudioNow ou ZenoRadio utilise l’un de ces numéros de quelque manière que ce soit.

Questions à l’intention d’Iristel

  1. Dans la décision de télécom 2017-456, le Conseil a imposé une condition en vertu de l’article 24 de la Loi sur les télécommunications et a ordonné à Iristel et à ses sociétés affiliées de mettre fin à toute entente qui attribue à FCCG des numéros dans l’IR 867 qui sont en fin de compte utilisés par AudioNow et de ne pas conclure de nouvelles ententes avec FCCG et ses sociétés affiliées.
    1. Indiquez si Iristel a conclu des ententes ou des arrangements, écrits ou sous une autre forme, qui attribuent à FCCG ou à ses sociétés affiliées des numéros dans l’IR 867.
    2. Dans l’affirmative, expliquez les mesures mises en place par Iristel pour s’assurer qu’AudioNow ou ZenoRadio n’utilise aucun des numéros en question de quelque manière que ce soit.
  2. Le 10 septembre 2018, Rogers a déposé des observations dans lesquelles elle a indiqué qu’une fois qu’Iristel a mis en œuvre la décision de télécom 2017-456, elle a constaté une chute de son trafic destiné aux numéros dans l’IR 867 à 5 % du niveau atteint juste avant l’entrée en vigueur de cette décision le 20 janvier 2018.
    Expliquez à quel point cette baisse du trafic était attribuable à la résiliation des ententes qui attribuent à FCCG ou à ses sociétés affiliées des numéros dans l’IR 867 qui étaient utilisés par AudioNow. Expliquez en détail comment la résiliation de ces ententes a entraîné une réduction du trafic.
  3. La pièce jointe 1 de la réponse d’Iristel à Iristel(CRTC)29Jan19-1c précise que l’annexe est assujettie à l’entente-cadre de services datée du 4 avril 2014. Veuillez fournir un exemplaire de l’entente-cadre de services en question.

D. Questions à l’intention de TELUS

  1. Confirmez si le trafic attribuable à l’entente bilatérale conclue avec Iristel a été transféré vers un arrangement de circuit du groupe de fonctions D. Dans l’affirmative, précisez les répercussions sur les volumes de raccordement des appels.

E. Questions à l’intention de ZenoRadio

  1. Sur son site Web « Zeno Media », ZenoRadio fournit les renseignements suivants pour expliquer le fonctionnement de son service Call-to-Listen :
    « Chaque radiodiffuseur avec qui nous travaillons en collaboration a un numéro d’accès unique et les auditeurs qui appellent ce numéro sont immédiatement mis en communication avec la programmation en direct ou sur demande du radiodiffuseur. Le service Call-to-Listen utilise les minutes de trafic mobile sans frais supplémentaires : donc, il n’exige pas de téléphone intelligent, de forfait de données ou même une connexion Internet, ce qui bénéficie aux audiences diverses sur le plan géographique.
    À travers le service Call-to-Listen, nos radiodiffuseurs accroissent leur présence à l’échelle mondiale et profitent d’une plateforme de monétisation progressive et très efficace par l’entremise de nos ententes avec des entreprises partout dans le monde ».
    1. Veuillez fournir un diagramme du réseau qui montre les composantes de réseau et les parties contribuant à la fourniture de votre service Call-to-Listen à un utilisateur final qui écoute l’émission d’un radiodiffuseur au moyen du numéro dans l’IR 867 et son utilisation. Le diagramme devrait illustrer le volume de trafic de son origine à sa livraison aux utilisateurs finals et comprendre l’emplacement de chacun des éléments de réseau et des parties touchées, ainsi que les fonctions.
    2. Sur son site Web « Zeno Media », ZenoRadio indique qu’elle offre l’utilisation d’applications mobiles personnalisées qui exécutent des fonctions comme l’intégration du service Call-to-Listen. Expliquez comment la fonction d’intégration du service Call-to-Listen relie les utilisateurs finals aux émissions des stations de radio et indiquez si elle utilise des minutes de trafic mobile ou des données Internet, ou les deux.
    3. Indiquez si les radiodiffuseurs génèrent des revenus attribuables au temps que les gens passent à écouteur leur station de radio au moyen de votre service Call-to-Listen. Dans l’affirmative, expliquez ce processus. Votre explication devrait comprendre, entre autres choses, la source et la nature de ces revenus.
  2. Confirmez si AudioNow ou ZenoRadio utilisent les numéros dans l’IR 867 à l’heure actuelle. Dans l’affirmative, veuillez fournir les renseignements suivants :
    • les raisons pour lesquelles vous utilisez ces numéros;
    • les numéros de l’IR 867 qui sont utilisés;
    • l’entreprise auprès de laquelle la société obtient ces numéros;
    • une copie de l’entente connexe.
Date de modification :