Broadcasting Commission Letter adressed to Stéphanie Hudon (Stingray Group Inc.) and Pam Dinsmore (Rogers Communications Canada Inc.)

Ottawa, 30 July 2019

Our reference: 2019-0431-8

By email

Stéphanie Hudon
Director, Regulatory Affairs
Stingray Group Inc.
shudon@stingray.com

Pam Dinsmore
Vice President, Regulatory Cable
Rogers Communications Canada Inc.
Pam.Dinsmore@rci.rogers.com

 

Re: Resolution of dispute – Final Offer Arbitration with respect to Stingray Music

Dear Ms. Hudon and Ms. Dinsmore:

This is with respect to the application for final offer arbitration (FOA) filed by Stingray Group Inc. with Rogers Communications Canada Inc. on 22 May 2019 regarding the carriage of the Stingray Music Pay Audio service.

The parties informed the Commission on 19 July 2019 that they reached an agreement. We would like to congratulate you on arriving at a negotiated solution, noting Commission staff’s efforts in this respect.

The Commission notes that the parties and Commission staff undertook considerable efforts to resolve this dispute, both prior to and during the course of the final offer arbitration process. The Commission’s dispute resolution framework prioritizes negotiated settlements. As noted in Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin 2019-184, the Commission encourages parties to exhaust all other means to resolve outstanding issues in an efficient and effective manner before applying for the Commission’s formal dispute resolution processes, which include final offer arbitration as a mechanism of last resort.

In light of the above, Commission staff considers the file closed. Staff thanks you for your collaboration in this matter.

Sincerely,

Matt Tošaj
Manager, Alternative Dispute Resolution 
Broadcasting

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre du Conseil adressée à Stéphanie Hudon (Groupe Stingray Inc.) et Pam Dinsmore (Rogers Communications Canada Inc.)

Ottawa, le 30 juillet 2019

Notre référence : 2019-0431-8

Par courriel

Stéphanie Hudon
Directrice, Affaires réglementaires
Groupe Stingray Inc.
shudon@stingray.com

Pam Dinsmore
Vice-présidente de la réglementation
Rogers Communications Canada Inc.
Pam.Dinsmore@rci.rogers.com

Objet : Règlement du différend - Arbitrage de l’offre finale concernant Stingray Music

Mesdames,

La présente fait suite à la demande déposée le 22 mai 2019 par le Groupe Stingray Inc. concernant l’arbitrage de l’offre finale (AOF) avec Rogers Communications Canada Inc. pour la distribution du service payant sonore Stingray Music.

Les parties ont informé le Conseil le 19 juillet 2019 qu’elles ont conclu une entente. Nous félicitons les parties d’en être arrivées à une solution négociée et soulignons les actions du personnel du Conseil à cet égard.

Le Conseil fait remarquer que les parties et le personnel du Conseil ont déployé des efforts importants avant et pendant le processus d’AOF pour régler ce différend. Le cadre de règlement des différends du Conseil accorde la priorité aux règlements négociés. Comme il est indiqué dans le bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécommunication 2019-184, le Conseil s’attend à ce que les parties aient épuisé les autres moyens de règlement des questions en suspens de façon efficiente et efficace avant de demander le recours aux processus officiels de règlement de différends du Conseil, y compris à l’AOF comme mécanisme de dernier recours.

Compte tenu ce qui précède, le personnel du Conseil considère le dossier fermé. Le personnel vous remercie de votre collaboration.

Cordialement,

Matt Tošaj
Gestionnaire, Règlement extrajudiciaire des différends
Radiodiffusion

Date de modification :