Broadcasting Commission Letter addressed to Cassandra Theriault (Acadia Broadcasting Limited)

Ottawa, 4 June 2019

BY EMAIL

Ms. Cassandra Theriault
Controller
Acadia Broadcasting Limited
58 King Street, 3rd Floor
Saint John, New Brunswick  E2L 1G4
theriault.cassandra@radioabl.ca

Re: Audit of Acadia Broadcasting Limited’s (Acadia) Canadian content development contributions for the 2013-2014 and 2014-broadcast years

Dear Ms. Theriault:

As part of its annual audit of Acadia’s Canadian content development (CCD) contributions, the Commission recently reviewed the licensee’s contributions for the 2013-2014 and 2014-2015 broadcast years.  During this audit, Commission staff identified instances of apparent non-compliance with regards to Acadia’s CCD contributions.  You were notified of this apparent non-compliance by Commission staff letter dated 27 July 2017 and responded by letter dated 11 August 2017.

This letter is to inform you that the Commission finds that CHWV-FM was in non-compliance with its CCD contribution requirements, under section 15 of the Radio Regulations, 1986, for the 2013-2014 broadcast year.

In addition, CHWV-FM was found in non-compliance for the 2013-2014 and 2014-2015 broadcast years with the following condition of licence as stated in Appendix 11 to Broadcast Decision CRTC 2013-460:  

The licensee shall, in addition to its basic contributions to Canadian content development (CCD) as required by section 15 of the Radio Regulations, 1986, devote $4,000 annually towards parties and initiatives fulfilling the definition of eligible CCD initiatives set out in paragraph 108 of Commercial Radio Policy 2006, Broadcasting Public Notice CRTC 2006-158, 15 December 2006.

The non-compliance stems from the fact that Acadia did not make the payments towards meeting its CCD contribution requirements for CHWV-FM in the 2013-2014 and 2014-2015 broadcast years. 

The Commission notes that Acadia paid the total shortfall of $14,276 in the 2016-2017 broadcast year and thus no CCD shortfall payment is required at this time.  These instances of non-compliance will be further examined during the next licence renewal of CHWV-FM.

Further information on CCD contributions and eligible initiatives can be found on the CRTC website: http://www.crtc.gc.ca/ENG/GENERAL/ccdparties.htm

Lastly, the Commission notes that the determinations set out in this letter address only the 2013-2014 and 2014-2015 broadcast years and do not relate to any subsequent broadcast years. 

Yours sincerely,

Claude Doucet
Secretary General

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre du Conseil adressée à Cassandra Theriault (Acadia Broadcasting Limited)

Ottawa, le 4 juin 2019

PAR COURRIEL

Mme Cassandra Theriault
Contrôleuse
Acadia Broadcasting Limited
58, rue King, 3e étage
Saint John (N.-B.) E2L 1G4
theriault.cassandra@radioabl.ca

Objet : La vérification des contributions au titre du développement du contenu canadien d’Acadia Broadcasting Limited’s (Acadia) pour les années de radiodiffusion de 2013-2014 et de 2014-2015

Madame Theriault,

Dans le cadre de sa vérification annuelle des contributions d’Acadia, au titre du développement du contenu canadien (DCC), le Conseil a récemment examiné les contributions du titulaire pour les années de radiodiffusion de 2013-2014 et de 2014-2015. Au cours de cette vérification, le personnel du Conseil a relevé des cas de non-conformité possibles concernant les contributions d’Acadia au titre du DCC. Le personnel du Conseil vous a informé de cette situation de non-conformité possible dans une lettre datée du 27 juillet 2017, à laquelle vous avez répondu par une lettre datée du 11 août 2017.

La présente lettre vise à vous informer que le Conseil conclut que CHWV-FM était en situation de non-conformité quant à ses exigences de contribution au titre du DCC, aux termes de l’article 15 du Règlement de 1986 sur la radio pendant l’année de radiodiffusion de 2013-2014.

En outre, CHWV-FM a été déclaré en situation de non-conformité pour les années de radiodiffusion de 2013-2014 et de 2014-2015 en lien avec la condition suivante de licence, comme il est indiqué à l’annexe 11 de la décision de radiodiffusion CRTC 2013-460 :

En plus de sa contribution annuelle de base au titre du développement du contenu canadien (DCC) telle qu’exigée en vertu de l’article 15 du Règlement de 1986 sur la radio, le titulaire doit consacrer la somme de 4 000 $ par an à des parties et des projets admissibles conformément à la définition de parties et projets admissibles énoncée au paragraphe 108 de la Politique de 2006 sur la radio commerciale, avis public de radiodiffusion CRTC 2006-158, 15 décembre 2006.

La non-conformité découle du fait qu’Acadia n’a pas versé les paiements en vue de remplir ses obligations en matière de contribution au titre du DCC pour CHWV-FM au cours des années de radiodiffusion de 2013-2014 et de 2014-2015.

Le Conseil fait remarquer qu’Acadia a payé le manque à gagner total de 14 276 $ pendant l’année de radiodiffusion de 2016-2017 et, par conséquent, aucun paiement de manque à gagner au titre du DCC n’est requis pour le moment. Ces cas de non-conformité feront l’objet de discussions approfondies au cours du prochain processus de renouvellement de la licence de CHWV-FM.

Les lignes directrices sur les contributions au titre du DCC et les initiatives admissibles figurent sur le site Web du CRTC, à l’adresse : https://crtc.gc.ca/fra/general/ccdparties.htm.

Enfin, le Conseil note que les conclusions énoncées dans la présente lettre ne concernent que les années de radiodiffusion de 2013-2014 et de 2014-2015 et ne portent sur aucune année de radiodiffusion subséquente.

Veuillez agréer mes salutations distinguées.

Claude Doucet
Secrétaire général

Date de modification :