Telecom Procedural Letter Addressed to Peter Turner (Yukon Chamber of Commerce)

Ottawa, 10 January 2019

Our reference:  1011-NOC2018-0214

BY EMAIL

Peter M. Turner
President
Yukon Chamber of Commerce
Suite 220, 2237 2nd Avenue
Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 0K7
president@yukonchamber.com 

Re: Review of the price cap and local forbearance regimes, Telecom Notice of Consultation 2018-214Footnote1 – Procedural request

Dear Mr. Turner:

By letter dated 24 December 2018, the Yukon Chamber of Commerce (YCC) requested that the Commission amend the process set out in Telecom Notice of Consultation 2018-214 to allow the YCC and other interested persons to register as parties to the proceeding by 31 January 2019, so that they could file final submissions on 22 February 2019. In the alternative, the YCC requested that it be made a party to the proceeding and that it be allowed to file a final submission on that date.

In support of their request, the YCC indicated that its member companies were concerned about the retail rates for Internet services in the Yukon Territory and noted the proposal made by Northwestel Inc. (Northwestel) in the proceeding regarding rate changes for these services. The YCC indicated that this issue is extremely important to its members and other northern businesses.

Commission staff notes that Telecom Notice of Consultation 2018-214 did not specifically identify that the issue of Northwestel’s retail Internet rates would be addressed in the proceeding. As such, the YCC could not have anticipated that Northwestel would raise this issue in its intervention on 10 October 2018 which was also the deadline for interested persons to be made parties to the proceeding. Under the circumstances, Commission staff considers it appropriate to allow the YCC to become a party to the proceeding.

As a reminder, any final submission and final reply must comply with paragraphs 44 and 45 of Telecom Notice of Consultation 2018-214 and must not introduce new evidence on the record of the proceeding.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

John Macri
Director,Policy Framework
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.: Christine Brock, CRTC, (873) 353-5852, christine.brock@crtc.gc.ca
Stan Thompson, Northwestel Inc., sthompson@nwtel.ca
Krista Prochazka, Northwestel Inc., Kprochazka@nwtel.ca

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre procédurale adressée à Peter Turner (Yukon Chamber of Commerce)

Ottawa, le 10 janvier 2019

Notre référence : 1011-NOC2018-0214

PAR COURRIEL

Peter M. Turner
Président
Yukon Chamber of Commerce
2237, 2e Avenue, bureau 220
Whitehorse (Yukon)  Y1A 0K7
president@yukonchamber.com 

Objet : Examen des régimes de plafonnement des prix et d’abstention locale, avis de consultation de télécom 2018-214Note de bas de page1 – Requête procédurale

Monsieur,

Dans une lettre datée du 24 décembre 2018, la Yukon Chamber of Commerce (YCC) a demandé au Conseil de modifier le processus énoncé dans l’avis de consultation de télécom 2018-214 afin de lui permettre, de même qu’à d’autres intéressés, de s’inscrire en tant que parties à l’instance d’ici le 31 janvier 2019, afin qu’ils puissent déposer des observations finales le 22 février 2019. Subsidiairement, la YCC a demandé à être nommée partie à l’instance et à être autorisée à déposer des observations finales à cette date.

À l’appui de sa demande, la YCC a indiqué que ses compagnies membres sont préoccupées par les tarifs de détail imposés pour les services Internet au Yukon, et elle a fait mention de la proposition de Northwestel Inc. (Northwestel) dans l’instance concernant les modifications tarifaires pour ces services. La YCC a précisé que cette question revêt une très grande importance pour ses membres ainsi que d’autres entreprises qui exercent leurs activités dans le Nord.

Le personnel du Conseil indique que l’avis de consultation de télécom 2018-214 n’a pas expressément indiqué que la question des tarifs de détail des services Internet de Northwestel serait abordée dans l’instance. À ce titre, la YCC n’aurait pas pu prévoir que Northwestel aurait soulevé cette question dans son intervention le 10 octobre 2018, date qui coïncidait avec la date limite pour la désignation des intéressés en tant que parties à l’instance. Étant donné les circonstances, le personnel du Conseil estime qu’il est approprié d’autoriser la YCC à devenir partie à l’instance.

À titre de rappel, les observations finales et les observations en réplique finales doivent respecter les paragraphes 44 et 45 de l’avis de consultation de télécom 2018-214 et ne doivent pas présenter de nouveaux éléments de preuve au dossier de l’instance.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Original signé par

John Macri
Directeur, Cadre de politiques
Secteur des télécommunications

c. c. Christine Brock, CRTC, 873-353-5852, christine.brock@crtc.gc.ca
Stan Thompson, Northwestel Inc., sthompson@nwtel.ca
Krista Prochazka, Northwestel Inc., Kprochazka@nwtel.ca

Date de modification :