Telecom Commission Letter addressed to Mr. Steve Eder (Thind Properties Ltd.)

Ottawa, 27 March 2019

Our reference: 8698-N68-201900705

BY EMAIL

Mr. Steve Eder
Vice-President - Construction
Thind Properties Ltd.
Unit 700 – 4211 Kingsway
Vancouver, BC  V5H 1Z6
stevee@thind.ca

RE: Application filed by Novus Entertainment Inc. (Novus) for non-discriminatory and timely access on reasonable terms and conditions to the multi-dwelling unit (MDU) Lumina development and future MDU developments of Thind Developments Ltd. and its related companies (Thind)

Dear Mr. Eder,

On 29 January 2019, the Commission received an application from Novus filed under Part 1 of the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure (the Rules of Practice and Procedure). In its application, the company sought relief from what it submitted is its ongoing inability to obtain timely access to the MDU developments of Thind on reasonable terms and conditions, specifically, the development known as Lumina, located in Burnaby, British Columbia. Novus indicated that it served this application on Thind.

As set out in subsection 25(1) of the Rules of Practice and Procedure, a respondent to an application may file an answer with the Commission within 30 days after the day on which the Commission posts the application on its website.  The above-referenced application was posted on the Commission’s website on 5 February 2019; hence, the respondent (Thind) was entitled to file an answer with the Commission by 7 March 2019. However, Commission staff notes that Thind did not file an answer with the Commission by the 7 March 2019 deadline or at all, to date.

Thind is therefore requested to submit to the Commission, by no later than April 1, 2019, either:

  1. A confirmation that it has no response to submit to the Commission regarding the above-referenced application; or
  2. A response to the Commission in answer to Novus’ application which otherwise conforms to the Rules of Practice and Procedure.

Commission staff advises that, as set out in paragraph 26(2)(k) of the Rules of Practice and Procedure, Thind’s response must be served on the applicant (i.e., Novus). Commission staff also advises that Novus may file with the Commission a reply to Thind’s answer by no later than April 11, 2019.

Commission staff reminds Thind that, as set out in Telecom Decision 2003-45Footnote 1, the Commission established principles for the provision of telecommunications services by local exchange carriers (LECs) to end-users MDUs which stipulate, among other things, that LECs must have access to MDUs during the construction phase. This was set to enable LECs to have service available upon occupancy, to minimize disruption, and to avoid the additional costs associated with the installation of facilities after completion of the MDU. Further, the Commission established that the provision of telecommunications service by a LEC in an MDU is subject to the condition that all LECs wishing to serve end-users in that MDU are able to access end-users in that MDU on a timely basis, by means of resale, leased facilities, or their own facilities, at their choice, under reasonable terms and conditions.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution and Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.: Donna Robertson, Novus Entertainment Inc., donna.robertson@novusnow.ca
Rudy Rab, CRTC, rudy.rab@crtc.gc.ca
Thind Properties Ltd., info@thind.ca

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Monsieur Steve Eder (Thind Properties Ltd.)

Ottawa, le 27 mars 2019

Notre numéro de dossier : 8698-N68-201900705

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Steve Eder
Vice-président - Construction
Thind Properties Ltd.
Bureau 700 – 4211, Kingsway
Vancouver (C.-B.)  V5H 1Z6
stevee@thind.ca

Objet : Demande déposée par Novus Entertainment Inc. (Novus) visant un accès non discriminatoire et en temps opportun, selon des conditions raisonnables, au développement d’immeubles à logements multiples (ILM) de Lumina et aux futurs développements d’ILM de Thind Developments Ltd. et ses sociétés affiliées (Thind)

Monsieur,

Le 29 janvier 2019, le Conseil a reçu une demande présentée par Novus en application de la partie 1 des Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes. Dans sa demande, la société a demandé à être dispensée de ce qu’elle a fait valoir comme étant son incapacité actuelle d’obtenir l’accès opportun aux développements d’ILM de Thind, selon des conditions raisonnables, particulièrement en ce qui a trait au développement appelé Lumina, situé à Burnaby, en Colombie-Britannique. Novus a indiqué qu’elle avait signifié cette demande à Thind.

Comme il est prévu au paragraphe 25(1) des Règles de pratique et de procédure, un intimé à une demande peut déposer une réponse auprès du Conseil dans les trente jours suivant le jour où celui-ci affiche la demande sur son site Web.  La demande susmentionnée a été affichée sur le site Web du Conseil le 5 février 2019, par conséquent, l’intimé (Thind) avait le droit de déposer une réponse auprès du Conseil au plus tard le 7 mars 2019. Toutefois, le personnel du Conseil fait remarquer que Thind n’avait pas encore déposé une réponse auprès du Conseil avant la date limite du 7 mars 2019, ou qu’aucune réponse n’avait été déposée à ce jour.

Thind est donc tenue de déposer une réponse auprès du Conseil, au plus tard le 1er avril 2019, soit :

  1. Une confirmation indiquant qu’elle n’a aucune réponse à déposer auprès du Conseil pour ce qui est de la demande susmentionnée;
  2. Une réponse à la demande de Novus auprès du Conseil qui est conforme aux Règles de pratique et de procédure.

Le personnel du Conseil précise, comme il est établi à l’alinéa 26(2)k) des Règles de pratique et de procédure, que la réponse de Thind doit être signifiée au demandeur (c.-à-d. Novus). Le personnel de la Commission a également précisé que Novus peut déposer auprès du Conseil une réponse à la demande de Thind au plus tard le 11 avril 2019.

Le Conseil rappelle à Thind que, comme il est énoncé dans la décision de télécom CRTC 2003-45Note de bas de page1, le Conseil a établi les principes de la fourniture de services de télécommunication aux clients d’immeubles à logements multiples (ILM) par des entreprises de services locaux (ESL), parmi lesquels le fait que les ESL doivent avoir accès aux ILM pendant leur construction. Ce principe existe pour que les ESL puissent rendre disponible le service au moment de l’occupation, de façon à réduire au minimum les dérangements et à éviter les coûts supplémentaires associés à l’installation d’équipement une fois que la construction de l’ILM est terminée. En outre, le Conseil a établi que la fourniture d’un service de télécommunication par une ESL dans un ILM est assujettie à la condition voulant que les ESL qui souhaitent desservir des utilisateurs finals dans cet ILM puissent y avoir accès rapidement au moyen d’une revente, d’installations louées ou de leurs propres installations, selon leur choix, et selon des modalités raisonnables.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Original signé par

Michel Murray
Directeur, Règlement des différends et mise en œuvre de la réglementation
Secteur des télécommunications

c. c. Donna Robertson, Novus Entertainment Inc., donna.robertson@novusnow.ca
Rudy Rab, CRTC, rudy.rab@crtc.gc.ca
Thind Properties Ltd., info@thind.ca

 

Date de modification :