Broadcasting Commission Letter addressed to Various Parties Interested

Ottawa, 15 May 2019

Our reference: 1011-NOC2019-0067

BY EMAIL

Kevin Goldstein, Vice President – Regulatory Affairs, Content and Distribution, BCE Inc.
Karen Phillips, Senior Director, Government Relations and Compliance, Corus Entertainment Inc.
Susan Wheeler, Vice-President, Regulatory, Media, Rogers Media Inc.

RE:  Broadcasting Notice of Consultation CRTC 2019-67 – Request for Information by 21 May 2019

Madams, Sirs,

This letter sets out the questions for parties to this proceeding to answer by 21 May 2019.

Context

On 11 March 2019, the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC) published Broadcasting Notice of Consultation 2019-67 Call for comments on an amendment proposed by Bell Media Inc., Corus Entertainment Inc. and Rogers Media Inc. to their condition of licence that requires prime time programming to be broadcast with described video.

In paragraph 19 of that Notice, the Commission stated that “The Commission may request information, in the form of interrogatories, from any party to the proceeding.” Responses to questions from the Commission must be filed by 21 May 2019.  This letter sets out questions to be answered by that date.

Procedures for filing

Responses to these requests for information must 1) refer to the file number noted above, and 2) be sent to the Secretary General of the Commission via My CRTC Account (at the following link: https://crtc.gc.ca/eng/cover.htm) using GCKey. GCKey allows you to securely access the Government of Canada’s online services and conduct online business.

For further information on how to submit your response, see the CRTC’s web page Submitting applications and other documents to the CRTC using My CRTC Account.

As set out in Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin 2010-961, Procedures for filing confidential information and requesting its disclosure in Commission proceedings, parties may designate certain information as confidential.

Parties must provide an abridged version of the document involved, accompanied by a detailed rationale to explain why the disclosure of the information is not in the public interest. All submissions are to be made in accordance with the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure, SOR/2010-277.

Should you have any questions, please contact Natalie Riendeau, Senior Analyst, Social and Consumer Policy, at natalie.riendeau@crtc.gc.ca.

A copy of this letter and all related correspondence will be added to the public record of the proceeding.

Yours sincerely,

(Original signed by)

Nanao Kachi
Director, Social and Consumer Policy
CRTC

c.c. mary-louise.hayward@crtc.gc.ca, Manager, Social and Consumer Policy

Questions for Bell, Corus and Rogers

Bell 2.1

In its responses to Requests for Information (RFIs) dated 8 Apr 2019, Bell submitted that it requires programs from U.S. suppliers to be delivered with described video (DV) “where available.” 

The exception sought by the licensees entails a process that would involve adding DV to certain U.S. first-run prime time programming after first airing at a cost that would be incurred by Bell.  Explain why it is impossible for Bell to pay its U.S. suppliers up front for the costs of including DV in supplied programming such that this programming is procured to be consistent with Bell’s Condition of Licence for prime time content to be broadcast with DV.  

Corus 2.1

In its responses to RFIs dated 8 Apr 2019, Corus submitted that it is its practice in procuring programming from U.S. studios to request that content be delivered with DV or that Corus be permitted to have the content “captioned” itself.  Corus states that it makes best efforts to ensure that programming is delivered with DV and, where it is not, it attempts to have the program described locally.

The exception sought by the licensees entails a process that would involve adding DV to certain U.S. first-run prime time programming after first airing at a cost that would be incurred by Corus. 

  1. Explain why it is impossible for Corus to pay its U.S. suppliers up front for the costs of including DV in supplied programming such that this programming is procured to be consistent with Corus’ Condition of Licence for prime time content to be broadcast with DV.
  2. Explain what is meant by the words bolded in the following statement:
    […] we made clear that it is our practice to request that the content be delivered with described versions, or that we be permitted to have the content captioned ourselves.

Corus 2.2

Corus claims that its response to RFI 6. a. (8 Apr 2019), provided below in emphasis, is confidential and has filed an abridged version.

  1. Appendix C of the application includes letters from Sony Pictures Television, CBS Studios International, Warner Brothers International Television Distribution Inc., and NBC Universal.
    1. Does your organization have agreements in place with each or any of these companies or their subsidiaries for the procurement of the programming listed in your answer to question 3? 

Corus is requested to disclose this information for which it has claimed confidentiality.  Corus has not explained how this information is of a type listed in the appendix to Information Bulletin 2010-961 nor did Corus provide detailed rationale to explain why disclosure of this information is not in the public interest.

Corus is also requested to provide an answer to 6.a. in respect of the information that it provided on the record for Question 3.  Corus may consider filing this information in confidence with the Commission if it can demonstrate that it is of a type listed in the appendix to Bulletin 2010-961 and can explain why disclosure of this information is not in the public interest.

Corus 2.3

The Licensees’ application to the Commission dated 28 November 2018 includes a letter from CBS Studios International addressed to Corus’ Sr. Vice president, Global Entertainment and Content Acquisitions.  The RFIs issued on 14 March included questions that were sent to CBS Studios by registered mail.  The mail was returned to the Commission unopened without explanation.

Commission staff considers the information sought from CBS Studios International to be necessary for completeness and meaningful interpretation of the record. 

Provide contact information for the appropriate person within CBS Studios who is best positioned to respond to the Commission’s questions.

Corus 2.4

Corus claims that its response to RFI 11. c. iii. (8 Apr 2019), provided below with emphasis, is confidential and has thus filed an abridged version.  For reference, RFI 11. c. (8 Apr 2019) is provided below in its entirety.

  1. c.    Corus:  On 16 September 2015, Corus announced the creation of Quay Media Services Footnote1 and the acquisition of FastFile Media Services: Footnote2 For the programming at issue in this application for which a 72-hour exception has been requested:

    1. Confirm the degree to which Corus uses or plans to use Quay Media Services and/or FastFile Media Services to provide described video. 
    2. In your answer specify whether or not Corus uses this approach in conjunction with, or in lieu of, setting out procurement requirements for described video programming in agreements with suppliers.
    3. Confirm whether Quay Media Services or FastFile Media Services has, or plans to have, commercial arrangements to provide described video services to the entities identified in this application, i.e., Bell, Rogers, Onextra or Red Bee.   If yes, describe the nature of those commercial arrangements.

Corus is requested to disclose this information for which it has claimed confidentiality.  Corus has not explained how this information is of a type listed in the appendix to Information Bulletin 2010-961 nor did Corus provide detailed rationale to explain why disclosure of this information is not in the public interest.

Rogers 2.1

In its responses to RFIs dated 8 Apr 2019, Rogers confirmed that it is its practice to procure U.S. programming with DV “whenever available.”

The exception sought by the licensees entails a process that would involve adding DV to certain U.S. first-run prime time programming after first airing at a cost that would be incurred by Rogers.  Explain why it is impossible for Rogers to pay its U.S. suppliers up front for the costs of including DV in supplied programming such that this programming is procured to be consistent with Rogers’ Condition of Licence for prime time content to be broadcast with DV.

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre du Conseil adressée aux diverses partie

Ottawa, le 15 mai 2019

Notre référence : 1011-NOC2019-0067

PAR COURRIEL

Kevin Goldstein, Vice-président, Affaires réglementaires, Contenu et Distribution, BCE Inc.
Karen Phillips, Directrice principale, Relations gouvernementales et conformité, Corus Entertainment Inc.
Susan Wheeler, Vice-présidente, Affaires réglementaires, Médias, Rogers Media Inc.

Objet : Avis de consultation de radiodiffusion CRTC 2019-67 – Demande de renseignements à fournir d’ici le 21 mai 2019

Mesdames, Messieurs,

La présente lettre énonce les questions auxquelles les parties à cette instance doivent répondre au plus tard le 21 mai 2019.

Contexte

Le 11 mars 2019, le Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (le Conseil) a publié l’avis de consultation de radiodiffusion CRTC 2019-67, Appel aux observations sur une modification proposée par Bell Média inc., Corus Entertainment Inc. et Rogers Media Inc. à leur condition de licence exigeant que la programmation aux heures de grande écoute soit diffusée avec vidéodescription.

Au paragraphe 19 de cet avis, le Conseil affirme ceci : « Le Conseil peut demander des renseignements, sous forme de questions, de toute partie à l’instance. » Les réponses aux questions posées par le Conseil doivent être déposées au plus tard le 21 mai 2019.

Procédure à suivre pour le dépôt

Les réponses aux demandes de renseignements doivent 1) faire référence au numéro de dossier susmentionné, et 2) être envoyées au secrétaire général du Conseil à l’aide de Mon compte CRTC (aller au lien https://crtc.gc.ca/fra/cover.htm) et de la CléGC. La CléGC est un service électronique offert par le gouvernement du Canada qui vous permet de faire affaire, en toute sécurité, avec plusieurs programmes et services gouvernementaux.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la façon de soumettre votre réponse, consultez la page Web du CRTC Soumettre des demandes et autres documents auprès du CRTC en utilisant Mon compte CRTC.

Comme il est établi dans le bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961, Procédure à suivre pour le dépôt et la demande de communication de renseignements confidentiels dans le cadre d’une instance du Conseil, les parties peuvent désigner certains renseignements comme confidentiels. Les parties doivent soumettre une version abrégée du document concerné, accompagnée d’une justification expliquant en détail les raisons pour lesquelles la divulgation de ces renseignements ne serait pas dans l’intérêt public. Toutes les soumissions doivent être effectuées conformément aux Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (DORS/2010-277).

Si vous avez des questions, veuillez communiquer avec Natalie Riendeau, analyste principale, Politique sociale et des consommateurs, à l’adresse natalie.riendeau@crtc.gc.ca.

Une copie de la présente lettre et de toute la correspondance connexe seront ajoutées au dossier public de l’instance.

Veuillez agréer, Mesdames, Messieurs, mes salutations distinguées.

(Original signé par)

Nanao Kachi
Directeur, Politique sociale et des consommateurs
CRTC

c. c. mary-louise.hayward@crtc.gc.ca, gestionnaire, Politique sociale et des consommateurs

Questions à l’intention de Bell, de Corus et de Rogers

Bell 2.1

Dans ses réponses aux demandes de renseignements en date du 8 avril 2019, Bell a indiqué que les émissions des fournisseurs américains doivent être livrées avec vidéodescription (VD) « lorsque celle-ci est disponible ».

L’exception demandée par les titulaires suppose un processus qui impliquerait l’ajout de la VD à certaines émissions américaines de première diffusion aux heures de grande écoute après leur première diffusion à un coût qui serait assumé par Bell. Expliquez pourquoi il est impossible pour Bell de payer ses fournisseurs américains à l’avance pour les coûts relatifs à l’ajout de la VD à la programmation fournie afin que cette programmation soit achetée en conformité avec  la condition de licence de Bell concernant le contenu diffusé aux heures de grande écoute avec VD.

Corus 2.1

Dans ses réponses aux demandes de renseignements en date du 8 avril 2019, Corus a fait valoir que c’est son habitude lorsqu’il acquiert de la programmation auprès de studios américains de demander que le contenu soit livré avec VD ou que Corus soit autorisé à le « sous-titrer » lui-même. Corus déclare qu’il fait de son mieux pour s’assurer que la programmation est fournie avec VD et, si l’émission ne l’est pas, il tente de la faire décrire localement.

L’exception demandée par les titulaires suppose un processus qui impliquerait l’ajout de la VD à certaines émissions américaines de première diffusion aux heures de grande écoute après leur première diffusion à un coût qui serait assumé par Corus.

  1. Expliquez pourquoi il est impossible pour Corus de payer ses fournisseurs américains à l’avance pour les coûts relatifs à l’ajout de la VD à la programmation fournie afin que cette programmation soit achetée en conformité avec la condition de licence de Corus concernant le contenu diffusé aux heures de grande écoute avec VD.
  2. Expliquez ce que signifient les mots en gras dans l’énoncé suivant :
    […] nous avons bien précisé que nous avions l’habitude de demander que le contenu soit livré avec des versions accompagnées de vidéo description, ou qu’on nous autorise à sous-titrer le contenu par nous-mêmes.

Corus 2.2

Corus indique que sa réponse à la demande de renseignements 6. a. (8 avril 2019), mis en évidence ci-dessous, est confidentielle et en a déposé une version abrégée.

  1. L’annexe C de la demande comprend des lettres de Sony Pictures Television, de CBS Studios International, de Warner Brothers International Television Distribution Inc. et de NBC Universal.
    1. Votre organisation a-t-elle signé des ententes avec chacune des entreprises ou de leurs filiales, ou avec certaines d’entre elles, pour l’obtention de la programmation indiquée dans votre réponse à la question 3?

Le personnel du Conseil demande à Corus de divulguer les renseignements pour lesquels il a déposé une demande de confidentialité. Corus n’a pas expliqué comment ces renseignements s’apparentent à l’un de ceux qui sont énumérés dans la liste annexée au bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961 et n’a pas non plus fourni de justification détaillée pour expliquer les raisons pour lesquelles la divulgation de ces renseignements ne serait pas dans l’intérêt public.

Le personnel du Conseil demande également à Corus de fournir une réponse au point 6. a. concernant les renseignements qu’il a fournis au dossier pour la question 3. Corus peut envisager de déposer ses renseignements à titre confidentiel auprès du Conseil, s’il peut démontrer que les renseignements s’apparentent à l’un de ceux qui sont énumérés dans la liste annexée au bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961 et expliquer pourquoi la divulgation de ces renseignements ne serait pas dans l’intérêt public.

Corus 2.3

La demande des titulaires au Conseil datée du 28 novembre 2018 comprend une lettre de CBS Studios International adressée au vice-président principal de Corus, Global Entertainment and Content Acquisitions. Les demandes de renseignements envoyées le 14 mars comportaient des questions adressées à CBS Studios par courrier recommandé. La correspondance a été retournée au Conseil sans avoir été ouverte et sans explication.

Le personnel du Conseil estime que les renseignements demandés à CBS Studios International sont nécessaires par souci d’exhaustivité et d’interprétation cohérente du dossier. Indiquez les coordonnées de la personne appropriée au sein de CBS Studios, qui est la mieux placée pour répondre aux questions du Conseil.

Corus 2.4

Corus indique que sa réponse à la demande de renseignements 11. c. iii. (8 avril 2019), mise en évidence ci-dessous, est confidentielle et en a donc déposé une version abrégée. À titre de référence, la demande de renseignements 11. c. (8 avril 2019) est fournie ci-dessous dans son intégralité.

  1. c.    Corus : Le 16 septembre 2015, Corus a annoncé la création de Quay Media Services Note de bas de page1 et l’acquisition de FastFile Media Services Note de bas de page2 . Pour la programmation en question dans cette demande pour laquelle une exception à la règle de 72 heures a été demandée :

    1. Veuillez confirmer la mesure dans laquelle Corus utilise ou prévoit utiliser Quay Media Services ou FastFile Media Services pour offrir de la vidéodescription.
    2. Dans votre réponse, veuillez préciser si Corus utilise ou non cette approche conjointement avec l’établissement d’exigences quant à l’offre d’émissions avec vidéodescription dans ses ententes avec les fournisseurs ou au lieu de celles-ci.
    3. Veuillez confirmer si Quay Media Services ou FastFile Media Services a – ou entend avoir – des ententes commerciales dans le but d’offrir des services de vidéodescription aux entités indiquées dans la présente demande, à savoir Bell, Rogers, Onextra ou Red Bee. Dans l’affirmative, veuillez décrire la nature de ces ententes commerciales.

Le personnel du Conseil demande à Corus de divulguer les renseignements pour lesquels il a déposé une demande de confidentialité. Corus n’a pas expliqué comment ces renseignements s’apparentent à l’un de ceux qui sont énumérés dans la liste annexée au bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961 et n’a pas non plus fourni de justification détaillée pour expliquer les raisons pour lesquelles la divulgation de ces renseignements ne serait pas dans l’intérêt public.

Rogers 2.1

Dans ses réponses aux demandes de renseignements en date du 8 avril 2019, Rogers a confirmé qu’il a l’habitude d’acquérir de la programmation américaine avec vidéodescription (VD) « lorsque celle-ci est disponible ».

L’exception demandée par les titulaires suppose un processus qui impliquerait l’ajout de la VD à certaines émissions américaines de première diffusion aux heures de grande écoute après leur première diffusion à un coût qui serait assumé par Rogers. Expliquez pourquoi il est impossible pour Rogers de payer ses fournisseurs américains à l’avance pour les coûts relatifs à l’ajout de la VD à la programmation fournie afin que cette programmation soit achetée en conformité avec la condition de licence de Rogers concernant le contenu diffusé aux heures de grande écoute avec VD.

Date de modification :