Telecom Commission Letter addressed to Distribution List

Ottawa, 25 March 2019

Our reference:  1011-NOC2019-0057

BY EMAIL

RE:  Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2019-57, Review of mobile wireless services – Extension request

Dear Madam, Sir:

The Commission is in receipt of a letter dated 14 March 2019, submitted by Bragg Communications Inc., carrying on business as Eastlink (Eastlink), requesting an extension to the filing deadlines set out in Review of mobile wireless services, Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2019-57 (TNC 2019-57).

Eastlink submitted that an extension is necessary to allow parties sufficient time to provide fulsome comments on the issues set out in TNC 2019-57. Accordingly, it requested that the deadline for interventions be extended from 15 May 2019 to 7 June 2019.

The Commission also received letters from Shaw Communications Inc., Rogers Communications Canada Inc., TELUS Communications Inc. (TCI), and Québecor Média Inc. (Quebecor), Bell Mobility and Ice Wireless Inc. (Ice Wireless), that support Eastlink’s request for similar reasons. Furthermore, Quebecor, TCI and Ice Wireless requested that the deadline for parties to file proposed questions with the Commission be extended from 29 May 2019 to 21 June 2019.  Bell Mobility supported the extension request as well, and asked that an additional week be granted, pushing the intervention deadline to 14 June 2019. It also recommended that if the extension request were to be granted, that other procedural dates be pushed back accordingly, including the dates currently set for requests for information (pushed to 29 July) and second interventions (pushed to 13 November).

Commission staff notes that the Commission has indicated in two separate decisions over the past year that a review of mobile wireless services would be initiated in early 2019 Footnote1 . Commission staff considers that parties therefore have been aware of this review for several months prior to the publication of the Notice of Consultation. At the same time, Commission staff notes that parties have been given more than two months to prepare their initial interventions, which is significantly longer than the typical intervention period. Finally, Commission staff notes that this proceeding includes multiple stages where parties can file information with the Commission. Commission staff considers that any information that could not be produced in time for parties’ initial interventions could be provided as part of their further comments.

Given the above, Commission staff considers that the deadlines established for filing interventions and proposed questions should be maintained. Accordingly, the parties’ requests for extension are denied.

Yours sincerely,
Original signed by:

Philippe Kent
Director, Competition and Emergency Services Policy
Telecommunications Sector


Distribution List

Bell Mobility Inc., bell.regulatory@bell.ca
Bragg Communications Inc. (Eastlink), regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca
Ice Wireless Inc., regulatory@icewireless.ca
Rogers Communications Canada Inc., rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com
Shaw Telecom Inc (Shaw), regulatory@sjrb.ca
TELUS Communications Inc., regulatory.affairs@telus.com
Québecor Média Inc., regaffairs@quebecor.com

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à la liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 25 mars 2019

Notre référence : 1011-NOC2019-0057

PAR COURRIEL

Distribution

Objet : Avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2019-57, Examen des services sans fil mobiles – Demande de prolongation

Madame, Monsieur,

Le Conseil a reçu une lettre datée du 14 mars 2019, envoyée par Bragg Communications Inc., faisant affaire sous le nom d’Eastlink (Eastlink), afin de demander une prolongation des dates limites de dépôt établies dans l’avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2019-57, Examen des services sans fil mobiles (avis de consultation de télécom 2019-57).

Eastlink a indiqué qu’une prolongation était nécessaire afin que les parties aient suffisamment de temps pour fournir des commentaires détaillés sur les enjeux établis dans l’avis de consultation de télécom 2019-57. Elle a donc demandé que la date limite pour le dépôt des interventions soit reportée du 15 mai au 7 juin 2019.

Le Conseil a également reçu des lettres de Shaw Communications Inc., de Rogers Communications Canada Inc., de TELUS Communications Inc. (TCI), de Québecor Média Inc. (Québecor), de Bell Mobilité et d’Ice Wireless Inc. (Ice Wireless), qui appuient toutes la demande d’Eastlink en avançant des raisons semblables. En outre, Québecor, TCI et Ice Wireless ont demandé que la date limite à laquelle les parties peuvent déposer leurs questions proposées auprès du Conseil soit reportée du 29 mai au 21 juin 2019. Bell Mobilité a également appuyé la demande de prolongation et a demandé à obtenir une semaine de plus, ce qui reporterait au 14 juin 2019 la date limite des interventions. Elle a aussi recommandé, si le Conseil consent à la demande de prolongation, que les autres dates d’échéance soient également reportées, y compris les dates actuellement établies pour les demandes d’information (report au 29 juillet) et pour la seconde phase d’intervention (report au 13 novembre).

Le personnel du Conseil note que le Conseil a indiqué dans deux décisions distinctes, au cours de la dernière année, qu’un examen des services mobiles sans fil commencerait au début de l’année 2019Footnote1 . Le personnel du Conseil estime que les parties étaient donc au courant de cet examen depuis plusieurs mois lorsque l’avis de consultation a été publié. Parallèlement, le personnel du Conseil fait remarquer que les parties ont plus de deux mois pour préparer leurs premières interventions, ce qui est nettement plus long que la période d’intervention habituelle. Enfin, le personnel du Conseil note que la présente instance comporte plusieurs étapes au cours desquelles les parties peuvent déposer des renseignements auprès du Conseil. Il estime donc que tout renseignement qui ne pourrait être obtenu à temps pour les premières interventions des parties pourrait être fourni lors du dépôt de leurs autres commentaires.

Compte tenu de ce qui précède, le personnel du Conseil estime qu’il faut maintenir les dates limites établies pour le dépôt des interventions et des questions proposées. Les demandes de prolongation des parties sont donc refusées.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, mes salutations distinguées.

Original signé par

Philippe Kent
Directeur, Politiques de concurrence et des services d’urgence
Secteur des télécommunications


Liste de distribution

Bell Mobilité Inc., bell.regulatory@bell.ca
Bragg Communications Inc. (Eastlink), regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca
Ice Wireless Inc., regulatory@icewireless.ca
Rogers Communications Canada Inc., rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com
Shaw Telecom Inc (Shaw), regulatory@sjrb.ca
TELUS Communications Inc., regulatory.affairs@telus.com
Québecor Média Inc., regaffairs@quebecor.com

Date de modification :