Telecom Procedural Letter Addressed to Various Parties

Ottawa, 21 January 2019

Our reference: 1011-NOC2017-0450

BY EMAIL

Dear Madam, Sir,

Re: Apportioning of costs in the Public Interest Advocacy Centre’s application for costs arising from the review of the reseller registration obligation, Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2017-450

On 15 December 2017, the Commission issued a call for comments on which types of non-carriers (resellers) should be exempt from the obligation to register with the Commission prior to receiving telecommunications for resale from Canadian carriers or other resellers.

On 1 March 2018, the Commission circulated a procedural letter to various parties, including those who intervened in the proceeding initiated by TNC 2017-450 as well as to distribution lists maintained by the Commission. The letter included five questions to all recipients (with an additional question to TELUS Communications Inc.). The Commission received various submissions in response. Some parties submitted responses to the Commission’s questions, as required, but did not otherwise participate voluntarily in the proceeding.

On 8 May 2018, the Commission received an application for costs from the Public Interest Advocacy Centre (PIAC). In its costs application, PIAC suggested that its costs should be apportioned in the following manner:

Commission staff notes that the Commission’s general practice is to apportion costs based on the TORs of the parties to the proceeding as well as considering the usual costs award practices and procedures set out in Telecom Regulatory Policy CRTC 2010-963.

Commission staff further notes that, in the proceeding, many companies intervened that are not telecommunications service providers and do not have significant, if any, TORs.

To obtain the parties’ views on possible costs apportionment, Commission staff has attached requests for information. Parties copied on this correspondence are to provide responses to the requests for information, to be filed and served on the parties copied on this correspondence by 31 January 2019.  The responses will be available for all parties on the Commission’s website. Parties copied on this correspondence may file comments on the responses to the requests for information, to be filed and served on the parties copied on this correspondence by 5 February 2019.

As set out in section 39 of the Telecommunications Act and in Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-961, Procedures for filing confidential information and requesting its disclosure in Commission proceedings, persons may designate certain information as confidential. A person designating information as confidential must provide a detailed explanation on why the designated information is confidential and why its disclosure would not be in the public interest, including why the specific direct harm that would be likely to result from the disclosure would outweigh the public interest in disclosure. Furthermore, a person designating information as confidential must either file an abridged version of the document omitting only the information designated as confidential or provide reasons why an abridged version cannot be filed.

Yours sincerely,

Original signed by

William Abbott
Legal Counsel

CC:

Public Interest Advocacy Centre, dbrady@piac.ca & bsegel-brown@piac.ca 
British Columbia Broadband Association (BCBA), regulatory@bcba.ca  
FCA Canada Inc., mlewis@lbhmedialaw.com 
Geotab Inc., randeep.nijjar@bakermckenzie.com 
Independent Telecommunications Providers Association, jonathan.holmes@itpa.ca
IBM Canada Ltd., snellm@ca.ibm.com
University of Alberta, brstewar@ualberta.ca 
Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc., regulatory@cnoc.ca  
Québecor Média inc., dennis.beland@quebecor.com 
TELUS Communications Inc., regulatory.affairs@TELUS.com
Queen’s University, gbuck@mccarthy.ca & krose@mccarthy.ca
Cogeco Communications Inc., michel.messier@cogeco.com
The Toronto Internet Exchange, president@torix.ca 
Coalition pour le service 9-1-1 au Québec, sallen@agence911.org 
Cybera Inc., alyssa.moore@cybera.ca 
McLean & Kerr LLP, lkroumova@mcleankerr.com 
Communications Distributors Inc., shannon@commdistinc.com 
Steven Shearer, shearer_steven@hotmail.com  
Verizon Canada ltd., ivana.kriznic@verizon.com
Bell Canada, bell.regulatory@bell.ca
Shaw Communications Inc., regulatory@sjrb.ca
676766 Ontario Ltd operating as “KWIC Internet”, mark@kwic.com
Thomson Reuters Canada Limited, telco.regulatory@thomsonreuters.com
SSI Micro Ltd., regulatory@ssimicro.com
Sprint International Communications Canada ULC, ann.ishee@sprint.com
094206 Ontario Ltd operating as "Ruralwave”, service@ruralwave.ca
Columbia Basin Broadband Corporation, dlampron@cbt.org
Pulsar360 Inc., gerry@pulsar360.com
Core Broadband Inc., neil@corebroadband.ca 
Silo Wireless Inc., regulatory@silowireless.com
Saskatchewan Telecommunications, document.control@sasktel.com
Microsoft Corporation, gunnarh@microsoft.com
Rogers Communications Canada Inc., rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com
Colt Technology Services LLC, ceri.owen@colt.net
West Telecom Services LLC, cwightman@inteserra.com; rwmccausland@west.com
BullsEye Telecom Inc., canadaregulatory@bullseyetelecom.com

Appendix

Question 1
If the Commission decided to award costs in this proceeding, should the costs be apportioned solely among the participating telecommunications service providers (TSPs) in proportion to each TSPs’ telecommunications operating revenues? If yes, should those TSPs that only responded to the 1 March 2018 procedural letter also be included in the apportionment?

Indicate, with supporting rationale, whether or not you support this approach to apportionment of costs in this proceeding.

Question 2
If you do not support the appropriation models contemplated in question 1, which appropriation model would you propose and why?

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre procédurale adressée à diverses parties

Ottawa, le 21 janvier 2019

Notre référence : 1011-NOC2017-0450

PAR COURRIEL

Madame, Monsieur,

Objet : Répartition des frais dans la demande d’attribution des frais du Centre pour la défense de l’intérêt public (CDIP) découlant de l’examen de l’obligation d’inscription pour les revendeurs, Avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2017-450

Le 15 décembre 2017, le Conseil a lancé un appel aux observations sur les types d’entreprises autres que les entreprises de télécommunication (revendeurs) qui devraient être exemptés de l’obligation de s’inscrire auprès du Conseil avant de recevoir des services de télécommunication d’entreprises canadiennes ou d’autres revendeurs aux fins de revente.

Le 1er mars 2018, le Conseil a envoyé une lettre procédurale aux diverses parties, dont celles qui sont intervenues dans l’instance amorcée par l’Avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2017-450, de même qu’aux adresses indiquées dans les listes de diffusion gérées par le Conseil. Cette lettre comportait cinq questions à l’intention de tous les destinataires (ainsi qu’une question supplémentaire à l’intention de TELUS Communications Inc.). Le Conseil a reçu plusieurs observations en réponse. Certaines parties ont soumis des réponses aux questions du Conseil, comme on leur avait demandé, mais autrement, elles n’ont pas participé de façon volontaire à l’instance.

Le 8 mai 2018, le Conseil a reçu une demande d’attribution des frais du Centre pour la défense de l’intérêt public (CDIP). Dans cette demande, le CDIP proposait que les frais soient répartis comme suit :

Le Conseil note que sa pratique usuelle est de répartir les frais en fonction des RET des parties à l’instance, et de prendre en compte les pratiques et les procédures habituelles d’attribution des frais établies dans la Politique réglementaire de télécom CRTC 2010-963.

Le personnel du Conseil fait également remarquer que, dans l’instance, plusieurs compagnies étant intervenues ne sont pas des fournisseurs de services de télécommunication et, à ce titre, n’ont pas de RET importants (voire aucun).

Pour obtenir l’opinion des parties sur la répartition possible des frais, le personnel du Conseil a joint des demandes de renseignements. On demande aux parties incluses en copie conforme dans cette correspondance de fournir des réponses aux demandes de renseignements. Ces réponses doivent ensuite être déposées et signifiées aux parties incluses en copie conforme dans cette correspondance au plus tard le 31 janvier 2019. Toutes les parties auront accès aux réponses sur le site Web du Conseil. Les parties incluses en copie conforme dans cette correspondance peuvent déposer des observations sur les réponses aux demandes de renseignements. Ces observations doivent être déposées et signifiées aux parties incluses en copie conforme dans cette correspondance au plus tard le 5 fevrier 2019.

Comme il est énoncé à l’article 39 de la Loi sur les télécommunications et dans le Bulletin de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961, Procédure à suivre pour le dépôt et la demande de communication de renseignements confidentiels dans le cadre d’une instance du Conseil, les personnes peuvent désigner certains renseignements comme confidentiels. Une personne qui désigne certains renseignements comme étant confidentiels doit en expliquer en détail les raisons, tout en précisant les motifs pour lesquels la divulgation de ceux-ci ne serait pas dans l’intérêt public, notamment celles pour lesquelles elle causerait vraisemblablement un préjudice direct qui l’emporterait sur l’intérêt public. De plus, quiconque désigne des renseignements comme étant confidentiels doit soit déposer une version abrégée du document faisant uniquement abstraction des renseignements désignés comme confidentiels, soit justifier pourquoi il n’est pas possible de le faire.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, mes salutations distinguées.

Original signé par

William Abbott
Avocat

c. c.

Centre pour la défense de l’intérêt public, dbrady@piac.ca et bsegel-brown@piac.ca 
British Columbia Broadband Association (BCBA), regulatory@bcba.ca  
FCA Canada Inc., mlewis@lbhmedialaw.com 
Geotab Inc., randeep.nijjar@bakermckenzie.com 
Independent Telecommunications Providers Association, jonathan.holmes@itpa.ca
IBM Canada Ltd., snellm@ca.ibm.com
Université de l’Alberta, brstewar@ualberta.ca 
Consortium des Opérateurs de Réseaux Canadiens Inc., regulatory@cnoc.ca  
Québecor Média inc., dennis.beland@quebecor.com 
TELUS Communications Inc., regulatory.affairs@TELUS.com
Université Queen’s, gbuck@mccarthy.ca et krose@mccarthy.ca
Cogeco Communications Inc., michel.messier@cogeco.com
Toronto Internet Exchange, president@torix.ca 
Coalition pour le service 9-1-1 au Québec, sallen@agence911.org 
Cybera Inc., alyssa.moore@cybera.ca 
McLean & Kerr s.r.l., lkroumova@mcleankerr.com 
Communications Distributors Inc., shannon@commdistinc.com 
Steven Shearer, shearer_steven@hotmail.com  
Verizon Canada Ltd., ivana.kriznic@verizon.com
Bell Canada, bell.regulatory@bell.ca
Shaw Communications Inc., regulatory@sjrb.ca
676766 Ontario Ltd., exerçant ses activités sous le nom KWIC Internet, mark@kwic.com
Thomson Reuters Canada Limited, telco.regulatory@thomsonreuters.com
SSi Micro Ltd., regulatory@ssimicro.com
Sprint International Communications Canada ULC, ann.ishee@sprint.com
094206 Ontario Ltd., exerçant ses activités sous le nom Ruralwave, service@ruralwave.ca
Columbia Basin Broadband Corporation, dlampron@cbt.org
Pulsar360 Inc., gerry@pulsar360.com
Core Broadband Inc., neil@corebroadband.ca 
Silo Wireless Inc., regulatory@silowireless.com
Saskatchewan Telecommunications, document.control@sasktel.com
Microsoft Corporation, gunnarh@microsoft.com
Rogers Communications Canada Inc., rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com
Colt Technology Services LLC, ceri.owen@colt.net
West Telecom Services LLC, cwightman@inteserra.com et rwmccausland@west.com
BullsEye Telecom Inc., canadaregulatory@bullseyetelecom.com

Appendix

Question 1
Si le Conseil décidait d’attribuer les frais dans cette instance, ceux-ci devraient-ils être répartis seulement entre les fournisseurs de services de télécommunication (FST) participants, proportionnellement à leurs revenus d’exploitation provenant d’activités de télécommunication (RET)? Dans l’affirmative, les FST qui ont uniquement répondu à la lettre procédurale du 1er mars 2018 devraient-ils également être inclus dans l’attribution des frais?

Indiquez, justification à l’appui, si vous soutenez ou non cette approche de répartition des frais dans le cadre de l’instance en question.

Question 2
Si vous ne soutenez pas les modèles de répartition des frais envisagés à la question 1, quel modèle de répartition des frais proposeriez-vous? Pourquoi?

Date de modification :