Broadcasting Commission Letter addressed to the Distribution List

Ottawa, 21 June 2019

Our reference: 1011-NOC2019-0091

To: Distribution List

Subject: Responses to the request for information issued as part of Call for comments on the Commission’s policy on Canadian programming expenditures (Broadcasting Notice of Consultation CRTC 2019-91)

Madam/Sir,

On 28 March 2019, the Commission published a Call for comments on the Commission’s policy on Canadian programming expenditures, Broadcasting Notice of Consultation CRTC 2019-91, and issued a request for information to Canadian broadcasters that operate both traditional and digital media broadcasting undertakings. The Commission requested that these broadcasters submit data on the revenues and expenditures associated with their digital media broadcasting activities, including the online windows associated with licensed services and any other digital media undertakings. Further, the Commission indicated that it expected to publish some of the collected data on an aggregated basis.

The twenty broadcasters in receipt of the request for information have submitted data on revenues and expenditures associated with the following types of services: advertising video on-demand, subscription video on-demand, mobile applications, live streaming, and the online windows associated with licensed services.

Today, the Commission is publishing aggregate data setting out as much of the information as possible, while maintaining the confidentiality of individual broadcasters. Data from hybrid video on-demand services, for which broadcasters already report to the Commission via the annual returns, have also been included to provide more fulsome reporting on digital media activities within Canada.

Data provided by the CBC/Radio-Canada are not included in this analysis. Given that CBC/Radio-Canada is subject to a unique regulatory framework and operates under a different business model to that of private commercial broadcasters, the inclusion of CBC/Radio-Canada’s data would have inaccurately portrayed the state of investment in Canadian programming in the digital environment in Canada.

The table below reflects information provided by the nineteen private commercial broadcasters in receipt of the request for information.

Digital Media Broadcasting Revenues and Expenses for Reporting Private Commercial Broadcasters

2016 2017 2018
Reporting Broadcasters 19 19 19
Total Revenues ($) 235,198,537 330,042,389 412,104,153
Total Content-related Expenses ($) 128,762,560 192,627,893 233,555,869
Total Canadian Content-related Expenses ($) 39,956,355 45,807,659 44,484,958

The digital media revenues of these private commercial broadcasters had year-to-year growth of 40% in 2017, and 25% in 2018. Additionally, they have made investments in programming totaling $555 million, which includes $130 million in Canadian programming expenditures over the last three years.

Thank you for your participation and responses to the request for information.

A copy of this letter and all related correspondence will be added to the public record of the proceeding.

Yours sincerely,

Noah Moser
Director
Financial and Multiplatform Technology Analysis

Distribution List
Aboriginal Peoples Television Network Incorporated
Accessible Media Inc.
Allarco (Super Channel)
BCE Inc.
Blue Ant Media Inc.
Canadian Broadcasting Corporation
Channel Zero
CHEK News
Corus Entertainment Inc.
Crossroads Television System
DHX Media Ltd.
Fairchild Property Group Ltd.
Jim Pattison Broadcast Group Ltd.
Les Placements Péladeau inc.
Newfoundland Broadcasting Company Ltd.
Remstar Diffusion inc. (V Média)
RNC Média inc.
Rogers Communications Inc.
TV5 Québec Canada
ZoomerMedia

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre du Conseil adressée à Liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 21 juin 2019

Notre référence : 1011-NOC2019-0091

À : Liste de distribution

Objet : Réponses à la demande de renseignements envoyée dans le cadre de l’Appel aux observations sur la politique du Conseil relative aux dépenses en émissions canadiennes (avis de consultation de radiodiffusion CRTC 2019-91)

Madame, Monsieur,

Le 28 mars 2019, le Conseil publiait un appel aux observations sur la politique du Conseil relative aux dépenses en émissions canadiennes, avis de consultation de radiodiffusion CRTC 2019-91, et envoyait une demande de renseignements aux radiodiffuseurs canadiens qui exploitent à la fois des entreprises de radiodiffusion traditionnelles et de médias numériques. Le Conseil demandait à ces radiodiffuseurs de présenter des données sur les revenus et les dépenses associés à leurs activités de radiodiffusion de médias numériques, y compris les volets en ligne associés aux services autorisés et à toute autre entreprise de radiodiffusion de médias numériques. Le Conseil indiquait en outre qu’il prévoyait publier certaines des données recueillies sous une forme agrégée.

Les 20 radiodiffuseurs qui avaient reçu la demande de renseignements ont présenté des données sur les revenus et les dépenses associés aux types de services suivants : vidéo sur demande financée par la publicité, vidéo sur demande par abonnement, applications mobiles, diffusion en direct et volets en ligne associés aux services autorisés.

Aujourd’hui, le Conseil publie ces données agrégées en présentant le plus de renseignements possible, tout en protégeant la confidentialité de chaque radiodiffuseur. Les données sur les services hybrides de vidéos sur demande, que les radiodiffuseurs transmettent déjà au Conseil dans le cadre des rapports annuels, ont aussi été ajoutées pour fournir un rapport plus complet des activités liées aux médias numériques au Canada.

Les données fournies par Radio-Canada/CBC ne font pas partie de la présente analyse. Étant donné que Radio-Canada/CBC est assujettie à un cadre réglementaire unique et qu’elle exerce ses activités à l’aide d’un modèle d’affaires qui n’est pas le même que ceux des radiodiffuseurs commerciaux privés, l’ajout de ses données n’aurait pas donné une description fidèle de l’état de l’investissement dans les émissions canadiennes dans l’environnement numérique au Canada.

Le tableau ci-dessous présente les renseignements fournis par les 19 radiodiffuseurs commerciaux privés qui ont reçu la demande de renseignements.

Revenus et dépenses associés à la radiodiffusion de médias numériques des radiodiffuseurs commerciaux privés déclarants

2016 2017 2018
Radiodiffuseurs déclarants 19 19 19
Revenus totaux ($) 235 198 537 330 042 389 412 104 153
Dépenses totales liées au contenu ($) 128 762 560 192 627 893 233 555 869
Dépenses totales liées au contenu canadien ($) 39 956 355 45 807 659 44 484 958

Les revenus liés aux médias numériques de ces radiodiffuseurs commerciaux privés ont augmenté d’une année à l’autre de 40 % en 2017 et de 25 % en 2018. De plus, ils ont investi une somme totalisant 555 millions de dollars dans la production d’émissions, comprenant 130 millions de dollars liés aux dépenses en émissions canadiennes au cours des trois dernières années.

Merci de votre participation et d’avoir répondu à la demande de renseignements.

Une copie de la présente lettre et de toute la correspondance connexe sera ajoutée au dossier public de l’instance.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, mes salutations distinguées.

Noah Moser
Directeur
Analyse financière et technologie multiplateforme

Liste de distribution
Aboriginal Peoples Television Network Incorporated
Accessible Media Inc.
Allarco (Super Channel)
BCE inc.
Blue Ant Media Inc.
Société Radio-Canada
Channel Zero
CHEK News
Corus Entertainment Inc.
Crossroads Television System
DHX Media Ltd.
Fairchild Property Group Ltd.
Jim Pattison Broadcast Group Ltd.
Les Placements Péladeau inc.
Newfoundland Broadcasting Company Limited.
Remstar Diffusion inc. (V Média)
RNC Média inc.
Rogers Communications Inc.
TV5 Québec Canada
ZoomerMedia

Date de modification :