Telecom Procedural Letter addressed to Jean-Francois Dumoulin (Iristel Technologies Inc.) and Stephen Schmidt (TELUS Communications Inc.)

Ottawa, 12 April 2019

Our references: 8663-J64-201806019 - 8663-T66-201805722

BY EMAIL

Mr. Jean-Francois Dumoulin
Vice-President Regulatory and Government Affairs
Iristel Technologies Inc.
675 Cochrane Drive
East Tower, 6th floor
Markham, Ontario, L3R 0B8
regulatory@iristel.com

Mr. Stephen Schmidt
Vice-President – Telecom Policy & Chief Regulatory Legal Counsel
Telecom Policy and Regulatory Affairs 
TELUS Communications Inc.
Floor 8, 215 Slater St.
Ottawa, Ontario, K1P 0A6
regulatory.affairs@telus.com

RE: Iris Technologies Inc. and TELUS Communications Inc. – Applications for relief regarding the termination of traffic to certain 867 numbering plan area telephone numbers

Dear Sirs,

This letter addresses a request by TELUS Communications Inc. (TCI), dated 27 February 2019, for the disclosure of information designated as confidential and filed on 19 February 2019 by Iris Technologies Inc. (Iristel), on behalf of itself and its affiliate Ice Wireless Inc.

On 7 March 2019, in light of TCI’s request for disclosure, Commission staff suspended the process it had established on 29 January 2019 for the review of the final relief requests made in the context of the above applications by Iristel and TCI. In its letter, Commission staff indicated that it will establish an amended process when responding to TCI’s request for disclosure.

On 11 March 2019, Iristel filed its response to TCI’s request for disclosure.

Commission staff notes that requests for disclosure of information designated as confidential are addressed in light of sections 38 and 39 of the Telecommunications Act (the Act) and sections 30 and following of the CRTC Rules of Practice and Procedure (the Rules of Procedure). In evaluating a request, an assessment is made as to whether the information falls into a category of information that can be designated as confidential pursuant to section 39 of the Act. An assessment is then made as to whether there is any specific direct harm likely to result from the disclosure of the information in question and whether any such harm outweighs the public interest in disclosure. In making this evaluation, a number of factors are taken into consideration, including the degree of competition and the importance of disclosure of the information for the purpose of obtaining a fuller record. The factors considered are discussed in more detail in Procedures for filing confidential information and requesting its disclosure in Commission proceedings, Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-961, 23 December 2010, as amended by Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-961-1, 26 October 2012.

Commission staff has reviewed the request received from TCI along with the response received from Iristel and considers that additional disclosure is necessary in order for parties to be able to intervene meaningfully. Specifically, Commission staff determines that Iristel is to disclose information on the public record as per the Attachment to this letter, and file revised abridged documents accordingly, by 18 April 2019.

In light of the above, Commission staff establishes the following amended process for the review of the final relief requests made by Iristel and TCI:

Any document filed with the Commission must be served on all interested parties. Where a document is to be filed or served by a specific date, the document must be received, not merely sent, by that date.

A copy of this letter and all related correspondence will be publicly accessible through the Commission’s website. Persons that wish to designate information contained in their submissions as confidential must do so in accordance with the Act Footnote1 and with the Rules of Procedure: Footnote2

Commission staff may issue further requests for information in light of submissions received as part of the above process. Any further process beyond the above-described steps will be communicated at a later date.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution and Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.: Jill Schatz, Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc., regulatory@cnoc.ca
John Lawford, Public Interest Advocacy Centre, jlawford@piac.ca
Howard Slawner, Rogers Communications Canada Inc., rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com
Marc Lange, marc8lange@gmail.com
Martin Brazeau, CRTC, martin.brazeau@crtc.gc.ca

Attach. (1)

Disclosure of information designated as confidential

Iristel is to disclose on the public record the following information and file revised abridged documents accordingly:

  1. Iristel (CRTC) 29Jan19-1a:
    1. The name of each account that was represented by the Company Name is to be identified by a numeric reference, including where Iristel has provided information on the Company Name, Address and Contact for those accounts;
    2. The city location of each party, where Iristel has provided the Company Name, Address and Contact for the accounts
  2. Iristel (CRTC) 29Jan19-1b: the name of the city where Iristel’s Central Offices are located.
Date modified:

Télécom Lettre procédurale adressée à Jean-Francois Dumoulin (Iristel Technologies Inc.) et Stephen Schmidt (TELUS Communications Inc.)

Ottawa, le 12 avril 2019

Nos références : 8663-J64-201806019, 8663-T66-201805722

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Jean-François Dumoulin
Vice-président, Affaires réglementaires et gouvernementales
Iristel Technologies Inc.
675, promenade Cochrane
Tour Est, 6e étage
Markham (Ontario) L3R 0B8
regulatory@iristel.com

Monsieur Stephen Schmidt
Vice-président, Politique de télécommunications et conseiller principal en réglementation
Politique de télécommunications et Affaires réglementaires
TELUS Communications Inc.
215, rue Slater, 8e étage
Ottawa (Ontario) K1P 0A6
regulatory.affairs@telus.com

Objet :            Iris Technologies Inc. et TELUS Communications Inc. – Demandes de redressement concernant le raccordement du trafic vers l’indicatif régional 867

Messieurs,

Cette lettre répond à une demande de TELUS Communications Inc. (TCI), datée du 27 février 2019, de divulgation de renseignements désignés comme confidentiels et déposés le 19 février 2019 par Iris Technologies Inc. (Iristel), en son nom et au nom de sa filiale Ice Wireless Inc.

Le 7 mars 2019, compte tenu de la demande de divulgation de TCI, le Conseil a suspendu le processus établi le 29 janvier 2019 pour l’examen des demandes de redressement définitif présentées par TCI et Iristel dans le contexte des demandes susmentionnées. Dans sa lettre, le personnel du Conseil a indiqué qu’il établirait un processus modifié lorsqu’il répondrait à la demande de divulgation de TCI.

Le 11 mars 2019, Iristel a déposé sa réponse à la demande de divulgation de TCI.

Le personnel du Conseil fait remarquer que les demandes de divulgation de renseignements désignés comme confidentiels sont traitées en tenant compte des articles 38 et 39 de la Loi sur les télécommunications (la Loi) et des articles 30 et suivants des Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (les Règles de procédure). Une évaluation est faite pour savoir si les renseignements tombent sous la catégorie des renseignements susceptibles d’être désignés comme confidentiels en vertu de l’article 39 de la Loi. Une évaluation est ensuite faite pour déterminer si la communication des renseignements en question est susceptible d’entraîner un tort direct précis, et si un tel tort l’emporte sur l’intérêt public. Lors de cette évaluation, un certain nombre de facteurs sont pris en considération, y compris le degré de concurrence et l’importance de la divulgation de l’information fournie dans le but d’obtenir un dossier plus complet. Les facteurs à considérer sont abordés plus en détail dans la Procédure à suivre pour le dépôt et la demande de communication de renseignements confidentiels dans le cadre d’une instance du Conseil, Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961, 23 décembre 2010, modifié par le Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961-1, 26 octobre 2012.

Le personnel du Conseil a étudié la demande de TCI et la réponse d’Iristel et estime que d’autres renseignements doivent être divulgués pour que les parties puissent intervenir de manière significative. Plus précisément, il est d’avis qu’Iristel doit divulguer sur le dossier public les renseignements précisés dans la pièce jointe à cette lettre, et déposer des documents abrégés révisés en conséquence, d’ici le 18 avril 2019.

Compte tenu de ce qui précède, le personnel du Conseil établit le processus modifié suivant pour l’examen des demandes de redressement définitif présentées par Iristel et TELUS :

Les documents déposés devant le Conseil doivent être signifiés à toutes les parties intéressées. Lorsqu’une date limite précise est indiquée pour le dépôt ou la signification d’un document, ce dernier doit avoir été reçu à la date indiquée, et non simplement avoir été envoyé à cette date.

Des copies de la présente lettre et de toute la correspondance connexe seront accessibles au public sur le site Web du Conseil. Les personnes qui souhaitent désigner des renseignements contenus dans leurs soumissions comme étant confidentiels doivent le faire conformément à la Loi Note de bas de page1 et aux Règles de pratique et de procédure du CRTC Note de bas de page2

Le personnel du Conseil peut envoyer d’autres demandes de renseignements à la lumière des mémoires reçus au cours du processus susmentionné. Tout autre processus suivant les étapes ci-dessus sera communiqué à une date ultérieure.

Veuillez agréer, Messieurs, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Original signé par

Michel Murray
Directeur, Règlement des différends et mise en œuvre de la réglementation
Secteur des télécommunications

c. c. Jill Schatz, Consortium des opérateurs de réseaux canadiens inc., regulatory@cnoc.ca
John Lawford, Centre pour la défense de l’intérêt public, jlawford@piac.ca
Howard Slawner, Rogers Communications Canada Inc., rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com
Marc Lange, marc8lange@gmail.com
Martin Brazeau, CRTC, martin.brazeau@crtc.gc.ca

p. j. (1)

Divulgation de renseignements désignés comme confidentiels

Iristel doit divulguer sur le dossier public les renseignements suivants et déposer des documents abrégés révisés en conséquence :

  1. Iristel (CRTC) 29Jan19-1a :
    1. le nom de chaque compte qui a été représenté par le nom de la compagnie doit être identifié par un numéro de référence, incluant là où Iristel a fourni le nom de la compagnie, l’adresse et les coordonnées pour les comptes;
    2. ville où se trouve chaque partie, là où Iristel a fourni le nom de la compagnie, l’adresse et les coordonnées pour les comptes.
  2. Iristel (CRTC) 29Jan19-1b : nom de la ville où sont situés les centraux d’Iristel.
Date de modification :