Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Samer Bishay (Ice Wireless Inc.)

Ottawa, 7 January 2019

Our reference: 1011-NOC2016-0293

BY EMAIL

Mr. Samer Bishay
President      
Ice Wireless Inc.
regulatory@iristel.com

RE: Revised Wireless Code – 2018 Compliance Report Assessment – Ice Wireless

Dear Mr. Bishay:

This letter sets out the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (thereafter “the Commission”)’s assessment of the information filed by Ice Wireless in its 2018 Wireless Code compliance reportFootnote1 and sets out specific directions to be followed by Ice Wireless in this regard.

In Ice Wireless’ 2018 compliance report and in its subsequent responses to requests for information, Ice Wireless admitted that it had not fully implemented certain provisions of the revised Wireless Code and would be unable to do so until February 15, 2019. Those provisions of the revised Wireless Code are:

Ice Wireless submitted that its ongoing failure to implement these provisions is due to technical challenges in updating a multitude of systems that are required to deliver wireless services to customers.

The Commission considers that the information filed by Ice Wireless indicates that it has faced significant barriers to implementing sections E.1-3 of the revised Code. The Commission acknowledges that Ice Wireless began notifying affected customers of the implementation delays in October 2018 and that it is providing credits to negatively affected customers upon request.

Nonetheless, the Commission remains concerned that Ice Wireless’ customers may not be receiving the full benefit of the revised Code at this time. To that end, the Commission directs Ice Wireless to:

The Commission may take further measures that may become appropriate in order to address any additional or ongoing failures on the part of Ice Wireless with respect to the revised Code.

The Commission reminds Ice Wireless that it will be required to submit another Wireless Code compliance report by March 31, 2019.

Yours sincerely,

(Original signed by)

Claude Doucet
Secretary General
CRTC

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Samer Bishay (Ice Wireless Inc.)

Ottawa, le 7 janvier 2019 

Our reference: 1011-NOC2016-0293

PAR COURRIEL

M. Samer Bishay
Président      
Ice Wireless Inc.
regulatory@iristel.com

Objet : Code sur les services sans fil modifié – Évaluation du rapport de conformité de 2018 – Ice Wireless

Monsieur,

La présente lettre établit l’évaluation des renseignements du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (ci-après le « Conseil ») soumis par Ice Wireless dans son rapport de conformité de 2018 en vertu du Code sur les services sans filNote de bas de page1 et formule des directives précises devant être respectées par Ice Wireless à cet égard.

Dans le rapport de conformité 2018 de Ice Wireless et dans ses réponses ultérieures aux demandes de renseignements, Ice Wireless a admis qu’elle n’avait pas intégralement mis en œuvre certaines dispositions du Code sur les services sans fil modifié et qu’elle ne pourrait le faire que le 15 février 2019. Ces dispositions du Code sur les services sans fil modifié sont les suivantes :

Ice Wireless a fait valoir que son incapacité persistante à mettre en œuvre ces dispositions est attribuable à des difficultés techniques liées à la mise à niveau d’une multitude de systèmes requis pour fournir des services sans fil aux clients.

Le Conseil estime que les renseignements déposés par Ice Wireless indiquent que la société s’est heurtée à d’importants obstacles au moment de la mise en œuvre des sections E1 à E3 du Code modifié. Le Conseil reconnaît qu’Ice Wireless a commencé à informer les clients concernés des retards de mise en œuvre en octobre 2018 et que la société accorde sur demande des crédits aux clients défavorablement touchés.

Néanmoins, le Conseil demeure préoccupé par le fait que les clients d’Ice Wireless ne bénéficient pas pleinement du Code modifié pour le moment. À cette fin, le Conseil ordonne à Ice Wireless de :

Le Conseil peut prendre d’autres mesures qui pourraient s’avérer appropriées afin de remédier aux dérogations supplémentaires ou persistantes de la part de Ice Wireless en ce qui a trait au Code modifié.

Le Conseil rappelle à Ice Wireless qu’elle doit déposer un autre rapport de conformité au Code sur les services sans fil d’ici le 31 mars 2019.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, mes salutations distinguées.

(Original signé par)

Claude Doucet
Secrétaire général
CRTC

Date de modification :