Telecom Commission Letter addressed to Ms. Marie-Josée Boivin (DMTS, a division of Bell Canada)

Ottawa, 11 January 2019

Our reference: 8740-D3-201808461

BY EMAIL

Ms. Marie-Josée Boivin
Senior Specialist – Regulatory Affairs
DMTS, a division of Bell Canada
87 Ontario West, Floor 3
Montreal, Quebec  H2X 1Y8
bell.regulatory@bell.ca
mjboivin@telebec.com

RE:  DMTS Tariff Notice 73 – Local competition Implementation – Related Tariffs

Dear Ms. Boivin:

On 5 October 2018, the Commission received an application by DMTS, under Tariff Notice (TN) 73, proposing changes to its General Tariff, CRTC 25370, related to the implementation of local competition.

The company filed the application in connection with an earlier Part 1 application regarding its implementation plan for facilities-based local competition.

Paragraph 28(1) (a) of the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure provides that the Commission may require parties to file information or documents where needed.

DMTS is requested to provide comprehensive answers, including rationale and any supporting information, to the attached questions by 18 January 2019.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution and Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications Sector
c.c.: Danuba Musgrave, CRTC, danuba.musgrave@crtc.gc.ca

Attach. (1)

Requests for information

Question 1:

In TN 73, DMTS submitted that for the new services in sections 940, 950, 960 and 970, the proposed rates are either referenced to existing rates in the DMTS General Tariff 25370 or are based on existing rates for similar services from both NorthernTel’s General Tariff 25510 and Bell Canada’s Access Services Tariff 7516.

In Telecom Regulatory Policy 2013-160 Footnote1 , the Commission established service basket 5 for competitor services, and determined that the initial rates for these services are to be established by matching Commission-approved rates for the same service, with supporting rationale.  The rationale must address the appropriateness of the proposed small incumbent local exchange carrier (ILEC) rates in light of rates in an adjacent large ILEC territory for the same service.

Explain, with rationale, why DMTS is proposing to use the rates of NorthernTel rather than those of Bell Canada for most of the section 940 rate elements, given that NorthernTel is not an adjacent large ILEC whereas Bell Canada is an adjacent large ILEC.– In particular, provide the rationale for basing the proposed DMTS section 940.4.04 a) ‘Traffic Imbalance – Table 1’ rates on NorthernTel section N200.15.4.04 a) rates, which are higher than those of Bell Canada Item 105.4(d)(1) for the same service.

Question 2:

In section 960, DMTS is proposing a Local Service Request (LSR) Rejection Charge for each rejected LSR in excess of the following threshold percentages of the customer's total number of LSRs per month.

  1. A monthly LSR rejection rate threshold of 10.4% until 12 December 2018 and a threshold of 8% thereafter apply to each service provider that submits more than 500 LSRs in a month unless at least 75% of the LSRs it submits in that month relate to business services.
  2. A monthly LSR rejection rate threshold of 20.8% until 12 December 2018 and a threshold of 16% thereafter apply to each service provider that submits 500 or fewer LSRs in a month and to each service provider where at least 75% of the LSRs it submits in that month relate to business services.

In Telecom Regulatory Policy 2012-523 Footnote2 , the Commission determined that the lower threshold will be set at 12.8 percent on the date that the tariff is first approved by the Commission. That rate will decrease to 10.4 percent one year after the tariff is approved, and 8 percent two years after the tariff is approved. Further, the Commission determined that the higher threshold is to be set at twice the threshold for LECs that submit large volumes of LSRs. Accordingly, the higher threshold will be set at 25.6 percent on the date that the tariff is first approved by the Commission, decreasing to 20.8 percent one year after the tariff is approved and 16 percent two years after the tariff is approved.

Explain, with rationale, how DMTS has determined the dates and rejection rates in relation to its LSR rejection rate thresholds, given that the tariff has not been approved by the Commission.

Please provide an amended application revising section 960 to comply with the Commission’s requirements set out in Telecom Regulatory Policy 2012-523, based on a proposed effective date 15 calendar days after the filing of the amended application.

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Madame Marie-Josée Boivin (DMTS, une division de Bell Canada)

Ottawa, le 11 janvier 2019

Notre référence : 8740-D3-201808461

PAR COURRIEL

Madame Marie-Josée Boivin
Spécialiste principale, Affaires réglementaires
DMTS, une division de Bell Canada
87, rue Ontario Ouest, 3e étage
Montréal (Québec)  H2X 1Y8
bell.regulatory@bell.ca
mjboivin@telebec.com

Objet :  Avis de modification tarifaire 73 de DMTS – mise en œuvre de la concurrence locale – tarifs connexes

Madame,

Le 5 octobre 2018, le Conseil a reçu une demande de DMTS, dans le cadre de l’avis de modification tarifaire (AMT) 73, dans laquelle l’entreprise propose de réviser son Tarif général, CRTC 25370, relativement à la mise en œuvre de la concurrence locale.

La compagnie a déposé une demande en lien avec une demande aux termes de la partie 1 déposée précédemment au sujet du plan de mise en œuvre d’une concurrence locale fondée sur les installations.

Aux termes de l’alinéa 28(1)a) des Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes, le Conseil peut exiger d’une partie qu’elle lui fournisse les renseignements ou documents qu’il estime nécessaires.

Nous demandons à DMTS de fournir des réponses complètes, y compris une justification et tout document à l’appui, d’ici au 18 janvier 2019.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Le directeur,

Original signé par

Michel Murray
Règlement des différends et mise en œuvre de la réglementation
Secteur des télécommunications
c. c. Danuba Musgrave, CRTC, danuba.musgrave@crtc.gc.ca

p. j. (1)

Demande de renseignements

Question 1

Dans l’AMT 73, DMTS a fait valoir que, pour les nouveaux services aux sections 940, 950, 960 et 970, les tarifs proposés se rapportent aux tarifs existants du Tarif général 25370 de DMTS ou à des tarifs existants pour des services similaires du Tarif général 25510 de NorthernTel et du Tarif des services d’accès 7516 de Bell Canada.

Dans la politique réglementaire de télécom 2013-160 Note de bas de page1 , le Conseil a établi l’ensemble de services 5 pour les services aux concurrents et a déterminé que les taux initiaux pour ces services doivent être fixés en les alignant sur des tarifs approuvés par le Conseil pour le même service, avec justification à l’appui. La justification à l’appui doit aborder la question de la pertinence des tarifs proposés pour les petites entreprises de services locaux titulaires (ESLT) à la lumière de ceux qui s’appliquent sur le territoire adjacent d’une grande ESLT pour le même service.

Expliquez, avec justification, pourquoi DMTS propose d’utiliser les tarifs de NorthernTel plutôt que ceux de Bell Canada pour la plupart des éléments tarifaires de la section 940, étant donné que NorthernTel n’est pas une grande ESLT adjacente, alors que Bell Canada l’est. – Fournissez plus précisément la justification concernant l’alignement des tarifs proposés par DMTS à la section 940.4.04 a) « Traffic Imbalance – Table 1 » (Déséquilibre de trafic – Tableau 1) avec les tarifs de la section N200.15.4.04 a) de NorthernTel, qui sont plus élevés que ceux de la section 105.4(d)(1) de Bell Canada pour le même service.

Question 2

À la section 960, DMTS propose des frais de refus de demande de service local (DSL) pour chaque DSL refusée dépassant les limites ci-dessous pour le nombre total de DSL présentées par le client par mois.

  1. Un seuil mensuel du taux de refus des DSL de 10,4 % jusqu’au 12 décembre 2018, suivi d’un seuil de 8 % par la suite, s’applique à chaque fournisseur de services qui envoie plus de 500 DSL par mois, à moins qu’au moins 75 % des DSL qu’il a soumis ce mois-là ne soient liées à des services d’affaires.
  2. Un seuil mensuel du taux de refus des DSL de 20,8 % jusqu’au 12 décembre 2018, suivi d’un seuil de 16 % par la suite, s’applique à chaque fournisseur de services qui envoie 500 DSL ou moins par mois et à chaque fournisseur de services dont au moins 75 % des DSL qu’il a soumis ce mois-là sont liées à des services d’affaires.

Comme il est indiqué dans la politique réglementaire de télécom 2012-523 Note de bas de page2 , le Conseil a déterminé que la limite inférieure sera fixée à 12,8 % à partir de la date d’approbation initiale du tarif par le Conseil. Par la suite, le taux sera abaissé à 10,4 % après un an, puis à 8 % après deux ans. De plus, le Conseil a déterminé que la limite supérieure sera fixée au double de la limite applicable aux ESL qui soumettent des volumes importants de DSL. Par conséquent, la limite supérieure sera fixée à 25,6 % à partir de la date d’approbation initiale du tarif par le Conseil, pour être abaissée à 20,8 % après un an et à 16 % après deux ans.

Expliquez, avec justification, comment DMTS a déterminé les dates et les taux de refus en fonction de ses limites quant aux taux de refus de DSL, étant donné que le tarif n’a pas été approuvé par le Conseil.
Veuillez fournir une demande modifiée révisant la section 960 afin de se conformer aux exigences du Conseil énoncées dans la politique réglementaire de télécom 2012-523, en fonction de la date d’entrée en vigueur proposée de 15 jours civils après le dépôt de la demande modifiée.

Date de modification :