Telecom Commission Letter addressed to Donna Robertson (Novus Entertainment Inc.) and Julian Ward (Thind Properties Ltd.)

Ottawa, 7 May 2019

Our reference: 8698-N68-201900705

BY EMAIL

Ms. Donna Robertson
Co-President, Chief Legal Officer
Novus Entertainment Inc.
#300 – 112 East 3rd Avenue
Vancouver, BC  V5T 1C8
donna.robertson@novusnow.ca

Mr. Julian Ward
Vice-President - Development
Thind Properties Ltd.
Unit 700 – 4211 Kingsway
Vancouver, BC  V5H 1Z6
jullian@thind.ca

RE: Application filed by Novus Entertainment Inc. (Novus) for non-discriminatory and timely access on reasonable terms and conditions to the multi-dwelling unit (MDU) Lumina development and future MDU developments of Thind Developments Ltd. and its related companies (Thind)

Dear Ms. Robertson and Mr. Ward,

On 29 January 2019, the Commission received an application from Novus, filed under Part 1 of the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure (the Rules of Practice and Procedure). In its application, the company sought relief from what it submitted is its ongoing inability to obtain timely access to the MDU developments of Thind on reasonable terms and conditions, specifically, the development known as Lumina, located in Burnaby, British Columbia. Novus indicated that it served this application on Thind.

On 1 April 2019, Thind responded to the application, indicating that Novus shall be treated equally as all utilities. Thind also indicated that it will be providing the legally required information and access as stipulated by the CRTC.
On 4 April 2019, in reply to Thind’s response, Novus requested that the Commission suspend Novus’ application for 21 days, to allow Novus and Thind to arrive at reasonable terms and conditions acceptable to both parties for the installation of Novus’ facilities and provision of Novus’ services to the owners of the condominium units in the development. Thind did not respond to Novus’ request for an extension.
In a staff letter dated 10 April 2019, Commission staff notified Novus and Thind that the above-referenced application had been suspended until 1 May 2019, and that Novus would be required, by that same date, to report on the progress of negotiations and indicate whether it wished to reinstate or withdraw its Part 1 application.

On 2 May 2019, Novus requested that the Commission extend the suspension of Novus’ application to 3 June 2019, to allow Novus and Thind to arrive at reasonable terms and conditions acceptable to both parties for installation of Novus’ facilities and provision of Novus’ services to the owners of the condominium units in the development. Thind did not respond to Novus’ request for an extension.

In light of the above, the above-referenced application is suspended further until 3 June 2019. Novus is required, by that same date, to report on the progress of negotiations and indicate whether it wishes to reinstate or withdraw its Part 1 application.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution and Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications Sector
c.c.: Rudy Rab, CRTC, rudy.rab@crtc.gc.ca
Thind Properties Ltd., info@thind.ca

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Donna Robertson (Novus Entertainment Inc.) et Julian Ward (Thind Properties Ltd.)

Ottawa, le 7 mai 2019

Notre numéro de dossier : 8698-N68-201900705

PAR COURRIEL

Madame Donna Robertson
Coprésidente et directrice des Services juridiques
Novus Entertainment Inc.
300 - 112 East 3rd Avenue
Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique) V5T 1C8
donna.robertson@novusnow.ca

Monsieur Julian Ward
Vice-président - Development
Thind Properties Ltd.
Bureau 700 – 4211, Kingsway
Vancouver (C.-B.) V5H 1Z6
jullian@thind.ca

Objet : Demande déposée par Novus Entertainment Inc. (Novus) visant un accès non discriminatoire et en temps opportun, selon des conditions raisonnables, au développement d’immeubles à logements multiples (ILM) de Lumina et aux futurs développements d’ILM de Thind Developments Ltd. et ses sociétés affiliées (Thind)

Madame et Monsieur,

Le 29 janvier 2019, le Conseil a reçu une demande présentée par Novus en application de la partie 1 des Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes. Dans sa demande, la société a demandé à être dispensée de ce qu’elle a fait valoir comme étant son incapacité actuelle d’obtenir l’accès opportun aux développements d’ILM de Thind, selon des conditions raisonnables, particulièrement en ce qui a trait au développement appelé Lumina, situé à Burnaby, en Colombie-Britannique. Novus a indiqué qu’elle avait signifié cette demande à Thind.
Le 1er avril 2019, Thind a répondu à la demande, indiquant que Novus serait traitée d’une manière égale à tous les services publics. Thind a également indiqué qu’elle fournirait les renseignements et l’accès exigés par la loi, comme le prescrit le CRTC.

Le 4 avril 2019, en réponse à la réplique de Thind, Novus a demandé que le Conseil suspende la demande de Novus pendant 21 jours afin de permettre à Novus et à Thind d’arriver à des conditions raisonnables acceptables aux deux parties pour l’installation de l’équipement de Novus et la fourniture des services de Novus aux propriétaires des unités condominiales du développement. Thind n’a pas répondu à la demande de prorogation de Novus.

Dans une lettre du personnel datée du 10 avril 2019, le personnel a informé Novus et Thind que la demande susmentionnée est suspendue jusqu’au 1er mai 2019, et que Novus serait tenue, d’ici cette même date, de rendre compte de l’avancement des négociations et d’indiquer si elle souhaite rétablir ou retirer sa demande en vertu de la partie 1.

Le 2 mai 2019, Novus a demandé que le Conseil prolonge la suspension de la demande de Novus jusqu’au 3 juin 2019 afin de permettre à Novus et à Thind d’arriver à des conditions raisonnables acceptables aux deux parties pour l’installation de l’équipement de Novus et la fourniture des services de Novus aux propriétaires des unités condominiales du développement. Thind n’a pas répondu à la demande de prorogation de Novus.

Compte tenu de ce qui précède, la demande susmentionnée est suspendue jusqu’au 3 juin 2019. Novus est tenue, d’ici cette même date, de rendre compte de l’avancement des négociations et d’indiquer si elle souhaite rétablir ou retirer sa demande en vertu de la partie 1.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Original signé par

Michel Murray
Directeur, Règlement des différends et mise en œuvre de la réglementation
Secteur des télécommunications
c. c. Rudy Rab, CRTC, rudy.rab@crtc.gc.ca
         Thind Properties Ltd., info@thind.ca

 

Date de modification :