Broadcasting Commission Letter addressed to Oliver Jaakkola (Sirius XM Canada Inc.)


Ottawa, 26 April 2019

Mr. Oliver Jaakkola
Senior Vice-President and General Counsel
Sirius XM Canada Inc.
590 King Street West, Suite 300
Toronto, Ontario  M5V 1M3
oliver.jaakkola@siriusxm.ca

Subject:  Audit of Sirius XM Canada Inc.’s (Sirius XM) 2014-2015 Canadian content development contributions

Dear Mr. Jaakkola:

As part of its annual audit of Sirius XM’s Canadian content development (CCD) contributions, the Commission recently reviewed the licensee’s contributions for the 2014-2015 broadcast year.  During that audit, Commission staff identified instances of apparent non-compliance with regard to Sirius XM’s CCD contributions.  You were notified of this apparent non-compliance by Commission staff letters dated 11 August 2017, 9 November 2017 and 31 January 2018 and responded by letters dated 8 September 2017, 29 November 2017 and 9 February 2018.

This letter is to inform you that the Commission finds Sirius XM in non-compliance with condition of license 13.(a) as stated in the Appendix to Broadcasting Decision CRTC 2012-629 in regards to Sirius XM’s CCD contributions for broadcast year 2014-2015:

13.(a) During each broadcast year, the licensee shall contribute a minimum of 4% of gross revenues from its satellite subscription radio undertakings reported in its annual returns for the previous broadcast year to eligible initiatives for the development of Canadian content development (CCD).

The Commission has provided clear guidance on the purpose of CCD and how CCD funds should be spent. The Commission’s examination of the direct benefits received by licensees as a result of CCD expenditures assists in determining whether an initiative is self-serving in nature and does not introduce any new concept that is inconsistent with Commission policy. Evaluating whether an initiative is self-serving has always been a part of evaluating compliance with the CCD policy.

Further information on CCD contributions and eligible initiatives can be found on the CRTC Website: http://www.crtc.gc.ca/ENG/GENERAL/ccdparties.htm

Below is a breakdown of the individual expenditures deemed non-compliant:

Recipient, Invoice # and Issues Amount($)
1. NHL Enterprises Canada - 2-13100
Contribution not deemed well above and beyond promotional activities. While Canadian artists benefitted to some degree from the songs played during the videos, Sirius XM derived a significant promotional benefit in the form of promotion of Sirius XM, which was self-serving. Therefore, 50% of the total cost of the initiative is deemed ineligible.
253,320
2. Festival Juste Pour Rire - Montréal - FC01917
Contribution not deemed well above and beyond organization's normal programming costs. Sirius XM received 33 professionally recorded and edited spoken word segments and aired this content on the Sirius Canada Laughs channel for a total of 382 hours from 1 January 2015 to 31 December 2016. Moreover, the CCD funds were directed to a comedy event that in return provided many hours of programming that was used towards meeting condition of licence 1 of Appendix to Broadcasting Decision CRTC 2012-629.
180,000
3. Republic Live Inc. - 511 and 524
Contribution resulting in self-serving benefit to licensee. The receipt of tickets and passes results in a self-serving benefit since these items allow Sirius XM to leverage its services or other parts of its business, for example offering these items as perks to customers or incentives to sign-up new customers, through the use of CCD funds. Therefore, the market value of these tickets and passes are not zero for Sirius XM and it is reasonable to find the retail face value of these items ineligible.
28,371
4. Pemberton Music Festival - 0006 & 0007
Contribution resulting in self-serving benefit to licensee. The receipt of tickets and passes results in a self-serving benefit since these items allow Sirius XM to leverage its services or other parts of its business, for example offering these items as perks to customers or incentives to sign up new customers, through the use of CCD funds. Therefore, the market value of these tickets and passes are not zero for Sirius XM and it is reasonable to find the retail face value of these items ineligible.
37,206
5. Nat Corbeil - 0186
Contribution not deemed well above and beyond promotional activities. The press release was issued by Sirius XM and focuses on Sirius XM and its sponsorship of the initiative rather than promoting any artists. Therefore, this expenditure is deemed self-serving and ineligible.
1,500
6. Taxi Canada - 79886, 79594, 78969, 79452, 78906 and 79440
Contribution not deemed well above and beyond promotional activities and lacked transparency. Of the three ads for the Juno Awards, one of the ads makes no mention of any artist or the Juno Awards and instead focuses on Sirius XM. The licensee also did not provide one of the three ads, which makes it impossible for the Commission to determine eligibility. Lastly, the invoices did not provide costs breakdowns for the costs per ad and therefore, the Commission cannot determine the appropriate cost for each of the creative materials. Given the above, it is appropriate to find two-thirds of the cost for the development of these creative materials ineligible.
In addition, for the video entitled “CCD program awareness video”, although video of Canadian artists is played, the focus of the video is on describing the impact Sirius XM has made on Canadian artists and promoting Sirius XM. Thus, due to the self-serving nature of the expenditure related to this video, the entire cost is deemed ineligible.
52,564
7. Headspace Marketing - 1457,1463,1464,1537,1549 and 1562
Contribution not deemed well above and beyond promotional activities.  While the presence of the company’s logo on the marketing materials at an event is generally acceptable, these ads do not mention any specific Canadian artist. Instead, the materials focus on the partnership between Sirius XM and the festival. Given the focus of these ads on Sirius XM’s services and its brand, this expenditure is deemed self-serving and therefore ineligible.
14,660
Total 567,621

The Commission is of the view that the non-compliance stems from a variety of factors, including excessive promotional activities, contributions resulting in self-serving benefit to the licensee, and specific ineligible expenditures within eligible initiatives.

Based on the above, the Commission directs Sirius XM to pay the total shortfall amount of $567,621 by 27 May 2019 as follows:

Proof of payment for the total CCD shortfall ($567,621) must be filed by 25 June 2019.

The Commission notes that the determinations set out in this letter address only the 2014-2015 broadcast year and do not relate to any subsequent broadcast years.  This determination of non-compliance for the 2014-2015 broadcast year will be taken into account as part of the on-going licence renewal process. Footnote1

In the above-noted initiatives, Sirius XM received significant direct benefit as a result of its CCD obligation in the form of tickets to an event, substantial promotion of Sirius XM itself, and professionally edited Canadian comedy content that was used by Sirius XM towards meetings its Canadian programming requirements. In the Commission’s view, receipt of such benefits is self-serving because it allows Sirius XM to promote its services or leverage other parts of its business using CCD funds. The Commission further notes that failure to supply sufficient documentation to support the eligibility of Sirius XM’s contributions for future broadcast years may result in the Commission finding those contribution(s) ineligible and may affect the service’s compliance with its regulatory obligations.

The Commission reminds Sirius XM of the importance of supporting emerging Canadian artists with CCD funding. The Commission further reminds Sirius XM that the receipt of significant non-monetary benefits by a licensee from a CCD-funded initiative could lead to the entire initiative being found ineligible. The generally acceptable level of benefit that can be received by the licensee is an acknowledgement of the CCD sponsorship by the receiving group.

The Commission also reminds Sirius XM of the importance of providing accurate information at all times.  In particular, with respect to item 1 in the table above, the provision of inaccurate information by Sirius XM, in both its annual returns and its response dated 8 September 2017, increased the challenges faced by the Commission in determining the eligibility of the initiative.

Lastly, how Sirius XM generally uses and might benefit from the large amounts it spends on discretionary CCD initiatives is beyond the scope of this audit; however, this issue will be examined during the ongoing licence renewal. For example, as part of the ongoing licence renewal process, the Commission intends to fully examine Sirius XM’s practice of sponsoring events without providing the funds directly to the initiative.

Yours sincerely,

Claude Doucet
Secretary General

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre du Conseil adressée à Oliver Jaakkola (Sirius XM Canada Inc.)

Ottawa, le 26 avril 2019

M. Oliver Jaakkola
Vice-président principal et avocat général
Sirius XM Canada Inc.
590, rue King Ouest, bureau 300
Toronto (Ontario) M5V 1M3
oliver.jaakkola@siriusxm.ca

Objet : Vérification des contributions, au titre du développement du contenu canadien, faites par Sirius XM Canada Inc. (Sirius XM) en 2014-2015

Monsieur,

Dans le cadre de sa vérification annuelle des contributions de Sirius XM, au titre du développement de contenu canadien (DCC), le Conseil a récemment examiné les contributions du titulaire pour l’année de radiodiffusion 2014-2015. Durant cette vérification, le personnel du Conseil a repéré des cas de non-conformité apparente, concernant les contributions de Sirius XM au titre du DCC. Le personnel du Conseil vous a informé de cette non-conformité apparente dans des lettres datées du 11 août 2017, du 9 novembre 2017 et du 31 janvier 2018 et vous avez répondu dans des lettres datées du 8 septembre 2017, du 29 novembre 2017 et du 9 février 2018.

La présente lettre vise à vous informer que le Conseil a conclu que Sirius XM ne se conforme pas à la condition de licence suivante, figurant dans l’annexe à la décision de radiodiffusion CRTC 2012-629, relative aux contributions de Sirius XM au DCC pour l’année de radiodiffusion 2014-2015 :

13.(a) Au cours de chaque année de radiodiffusion, le titulaire doit contribuer au moins 4 % des revenus bruts de son entreprise de radio par satellite par abonnement inscrites dans ses rapports financiers annuels pour l’année précédente de radiodiffusion à des projets admissibles au titre du développement du contenu canadien (DCC).

Le Conseil a donné des indications claires quant au but du DCC et à la façon dont les sommes versées au titre du DCC doivent être dépensées. En examinant les avantages directs dont profitent les titulaires de licence en raison de leurs dépenses au titre du DCC, le Conseil peut déterminer si une initiative est intéressée et ne comprend pas de nouveau concept qui ne cadre pas avec la politique du Conseil. Déterminer si une initiative est intéressée a toujours fait partie de l’évaluation du respect de la politique sur le DCC.

Les lignes directrices sur les contributions au DCC et les initiatives admissibles figurent sur le site Web du CRTC, à l’adresse : https://crtc.gc.ca/fra/general/ccdparties.htm

Voici une ventilation des dépenses jugées non conformes :

Destinataire, numéro de facture et problème Montant ($)
1. NHL Enterprises Canada - 2-13100
On juge que les dépenses n’ont pas été consacrées à des projets qui s’ajoutent aux activités promotionnelles courantes. Bien que des artistes canadiens aient tiré un certain profit des chansons diffusées dans les vidéos, Sirius XM en a retiré un avantage promotionnel important, qui était intéressée. Par conséquent, 50 % du coût total du projet est jugé inadmissible.
253 320
2. Festival Juste Pour Rire - Montréal - FC01917
On juge que les dépenses n’ont pas été consacrées à des projets qui s’ajoutent aux coûts de programmation normaux. Sirius XM a reçu 33 segments de création orale enregistrés et édités de façon professionnelle, et a diffusé ce contenu sur le canal Sirius Canada Laughs pendant 382 heures au total, du 1er janvier 2015 au 31 décembre 2016. De plus, les sommes versées au titre du DCC ont été allouées à un événement d’humour ayant fourni de nombreuses heures de programmation qui ont servi à respecter la condition de licence 1 de l’annexe à la décision de radiodiffusion CRTC 2012-629.
180 000
3. Republic Live Inc. - 511 et 524
Les dépenses sont intéressées et le titulaire de licence en retire un avantage. Sirius XM retire un avantage des billets et des laissez-passer obtenus puisqu’ils lui permettent de valoriser ses services ou d’autres parties de ses activités, par exemple en les offrant comme bonus aux clients ou en les utilisant comme mesure incitative pour faire abonner de nouveaux clients, et ce, grâce à des sommes versées au titre du DCC. La valeur marchande de ces billets et laissez-passer n’est donc pas nulle pour Sirius XM, et il est raisonnable de conclure que leur valeur nominale au détail n’est pas admissible.
28 371
4. Pemberton Music Festival - 0006 et 0007
Les dépenses sont intéressées et le titulaire de licence en retire un avantage. Sirius XM retire un avantage des billets et des laissez-passer obtenus puisqu’ils lui permettent de valoriser ses services ou d’autres parties de ses activités, par exemple en les offrant comme bonus aux clients ou en les utilisant comme mesure incitative pour faire abonner de nouveaux clients, et ce, grâce à des sommes versées au titre du DCC. La valeur marchande de ces billets et laissez-passer n’est donc pas nulle pour Sirius XM, et il est raisonnable de conclure que leur valeur nominale au détail n’est pas admissible.
37 206
5. Nat Corbeil - 0186
On juge que les dépenses n’ont pas été consacrées à des projets qui s’ajoutent aux activités promotionnelles courantes. Le communiqué de presse, qui a été publié par Sirius XM, est axé sur Sirius XM et son parrainage du projet plutôt que sur la promotion d’artistes.  Donc, la totalité de cette dépense est jugée étant intéressée et donc inadmissible.
1 500
6. Taxi Canada - 79886, 79594, 78969, 79452, 78906 et 79440
On juge que les dépenses n’ont pas été consacrées à des projets qui s’ajoutent aux activités promotionnelles courantes et manquait de transparence. Une des trois annonces pour les prix Juno se focalise sur Sirius XM; elle ne mentionne ni les prix Juno, ni aucun artiste. De plus, une des trois annonces n’a pas été fournie par le titulaire de licence et il est donc impossible pour le Conseil d’en déterminer l’admissibilité. Enfin, les factures ne comprenaient pas la ventilation des coûts pour chaque annonce, ce qui empêche le Conseil de déterminer le coût approprié de chaque création publicitaire. Compte tenu de ce qui précède, il y a lieu de conclure que le coût de préparation de ces créations publicitaires n’est pas admissible.                     
De plus, en ce qui concerne la vidéo « CCD program awareness video » (vidéo de sensibilisation au programme de DCC), bien que l’on y voie des artistes canadiens, la vidéo fait surtout la promotion de Sirius XM et se concentre sur la description de l’impact qu’a eu Sirius XM sur les artistes canadiens. Par conséquent, puisque les dépenses liées à cette vidéo sont intéressées, la totalité du coût est jugée inadmissible.   
52 564
7. Headspace Marketing - 1457,1463,1464,1537,1549 et 1562
On juge que les dépenses n’ont pas été consacrées à des projets qui s’ajoutent aux activités promotionnelles courantes. Bien qu’il soit généralement acceptable que le logo de l’entreprise figure sur les supports de marketing à l’occasion d’un événement, ces annonces ne mentionnent aucun artiste canadien de façon précise. Elles se concentrent plutôt sur le partenariat entre Sirius XM et le festival. Étant donné que ces annonces se concentrent sur la marque et les services de Sirius XM, cette dépense est jugée comme étant intéressée et donc inadmissible.
14,660
Total 567 621

Le Conseil est d’avis que la non-conformité découle de divers facteurs incluant les activités promotionnelles excessives, les dépenses qui sont intéressées et dont le titulaire de licence retire un avantage, ainsi que de dépenses inadmissibles précises dans le cadre d’initiatives admissibles.

Compte tenu de ce qui précède, le Conseil ordonne à Sirius XM de verser le manque à gagner de 567 621 $ d’ici le 27 mai 2019, selon la répartition suivante :

Une preuve de versement du manque à gagner total (567 621 $) doit être présentée d’ici le 25 juin 2019.

Le Conseil note que les conclusions énoncées dans la présente lettre ne concernent que l’année de radiodiffusion 2014-2015 et ne portent sur aucune année de radiodiffusion subséquente. Cette conclusion de non-conformité pour l’année de radiodiffusion 2014-2015 sera prise en compte lors du processus de renouvellement de licence en cours. Note de bas de page1

Avec les initiatives susmentionnées, l’obligation de Sirius XM quant au DCC lui a permis de retirer un avantage direct important sous forme de billets pour un événement, de promotion substantielle de Sirius XM et de contenu humoristique canadien édité de façon professionnelle et utilisé par Sirius XM pour respecter ses obligations en matière de programmation canadienne. Le Conseil estime que l’obtention de tels avantages est intéressée parce qu’elle permet à Sirius XM de promouvoir ses services ou de valoriser d’autres parties de ses activités en utilisant les sommes versées au titre du DCC. Le Conseil fait également remarquer qu’il incombe à Sirius XM de présenter suffisamment de documents appuyant l’admissibilité de ses contributions, faute de quoi le Conseil pourrait considérer que ces contributions ne sont pas admissibles, ce qui pourrait avoir des répercussions sur le respect, par la station, de ses obligations réglementaires.

Le Conseil rappelle à Sirius XM que le financement au titre du développement du contenu canadien est important pour soutenir les nouveaux artistes canadiens. Le Conseil rappelle également à Sirius XM que l’obtention, par un titulaire de licence, d’importants avantages non monétaires découlant d’une initiative financée au titre du DCC pourrait faire en sorte que toute l’initiative soit jugée inadmissible. La reconnaissance, par le bénéficiaire, du parrainage reçu au titre du DCC représente le niveau d’avantage généralement acceptable dont peut bénéficier le titulaire de licence.

De plus, le Conseil rappelle à Sirius qu’il est important de toujours fournir de l’information exacte. Plus particulièrement, en ce qui concerne l’élément 1 du tableau ci-dessus, l’inclusion par Sirius XM de renseignements inexacts dans ses rapports annuels et dans sa réponse datée du 8 septembre 2017 a fait qu’il a été plus difficile pour le Conseil de déterminer l’admissibilité du projet.

Enfin, la façon générale dont Sirius XM utilise ses importantes contributions discrétionnaires aux initiatives de DCC et dont il pourrait en bénéficier dépassent la portée de la vérification.  Cette question sera examinée à l’occasion du processus de renouvellement de licence qui est en cours. Par exemple, à l’occasion du processus de renouvellement de licence en cours, le Conseil a l’intention d’examiner en détail l’habitude de Sirius XM de parrainer des événements sans remettre directement les fonds à l’initiative.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, mes salutations distinguées.

Claude Doucet
Secrétaire général

Date de modification :