Broadcasting Procedural Letter addressed to Various Parties

Ottawa, 1 February 2019

Our reference: 1011-NOC2018-0488

BY EMAIL

Susan Wheeler
Vice-President, Regulatory, Media
Rogers Media Inc.
Susan.Wheeler@rci.rogers.com

Karen Phillips
Senior Director, Government Relations and Compliance
Corus Entertainment Inc.
karen.phillips@corusent.com

Alain Strati
Assistant General Counsel, Regulatory Affairs
Bell Media Inc.
alain.strati@bellmedia.ca

Anne Julien
Director, Regulatory Affairs, Broadcasting
Québecor Média Inc.
anne.julien@quebecor.com

RE: Procedural requests regarding Broadcasting Notice of Consultation CRTC 2018-488

The Commission is in receipt of a procedural request relating to Call for comments on a Production Report to be completed annually by large English- and French-language ownership groups in Broadcasting Notice of Consultation CRTC 2018-488. This joint request was filed by Bell Media, Corus Entertainment, Rogers Media and Québécor Média, on 25 January 2019. A similar joint extension request was made by Alliance des producteurs francophones du Canada, Quebec English Language Production Council, English Language Arts Network and On Screen Manitoba.

In these requests, the aforementioned entities requested that the initial deadline of 6 February 2019 set out in the Notice of Consultation be extended, on the basis that this date would not provide interested parties with a reasonable opportunity to prepare and address the proposals raised in the Notice of Consultation.

The Commission recognizes the need to provide all interveners with a fair opportunity to comment on a proceeding. Therefore, the request to extend the deadline to submit interventions from 6 February 2019 to 6 March 2019 has been approved. The timeline for comment on this proceeding will be amended on our website accordingly.

In response to the request by the aforementioned broadcasters to meet with Commission staff on this matter, the Commission considers that any outstanding questions can be dealt with as part of the current process, as this will ensure an open and transparent public record for all parties.

A copy of this letter and all related correspondence will be added to the public record of the proceeding.

Sincerely,

Claude Doucet
Secretary General

c.c.:     Alliance des producteurs francophones du Canada, Carol Ann Pilon, capilon@apfc.info
Quebec English Language Production Council, Kirwan Cox, kirwancox@sympatico.ca
English Language Arts Network, Guy Rodgers, guyrodgers@quebec-elan.org
On Screen Manitoba, Nicole Matiation, nicole@onscreenmanitoba.com

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre procédurale adressée à diverses parties

Ottawa, le 1 février 2019

Notre référence : 1011-NOC2018-0488

PAR COURRIEL

Susan Wheeler
Vice-Présidente, Affaires réglementaires, Média
Rogers Media Inc.
Susan.Wheeler@rci.rogers.com

Karen Phillips
Directrice principale, Relations gouvernementales et conformité
Corus Entertainment Inc.
karen.phillips@corusent.com

Alain Strati
Conseiller général adjoint, Affaires réglementaires
Bell Média Inc.
alain.strati@bellmedia.ca

Anne Julien
Directrice, Affaires réglementaires, Radiodiffusion
Québecor Média Inc.
anne.julien@quebecor.com

Objet : Requêtes procédurales concernant l’Avis de consultation de radiodiffusion CRTC 2018-488

Le Conseil accuse réception d’une requête procédurale concernant l’Appel aux observations sur un rapport sur la production devant être complété annuellement par les grands groupes de propriété de langue française et de langue anglaise dans Avis de consultation de radiodiffusion CRTC 2018-488. Cette requête commune a été déposée par Bell Média, Corus Entertainment, Rogers Media et Québecor Média le 25 janvier 2019. Une requête conjointe similaire a été déposée par Alliance des producteurs francophones du Canada, Quebec English Language Production Council, English Language Arts Network et On Screen Manitoba. 

Dans ces requêtes, les entités susmentionnées ont demandé une prolongation à la date limite pour le dépôt d’observations du 6 février 2019 énoncé dans l’Avis de consultation, en faisant valoir que cette date n’accorderait pas aux parties intéressées un délai raisonnable pour se préparer et pour répondre aux questions soulevées dans l’Avis de consultation.   

Le Conseil reconnaît qu’il est nécessaire d’offrir à tous les intervenants une opportunité équitable pour fournir des observations sur un processus. Par conséquent, la demande de proroger du 6 février 2019 au 6 mars 2019 la date limite pour le dépôt d’observations est accordée. L’échéancier pour le dépôt d’observations portant sur ce processus sera modifié afin de refléter cette décision sur notre site web.

En réponse à la demande de rencontrer le personnel du Conseil des radiodiffuseurs susmentionnés, le Conseil est d’avis que toute question en suspens peut être traitée dans le cadre du processus actuel, afin d’assurer un dossier public ouvert et transparent pour toutes les parties.  

Une copie de cette lettre et de toute correspondance qui y est reliée sera versée au dossier public de l’instance.

Veuillez agréer l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Claude Doucet
Secrétaire général

c.c.:     Alliance des producteurs francophones du Canada, Carol Ann Pilon, capilon@apfc.info
Quebec English Language Production Council, Kirwan Cox, kirwancox@sympatico.ca
English Language Arts Network, Guy Rodgers, guyrodgers@quebec-elan.org
On Screen Manitoba, Nicole Matiation, nicole@onscreenmanitoba.com

Date de modification :