Telecom Procedural Letter Addressed to Samer Bishay (Iristel Inc.) and Philippe Gauvin (Bell Canada)

Ottawa, 8 February 2019

Our reference: 8661-J64-201811159

BY EMAIL

Mr. Samer Bishay
President and CEO
Iristel Inc.
675 Cochrane Drive
East Tower, 6th floor
Markham, Ontario L3R 0B8
regulatory@iristel.com

Mr. Philippe Gauvin
Assistant General Counsel
Bell Canada
19th Floor 8, 160 Elgin Street
Ottawa, Ontario K2P 2C4
bell.regulatory@bell.ca

Re:   Iristel Inc. – Application regarding Bell Canada’s rate increases for certain circuits – Procedure respecting request for final relief

Dear Sirs,

Iristel Inc. (Iristel) filed a Part 1 application, dated 19 December 2018, in which the company requested both interim relief, on an expedited basis, and final relief regarding alleged anti-competitive conduct by Bell Canada in relation to the rates that Bell Canada charges to Iristel for circuits associated with certain transport services.

By letter dated 21 December 2018, Commission staff set out an expedited process for the review of the interim request made by Iristel. The 21 December 2018 letter stated that procedural instructions concerning Iristel’s request for final relief would be provided at a later date.

The record with respect to the interim relief closed on 14 January 2019 and a decision on that matter will be issued in due course.
This letter sets out a process for the review of Iristel’s request for final relief:

  1. Bell Canada is to file a response to the requests for information set out in the Attachment to this letter, by 11 March 2019;
  2. Bell Canada, and any other interested person, may respond to Iristel’s request for final relief by 11 March 2019;
  3. Iristel may file a reply to Bell Canada’s response and to any other interventions received, no later than 21 March 2019.

Any document filed with the Commission must be served on other parties. Where a document is to be filed or served by a specific date, the document must be actually received, not merely sent, by that date.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution and Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications Sector

c.c: Jesslyn Mullaney, CRTC, jesslyn.mullaney@crtc.gc.ca

Attach. (1)


Request for Information – Questions to Bell Canada:

  1. Confirm whether Bell Canada limits each CLEC interconnected to the Bell Canada network to the number of projects per Local Interconnection Region per month indicated by the applicant at paragraph 40 of its application.

    If so, explain the justification for this limit in detail. If not, but some other limit or limits apply to each interconnected CLEC or to specific interconnected CLECs, explain the nature of and justification for those limits in detail.

  2. With respect to Appendix A and Appendix B of Attachment 1 of the applicant’s application, for the first circuit of each contract listed, provide the range of the rates (i.e., lowest rate and highest rate) that Bell Canada charges to other wholesale customers (excluding Iristel) for transport services of the same type provided to Iristel over these circuits and explain how these rates are determined.
  3. Provide the total number of local interconnection regions (LIRs) in which IP voice network interconnection has been implemented, separately in Ontario and Quebec, and provide a breakdown by year for the years 2012 to and including 2018.
Date modified:

Télécom Lettre procédurale adressée à Samer Bishay (Iristel Inc.) et Philippe Gauvin (Bell Canada)

Ottawa, le 8 février 2019

Notre référence : 8661-J64-201811159

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Samer Bishay
President et directeur général
Iristel, Inc.
6e étage, tour Est
675, Cochrane Drive
Markham (Ontario)  L3R 0B8
regulatory@iristel.com

Monsieur Phillipe Gauvin
Avocat général adjoint
Bell Canada
160, rue Elgin, 19e étage
Ottawa (Ontario)  K2P 2C4
bell.regulatory@bell.ca

Objet :  Iristel Inc. – Demande concernant l’augmentation des tarifs de Bell Canada pour certains circuits – Procédure relative à la demande de redressement définitif

Messieurs,

Iristel Inc. (Iristel) a déposé une demande en vertu de la partie 1, datée du 19 décembre 2018, dans laquelle elle demandait à la fois un redressement provisoire accéléré et un redressement définitif relatif au comportement anticoncurrentiel de Bell Canada en ce qui concerne les tarifs que cette entreprise lui facture pour les circuits associés à certains services de transport.

Dans une lettre datée du 21 décembre 2018, le personnel du Conseil a établi un processus accéléré pour l’examen de la demande de redressement provisoire déposée par Iristel. La lettre du 21 décembre 2018 précisait que des instructions sur la procédure relatives à la demande de redressement définitif déposée par Iristel seraient données à une date ultérieure.

Le dossier sur le redressement définitif a été fermé le 14 janvier 2019 et une décision à ce sujet sera rendue en temps opportun.

La présente lettre établit un processus pour l’examen de la demande de redressement définitif déposée par Iristel :

  1. Bell Canada doit répondre aux demandes de renseignements énoncées dans la pièce jointe de la présente lettre d’ici le 11 mars 2019;
  2. Bell Canada et toute autre personne intéressée peuvent répondre à la demande de redressement définitif déposée par Iristel d’ici le 11 mars 2019;
  3. Iristel peut déposer une réplique à la réponse de Bell Canada et à toutes les autres interventions reçues au plus tard le 21 mars 2019.

Les documents déposés devant le Conseil doivent être signifiés aux autres parties. Lorsqu’une date limite précise est indiquée pour le dépôt ou la signification d’un document, ce dernier doit avoir été effectivement reçu à la date indiquée, et non simplement avoir été envoyé à cette date.

Veuillez agréer, Messieurs, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Le directeur,

Original signé par

Michel Murray
Règlement des différends et mise en œuvre de la réglementation
Secteur des télécommunications

c. c. Jesslyn Mullaney, CRTC, jesslyn.mullaney@crtc.gc.ca

Pièce jointe (1)


Demandes de renseignements – Questions à Bell Canada :

  1. Indiquez si Bell Canada limite chaque entreprise de services locaux concurrente (ESLC) interreliée à son réseau au nombre de projets par région d’interconnexion locale par mois indiqué par le demandeur au paragraphe 40 de sa demande.

    Dans l’affirmatif, veuillez expliquer en détail la justification de cette limite. Si la réponse est non, mais d’autres limites s’appliquent à chaque ESLC interreliée ou à des ESLC interreliées spécifiques, expliquez en détail la nature et la justification de ces limites.

  2. En ce qui concerne les annexes A et B de la pièce jointe 1 de la demande du demandeur, pour ce qui est du premier circuit de chaque contrat énuméré, fournissez l’échelle des tarifs (c.-à-d. le tarif le plus bas et le tarif le plus élevé) que Bell Canada facture aux autres clients de gros (à l’exception d’Iristel) pour des services de transport similaires aux services fournis à Iristel pour ces circuits, et expliquez comment ces tarifs sont déterminés.
  3. Indiquez le nombre total de régions d’interconnexion locale (RIL) dans lesquelles l’interconnexion des réseaux téléphoniques IP a été mise en œuvre (séparément en Ontario et au Québec) et fournissez une ventilation par année de 2012 à 2018.
Date de modification :