Broadcasting Commission Letter addressed to Étienne Lanthier and Stéphanie Hudon (RNC MEDIA INC.)

Ottawa, 7 February 2019

By Email

M. Étienne Lanthier
sortonslespoubelles@gmail.com

Me Stéphanie Hudon
Directrice, affaires juridiques
RNC MEDIA INC.
shudon@rncmedia.ca

Re : Complaint by Étienne Lanthier against CHOI-FM  (CRTC reference: 763104)

Sir, Madam,

The present constitutes the Commission’s determination in relation to a complaint submitted by Étienne Lanthier, dated 21 November 2017, relating to CHOI-FM’s electoral programming during the 2017 municipal elections in Quebec City. Footnote1

The Complaint

The complainant alleged that CHOI-FM’s programming demonstrated a clear bias in favour of the political party Québec 21, and a hostility towards the incumbent mayor, Régis Labeaume, and his political party, Équipe Labeaume.  The complainant further alleged that the electoral programming was largely centered on discussions pertaining to the incumbent mayor, his party and, to a lesser extent, to Québec 21, such that coverage of other registered parties and their candidates was largely non-existent.  In support of his complaint, Mr. Lanthier provided a breakdown of programming aired by CHOI-FM and provided an assessment of the relative time dedicated to various registered parties as well as his assessment of whether such programming was favourable or unfavourable to the concerned parties and their candidates.

The complainant submitted that the licensee’s programming during the 2017 municipal election period was in violation of section 6 of the Radio Regulations, 1986.

Licensee’s Response

The licensee submitted that it had provided each registered political party with equal opportunities to discuss their electoral platform on air.  In this regard, it submitted that numerous invitations to appear on air were extended to representatives of the various parties during the course of the electoral period, many of which were either declined or not responded to.  Amongst other arguments, the licensee highlighted that it had broadcast two separate political debates, which included representatives from various parties, and that the electoral coverage conducted by its news team in the form of information bulletins served to inform the public on matters pertaining to the elections and the positions taken by the parties and their candidates.

Finally, the licensee submitted that while its various programming hosts shared their opinions on various matters arising in the context of the municipal elections, these opinions diverged from host to host such that, CHOI-FMs coverage, taken as a whole, served to treat the various parties and their candidates in an equitable manner.

Complainant’s Reply

In reply, the complainant submitted that the licensee effectively admitted that the representation of the various municipal political parties was not equitable, noting that section 6 of the Regulations speaks to the equitable allocation of time to the various parties.  He submitted that an intent to allocate time equitably is not relevant, such that invitations extended to parties, their representatives and candidates which are declined are of no relevance. Footnote2

Commission’s Analysis

Allocation of time to registered political parties and candidates

Section 6 of the Radio Regulations, 1986 (Regulations) stipulates as follows:

During an election period, a licensee shall allocate time for the broadcasting of programs, advertisements or announcements of a partisan political character on an equitable basis to all accredited political parties and rival candidates represented in the election or referendum.

An equitable allocation of time, for the purposes of section 6 of the Regulations, is assessed on the basis of the entire election period.  In its Guidelines for TV and radio broadcasters and TV service providers during an election (Guidelines), the Commission indicated that “equitable” in this context, is not synonymous with “equal”.

Rather, the Commission’s enforcement of this regulation seeks to ensure that the public is adequately informed of relevant political issues in order to inform their electoral decisions. 

It would be unreasonable to adopt the complainant’s interpretation of this provision as requiring that a broadcaster dedicate equal broadcast time to all candidates and parties and that rejected offers of broadcast time play no part in assessing compliance with this regulatory requirement. In that case, a decision by one party or candidate to forgo interview opportunities would mean that the undertaking could air no interview conducted with any party representative or candidate.  This interpretation would run counter to the purpose of the regulation.

The record associated with this complaint indicates that CHOI-FM broadcast numerous interviews with various candidates and party representatives and that a number of further interview requests were either declined or not responded to.   The record also demonstrates that the licensee broadcast two separate political debates that included representatives from three prominent registered parties. 

Programming during the election period

Subparagraphs 3(1)(i)(i) and 3(1)(i)iv) of the Broadcasting Act (the Act) declare that programming should:

  1.  be varied and comprehensive, providing a balance of information, enlightenment and entertainment for men, women and children of all ages, interests and tastes; […]

and

  1.  provide a reasonable opportunity for the public to be exposed to the expression of differing views on matters of public concern.

The Commission has recognized that its assessment of balance must both account for the interpretive principle set out at subsection 2(3) of the Act to the effect that the Act is to be “construed and applied in a manner that is consistent with the freedom of expression and journalistic, creative and programming independence enjoyed by broadcasting undertakings” and the reality that each licensee’s situation is unique.  It follows that the policy objective of balance in electoral political broadcasts is to be applied in a flexible manner. 

While the information on the record indicates that many of the hosts were opinionated and, in many instances, that the programming reflected editorial perspectives, the information also reveals that the programming, as a whole, demonstrated an openness to being critical of all political parties and candidates. Furthermore, the record demonstrates that the licensee’s talk-show programming covered a variety of issues pertinent to the election and provided numerous on air interviews with candidates from the various registered parties, as well as some independent candidates. 

Finally, the record indicates that the licensee provided news coverage throughout the election period touching on relevant electoral issues and of the positions of various candidates and parties with respect to these issues.

In sum, the broadcasts allowed for the public to have knowledge of issues surrounding the election and the position of the parties and candidates.   That various hosts took editorial positions with respect to these issues reflects the nature of the programming identified by the complainant, namely talk-show programming, and does not serve to demonstrate that their audience were not informed of the issues or of the positions of the various candidates and parties.  A flexible application of the Commission’s balance standard that appropriately reflects the nature of the programming at issue and the editorial independence enjoyed by the licensee argues against the need for Commission intervention.

Determinations

In light of the above, the Commission determines, on the basis of the record before it:

Sincerely,

Claude Doucet
Secretary General

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre du Conseil adressée à Étienne Lanthier et Stéphanie Hudon (RNC MEDIA INC.)

Ottawa, le 7 février 2019

Par courriel

M. Étienne Lanthier
sortonslespoubelles@gmail.com

Mme Stéphanie Hudon
Directrice, affaires juridiques
RNC MÉDIA INC.
shudon@rncmedia.ca

Objet : Plainte déposée par Étienne Lanthier contre CHOI-FM (numéro de référence du CRTC : 763104)

Monsieur, Madame,

La présente constitue la conclusion du Conseil concernant une plainte soumise par Étienne Lanthier, datée du 21 novembre 2017, concernant la programmation électorale de CHOI-FM pendant les élections municipales de 2017 à Québec Note de bas de page1

La plainte

Le plaignant alléguait que la programmation diffusée par CHOI-FM a démontré une partialité manifeste à l’endroit d’un parti politique, à savoir le parti Québec 21. Il avait également dénoté une certaine hostilité de la part de CHOI-FM à l’égard du maire sortant, Régis Labeaume, et de son parti politique, l’Équipe Labeaume. Le plaignant allégua également que la programmation électorale était principalement axée sur des discussions se rapportant au maire sortant et à son parti, et, dans une moindre mesure, au parti Québec 21, de sorte que les autres partis politiques et candidats enregistrés n’ont pratiquement pas eu de couverture électorale. Pour étayer sa plainte, M. Lanthier a fourni une ventilation de la programmation diffusée par CHOI-FM, en plus de fournir une évaluation de la durée relative de la couverture consacrée aux divers partis enregistrés. Il avait également indiqué si la programmation de la station s’était montrée favorable ou défavorable à l’endroit des partis concernés et de leurs candidats.

Le plaignant a indiqué que la programmation du titulaire de licence pendant la période électorale municipale de 2017 contrevenait à l’article 6 du Règlement de 1986 sur la radio.

Réponse du titulaire de licence

Le titulaire de licence a indiqué qu’il avait offert à chacun des partis politiques enregistrés des chances égales de discuter de leur plateforme électorale sur les ondes. À cet égard, il a fait valoir qu’il avait invité à maintes reprises des représentants de divers partis à venir discuter sur les ondes au cours de la période électorale, mais que bon nombre d’entre eux avaient soit décliné l’invitation ou omis d’y répondre. Parmi d’autres arguments, le titulaire de licence a souligné qu’il a diffusé deux débats politiques distincts, lesquels incluaient des représentants de divers partis, et que la couverture des élections par son équipe de journalistes sous la forme de bulletins de nouvelles a permis d’informer le public sur les questions liées aux élections et sur les prises de positions des partis et de leurs candidats.

Enfin, le titulaire de licence a indiqué que même si ses animateurs faisaient part de leurs opinions sur divers sujets dans le contexte des élections municipales, ces animateurs avaient des opinions divergentes qui ont fait que la couverture offerte par CHOI-FM, dans l’ensemble, traitait équitablement les différents partis et leurs candidats.

Réponse du plaignant

Dans sa réponse, le plaignant a indiqué que le titulaire de licence avait effectivement admis que la représentation des divers partis politiques municipaux n’était pas équitable, soulignant que l’article 6 du Règlement traite de la répartition équitable du temps entre les divers partis. Il a indiqué qu’une intention de répartir équitablement le temps n’est pas pertinente et, ainsi, que les invitations transmises aux partis, à leurs représentants et à leurs candidats qui ont été déclinées ne sont d’aucune pertinence Note de bas de page2

Analyse du Conseil

La répartition de temps entre les partis politiques et candidats enregistrés

L’article 6 du Règlement de 1986 sur la radio (le Règlement) stipule ce qui suit :

Au cours d’une période électorale, le titulaire doit répartir équitablement entre les différents partis politiques accrédités et les candidats rivaux représentés à l’élection ou au référendum le temps consacré à la radiodiffusion d’émissions, d’annonces ou d’avis qui exposent la politique d’un parti.

La répartition équitable du temps, pour l’application de l’article 6 du Règlement, est évaluée en se fondant sur la totalité de la période électorale. Dans ses Directives à l’intention des radiodiffuseurs de télévision et de radio et des fournisseurs de services de télévision pendant une élection (les Directives), le Conseil indique que le mot « équitable » ne signifie pas nécessairement « égalité ». L’application de ce règlement par le Conseil vise plutôt à garantir que le public est informé adéquatement des questions politiques pertinentes afin de faire des choix éclairés lors des élections.

Il serait déraisonnable d’adopter l’interprétation que fait le plaignant de cette disposition, à savoir qu’un radiodiffuseur doit consacrer le même temps d’antenne à tous les candidats et partis et que les offres de temps d’antenne rejetées n’entrent pas dans l’évaluation de la conformité avec cette exigence réglementaire. En effet, dans ce cas, la décision d’un parti ou d’un candidat de renoncer aux occasions d’entrevue signifierait que l’entreprise ne pourrait diffuser aucune entrevue effectuée avec un représentant de parti ou un candidat, quel qu’il soit. Cette interprétation irait à l’encontre de l’objectif du Règlement.

Il est indiqué, dans le dossier associé à cette plainte, que CHOI-FM a diffusé de nombreuses entrevues avec différents candidats et représentants de partis, et que plusieurs demandes d’entrevue sont restées sans réponse ou ont été refusées. Le dossier témoigne également du fait que le titulaire de licence a diffusé deux débats politiques distincts, lesquels incluaient des représentants de trois grands partis enregistrés.

La programmation pendant la période électorale

Les sous-alinéas 3(1)i)(i) et 3(1)i)(iv) de la Loi sur la radiodiffusion (la Loi) indique que la programmation devrait à la fois :

  1. être variée et aussi large que possible en offrant à l’intention des hommes, femmes et enfants de tous âges, intérêts et goûts une programmation équilibrée qui renseigne, éclaire et divertit, […]

et

  1. dans la mesure du possible, offrir au public l’occasion de prendre connaissance d’opinions divergentes sur des sujets qui l’intéressent [...].

Le Conseil a reconnu que son évaluation de l’équilibre doit tenir compte du principe interprétatif établi au paragraphe 2(3) de la Loi indiquant que « (l)’interprétation et l’application de la présente loi doivent se faire de manière compatible avec la liberté d’expression et l’indépendance, en matière de journalisme, de création et de programmation, dont jouissent les entreprises de radiodiffusion » et de la réalité voulant que la situation de chaque titulaire est unique. Il s’ensuit que l’objectif de politique en matière d’équilibre des émissions politiques doit s’appliquer de façon souple.

De plus, le Conseil a indiqué que l’équilibre doit généralement être évalué compte tenu de l’ensemble de la programmation pendant toute la durée de la période électorale.

Bien que les renseignements au dossier indiquent que bon nombre des animateurs avaient des avis arrêtés et que dans de nombreux cas, la programmation reflétait des perspectives éditoriales, les renseignements révèlent aussi que la programmation, dans son ensemble, démontrait une ouverture à la critique de tous les candidats et partis politiques. De plus, le dossier démontre que la programmation d’émissions-débats du titulaire a couvert une gamme de questions propres à l’élection et a fourni plusieurs entrevues à l’antenne avec des candidats de divers partis enregistrés, ainsi que des candidats indépendants.

Enfin, le dossier indique que le titulaire a offert une couverture de l’actualité tout au long de la période électorale portant sur des questions électorales pertinentes et sur la position de divers candidats et partis sur ces questions.

En somme, les diffusions ont permis au public de prendre connaissance de questions entourant l’élection et de la position des candidats et des partis. Que les divers animateurs aient pris des positions éditoriales sur ces questions reflète la nature de la programmation désignée par le plaignant, notamment la programmation d’émissions-débats, et ne permet pas de démontrer que son public n’était pas informé des questions ou des positions des divers candidats et partis. Une application souple de la norme en matière d’équilibre du Conseil, qui reflète de façon appropriée la nature de la programmation en cause et l’indépendance éditoriale dont jouit le titulaire, milite contre la nécessité d’une intervention du Conseil.

Conclusions

Compte tenu de ce qui précède et du dossier dont il a été saisi, le Conseil détermine :

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, Madame, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Claude Doucet
Secrétaire général

Date de modification :