Telecom Commissiom Letter adressed to Paul Cowling (Shaw Communications Inc.) and to the Distribution List

Ottawa, 31 May 2019

Our reference:  1011-NOC2018-0242

BY EMAIL

Distribution list

Paul Cowling
SVP, Legal and Regulatory Affairs
Shaw Communications Inc.
Regulatory@sjrb.ca

Re: Shaw request for clarification with respect to the measurement of the jitter threshold established in Telecom Regulatory Policy CRTC 2019-42

Dear Madam/Sir:

On 7 May 2019, the Commission received a letter from Shaw Cablesystems G.P. (Shaw) requesting a formal clarification from the Commission with respect to the measurement of the jitter threshold established in TRP 2019-42.

In Telecom Decision 2018-241Footnote1 (Decision 2018-241), CISC Network Working Group – Non-consensus report on quality of service metrics to define high-quality fixed broadband Internet access service, the Commission established the methodology and thresholds for packet loss and latency quality of service metrics to define high-quality fixed broadband Internet access service to meet the broadband portion of the universal service objective. Subsequently, in Telecom Regulatory Policy 2019-42 (TRP 2019-42), Establishment of an appropriate quality of service metric for jitter to define high-quality fixed broadband Internet access service,  the Commission established a jitter threshold of 5 milliseconds (ms).

Specifically, Shaw requested that the Commission issue a letter of clarification identifying that the 5 ms threshold is measured on a unidirectional basis, in other words measured in either the upstream or the downstream traffic flow, and is not intended to represent a “round-trip” measurement.

While latency is typically measured by the industry in a round-trip manner as specified in Decision 2018-241, jitter is typically measured on a one-way basis and in both the upstream and downstream directions. The Commission’s decision defined jitter as being measured in terms of one-way traffic, from a source to a destination. As well, the 5ms jitter threshold established applies to traffic going in either direction between the two measurement points.

Therefore, in accordance with TRP 2019-42, the upstream jitter and the downstream jitter must both be less than 5ms in either direction for a fixed broadband Internet access service to meet the broadband portion of the universal service objective. The upstream jitter or downstream jitter is to be measured between the modem at the customer premises and a server located off-net at the Internet exchange point in a Canadian Tier 1 city.

It should also be noted that the packet loss threshold also applies unidirectionally to the upstream and downstream traffic, and it is only the latency that is to be measured in a roundtrip manner as indicated in CRTC Decision 2018-241.

Yours sincerely,

Original signed by

Claude Doucet
Secretary General

c.c.: Distribution list

Bell Canada, bell.regulatory@bell.ca;
Bragg Communications Incorporated (Eastlink), regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca;
Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc., regulatory@cnoc.ca;
Cogeco Inc., telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com;
Independent Telecommunications Providers Association, jonathan.holmes@itpa.ca;
Northwestel Inc., regulatoryaffairs@nwtel.ca;
Quebecor Inc., dennis.beland@quebecor.com;
Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (Rogers), rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com;
Saskatchewan Telecommunications (SaskTel), document.control@sasktel.com;
TELUS Communications Inc. (TELUS), regulatory.affairs@telus.com
Xplornet Communications Inc., xplornet.legal@corp.xplornet.com
Hyman Glustein, hglustein@rtscanada.com;
Fenwick McKelvey, fenwick.mckelvey@concordia.ca;
David Prioriello, davemsp@gmail.com.

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du conseil adressée à Paul Cowling (Shaw Communications Inc.) et à la Liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 31 mai 2019

Notre référence: 1011-NOC2018-0242

PAR COURRIEL

Liste de distribution

Paul Cowling
Vice-président senior, Affaires juridiques et réglementaires
Shaw Communications Inc.
Regulatory@sjrb.ca

Re: Demande de précision concernant la mesure du seuil de la gigue établi dans la politique réglementaire de télécom CRTC 2019-42.

Madame, Monsieur,

Dans une lettre datée du 7 mai 2019, Shaw Cablesystems G.P. (Shaw) a demandé une clarification officielle de la part du Conseil en ce qui concerne la mesure du seuil de la gigue établi dans la politique réglementaire de télécom 2019-42.

Dans la décision de télécom 2018-241Note de bas de page1, Groupe de travail Réseau du CDCI – Rapport de non-consensus concernant les paramètres de la qualité du service pour définir le service d’accès Internet à large bande fixe de grande qualité, le Conseil a établi la méthode et les seuils pour les paramètres de la qualité du service en matière de perte de paquets et de latence afin de définir un service d’accès Internet à large bande fixe de grande qualité pour respecter la partie de l’objectif du service universel liée à la large bande. Par la suite, dans la politique réglementaire de télécom 2019-42, Établissement d’un paramètre de qualité du service approprié pour la gigue afin de définir un service d’accès Internet à large bande fixe de grande qualité, le Conseil a établi un seuil de la gigue de 5 millisecondes (ms).

Plus précisément, Shaw a demandé que le Conseil envoie une lettre de clarification précisant que le seuil de 5 ms est mesuré de façon unidirectionnelle, c’est-à-dire qu’il est mesuré en fonction du trafic en amont ou du trafic en aval, et n’a pas pour but de représenter une mesure « aller-retour ».

Bien que la latence soit habituellement mesurée par l’industrie en fonction de l’aller-retour, comme le précise la décision 2018-241, la gigue est habituellement mesurée de façon unidirectionnelle, à la fois en amont et en aval. La décision du Conseil définit la gigue comme étant mesurée en fonction du trafic unidirectionnel, soit d’une source à une destination. De plus, le seuil de la gigue de 5 ms établi s’applique au trafic allant dans un sens ou dans l’autre entre deux points de mesure.

Par conséquent, conformément à la politique réglementaire de télécom CRTC 2019-42, la gigue en amont et la gigue en aval doivent toutes deux être inférieures à 5 ms dans un sens ou dans l’autre pour qu’un service d’accès Internet à large bande fixe respecte la partie de l’objectif du service universel liée à la large bande. La gigue en amont ou en aval doit être mesurée entre le modem situé dans les installations du client et un serveur situé hors réseau à un point d’échange Internet dans une ville canadienne de premier niveau.

Il est aussi à noter que le seuil de la perte de paquets s’applique de façon unidirectionnelle au trafic en amont et en aval, et que seul le seuil de la latence doit être mesuré en fonction du trafic aller-retour, comme l’indique la décision de CRTC 2018-241.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Original signé par

Claude Doucet
Secrétaire général

Liste de distribution

Bell Canada,bell.regulatory@bell.ca;
Bragg Communications Incorporated (Eastlink), regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca;
Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc., regulatory@cnoc.ca;
Cogeco Inc., telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com;
Independent Telecommunications Providers Association, jonathan.holmes@itpa.ca;
Northwestel Inc., regulatoryaffairs@nwtel.ca;
Quebecor Inc., dennis.beland@quebecor.com;
Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (Rogers), rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com;
Saskatchewan Telecommunications (SaskTel), document.control@sasktel.com;
TELUS Communications Inc. (TELUS), regulatory.affairs@telus.com
Xplornet Communications Inc., xplornet.legal@corp.xplornet.com
Hyman Glustein, hglustein@rtscanada.com;
Fenwick McKelvey, fenwick.mckelvey@concordia.ca;
David Prioriello, davemsp@gmail.com.

Date de modification :