Broadcasting Decision CRTC 2019-268

PDF version

Reference: Part 1 application posted on 25 March 2019

Ottawa, 30 July 2019

Bell Media Inc.
Across Canada

Public record for this application: 2019-0088-7

Bell Media Inc. – Deletion of transmitters

Pursuant to an application by Bell Media Inc. (Bell Media), the Commission deletes 28 analog rebroadcasting transmitters from Bell Media’s broadcasting licences for various over-the-air television stations across Canada as of the dates set out in the appendix to this decision.

Application

  1. On 1 February 2019, Bell Media Inc. (Bell Media) filed an application to delete 28 analog rebroadcasting transmitters from its broadcasting licences for a number of its over-the-air (OTA) television stations located across the country. The list of transmitters is set out in the appendix to this decision.
  2. In its application, Bell Media indicated that these transmitters rebroadcast the signals of various stations across the country and none offer programming that differs from that which is offered by the originating stations. The applicant stated that these transmitters do not generate any incremental revenue and generally attract little to no added viewership.

Interventions and reply

  1. Five individuals opposed Bell Media’s proposal to shut down these transmitters and one expressed support. Affordability and access to content were the main reasons cited in the opposing interventions.
  2. In its reply, Bell Media stated that it is requesting authority to shut down these rebroadcasting transmitters in order to improve cost effectiveness and to coordinate with the digital television (DTV) transition schedule mandated by Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada. Bell Media argued that the costs related to maintaining these older transmitters are significant. The applicant added that the majority of shutdowns would not occur before February 2021 and submitted that its application is fully compliant with Commission policy.

Commission’s analysis and decision

  1.  Bell Media’s application does not result in the loss of local or other original programming in the Canadian broadcasting system, given that no stations that originate programming would be shut down. However, it does mean that viewers in the areas served by these transmitters would not be able to receive this programming over the air.
  2. Canadians that subscribe to broadcasting distribution undertaking (BDU) services are unlikely to be affected by this change. Terrestrial BDUs are generally required to distribute local and regional television stations within their licensed areas and are authorized to distribute, as part of their basic service, non-local Canadian stations where fewer than 10 local or regional stations are available over the air (to an overall maximum of 10 Canadian OTA stations).Footnote 1 While direct-to-home (DTH) BDUs are not required to distribute specific local and regional television stations, they must distribute one television station from each major ownership group that originates in the provinceFootnote 2 in which the subscriber’s residence or other premises are located.Footnote 3 Given the above, the Commission anticipates that Bell Media’s television stations will continue to be made generally available on the basic service by BDUs operating in the markets served by the rebroadcasting transmitters at issue. The Commission also notes that the Broadcasting Distribution Regulations limit the price that may be charged to a customer for the basic service.
  3. As the Commission recently reiterated in Corus Entertainment Inc. – Deletion of transmitters and reallocation of tangible benefits, Broadcasting Decision CRTC 2019-209, 13 June 2019, licences such as those held by Bell Media are authorizations to broadcast, not obligations to do so. This mean that, while the Commission has the discretion to refuse to revoke broadcasting licences, even on application from a licensee, it cannot generally direct a licensee to continue to operate its transmitters.
  4. In light of the above, the Commission approves the deletion of the 28 rebroadcasting transmitters listed in the appendix to this decisionFootnote 4 from Bell Media Inc.’s broadcasting licences for various OTA television stations across Canada. These deletions take effect only as of the dates indicated in the appendix.

Secretary General

This decision is to be appended to each licence.

Appendix to Broadcasting Decision CRTC 2019-268

List of rebroadcasting transmitters operated by Bell Media Inc. to be shut down

Province Call sign and location Originating station Date of deletion
British Columbia CFCN-TV-10 Fernie CFCN-DT-5 Lethbridge 26 February 2021
CFCN-TV-15 Invemere CFCN-DT Calgary 26 February 2021
CFCN-TV-9 Cranbrook CFCN-DT-5 Lethbridge 26 February 2021
Alberta CFRN-TV-12 Athabaska CFRN-DT Edmonton 26 February 2021
CFRN-TV-3 Whitecourt CFRN-DT Edmonton 26 February 2021
CFRN-TV-4 Ashmount CFRN-DT Edmonton 26 February 2021
CFRN-TV-5 Lac La Biche CFRN-DT Edmonton 26 February 2021
CFRN-TV-7 Lougheed CFRN-DT Edmonton 26 February 2021
CFRN-TV-9 Slave Lake CFRN-DT Edmonton 16 July 2021
Saskatchewan CFQC-TV-1 Stranraer CFQC-DT Saskatoon 26 February 2021
CFQC-TV-2 North Battleford CFQC-DT Saskatoon 26 February 2021
CKMC-TV Swift Current CKCK-DT Regina 26 February 2021
CKMJ-TV Marquis CKCK-DT Regina 26 February 2021
Manitoba CKYA-TV Fisher Branch CKY-DT Winnipeg 16 July 2021
CKYD-TV Dauphin CKY-DT Winnipeg 16 July 2021
CFYF-TV Flin Flon CKY-DT Winnipeg 16 July 2021
CKYP-TV The Pas CKY-DT Winnipeg 16 July 2021
Ontario CITO-TV-2 Kearns CITO-TV Timmins 3 December 2021
CJOH-TV-47 Pembroke CJOH-DT Ottawa 2 May 2020
CJOH-TV-6 Deseronto CJOH-DT Ottawa 9 October 2020
CKCO-TV-3 Oil Springs CKCO-DT Kitchener 2 May 2020
CFNY-TV-11 Huntsville CICI-TV Sudbury 9 October 2020
New Brunswick CKAM-TV-3 Blackville CKCW-DT Moncton 3 December 2021
CKAM-TV-4 Doaktown CKCW-DT Moncton 3 December 2021
CKLT-TV-2 Boiestown CKLT-DT Saint John 3 December 2021
Nova Scotia CJCB-TV-3 Dingwall CJCB-TV Sydney 3 December 2021
CJCH-TV-3 Valley/Colchester CJCH-DT Halifax 3 December 2021
CJCH-TV-4 Bridgetown CJCH-DT Halifax 3 December 2021
Date modified:

Décision de radiodiffusion CRTC 2019-268

Version PDF 

Référence : Demande de la Partie 1 affichée le 25 mars 2019

Ottawa, le 30 juillet 2019

Bell Média inc.
L’ensemble du Canada

Dossier public de la présente demande : 2019-0088-7

Bell Média inc. – Suppression d’émetteurs

En vertu d’une demande déposée par Bell Média inc. (Bell Média), le Conseil supprime 28 émetteurs de rediffusion analogique des licences de radiodiffusion de Bell Média pour diverses stations de télévision en direct au Canada, aux dates indiquées dans l’annexe de la présente décision.

Demande

  1. Le 1er février 2019, Bell Média inc. (Bell Média) a déposé une demande en vue de supprimer 28 émetteurs de rediffusion analogique de ses licences de radiodiffusion, et ce, pour un certain nombre de ses stations de télévision en direct situées partout au pays. La liste des émetteurs se trouve dans l’annexe de la présente décision.
  2. Dans sa demande, Bell Média indique que ces émetteurs rediffusent les signaux de diverses stations dans l’ensemble du pays et qu’aucun n’offre une programmation différente de celle qu’offrent les stations d’origine. Le demandeur déclare que ces émetteurs ne génèrent pas de revenus supplémentaires et attirent généralement peu de téléspectateurs supplémentaires, voire aucun.

Interventions et réponse

  1. Cinq particuliers s’opposent à la proposition de Bell Média, qui souhaite cesser d’exploiter ces émetteurs, et un particulier appuie la demande. L’abordabilité et l’accès au contenu sont les principales raisons invoquées dans les interventions défavorables.
  2. Dans sa réponse, Bell Média déclare qu’il demande l’autorisation de cesser d’exploiter ces émetteurs en vue d’améliorer sa rentabilité et de coordonner ses activités avec le calendrier de transition vers la télévision numérique prescrit par Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada. Bell Média soutient que les coûts liés à l’entretien de ces anciens émetteurs sont considérables. Le demandeur ajoute que la plupart des arrêts d’exploitation ne surviendraient pas avant février 2021 et précise que sa demande est entièrement conforme à la politique du Conseil.

Analyse et décision du Conseil

  1. La demande de Bell Média n’entraîne pas la perte de programmation locale ou autre programmation originale dans le système de radiodiffusion canadien, puisqu’aucune station produisant de la programmation ne serait fermée. Par contre, ceci signifie que les auditeurs des régions desservies par ces émetteurs ne pourraient pas recevoir cette programmation en direct.
  2. Les Canadiens qui sont abonnés aux services d’entreprises de distribution de radiodiffusion (EDR) ne seront probablement pas affectés par ce changement. Les EDR terrestres sont généralement tenues de distribuer des stations de télévision locales et régionales au sein de leurs zones de distribution autorisées, et sont autorisées à distribuer, dans le cadre de leur service de base, des stations non locales canadiennes lorsque moins de 10 stations locales ou régionales sont disponibles en direct (jusqu’à un maximum de 10 stations canadiennes en direct)Note de bas de page 1. Bien que les EDR par satellite de radiodiffusion directe ne soient pas tenues de distribuer des stations de télévision locales et régionales précises, elles doivent distribuer une station de télévision de chaque grand groupe de propriété qui provient de la provinceNote de bas de page 2 dans laquelle se trouve la résidence ou les autres établissements de l’abonnéNote de bas de page 3. Compte tenu de ce qui précède, le Conseil anticipe que les stations de télévision de Bell Média continueront à être disponibles au service de base des EDR qui desservent les marchés où sont situés les émetteurs de rediffusion en question. Le Conseil note également que le Règlement sur la distribution de radiodiffusion limite les frais pouvant être facturé à un client pour le service de base.
  3. Comme le Conseil l’a récemment réitéré dans Corus Entertainment Inc. – Suppression d’émetteurs et réallocation d’avantages tangibles, décision de radiodiffusion CRTC 2019-209, 13 juin 2019, les licences telles que celles détenues par Bell Média sont des autorisations – et non des obligations – de diffusion. Cela signifie que, bien que le Conseil puisse refuser de révoquer les licences de radiodiffusion à la demande d’un titulaire, il ne peut généralement pas lui ordonner de poursuivre l’exploitation de ses émetteurs.
  4. Compte tenu de ce qui précède, le Conseil approuve la suppression des 28 émetteurs de rediffusion de Bell Média inc. énumérés à l’annexe de la présente décisionNote de bas de page 4 des licences de radiodiffusion de cette dernière pour diverses stations de télévision en direct au Canada. Ces suppressions n’entreront en vigueur qu’à compter des dates indiquées dans l’annexe.

Secrétaire général

La présente décision doit être annexée à chaque licence.

Annexe de la décision de radiodiffusion CRTC 2019-268

Liste des émetteurs de rediffusion exploités par Bell Média inc.
devant être supprimés

Province Indicatif d’appel et localité Station d’origine Date de suppression
Colombie-Britannique CFCN-TV-10 Fernie CFCN-DT-5 Lethbridge 26 février 2021
CFCN-TV-15 Invemere CFCN-DT Calgary 26 février 2021
CFCN-TV-9 Cranbrook CFCN-DT-5 Lethbridge 26 février 2021
Alberta CFRN-TV-12 Athabaska CFRN-DT Edmonton 26 février 2021
CFRN-TV-3 Whitecourt CFRN-DT Edmonton 26 février 2021
CFRN-TV-4 Ashmount CFRN-DT Edmonton 26 février 2021
CFRN-TV-5 Lac La Biche CFRN-DT Edmonton 26 février 2021
CFRN-TV-7 Lougheed CFRN-DT Edmonton 26 février 2021
CFRN-TV-9 Slave Lake CFRN-DT Edmonton 16 juillet 2021
Saskatchewan CFQC-TV-1 Stranraer CFQC-DT Saskatoon 26 février 2021
CFQC-TV-2 North Battleford CFQC-DT Saskatoon 26 février 2021
CKMC-TV Swift Current CKCK-DT Regina 26 février 2021
CKMJ-TV Marquis CKCK-DT Regina 26 février 2021
Manitoba CKYA-TV Fisher Branch CKY-DT Winnipeg 16 juillet 2021
CKYD-TV Dauphin CKY-DT Winnipeg 16 juillet 2021
CFYF-TV Flin Flon CKY-DT Winnipeg 16 juillet 2021
CKYP-TV The Pas CKY-DT Winnipeg 16 juillet 2021
Ontario CITO-TV-2 Kearns CITO-TV Timmins 3 décembre 2021
CJOH-TV-47 Pembroke CJOH-DT Ottawa 2 mai 2020
CJOH-TV-6 Deseronto CJOH-DT Ottawa 9 octobre 2020
CKCO-TV-3 Oil Springs CKCO-DT Kitchener 2 mai 2020
CFNY-TV-11 Huntsville CICI-TV Sudbury 9 octobre 2020
Nouveau-Brunswick CKAM-TV-3 Blackville CKCW-DT Moncton 3 décembre 2021
CKAM-TV-4 Doaktown CKCW-DT Moncton 3 décembre 2021
CKLT-TV-2 Boiestown CKLT-DT Saint John 3 décembre 2021
Nouvelle-Écosse CJCB-TV-3 Dingwall CJCB-TV Sydney 3 décembre 2021
CJCH-TV-3 Valley/Colchester CJCH-DT Halifax 3 décembre 2021
CJCH-TV-4 Bridgetown CJCH-DT Halifax 3 décembre 2021
Date de modification :