Broadcasting Commission Letter addressed to Kevin Goldstein (Bell Media Inc.)

Ottawa, 4 June 2019

BY EMAIL

Mr. Kevin Goldstein
Vice-President, Regulatory Affairs, Content and Distribution
Bell Media Inc.
299 Queen Street West
Toronto, Ontario   M5V 2Z5
kevin.goldstein@bellmedia.ca

Re: Audit of Bell Media Inc. (Bell Media) tangible benefit requirements for the 2014-2015 broadcast year

Dear Mr. Goldstein:

As part of its annual audit of Bell Media’s radio tangible benefit contributions, the Commission recently reviewed the licensee’s contributions for the 2014-2015 broadcast year imposed on Bell Media as a result of Broadcasting Decisions CRTC 2011-163 and 2013-310.  During this audit, Commission staff identified issues with several expenditures claimed towards meeting Bell Media’s CCD tangible benefit requirements.  You were notified of this apparent non-compliance by Commission staff letter dated 9 January 2018 and responded by letter dated 15 February 2018.

This letter is to inform you that the Commission finds that a portion of certain expenditures made by Bell Media towards meeting its tangible benefit obligations in the 2014-2015 broadcast year were ineligible based on the Commercial Radio Policy, 2006. Footnote1

Bell Media received a number of the tickets to the Canada Music Week Fanfest and Breakthrough Canada Showcase Series live events which were sponsored with the CCD funds. The receipt of tickets in this case was more than a minor component of the main event and Bell Media could use these tickets for its own marketing and promotion. As a result, the use of tickets by Bell Media in this manner include a promotional aspect that is significant enough to consider that there is a sufficient aspect of the initiative that is not well above and beyond promotional activities.

In the circumstances, the Commission finds that a portion of the expenditures directed towards these initiatives are ineligible. Specifically, the amount of the contribution deemed ineligible is equal to the percentage of the total tickets received by Bell Media for the event.   For example, if 15% of the total tickets available for the event were received by the licensee, then 15% of the total CCD contribution for that same event is deemed ineligible.

Below is a breakdown of the ineligible expenditures by initiative:

Initiative Contribution Deemed ineligible ($)
Canada Music Week - Fanfest 76,923
Breakthrough Canada Showcase Series 111,848
Total 188,771

As a result of these findings, the Commission directs Bell Media to pay the total shortfall of $188,771 within 30 days of the date of the letter, as follows:

In addition, the Commission directs Bell Media to file proof of payment for the total tangible benefit shortfall ($188,771), with the Commission, within 60 days of the date of this letter.

Further information on CCD contributions and eligible initiatives can be found on the CRTC website: http://www.crtc.gc.ca/ENG/GENERAL/ccdparties.htm

Lastly, it should be noted that the determinations set out in this letter address only the 2014-2015 broadcast year and do not relate to any subsequent broadcast years. 

Yours sincerely,

Claude Doucet
Secretary General

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre du Conseil adressée à Kevin Goldstein (Bell Média Inc.)

Ottawa, le 4 juin 2019

PAR COURRIEL

M. Kevin Goldstein
Vice-président, Affaires réglementaires, Contenu et distribution
Bell Média Inc.
299, rue Queen Ouest
Toronto (Ontario) M5V 2Z5
kevin.goldstein@bellmedia.ca

Objet : La vérification des exigences en matière d’avantages tangibles de Bell Média Inc. (Bell Média) pour l’année de radiodiffusion de 2014-2015

Monsieur Goldstein,

Dans le cadre de sa vérification annuelle des contributions de Bell Média en matière d’avantages tangibles, le Conseil a récemment examiné les contributions du titulaire pour l’année de radiodiffusion de 2014-2015 imposées à Bell Média à la suite des décisions de radiodiffusion CRTC 2011-163 et 2013-310. Au cours de cette vérification, le personnel du Conseil a relevé que plusieurs  dépenses déclarées comme ayant été engagées en vue de remplir les obligations de Bell Média en matière d’avantages tangibles au titre du développement du contenu canadien (DCC) posaient problème. Le personnel du Conseil vous a informé de cette situation de non-conformité possible dans une lettre datée du 9 janvier 2018, à laquelle vous avez répondu par une lettre datée du 15 février 2018.

La présente lettre vise à vous informer que le Conseil conclut qu’une partie de certaines dépenses engagées par Bell Média en vue de remplir ses obligations en matière d’avantages tangibles au titre du DCC pendant l’année de radiodiffusion de 2014-2015 était inadmissible en vertu de la Politique de 2006 sur la radio commerciale. Note de bas de page1

Bell Média a reçu un certain nombre de billets concernant les événements en direct dans le cadre du festival « Canada Music Week –Fanfest » et de «Breakthrough Canada Showcase Series » qui étaient financés par des sommes versées au titre du DCC. Dans le cas présent, la réception des billets représentait plus qu’un élément mineur de l’événement principal et Bell Média pouvait utiliser ces billets aux fins de sa propre promotion. Par conséquent, l’utilisation ainsi faite des billets par Bell Média comporte un volet promotionnel assez significatif pour estimer qu’il y a un aspect suffisant de l’initiative qui n’a pas été consacré à des projets qui s’ajoutent aux activités promotionnelles courantes.

Compte tenu des circonstances, le Conseil conclut qu’une partie des dépenses consacrées à ces initiatives est inadmissible. Plus précisément, le montant de la contribution jugé inadmissible équivaut au pourcentage du total des billets  qu’a reçus Bell Média pour l’événement. Par exemple, si 15 % du total des billets disponibles pour l’événement étaient reçus par le titulaire, alors 15 % de la contribution totale au titre du DCC pour ce même événement sont jugés inadmissibles.

Voici une ventilation des dépenses inadmissibles par initiative :

Initiative Contribution jugée inadmissible ($)
« Canada Music Week – Fanfest » 76,923
« Breakthrough Canada Showcase Series » 111,848
Total 188,771

À la lumière de ces conclusions, le Conseil ordonne à Bell Média de verser le manque à gagner total de 188 771 $ dans les 30 jours suivant la date de la présente lettre, comme suit :

En outre, le Conseil ordonne à Bell Média de déposer une preuve de paiement pour le manque à gagner total (188 771 $) relatif aux avantages tangibles, auprès du Conseil, dans les 60 jours suivant la date de la présente lettre.

Les lignes directrices sur les contributions au titre du DCC et les initiatives admissibles figurent sur le site Web du CRTC, à l’adresse : https://crtc.gc.ca/fra/general/ccdparties.htm.

Enfin, le Conseil note que les conclusions énoncées dans la présente lettre ne concernent que l’année de radiodiffusion de 2014-2015 et ne portent sur aucune année de radiodiffusion subséquente.

Veuillez agréer mes salutations distinguées.

Claude Doucet

Secrétaire général

Date de modification :