Telecom Commission Letter addressed to Paul Cowling (Shaw Communications Inc.) and Stephen Schmidt (TELUS Communications Inc.)

Ottawa, 12 March 2019

Our reference: 1011-NOC2018-0422

BY E-MAIL

Mr. Paul Cowling
Vice-President, Legal and Regulatory Affairs
Shaw Communications Inc.
regulatory@sjrb.ca

Mr. Stephen Schmidt
Vice-President – Telecom Policy & Chief Regulatory Legal Counsel
TELUS Communications Inc.
regulatory.affairs@telus.com

Re: Proceeding to establish a mandatory code of Internet services – Procedural requests to amend the deadlines for responses to requests for information and final replies

Dear Sirs:

On 9 November 2018, the CRTC published Proceeding to establish a mandatory code for Internet services, Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2018-422 (the Notice).

On 4 March 2019, Shaw Communications Inc. (Shaw) submitted a letter in which it requested a two-week extension to the deadlines for responses to requests for information (from 21 March to 4 April 2019) and final replies (from 8 to 23 April 2019).

Shaw argued that a two-week extension is required in light of the extensiveness of the requests for information, which will require input from several stakeholders within the company, among other reasons. Shaw proposed that this extension be granted to all parties. Shaw noted that if the Commission granted additional time to respond to requests for information, the current deadline for final replies would not provide sufficient time for parties to read and respond to such information before submitting final replies.

The following parties submitted letters supporting Shaw’s request:

On 5 March 2019, Telus Communications Inc. (Telus) submitted a letter in which it requested a one-month extension to the deadlines for responses to requests for information (from 21 March to 18 April 2019) and final replies (from 8 April to 3 May 2019). Telus noted that, “While TELUS can provide responses by the April 4 deadline suggested by some other ISPs, they will necessarily be less detailed and thorough, and thus less helpful to the Commission, than they would be with a four week extension.”

The Comission notes that multiple service providers and a consumer group supported Shaw’s extension request; that certain requests for information may be complex for parties to answer; and that Telus noted that, while one month would enable it to provide more comprehensive responses, it could provide the data requested under the timeframe suggested by Shaw. Having regard for the above, the Commission finds that Shaw’s request is reasonable. With respect to Telus’s request, the request is denied. An amendment to the Notice of Consultation will be published to reflect the new deadlines.

A copy of this letter and all related correspondence will be added to the public record of the proceeding.

Yours sincerely,

Original signed by

Claude Doucet
Secretary General

cc: Distribution list

bell.regulatory@bell.ca
carl.macquarrie@corp.xplornet.com
christopher.hickey@distributel.ca
daniel.stern@telus.com
document.control@sasktel.com
kim.barrington@rci.rogers.com
leonard.eichel@cogeco.com
regulatory@primustel.ca
regulatory@sjrb.ca
regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca
regulatory@teksavvy.ca
patrick.desy@quebecor.com
abeaulieu-laporte@uniondesconsommateurs.ca
eric@rothschildco.com
cedwards@ccsaonline.ca
ffolino@cad.ca
francois.bureau@mcc.gouv.qc.ca
geoff.white@ccts-cprts.ca
info@canwisp.ca
philippe.poirier@fadoq.ca
jonathan.holmes@itpa.ca
mlorch@scfp.ca
matthew.boswell@canada.ca
regulatory@cnoc.ca
steve.sorochan@gov.yk.ca

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Paul Cowling (Shaw Communications Inc.) et Stephen Schmidt (TELUS Communications Inc.)

Ottawa, le 12 mars 2019

Notre référence : 1011-NOC2018-0422

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Paul Cowling
Vice-président, Affaires juridiques et réglementaires
Shaw Communications Inc.
regulatory@sjrb.ca

Monsieur Stephen Schmidt
Vice-président, Politique de télécommunications et conseiller principal en réglementation
TELUS Communications Inc.
regulatory.affairs@telus.com

Objet : Instance dans le but d’établir un code obligatoire pour les services Internet – Demandes procédurales pour modifier les échéances des réponses aux demandes de renseignements et des répliques finales

Messieurs,

Le 9 novembre 2018, le Conseil a publié Instance dans le but d’établir un code obligatoire pour les services Internet, l’avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2018-422.

Le 4 mars 2019, Shaw Communications Inc. (Shaw) a soumis une lettre dans laquelle il demandait une prolongation de deux semaines des échéances pour les réponses aux demandes de renseignements (du 21 mars au 4 avril 2019) et les répliques finales (du 8 au 23 avril 2019).

Shaw soutenait, entre autres raisons, qu’une prolongation de deux semaines est requise compte tenu de l’ampleur des demandes de renseignements, qui exigent des commentaires de plusieurs intervenants au sein de l’entreprise. Shaw a proposé que cette prolongation soit accordée à toutes les parties. Shaw a fait remarquer que si le Conseil accordait plus de temps pour répondre aux demandes de renseignements, l’échéance actuelle pour les répliques finales ne donnerait pas suffisamment de temps aux parties pour lire les renseignements et y répondre avant de soumettre les répliques finales.

Les parties suivantes ont soumis des lettres à l’appui de la demande de Shaw :

Le 5 mars 2019, Telus Communications Inc. (Telus) a soumis une lettre dans laquelle il demandait une prolongation d’un mois des échéances pour les réponses aux demandes de renseignements (du 21 mars au 18 avril 2019) et les répliques finales (du 8 avril au 3 mai 2019). Telus a fait remarquer que bien qu’il puisse fournir des réponses avant l’échéance du 4 avril suggérée par certains autres fournisseurs de services Internet, elles seront forcément moins détaillées et moins approfondies, et par conséquent moins utiles au Conseil, qu’elles le seraient avec une prolongation de quatre semaines.

Le Conseil fait remarquer que plusieurs fournisseurs de services d’Internet et un groupe de défense des consommateurs ont appuyé la demande de prolongation de Shaw; que certaines demandes de renseignements peuvent exiger une recherche complexe; et que Telus a remarqué que, même si un mois lui permettrait de fournir des réponses plus complètes, il serait capable de fournir les données demandées dans les délais suggérés par Shaw. Compte tenu de ce qui précède, le Conseil conclut que la requête de Shaw est raisonnable. La demande de Telus est refusée. Une modification à l’avis de consultation sera publiée pour refléter les nouvelles échéances.

Des copies de la présente lettre et de toute la correspondance connexe seront ajoutées au dossier publique de l’instance.

Veuillez agréer, Messieurs, mes salutations distinguées.

Original signé par

Claude Doucet
Secrétaire général

Cc: Liste de distribution

bell.regulatory@bell.ca
carl.macquarrie@corp.xplornet.com
christopher.hickey@distributel.ca
daniel.stern@telus.com
document.control@sasktel.com
kim.barrington@rci.rogers.com
leonard.eichel@cogeco.com
regulatory@primustel.ca
regulatory@sjrb.ca
regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca
regulatory@teksavvy.ca
patrick.desy@quebecor.com
abeaulieu-laporte@uniondesconsommateurs.ca
eric@rothschildco.com
cedwards@ccsaonline.ca
ffolino@cad.ca
francois.bureau@mcc.gouv.qc.ca
geoff.white@ccts-cprts.ca
info@canwisp.ca
philippe.poirier@fadoq.ca
jonathan.holmes@itpa.ca
mlorch@scfp.ca
matthew.boswell@canada.ca
regulatory@cnoc.ca
steve.sorochan@gov.yk.ca

Date de modification :