Broadcasting Procedural Letter addressed to Peggy Tabet (Québecor Média inc.)

Ottawa, 6 March 2019

Our reference: 2019-0156-2

BY EMAIL

Peggy Tabet
VP
Regulatory Affairs, Broadcasting, Québecor Média inc.
Tabet.Peggy@Quebecor.com

Re: Procedural and publication request regarding a Part 1 application for undue preference 2019-0156-2 - Groupe TVA inc. v Bell Canada and Bell ExpressVu Limited Partnership - RDS

Dear Madam Tabet,

On 26 February 2019, the Commission received a part 1 application regarding an alleged undue preference for RDS (and against TVA Sports), and an accompanying letter requesting confidentiality.

Expedited Process

The application by Québecor Média inc. (Québecor), on behalf of Groupe TVA inc. (TVA), contains a request to expedite the process given the urgency of the situation and the damages incurred. Commission staff does not consider it appropriate to further abbreviate the part 1 process’ already shortened deadlines as:

In order to provide all interveners with a fair opportunity to comment on this proceeding, please note that Québecor’s application will processed under the standard part 1 timelines. The timeline for comment on this proceeding will be reflected on our website accordingly.

Confidentiality request

Pursuant to Section 33(4) of the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure, the Commission requests public disclosure of the information that you designated as confidential in Appendix 3 of your application. Specifically, we refer to the content of the formal legal notice by TVA and the content of the reply by Bell Canada and Bell ExpressVu Limited Partnership (Bell).

Commission staff considers that the contents of this appendix should be placed on the public file as they do not reveal strategic or financial information that has not already been presented in the application. We consider that any specific direct harm caused by disclosure would not outweigh the public interest in disclosure.

We invite Québecor to file a reply indicating whether it accepts staff’s request for disclosure of Appendix 3’s contents. Should it disagree, Québecor will need to justify its request further and in more detail, and file a revised abridged version of the document within 10 days.

A copy of this letter and all related correspondence will be added to the public record of the proceeding.

Yours sincerely,

Marie-Claire Bouthillier
Senior Analyst, Alternative Dispute Resolution
Marie-claire.bouthillier@crtc.gc.ca

c.c.:     Anne Julien, Québecor Média, anne.julien@quebecor.com
Regulatory Affairs, Bell Canada, bell.regulatory@bell.ca
Kevin Goldstein, Bell Canada, kevin.goldstein@bell.ca

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre procédurale adressée à Peggy Tabet (Québecor Média inc.)

Ottawa, le 6 mars 2019

Notre référence : 2019-0156-2

PAR COURRIEL

Peggy Tabet
Vice-présidente,
Affaires réglementaires, Radiodiffusion, Québecor Média inc.
Tabet.Peggy@Quebecor.com

Objet : Requête procédurale et demande de publication concernant la demande de la partie 1 pour préférence indue 2019-0156-2 - Groupe TVA inc. contre Bell Canada et Bell ExpressVu Limited Partnership - RDS

Madame Tabet,

Le Conseil accuse réception d’une demande de la partie 1 concernant une allégation de préférence indue envers RDS (et à l’encontre de TVA Sports) ainsi que d’une lettre de requête de confidentialité l’accompagnant, en date du 26 février 2019.

Traitement expéditif

Dans sa demande, Québecor Média inc. (Québecor), au nom de Groupe TVA inc. (TVA), soumet que le Conseil doit traiter cette demande de façon expéditive « compte tenu de l’urgence de la situation et des dommages en cause ». Cela dit, le personnel du Conseil estime qu’il n’est pas justifié de raccourcir davantage les délais écourtés offerts par le processus de la partie 1 puisque :

Afin d’offrir à tous les intervenants une opportunité équitable de fournir leurs observations, veuillez noter que la demande de Québecor sera traitée conformément aux délais normalement prévus pour les demandes de la partie 1.  L’échéancier pour le dépôt d’observations portant sur ce processus reflètera les délais normaux sur le site web du Conseil.

Demande de confidentialité

En vertu de l’article 33(4) des Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes, le personnel du Conseil demande la communication publique des renseignements que vous avez désignés comme confidentiels dans l’Annexe 3 de votre demande. C’est-à-dire le contenu de la mise en demeure par TVA et la réponse associée de Bell Canada et Bell ExpressVu Limited Partnership (Bell).

Le personnel du Conseil estime que l’ensemble du contenu de cette annexe devrait être versé au dossier public puisqu’il ne contient pas de données stratégiques ou financières sensibles n’ayant pas déjà été présentées dans la demande. Nous estimons que l’intérêt public quant à la communication l’emporte sur tout préjudice direct précis encouru à la suite de la communication.

Nous invitons Québecor à déposer une réplique indiquant si elle accepte cette demande de communication pour le contenu de l’Annexe 3. Si elle refuse, Québecor devra justifier plus amplement et plus spécifiquement sa demande de confidentialité et déposer une nouvelle version abrégée du document dans les dix jours.

Une copie de cette lettre et de toute correspondance qui y est reliée sera versée au dossier public de l’instance.

Veuillez agréer, Madame Tabet, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Marie-Claire Bouthillier
Analyse principale, Règlement extrajudiciaire des différends
Marie-claire.bouthillier@crtc.gc.ca

c.c.:     Anne Julien, Québecor Média, anne.julien@quebecor.com
Affaires réglementaires, Bell Canada, bell.regulatory@bell.ca
Kevin Goldstein, Bell Canada, kevin.goldstein@bell.ca

Date de modification :