Telecom Commission Letter addressed to Stephen Schmidt (TELUS)

Ottawa, 22 May 2019

Our reference: 8678-C12-200905557

BY EMAIL

Mr. Stephen Schmidt
Vice-President – Telecom Policy and Chief Regulatory Legal Counsel 
Telecom Policy and Regulatory Affairs
TELUS
Floor 8, 215 Slater Street
Ottawa, ON K1P 0A6
regulatory.affairs@telus.com

Re: Decision 2016-193 and Decision 2017-252 – TELUS Communications Company’s Annual Deferral Account Update Report - 2019 – Request for information

Dear Sir:

The Commission is in receipt of TELUS’ Annual Deferral Account Update Report - 2019 dated 26 March 2019. Commission staff have reviewed the report and acknowledges the successful completion of the W3C upgrade of TELUS’ subscriber webmail portal, as well as the progress made with respect to the two outstanding initiatives, those being the Wireless Device Accessibility Audits of the Company’s wireless handsets and the solutions for wireless platforms initiative proposed and led by the Neil Squire Society (NSS).

In terms of reporting, Commission staff note that the NSS provided a detailed report on the wireless platforms initiative, including information on the allocation and utilization of deferral account funds. However, a review of the information submitted by TELUS concerning the Wireless Device Accessibility Audits of the Company’s wireless handsets has identified gaps pertaining to the allocation and utilization of deferral account funds that do not allow for a comprehensive assessment of the initiative. Therefore, TELUS is asked to file an answer to the questions included below on or before 7 June 2019.

Context

In Telecom Decision 2006-9, the Commission determined that accessibility to telecommunications services for persons with disabilities is an important public policy objective and that using funds from the deferral accounts will help provide telecommunications services to these Canadians. Further to this, the Commission approved in Telecom Decision 2008-1 the use of deferral account funds by incumbent local exchange carriers for certain initiatives to improve access to telecommunications services for persons with disabilities. In Telecom Decision 2016-193 and Telecom Decision 2017-252, the Commission approved further initiatives for the use of deferral account funds by TELUS for this purpose.

More specifically, in Telecom Decision 2017-252, the Commission approved the use of TELUS’ deferral account funds to perform Wireless Device Accessibility Audits, which “[…] would allow for TCC’s device selector tool to remain up-to-date in order to provide customers with disabilities with continued access to current information about the accessibility capabilities of the company’s device inventory. This information will serve to improve access to telecommunications services for persons with disabilities.” Footnote1

In Telecom Decision 2017-252, the Commission directed TELUS to report annually, beginning in 2018 and until the deferral account funds are fully used, on the approved initiatives “[…] with details regarding the initiatives implemented in the previous year and lifecycle matters.” Footnote2

Questions

  1. Confirm the closing balance (on 31 December 2018) for the Wireless Device Accessibility Audits and confirm the cost of each audit. Based on this information, confirm the timeframe by which the deferral account funds allocated for this initiative will be fully utilized.
  2. Confirm where an individual could find the Wireless Device Accessibility Audits reports in order to consult them.
  3. Explain in detail what is meant at paragraph 8 of TELUS’ Annual Deferral Account Update Report – 2019 where it is stated that “TELUS will continue to complete audits as required to cover the range of newly available handsets”. Will TELUS continue to complete Wireless Device Accessibility Audits even after the deferral account funds have been fully utilized?

Procedures for filing

Response to this requests for information must 1) refer to the file number noted above, and 2) be sent to the Secretary General of the Commission via My CRTC Account (at the following link: https://crtc.gc.ca/eng/cover.htm) using GCKey. GCKey allows you to securely access the Government of Canada’s online services and conduct online business.

For further information on how to submit your response, see the CRTC’s web page Submitting applications and other documents to the CRTC using My CRTC Account.

All submissions are to be made in accordance with the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure, SOR/2010-277. As set out in Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin 2010-961, Procedures for filing confidential information and requesting its disclosure in Commission proceedings, parties may designate certain information as confidential. Parties must provide an abridged version of the document involved, accompanied by a detailed rationale to explain why the disclosure of the information is not in the public interest.

Should you have any questions, please contact Natalie Riendeau, Senior Policy Analyst, Social and Consumer Policy, at natalie.riendeau@crtc.gc.ca.

A copy of this letter and all related correspondence will be added to the public record of the proceeding.

Yours sincerely,

(Original signed by)

Nanao Kachi
Director, Social and Consumer Policy
CRTC

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Stephen Schmidt (TELUS)

Ottawa, le 22 mai 2019

Notre référence : 8678-C12-200905557

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Stephen Schmidt
Vice-président – Politique de télécommunications et conseiller principal en réglementation, Politique de télécommunications et Affaires réglementaires
TELUS
215, rue Slater, 8e étage
Ottawa (Ontario) K1P 0A6
regulatory.affairs@telus.com

Objet : Décisions de télécom CRTC 2016-193 et 2017-252 – Rapport annuel sur le compte de report de la Société TELUS Communications – 2019 – Demande de renseignements

Monsieur,

Le Conseil a reçu le rapport annuel sur le compte de report de 2019 de TELUS daté du 26 mars 2019. Le personnel du Conseil a examiné le rapport et reconnaît l’achèvement de la mise à niveau aux normes des W3C du portail de la messagerie Web des abonnés de TELUS, ainsi que les progrès réalisés à l’égard de deux initiatives restantes, c’est-à-dire l’initiative des vérifications de l’accessibilité des appareils sans fil pour les combinés mobiles sans fil de l’entreprise et l’initiative de solutions de plateformes sans fil proposée et menée par la Neil Squire Society (NSS).

Concernant la production de rapport, le personnel du Conseil fait remarquer que la NSS a présenté un rapport détaillé sur l’initiative de solutions de plateformes sans fil, qui comprenait des renseignements sur la répartition et l’utilisation des fonds du compte de report. Toutefois, l’examen des renseignements présentés par TELUS sur l’initiative des vérifications de l’accessibilité des appareils sans fil pour les combinés mobiles sans fil de l’entreprise a permis de cerner des lacunes relatives à la répartition et à l’utilisation des fonds du compte de report qui ne permettent pas de réaliser une évaluation exhaustive de l’initiative. Par conséquent, nous demandons à TELUS de déposer une réponse aux questions ci-dessous d’ici le 7 juin 2019.

Contexte

Dans la décision de télécom CRTC 2006-9, le Conseil a estimé que l’accessibilité des personnes handicapées aux services de télécommunication est un important objectif de politique publique et que l’utilisation des fonds des comptes de report contribuera à fournir des services de télécommunication à ces Canadiens. En outre, dans la décision de télécom CRTC 2008-1, le Conseil a autorisé les entreprises de services locaux titulaires à utiliser les fonds des comptes de report pour mettre en œuvre certaines initiatives qui permettront d’améliorer l’accès des personnes handicapées aux services de télécommunication. Dans les décisions de télécom CRTC 2016-193 et 2017-252, le Conseil a autorisé TELUS à utiliser les fonds du compte de report pour d’autres initiatives à cette fin.

Plus précisément, dans la décision de télécom CRTC 2017-252, le Conseil a autorisé TELUS à utiliser les fonds du compte de report pour la réalisation de nouvelles vérifications de l’accessibilité des appareils sans fil qui « [...] permettrait de tenir à jour l’outil de sélection de combinés de la STC, de manière à fournir aux clients ayant un handicap un accès continu à des renseignements à jour sur les fonctions d’accessibilité du répertoire d’appareils de l’entreprise. Ces renseignements serviront à améliorer l’accès des personnes handicapées aux services de télécommunication » Note de bas de page1

Dans la décision de télécom CRTC 2017-252, le Conseil a ordonné à TELUS, de lui adresser des rapports annuels, à compter de 2018 et jusqu’à épuisement des fonds du compte de report, sur les initiatives approuvées « […] décrivant en détail les initiatives mises en œuvre durant l’exercice précédent et les questions liées au cycle de vie » Note de bas de page2 .

Questions

  1. Confirmez le solde de clôture (au 31 décembre 2018) des vérifications de l’accessibilité des appareils sans fil et confirmez le coût de chaque vérification. D’après ces renseignements, confirmez l’échéancier selon lequel les fonds du compte de report attribués pour cette initiative seront entièrement épuisés.
  2. Confirmez où un particulier peut trouver les rapports sur les vérifications de l’accessibilité des appareils sans fil aux fins de consultation.
  3. Expliquez en détail ce que signifie le paragraphe 8 du rapport annuel sur le compte de report de TELUS de 2019 dans lequel il est écrit que « TELUS continuera à réaliser des vérifications au besoin pour couvrir la gamme de combinés sans fil nouvellement disponibles ». TELUS continuera-t-elle à réaliser des vérifications de l’accessibilité des appareils sans fil même après avoir complètement utilisé les fonds du compte de report?

Procédure à suivre pour le dépôt

Les réponses à cette demande de renseignements doivent 1) faire référence au numéro de dossier susmentionné et 2) être envoyé au secrétaire général du Conseil au moyen de Mon compte CRTC (qui se trouve à l’adresse suivante : https://crtc.gc.ca/fra/cover.htm) à l’aide de CléGC. CléGC vous permet d’accéder de façon sécurisée aux services en ligne du gouvernement du Canada et de faire affaire en ligne.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la façon de soumettre votre réponse, consultez la page Web du CRTC Soumettre des demandes et autres documents auprès du CRTC en utilisant Mon compte CRTC.

Toutes les soumissions doivent être effectuées conformément aux Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (DORS/2010-277). Comme il est établi dans le bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961, Procédure à suivre pour le dépôt et la demande de communication de renseignements confidentiels dans le cadre d’une instance du Conseil, les parties peuvent désigner certains renseignements comme confidentiels. Les parties doivent soumettre une version abrégée du document concerné, accompagnée d’une justification expliquant en détail les raisons pour lesquelles la divulgation de ces renseignements ne serait pas dans l’intérêt public.

Si vous avez des questions, veuillez communiquer avec Natalie Riendeau, analyste principale, Politique sociale et des consommateurs à l’adresse natalie.riendeau@crtc.gc.ca.

Des copies de la présente lettre et de toute la correspondance connexe seront ajoutées au dossier public de l’instance.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, mes salutations distinguées.

(Original signé par)

Nanao Kachi
Directeur, Politique sociale et des consommateurs
CRTC

Date de modification :