Broadcasting Commission Letter adressed to Alicia Da Costa (Intercity Broadcasting Network Inc.)

Ottawa, 26 July 2019

Our reference: 2019-0574-6

By Email

Alicia Da Costa
COO, Intercity Broadcasting Network Inc.
34 Kern Road
Toronto, ON
M3B 1T1
alicia.dacosta@g987fm.com

Subject: Condition of Licence Amendments Application - CKFG-FM Toronto

Dear Ms. Da Costa,

This is in reference to the above-noted application by Intercity Broadcasting Network Inc. (Intercity) for a condition of licence amendment to extend the deadline in which CKFG-FM is to make its required CCD contributions as noted in its conditions of licence 6, 7, and 9, which is set out in Broadcasting Decision CRTC 2018-325, CKFG-FM Toronto – Licence renewal and amendment, 28 August 2018. Commission staff notes that the licensee has submitted its application on Form 300, as such, is requesting that its application be processed administratively and on an expedited basis.

As set out in Broadcasting Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-960, the administrative approach is intended to process routine applications that do not raise concerns with respect to Commission policies, regulations or conditions of licence. However, Commission staff is of the view that the proposed amendment in the present application does not represent a routine application as it is requesting an amendment to its conditions of licence. Therefore, Commission staff considers that an opportunity for public input on the proposed amendment should be provided and that an administrative process is not appropriate.

Commission staff is mindful of the reasons for the application and the current 31 August 2019 deadline for it to make its required CCD contributions. In these particular circumstances, Commission staff is of the view that the application could be treated in an expedited fashion. While an expedited process limits the time afforded to other parties to comment on the application, such a process makes it more likely that a decision can be rendered within shorter timelines than would otherwise be the case. Therefore, the application route will be changed from an administrative route, to be part of a Part 1 Proceeding, but subject to a shortened timeline.

In addition, interventions to the application are to be filed with the Commission by 7 August 2019 and the licensee’s reply (if necessary) is subsequently to be filed with the Commission by 12 August 2019. 

A copy of this letter and all related correspondence will be added to the public record of the proceeding.

Should you need further information concerning this application, please do not hesitate to contact me by telephone at 873-353-4724, by fax at 819-994-0218 or by e-mail at sherwin.pagtakhan@crtc.gc.ca.

Yours Sincerely,

Sherwin Pagtakhan
Analyst
Radio Policy & Applications

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre du Conseil adressée à Alicia Da Costa (Intercity Broadcasting Network Inc.)

Ottawa, le 26 juillet 2019

Notre référence : 2019-0574-6

Par courriel

Alicia Da Costa
Directrice de l’exploitation, Intercity Broadcasting Network Inc.
34, chemin Kern
Toronto (Ontario)
M3B 1T1
alicia.dacosta@g987fm.com

Objet : Demande de modification de conditions de licence – CKFG-FM Toronto

Madame,

La présente lettre fait référence à la demande susmentionnée, déposée par Intercity Broadcasting Network Inc. (Intercity), concernant une demande de modification de conditions de licence dans le but que soit reportée la date limite à laquelle CKFG-FM doit fournir les contributions au titre du développement du contenu canadien (DCC) qu’elle est tenue de verser, comme indiqué dans les conditions de licence 6, 7, et 9 énoncées dans la décision de radiodiffusion CRTC 2018-325, CKFG-FM Toronto – Renouvellement de licence et modifications, datée du 28 août 2018. Le Conseil fait remarquer que le titulaire a soumis sa demande au moyen du formulaire 300; c’est-à-dire qu’il désire que sa demande soit traitée par voie administrative et de manière expéditive.

Comme il est indiqué dans le bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion CRTC 2010-960, le traitement par voie administrative est destiné au traitement des demandes courantes qui ne soulèvent pas de préoccupation relative aux politiques, aux règlements ou aux conditions de licence du Conseil. Cela étant dit, le personnel du Conseil est d’avis que la modification proposée dans la présente demande ne constitue pas une demande courante, car le titulaire demande une modification à ses conditions de licence. Par conséquent, le personnel du Conseil estime qu’il serait opportun d’offrir au public l’occasion de formuler des observations sur la modification proposée et qu’un processus administratif n’est pas approprié dans les circonstances.

Le personnel du Conseil tient compte des motifs de la demande et de la date limite actuelle du 31 août 2019 avant laquelle CKFG-FM doit fournir les contributions au titre du DCC qu’elle est tenue de verser. Compte tenu de ces circonstances particulières, le personnel du Conseil est d’avis que la demande pourrait être traitée de façon expéditive. Bien qu’un processus accéléré limite le temps alloué aux autres parties pour formuler des observations au sujet de la demande, il permet généralement de rendre une décision plus rapidement. Par conséquent, le traitement de la demande passera d’une voie administrative à une partie instance en vertu de la partie 1, mais la demande sera assujettie à un échéancier raccourci.

Les interventions en réponse à la demande doivent également être déposées auprès du Conseil au plus tard le 7 août 2019 et la réplique du titulaire (le cas échéant) devra subséquemment être déposée auprès du Conseil au plus tard le 12 août 2019.

Des copies de la présente lettre et de toute la correspondance connexe seront ajoutées au dossier public de l’instance.

Si vous avez besoin d’autres renseignements concernantla demande, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec moi par téléphone au 873-353-4724, par télécopieur au 819-994-0218 ou par courriel à l’adresse sherwin.pagtakhan@crtc.gc.ca.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, mes salutations distinguées.

Sherwin Pagtakhan
Analyste
Politiques et demandes relatives à la radio

Date de modification :