Broadcasting Commission Letter addressed to Slava Levin (Ethnic Channels Group Limited (OBCI))

Ottawa, 11 January 2019

Our reference: 1011-NOC2018-0127

BY EMAIL

Slava Levin
Chief Executive Officer
Voices
slavalevin@ethnicchannels.com

Dear Sir:

RE:   Broadcasting Notice of Consultation 2018-127 - Procedural Request – Application # 2017-1043-4

In a procedural request filed on 19 December 2018, Ethnic Channels Group Limited (ECGL) requested that the confidential information submitted by Rogers Media Inc. (Rogers) and Shaw Communications Inc. (Shaw) on 6 December 2018 be placed on the public file of the above noted process.

Both Rogers and Shaw objected to the full disclosure of the information provided in their respective submissions.  While Rogers has since decided to disclose certain information related to network capacity and the description of its commercial properties to ECGL, it has nevertheless refused to disclose this information more broadly and refused to disclose any of the other information over which it claims confidentiality.  Shaw opposed disclosure of any of the information contained in its filing for the following reasons:

In the Commission’s view, the redacted information regarding the costs of implementing this service as well as specific details about respective network capacities, would not normally be made public. The Commission considers that its disclosure would likely cause direct and specific commercial harm to these companies.  Moreover, the Commission is not convinced that this likely harm could be negated through selective disclosure of the information to ECGL.

Finally, the Commission considers that the significant amount of evidence already on the public record provides ECGL with sufficient information to provide an informed reply to the various issues identified by BDUs that may affect its proposal.  Therefore, Commission finds that the public interest in this case does not outweigh the potential commercial harm to Shaw and Rogers should the information for which they have requested confidentiality be divulged. 

Consequently, the Commission denies EGCL’s procedural request.

Yours sincerely,

Original signed by

Claude Doucet
Secretary General

c.c.:   Rogers Media Inc. – susan.wheeler@rci.rogers.com
Shaw Communications Inc. – dean.shaikh@sjrb.ca

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre du Conseil adressée à Slava Levin (Ethnic Channels Group Limited (OBCI))

Ottawa, le 11 janvier 2019

Notre référence : 1011-NOC2018-0127

PAR COURRIEL

Slava Levin
Directeur général
Voices
slavalevin@ethnicchannels.com

Objet: Avis de consultation de radiodiffusion CRTC 2018-127 – Requête procédurale – Demande # 2017-1043-4

Monsieur,

Dans une requête procédurale déposée le 19 décembre 2018, Ethnic Channels Group Limited (ECGL) a demandé à ce que l’information confidentielle déposée par Rogers Media Inc. (Rogers) et Shaw Communications Inc. (Shaw) le 6 décembre 2018 soit placée au dossier public du processus mentionné ci-dessus. 

Rogers et Shaw se sont opposés à la divulgation de l’information faisant partie de leurs réponses respectives.  Malgré le fait que Rogers ait depuis décidé de divulguer certaines informations relatives à la capacité de son réseau et à la description de ses propriétés commerciales à ECGL, il a tout de même refusé que ces informations soient divulguées de façon plus générale et de divulguer toute autre information qu’il avait désignée confidentielle.  Quant à Shaw, il s’est opposé à la divulgation de l’information incluse dans son engagement pour les raisons suivantes :

Le Conseil est d’avis que l’information qui a été abrégée et qui concerne les coûts de mise en œuvre du service proposé par ECGL, en plus des détails spécifiques sur les capacités des réseaux respectifs de chacune des EDR, ne serait normalement pas rendue publique.  Le Conseil considère que la divulgation de cette information entrainerait vraisemblablement des préjudices commerciaux directs et spécifiques à Rogers et Shaw.  De plus, le Conseil n’est pas convaincu que ces préjudices probables peuvent être annulés par la divulgation sélective de l’information à ECGL.

En outre, le Conseil estime que le nombre important d’éléments de preuves au dossier public fournit à ECGL suffisamment de renseignements afin qu’il puisse fournir une réplique éclairée sur les divers enjeux identifiés par les EDR et qui pourraient avoir une incidence sur sa demande.  Ainsi, le Conseil est d’avis que, dans ce processus, l’intérêt public ne l’emporte pas sur le préjudice commercial potentiel causé à Shaw et Rogers, advenant que cette information désignée confidentielle devienne publique.

Conséquemment, le Conseil rejette la requête procédurale d’EGCL.

Veuillez agréer, M. Levin, mes salutations distinguées.

Original signé par

Claude Doucet
Secrétaire général

c.c.:   Rogers Media Inc. – susan.wheeler@rci.rogers.com
Shaw Communications Inc. – dean.shaikh@sjrb.ca

Date de modification :